Jump to content

Photo

Sega Genesis 32x questions


71 replies to this topic

#51 Chilly Willy OFFLINE  

Chilly Willy

    Dragonstomper

  • 575 posts
  • Location:The Land of Enchantment

Posted Fri Aug 26, 2011 9:11 PM


My Model 1 Genesis + 32x + Sega Everdrive combo happily sits on prime shelving space in ym game room TV stand, just underneath my CFW Sony PS3.


I've got a Model 1 Sega CD. On top of that sits a Model 1 Genesis. On that, there's a 32x. In the 32x is a Neo Myth MD cart with an Neo2SD. In the Neo 2 SD is an SD adaptor containing a microSD card. It gets a bit ridiculous, but it can do just about anything. The only real problem is that it can't play SMS games with the 32X attached, so there's a bit of swapping. I just need to hook up a 2nd Genesis or get a master system flash cart.


I keep the 32X on the model 2. I have another 32X I sometimes put on the CDX for testing, but I normally leave it off so I can use the CDX for SMS games. I also have the SMS mod on my Nomad so I can play SMS games on it, too. The Nomad + SMS mod + Neo Myth/Everdrive == great portable fun! :D

If you are playing SMS games via flash cart on the Nomad, there's no difference between the Myth and ED since the Nomad doesn't have the audio line inputs on the cart port, so the Myth's YM2413 FM chip for SMS mode can't be heard on the Nomad. Oh well...

A flash cart is great for those super rare 32X games, like DarXide or the protos like Virtual Hamster and X-Men. There's a little 32X homebrew (mainly by yours truly ;) ), including shareware versions of Wolf3D and Spear of Destiny, Rick Dangerous (full version), and a few demos like Yeti3D, and MOD player, and (just recently) an ogg-vorbis player.

#52 Classic Pac OFFLINE  

Classic Pac

    River Patroller

  • 3,087 posts
  • Location:Chicago,IL

Posted Mon Aug 29, 2011 3:41 PM

Virtua Racing Deluxe and Doom were the only 2 32X games I ever liked.

#53 ComputerSpaceFan OFFLINE  

ComputerSpaceFan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,720 posts

Posted Mon Aug 29, 2011 3:50 PM

A flash cart is great for those super rare 32X games, like DarXide


Is this a flash cart for your Nomad or do you mean a flash cart exists for the 32X? If so, where can I get one? Will it allow me to play DarXide if I am using a NTSC Sega Genesis?

#54 thegoldenband OFFLINE  

thegoldenband

    River Patroller

  • 3,967 posts
  • Location:Long Island, NY

Posted Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:07 PM

Is this a flash cart for your Nomad or do you mean a flash cart exists for the 32X? If so, where can I get one? Will it allow me to play DarXide if I am using a NTSC Sega Genesis?

There are several flashcarts for the Genesis (and compatible systems like the Nomad and CDX), and at least two of them support the 32X as well. I have an Everdrive and it works very well with the 32X.

I don't think I had to patch Darxide manually to get it to work -- IIRC I believe the Everdrive's automatic region patching handled it. I haven't played it on a PAL system so I can't evaluate any differences in speed, but otherwise as far as I could tell it played perfectly.

You might need a patch to play NBA Jam Tournament Edition and NFL Quarterback Club, since both of those use EEPROM saving. I don't think I tried either of those games since I own the former and have no interest in the latter, but everything else worked perfectly, including the one Japanese exclusive, Sangokushi IV (not that I could read the text).

Chilly Willy, what's the best place to download your 32X stuff? I need to check it out!

Edited by thegoldenband, Mon Aug 29, 2011 4:12 PM.


#55 NinjaWarrior OFFLINE  

NinjaWarrior

    Stargunner

  • 1,321 posts

Posted Mon Aug 29, 2011 10:06 PM

If you don't know about the 32X or how it works, you should not be in Gaming, period

#56 Chilly Willy OFFLINE  

Chilly Willy

    Dragonstomper

  • 575 posts
  • Location:The Land of Enchantment

Posted Mon Aug 29, 2011 10:46 PM

Is this a flash cart for your Nomad or do you mean a flash cart exists for the 32X? If so, where can I get one? Will it allow me to play DarXide if I am using a NTSC Sega Genesis?

There are several flashcarts for the Genesis (and compatible systems like the Nomad and CDX), and at least two of them support the 32X as well. I have an Everdrive and it works very well with the 32X.

I don't think I had to patch Darxide manually to get it to work -- IIRC I believe the Everdrive's automatic region patching handled it. I haven't played it on a PAL system so I can't evaluate any differences in speed, but otherwise as far as I could tell it played perfectly.


Yes, DarXide only uses the region code for determining if it should run. It's "A" by default, which is foreign and domestic PAL. Change it to "F" for world support. You can do that in a hex editor, or with a GG/PAR code, or using the multi-region option in the Everdrive. Fortunately, that's the ONLY thing you need to do. The cart handles any region fine without any other patches.


