Jump to content

Photo

THE OFFICIAL ATARI 2600 HEAVY 6-SWITCH LIST


193 replies to this topic

#51 Brad2600 OFFLINE  

Brad2600

    Quadrunner

  • 24,871 posts
  • Formerly known as Kepone, 2002-2012
  • Location:South Burlington, VT

Posted Tue Mar 6, 2012 11:41 PM

Hopefully I won't derail this but where can replacement R/F cables be found? I need to replace several on my systems, including my Sears Heavy Sixer and even my original family 2600. I also need to replace a switch on my heavy sixer as well.

Edit: Nevermind! I didn't realize that the AA store carries these cables! Yay! Not sure about the switches though.

Edited by Kepone, Tue Mar 6, 2012 11:45 PM.


#52 Lodmot OFFLINE  

Lodmot

    Chopper Commander

  • 240 posts

Posted Tue Mar 6, 2012 11:58 PM

Dude, the RF cables are actually regular single RCA cables. Go to Radio Shack and find one for like 6 bucks.

#53 Brad2600 OFFLINE  

Brad2600

    Quadrunner

  • 24,871 posts
  • Formerly known as Kepone, 2002-2012
  • Location:South Burlington, VT

Posted Wed Mar 7, 2012 1:56 AM

Dude, the RF cables are actually regular single RCA cables. Go to Radio Shack and find one for like 6 bucks.


Thanks for the tip. Radio Shack seems to be carrying less and less necessities but I'll check.

#54 Lodmot OFFLINE  

Lodmot

    Chopper Commander

  • 240 posts

Posted Wed Mar 7, 2012 6:21 AM

Dude, the RF cables are actually regular single RCA cables. Go to Radio Shack and find one for like 6 bucks.


Thanks for the tip. Radio Shack seems to be carrying less and less necessities but I'll check.

Not a problem. ^^
Also, I'm not sure if you're new at fixing Atari consoles or not, but in case you're not:
On the older 2600 models, the RF cable looks like it's hardwired to the console, but when you take the system apart, you'll notice that the RF cable actually plugs in on the inside as well, which means you don't have to cut the wire and solder anything, which is awesome.

Edited by Lodmot, Wed Mar 7, 2012 6:22 AM.


#55 Brad2600 OFFLINE  

Brad2600

    Quadrunner

  • 24,871 posts
  • Formerly known as Kepone, 2002-2012
  • Location:South Burlington, VT

Posted Thu Mar 8, 2012 9:05 AM

Dude, the RF cables are actually regular single RCA cables. Go to Radio Shack and find one for like 6 bucks.


Thanks for the tip. Radio Shack seems to be carrying less and less necessities but I'll check.

Not a problem. ^^
Also, I'm not sure if you're new at fixing Atari consoles or not, but in case you're not:
On the older 2600 models, the RF cable looks like it's hardwired to the console, but when you take the system apart, you'll notice that the RF cable actually plugs in on the inside as well, which means you don't have to cut the wire and solder anything, which is awesome.


I have not tinkered with many electronics. I'll keep this in mind when I do.

Thanks!

#56 Brad2600 OFFLINE  

Brad2600

    Quadrunner

  • 24,871 posts
  • Formerly known as Kepone, 2002-2012
  • Location:South Burlington, VT

Posted Thu Mar 15, 2012 6:31 PM

IMG00688-20120315-2010.jpg

Just bought this off of EBay. Might buy another (Atari) heavy sixer to compliment the 2 Telegames units I own.

NTSC
TELEGAMES Unit
MFD for Atari by Dimerco Electronics in Taiwan
S/N: 82001561
Me: Brad, South Burlington, VT
A/B Channel Slot: No
A/B Channel Switch: Not sure
Functional: Should be. Cords in great shape. Ditto for system. All switches functional
Bought on EBay recently
Refurbished: Nope
Manufacture Date: N/A
Additional Label: "STOP - DO NOT ATTEMPT GAME REPAIR. THERE ARE NO USER ADJUSTABLE PARTS INSIDE..."

Might not be a heavy sixer? It's heavy but not as heavy as the other unit. Perhaps a variation of sorts?

Also,

My other heavy sixer actually came from a friend of mine so it was not EBay.

#57 mtshark7 OFFLINE  

mtshark7

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,553 posts
  • The Man!
  • Location:Wenonah, NJ

Posted Fri Mar 16, 2012 8:00 AM

Brad2600: Do you have a front pic of the console? I can verify for you that it is a heavy and not a light sixer.

