Jump to content

Photo

Power supply question (Black irish jr. console)


17 replies to this topic

#1 Deja-Q OFFLINE  

Deja-Q

    Chopper Commander

  • 112 posts
  • Atarilized since 1981
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Aug 5, 2011 10:13 AM

I got one of those completely black Jr. consoles here.
I've read that the power supplier of the vader and the jr. would be different.

Can somebody give me some informations regarding voltage and polarity of the (jr.) plug in Europe?

[Edit]
The specs on AA says, that the power supply is the same?!
9V 500 mA - Inner+, outer -

What is actually correct?! :?

Edited by Deja-Q, Fri Aug 5, 2011 10:57 AM.


#2 Benzman66 OFFLINE  

Benzman66

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Fri Aug 5, 2011 3:45 PM

The power supplies are all the same for the 2600 woodies, vaders, and juniors. 9V/500Ma with center tip positive.

Edited by Benzman66, Fri Aug 5, 2011 3:45 PM.


#3 Deja-Q OFFLINE  

Deja-Q

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 112 posts
  • Atarilized since 1981
  • Location:Germany

Posted Fri Aug 5, 2011 4:30 PM

The power supplies are all the same for the 2600 woodies, vaders, and juniors. 9V/500Ma with center tip positive.

Cool, thank you! :D

#4 Jr. Pac OFFLINE  

Jr. Pac

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • 1/4 of the fun with an Atari cart is cleaning it.
  • Location:In my room with my 2600.

Posted Fri Aug 5, 2011 4:57 PM

I heard it's not the same with PAL systems... :ponder:

#5 Deja-Q OFFLINE  

Deja-Q

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 112 posts
  • Atarilized since 1981
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 6, 2011 4:03 AM

Hmmm... confused again :sad:

Does somebody have a european jr. console with original powersupply?
Would be great to have the values from the type label

#6 alex_79 OFFLINE  

alex_79

    Stargunner

  • 1,195 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sat Aug 6, 2011 8:08 AM

The power supplies for the various 2600 models are all the same, as Benzman66 said. The specs are the same for both PAL and NTSC models:
9V DC 500 mA, center tip positive. 1/8" (3.5mm) plug (the one used for mono audio).

If you're searching for a replacement you can use slighty different values for voltage and current:

Quoting from this old post by A.J. Franzman:

So, aside from the 1/8 inch phone plug w/ tip positive, your supply's ratings need to be in these ranges:
7.5 - 15 volts DC
500 mA or higher



#7 Deja-Q OFFLINE  

Deja-Q

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 112 posts
  • Atarilized since 1981
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 6, 2011 8:58 AM

OK. My vader is already powerd by a universal supply, so I can use it without any modification.

Thanks for the info :thumbsup:

#8 Jr. Pac OFFLINE  

Jr. Pac

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • 1/4 of the fun with an Atari cart is cleaning it.
  • Location:In my room with my 2600.

Posted Sat Aug 6, 2011 9:05 AM

ALWAYS have the right voltage. If it's too high or too low, these can happen:
Overheating which causes cooked chips.
FIRE!!!
Not enough power, dosen't function right and bad for 2600 (not sure what happens).
My dad even said so and he's a CE.

#9 Deja-Q OFFLINE  

Deja-Q

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 112 posts
  • Atarilized since 1981
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 6, 2011 12:31 PM

ALWAYS have the right voltage. If it's too high or too low, these can happen:
Overheating which causes cooked chips.
FIRE!!!
Not enough power, dosen't function right and bad for 2600 (not sure what happens).
My dad even said so and he's a CE.

Yep! I will only use 9V not more. I don't want to grill my new baby ;)
But thanks anyway for the tip

#10 Jr. Pac OFFLINE  

Jr. Pac

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • 1/4 of the fun with an Atari cart is cleaning it.
  • Location:In my room with my 2600.

Posted Sat Aug 6, 2011 12:33 PM

Your welcome. I have no idea where AJ came up with this:
So, aside from the 1/8 inch phone plug w/ tip positive, your supply's ratings need to be in these ranges:
7.5 - 15 volts DC

#11 Deja-Q OFFLINE  

Deja-Q

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 112 posts
  • Atarilized since 1981
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Aug 6, 2011 1:11 PM

I would never try to run any electronics with more power than it's designed for.
I'm a player, not a killer :lol:

#12 alex_79 OFFLINE  

alex_79

    Stargunner

  • 1,195 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2011 3:08 AM

Your welcome. I have no idea where AJ came up with this:
So, aside from the 1/8 inch phone plug w/ tip positive, your supply's ratings need to be in these ranges:
7.5 - 15 volts DC

There's a 7805 voltage regulator in the 2600. This one outputs the 5V voltage used by all the ICs inside the console. The regulator can accept values from 7.5V up to 35V, but in the post I linked above it's explained why you shouldn't go that high: the filter capacitor is usually rated for 16V and the 7805 is not properly heatsinked to work reliabily with too high voltages.

Also note that the original Atari power supply is unregulated: the 9V specs on it are the estimated voltage when the load is 500mA. Try measuring the actual values at the power jack inside the console with various carts and original power supplies and you'll tipically find quite different values.

I use a 7.5 regulated supply with my 2600s, which helps keeping the voltage regulator cooler. The important thing is that you must use DC current with the right polarity: AC or inversed polarity will damage the console.

#13 Deja-Q OFFLINE  

Deja-Q

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 112 posts
  • Atarilized since 1981
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2011 5:23 AM

With other words: if I use 8V (the middle) it will always fit, right? ;) :lol:

#14 Benzman66 OFFLINE  

Benzman66

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2011 10:08 AM

Also note that the original Atari power supply is unregulated: the 9V specs on it are the estimated voltage when the load is 500mA. Try measuring the actual values at the power jack inside the console with various carts and original power supplies and you'll tipically find quite different values.


Very true! Every original Atari adapter I have ever put the meter to is usually putting out between 12 and 14 volts without a load on it.

PAC, this is why AJ says what he did in the previous posting.

Edited by Benzman66, Sun Aug 7, 2011 10:09 AM.


#15 Jr. Pac OFFLINE  

Jr. Pac

    Dragonstomper

  • 775 posts
  • 1/4 of the fun with an Atari cart is cleaning it.
  • Location:In my room with my 2600.

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2011 10:12 AM

Well, why did AJ say 7.5V?

#16 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,821 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:England

Posted Sun Aug 7, 2011 10:36 AM

The minimum input voltage is set by the dropout voltage of the 7805 regulator. The maximum input voltage is set by the working voltage of the capacitors on the PSU input.

#17 Deja-Q OFFLINE  

Deja-Q

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 112 posts
  • Atarilized since 1981
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Aug 8, 2011 9:29 AM

Funny, after playing a bit with the power supply I found out that the lowest voltage is actually about 6V.
5V doesn't work anymore. All above is ok (till 12V max on this adapter) ;)

#18 Benzman66 OFFLINE  

Benzman66

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts
  • Location:Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Mon Aug 8, 2011 10:00 AM

Well, why did AJ say 7.5V?


Because it will still work at 7.5V as long as you have 500Ma, as Deja Q found out in his "testing" around. The 500Ma is the main thing of importance in addition to the center tip being positive.

Although I would never use anything else but 9V as a standard!




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users