Chilly Willy, what's the best place to download your 32X stuff? I need to check it out!


SEGA-16 or SpritesMind.

http://www.sega-16.c...hp?11-32X-Power!
http://www.sega-16.c...last-Processing
http://gendev.sprite...ewforum.php?f=4
http://gendev.sprite...ewforum.php?f=8

Tremor OGG-Vorbis Mono 22kHz test: http://www.mediafire...9acgq3givvi8kvd
Yeti3D Low-res with level MODs and sound effects: http://www.mediafire...a9y2dnhm3e9dfrc
32xrick: http://www.fileden.c...ick-20110430.7z
Mod player with various MODs: http://www.mediafire...u23t64xrn11ihmm

That should get you started. ;)

#57 ComputerSpaceFan OFFLINE  

ComputerSpaceFan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,720 posts

Posted Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:30 AM

Awesome! I'm getting me an Everdrive!

Two questions (for those who have it):

1) The website shows a bare circuit which is fine I can buy an old cartridge and hack it open but when I watched video reviews of the Everdrive on YouTube, I saw guys who got a nicely packed Everdrive complete with cartridge housing and even a 2 gig SD card included. Anyone know which vendor supplies Everdrive cards this way?

2) Most reviews online mention that Virtua Racing is not supported on the Everdrive. I am assuming they are not referring to Virtua Racing Deluxe, the 32X game, they just mean regular Virtua Racing. Can anyone confirm?

#58 Reaperman OFFLINE  

Reaperman

    River Patroller

  • 4,793 posts
  • Location:New Orleans, LA

Posted Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:35 AM

1) The website shows a bare circuit which is fine I can buy an old cartridge and hack it open but when I watched video reviews of the Everdrive on YouTube, I saw guys who got a nicely packed Everdrive complete with cartridge housing and even a 2 gig SD card included. Anyone know which vendor supplies Everdrive cards this way?

As far as I know stoneagegamer.com is the only vendor who sells them cased.

#59 FujiSkunk OFFLINE  

FujiSkunk

    Quadrunner

  • 5,984 posts
  • Behold the Fuji!
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Tue Aug 30, 2011 11:35 AM

2) Most reviews online mention that Virtua Racing is not supported on the Everdrive. I am assuming they are not referring to Virtua Racing Deluxe, the 32X game, they just mean regular Virtua Racing. Can anyone confirm?


I don't own an Everdrive myself, but I'm willing to bet money that's the case. The Genesis version of Virtua Racing has extra hardware built into each cartridge to support the game's 3D graphics. The Everdrive would need this hardware as well, or have some ability to emulate it. It's the same reason why most Atari 2600 flash cartridges can't play Pitfall II.

The 32X version comes in a standard 32X cartridge, with nothing extra added.

#60 Chilly Willy OFFLINE  

Chilly Willy

    Dragonstomper

  • 575 posts
  • Location:The Land of Enchantment

Posted Tue Aug 30, 2011 2:51 PM


2) Most reviews online mention that Virtua Racing is not supported on the Everdrive. I am assuming they are not referring to Virtua Racing Deluxe, the 32X game, they just mean regular Virtua Racing. Can anyone confirm?


I don't own an Everdrive myself, but I'm willing to bet money that's the case. The Genesis version of Virtua Racing has extra hardware built into each cartridge to support the game's 3D graphics. The Everdrive would need this hardware as well, or have some ability to emulate it. It's the same reason why most Atari 2600 flash cartridges can't play Pitfall II.

The 32X version comes in a standard 32X cartridge, with nothing extra added.


This - the MD version of VR has a DSP in it called the SVP. It's a Samsung SSP1601 DSP used to help render the polygons. It also has an extra 128KB of DRAM in the cart as well. The 32X VRD is a plain 32X game and works fine on flash carts.

#61 ComputerSpaceFan OFFLINE  

ComputerSpaceFan

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,720 posts

Posted Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:39 AM

One final Everdrive question (for those who own one).

The website and reviews mention that is uses the SD card memory for "saving games" but what I'd like to know is does that just mean a standard save slot within a game or does it do a snapshot of your progress like the Wii Virtual Console does?

Specifically, I love Desert Strike but it takes a long time to get through some of those missions. If I am playing it in the Everdrive, can I save exactly where I am in the game, quit, then later come back to the Everdrive and load exactly where I left off? Quitting a Genesis game on the Wii VC does exactly this (I just wish they would release Desert Strike! but that's another forum thread).

I watched some YouTube videos last night showing saving games on the Everdrive and they used examples like JRPs and some Thor game where you are in town, buying stuff, etc. and then in the game you go to the menu and hit "save" and choose a save slot within the game. Quitting the Everdrive and going back into the game will load your save. That's awesome, but can I do the same with a game like Desert Strike that does not have a "save" feature?