#58 Brad2600 OFFLINE  

Brad2600

    Quadrunner

  • 24,871 posts
  • Formerly known as Kepone, 2002-2012
  • Location:South Burlington, VT

Posted Fri Mar 16, 2012 12:31 PM

Brad2600: Do you have a front pic of the console? I can verify for you that it is a heavy and not a light sixer.


Indeed I do:

IMG00687-20120315-2009.jpg

#59 Fred Garvin OFFLINE  

Fred Garvin

    Space Invader

  • 13 posts

Posted Fri Mar 16, 2012 10:43 PM

That looks like a light sixer. Does it have the thick plastic sides? Hard to tell in that picture, Brad2600!

Anyway, count me in. I just bought a used heavy sixer from Ebay last week.

Atari 2600 Heavy 6 Switch List
Worksheet:
NTSC/PAL/Sears/Special:
NTSC
Serial # (Ex: #54035V or #007649): 35366K
MFG Location (Sunnyvale, Taiwan): Sunnyvale, CA
(Owner/AA Member), (Location= City, State, Country): Fred Garvin, Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
A/B Channel Slot (Yes/No): Yes
A/B Channel Switch (Yes/No): No
Functional (Yes/No): Yes
Notes (Previous owner, display only, white sticker, parts fixed, green connector, Switchboard/Motherboard Revision #):

Bought from previous owner on Ebay, god knows who else has had it at one time. In pretty bad shape, switches were almost seized, rca cable cut at end, looks like a mouse was chewing on the cable as well, moldy smell, two cracks on PCB's in different areas.

Let's just say, it has seen better days. But, I took it apart and cleaned it out, vacuum and washed the plastic stuff, used a quarter can of contact cleaner on the seized switches and that fixed the problem. Used JB Weld to fix the
two PCB cracks, one near the right joystick and one on switch PCB. Also reglued the adjustable pot that's located inside the aluminum cavity, the plastic knob came off, I suspect the unit was dropped long ago. Resoldered new RCA jack to RF cable for the one that was cut off, shirink wrapped the ratty chewed areas of the cable.

Put it all back together and it works fine. Surprising actually, if this thing could talk...the stories it would tell.

Lastly, video is remarkedly better than my light sixer. I didn't think it would be.

Refurbished (Silver Label) (Yes/No): No.... although it could have used a good refurbish. :)

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


Thank you!

#60 Lodmot OFFLINE  

Lodmot

    Chopper Commander

  • 240 posts

Posted Sun Mar 18, 2012 10:06 AM

@Fred Garvin
Sweet! Dude, yours has a pretty low serial number.

#61 zylon OFFLINE  

zylon

    Quadrunner

  • 6,129 posts
  • 5200 HSC Mod
  • Location:Kennesaw, GA

Posted Sun Mar 18, 2012 11:03 PM

Brad2600: Do you have a front pic of the console? I can verify for you that it is a heavy and not a light sixer.

That's a light 6er. H6ers have a recess on bottom for the motherboard mounting screws and washers.

#62 mtshark7 OFFLINE  

mtshark7

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,553 posts
  • The Man!
  • Location:Wenonah, NJ

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 5:58 AM

Yea I was about to say...Brad2600 do you have a less close up pic? Showing the entire unit. The way you can tell if its a heavy/light 6 switch is by the thickness of the top left and right side of the console.

#63 Fred Garvin OFFLINE  

Fred Garvin

    Space Invader

  • 13 posts

Posted Sat Mar 24, 2012 10:17 PM

Thanks Lodmot! It was a shot in the dark, really. It was posted on Ebay without a photo of the serial number, and I didn't bother asking them what the serial number was. It wasn't until I opened the box here at home that I realized it was a fairly low number. :grin: Bazinga!

#64 Brad2600 OFFLINE  

Brad2600

    Quadrunner

  • 24,871 posts
  • Formerly known as Kepone, 2002-2012
  • Location:South Burlington, VT

Posted Tue Apr 3, 2012 11:43 AM

Yea I was about to say...Brad2600 do you have a less close up pic? Showing the entire unit. The way you can tell if its a heavy/light 6 switch is by the thickness of the top left and right side of the console.


IMG00698-20120403-1333.jpg


I feel like crap now as it LOOKED like a heavy sixer on EBay. Dammit. Hey, at least I have another variation!!!

#65 Lodmot OFFLINE  

Lodmot

    Chopper Commander

  • 240 posts

Posted Tue Apr 3, 2012 5:24 PM

Yeah, sorry Brad.
HOWEVER, what's that on the right edge of the picture? THAT looks like it could be a heavy sixer, judging by the sides I see there.

#66 mtshark7 OFFLINE  

mtshark7

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,553 posts
  • The Man!
  • Location:Wenonah, NJ

Posted Wed Apr 4, 2012 5:38 AM

Yea Brad I agree with Lodmot...the console to the right is a heavy 6'er. Would you mind adding info about that console? Or do I already have you on the spreadsheet for that one?

#67 Brad2600 OFFLINE  

Brad2600

    Quadrunner

  • 24,871 posts
  • Formerly known as Kepone, 2002-2012
  • Location:South Burlington, VT

Posted Sun Apr 8, 2012 5:43 PM

Yea Brad I agree with Lodmot...the console to the right is a heavy 6'er. Would you mind adding info about that console? Or do I already have you on the spreadsheet for that one?


It's already on the spreadsheet.

I have another (this one looks like a heavy!) coming in the mail. Auction wasn't cheap but it looks in good shape and probably needs some cleaning, etc. The one I bid one HAS the thick sides.

#68 Brad2600 OFFLINE  

Brad2600

    Quadrunner

  • 24,871 posts
  • Formerly known as Kepone, 2002-2012
  • Location:South Burlington, VT

Posted Tue Apr 10, 2012 11:07 AM

This time, I've got another real sixer. It also came with a loose copy of Rubik's Cube w/th the silver label!

IMG00712-20120410-1256.jpg

IMG00710-20120410-1255(1).jpg



NTSC
TELEGAMES Unit
MFD by Atari Inc, Sunnyvale CA
S/N: 98467T
Me: Brad, South Burlington, VT
A/B Channel Slot: No
A/B Channel Switch: Not sure
Functional: Should be. Cords in great shape. Ditto for system. All switches functional
Bought on EBay recently
Refurbished: Nope
Manufacture Date: N/A
Additional Label: "STOP - DO NOT ATTEMPT GAME REPAIR. THERE ARE NO USER ADJUSTABLE PARTS INSIDE..."

#69 mtshark7 OFFLINE  

mtshark7

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,553 posts
  • The Man!
  • Location:Wenonah, NJ

Posted Tue Apr 10, 2012 10:58 PM

List Updated! :)

#70 Fred Garvin OFFLINE  

Fred Garvin

    Space Invader

  • 13 posts

Posted Wed Apr 11, 2012 1:57 PM

That unit looks rough, Brad2600. Did it cost you a lot?

#71 kankan313rd OFFLINE  

kankan313rd

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts
  • Location:michigan

Posted Sat Apr 14, 2012 2:23 PM

i have a chance to buy a 2600 cx 6 switch with box the game is in awsome shape and the box is in fair condition with all accesories and 1 game for 75 bucks is this a good deal or should i shop around more

#72 Fred Garvin OFFLINE  

Fred Garvin

    Space Invader

  • 13 posts

Posted Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:29 PM

Is it a heavy sixer or light sixer? For me, 75 bucks is steep. It all depends in what shape it's in. Try looking on ebay, it will give you an idea of what they're going for. Does it actually come in the original box?

#73 Fred Garvin OFFLINE  

Fred Garvin

    Space Invader

  • 13 posts

Posted Sun Apr 15, 2012 10:34 PM

Thanks, (Mark T). For adding me to the list. Much appreciated. As I look through the list, I can't help think that alot of these ended up in the landfill, that also includes the other versions not mentioned here. I'm I correct in thinking this?

#74 kankan313rd OFFLINE  

kankan313rd

    Space Invader

  • 16 posts
  • Location:michigan

Posted Mon Apr 16, 2012 2:05 AM

it was actually a light sixer it turned out but only paid 60 bucks but it is looks like it was never played and was made in sunnyvale ca i think i got a sweet deal also he threw in 2 racing padels everything looks like it was not played much

Attached Thumbnails

  • 100_0695.JPG
  • 100_0699.JPG
  • 100_0697.JPG


#75 mtshark7 OFFLINE  

mtshark7

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,553 posts
  • The Man!
  • Location:Wenonah, NJ

Posted Mon Apr 16, 2012 5:54 AM

Fred:I know there are a few on here that ppl haven't been able to fix, I think for the most part alot of them work. I know the one Heavy 6'er I bought I ended up having to replace the voltage regulator on it and it works perfectly now. I am actually the 2nd person to keep track of the heavy 6'er list. The original person couldn't keep up with it so he allowed me to take over for him.


kankan313rd:That's still a sweet deal you got! I remember my first atari 2600 was a light 6'er and came from a smoked home and was my 1st ebay purchase ever. I think I caught 2nd hand smoke from playing it the 1st week I had it, lol. Now that unit is my 3 modded unit (LED, Pause, S-vid & AV) and my favorite from all the hard work I put into it. I ended up paying around the same price IIRC.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users