#62 Rex Dart OFFLINE  

Rex Dart

    Quadrunner

  • 6,319 posts
  • NO CASH VALUE
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:06 PM

No, it means in-game save support only. No additional savestate support is provided (yet).

#63 StoneAgeGamer OFFLINE  

StoneAgeGamer

    Stargunner

  • 1,484 posts
  • Gaming de-evolved.
  • Location:Salem, OH

Posted Wed Aug 31, 2011 12:18 PM

One final Everdrive question (for those who own one).

The website and reviews mention that is uses the SD card memory for "saving games" but what I'd like to know is does that just mean a standard save slot within a game or does it do a snapshot of your progress like the Wii Virtual Console does?

Specifically, I love Desert Strike but it takes a long time to get through some of those missions. If I am playing it in the Everdrive, can I save exactly where I am in the game, quit, then later come back to the Everdrive and load exactly where I left off? Quitting a Genesis game on the Wii VC does exactly this (I just wish they would release Desert Strike! but that's another forum thread).

I watched some YouTube videos last night showing saving games on the Everdrive and they used examples like JRPs and some Thor game where you are in town, buying stuff, etc. and then in the game you go to the menu and hit "save" and choose a save slot within the game. Quitting the Everdrive and going back into the game will load your save. That's awesome, but can I do the same with a game like Desert Strike that does not have a "save" feature?


None of the EverDrives support save states, only the normal in-game saves. Save states would require a much more powerful and expensive EverDrive. Who knows maybe KRIKzz will make a "Pro" edition that does this some day. Also the latest OS no longer requires you to select SRAM slots and stuff like that, it saves to SD card.

If you are looking for complete version and not just a board, we do sell one:
http://stoneagegamer...ive_deluxe.aspx

Currently out of stock, but should be back in stock soon.

#64 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    River Patroller

  • 4,115 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2012 5:33 PM

Wolf3D/Spear of Destiny 32x does this run on any Emulators?

#65 Austin OFFLINE  

Austin

    Quadrunner

  • 8,850 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2012 5:36 PM

I don't know, why don't you try it?

#66 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    River Patroller

  • 4,115 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2012 7:48 PM

I don't know, why don't you try it?

LOL, you are funny but anyway. I did either I don't have emulator set up right or it don't work with the emulator.

#67 Austin OFFLINE  

Austin

    Quadrunner

  • 8,850 posts
  • Location:Fairfax, VA

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2012 8:03 PM

Try some other 32X games to make sure the emulator is even working.

#68 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    River Patroller

  • 4,115 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2012 9:10 PM

Try some other 32X games to make sure the emulator is even working.

Ok, I was missing two files that the 32X needs to run, DOOM is running just fine now with Wolf3D/Spear of Destiny all I get is black screen, I take it doesn't run on emulator. Doh!

#69 Chilly Willy OFFLINE  

Chilly Willy

    Dragonstomper

  • 575 posts
  • Location:The Land of Enchantment

Posted Tue Feb 7, 2012 9:48 PM

Both work fine on KEGA Fusion and Gens/GS r7, but the PWM might sound "funny" if you don't have 3.64 for Fusion and the DMA PWM patch I did for Gens/GS.

#70 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    River Patroller

  • 4,115 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2012 5:37 AM

Both work fine on KEGA Fusion and Gens/GS r7, but the PWM might sound "funny" if you don't have 3.64 for Fusion and the DMA PWM patch I did for Gens/GS.

OK, I'm using Gens win32, I don't recall what version. I'll try out KEGA Fusion see if can get to run.

#71 Chilly Willy OFFLINE  

Chilly Willy

    Dragonstomper

  • 575 posts
  • Location:The Land of Enchantment

Posted Wed Feb 8, 2012 11:57 AM

Yeah, old versions of the original Gens don't work. You need something newer. :)

I'm surprised that you were using that instead of KEGA Fusion... I've never met a Windows user who WASN'T using Fusion. :-D It's the linux or OSX folks who use the different emulators since Fusion was mainly a Windows app. You can also run the games in the linux/OSX version of Fusion (3.63), but the PWM audio isn't as good as under the Windows v3.64.

#72 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    River Patroller

  • 4,115 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Thu Feb 9, 2012 5:07 PM

Yeah, old versions of the original Gens don't work. You need something newer. :) I'm surprised that you were using that instead of KEGA Fusion... I've never met a Windows user who WASN'T using Fusion. :-D It's the linux or OSX folks who use the different emulators since Fusion was mainly a Windows app. You can also run the games in the linux/OSX version of Fusion (3.63), but the PWM audio isn't as good as under the Windows v3.64.

Thanks, I've KEGA Fusion to run, your work on the 32X is Awesome! ;) I can't wait to see what you can do for the Jag! :thumbsup: :thumbsup:




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users