Jump to content

Photo

BBCS


98 replies to this topic

#1 tjb OFFLINE  

tjb

    Stargunner

  • 1,030 posts
  • Let's play soccer
  • Location:San Antonio, Texas

Posted Thu Aug 18, 2011 11:53 PM

BBCS (Bulletin Board Construction Set from Antic for those unfamiliar with it) was a highly configurable, 100% ML, feature-rich BBS program. Sadly I believe it had a reputation for being unreliable and prone to crashing. While I like BBS Express I believe BBCS could have really taken off had it been rock-solid like BBS Express. Note that I'm comparing it to the original BBS Express not the later, module-based version. What was your experience with BBCS?

tjb

#2 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,773 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Fri Aug 19, 2011 4:18 AM

BBCS (Bulletin Board Construction Set from Antic for those unfamiliar with it) was a highly configurable, 100% ML, feature-rich BBS program. Sadly I believe it had a reputation for being unreliable and prone to crashing. While I like BBS Express I believe BBCS could have really taken off had it been rock-solid like BBS Express. Note that I'm comparing it to the original BBS Express not the later, module-based version. What was your experience with BBCS?

tjb


I like the idea but it was unusable! Constantly crashing...

Recently I have tried to get it working for my "BBS on a Stick" project but no luck so far.

#3 invisible kid OFFLINE  

invisible kid

    Chopper Commander

  • 105 posts
  • Location:New Jersey, U.S.A.

Posted Fri Aug 19, 2011 6:49 PM

One system that I called into with BBCS was configured so the login just required the password, no username, and the password may have been limited to 4 characters like other 8 bit bbses. Of coarse for kicks one time I tried ABCD and got right in with someones elses login... what a hacker!

#4 Fres OFFLINE  

Fres

    Dragonstomper

  • 705 posts
  • Location:Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

Posted Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:53 PM

One system that I called into with BBCS was configured so the login just required the password, no username, and the password may have been limited to 4 characters like other 8 bit bbses. Of coarse for kicks one time I tried ABCD and got right in with someones elses login... what a hacker!


Haha! I did something similar once with FUKR.

#5 timdu OFFLINE  

timdu

    Dragonstomper

  • 534 posts
  • Location:Massachusetts

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:23 PM

My best friend ran BBCS back in the day (1985).
He configured it a bit to his liking.
I recall hanging out at his house and we were in awe. We were hovering and watching the users dial in and create their accounts.
One wise guy picked the Yukon time zone (instead of the Eastern time zone which we lived in) and lo and behold the BBS crashed.
It was so frustrating...

-Tim

One system that I called into with BBCS was configured so the login just required the password, no username, and the password may have been limited to 4 characters like other 8 bit bbses. Of coarse for kicks one time I tried ABCD and got right in with someones elses login... what a hacker!


Haha! I did something similar once with FUKR.



#6 fibrewire OFFLINE  

fibrewire

    Stargunner

  • 1,625 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 6:41 PM

One wise guy picked the Yukon time zone (instead of the Eastern time zone which we lived in) and lo and behold the BBS crashed.

It's funny how little things like storing time in GMT seem like common sense now. What are we missing today that will be laughed at in 30 years?

http://www.iiisci.org/journal/CV$/sci/pdfs/P602668.pdf

Is BBCS or BBS Express available for download?

#7 AtariGeezer ONLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,887 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 8:56 PM

Is BBCS or BBS Express available for download?


BBCS and I think Express BBS Pro is Here

BBCS is also Here

BBS Express is also Here and Here

Edited by AtariGeezer, Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:06 PM.


#8 sloopy OFFLINE  

sloopy

    River Patroller

  • 2,424 posts
  • lookin for bits, i like bits...
  • Location:in my cave of despair, surrounded by toys...

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:00 PM

Is BBCS or BBS Express available for download?


BBCS and I think Express BBS Pro is Here

BBCS is also Here


i didnt see BBS Express (reg or Pro) at the first link...

sloopy.

#9 AtariGeezer ONLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,887 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:08 PM

Is BBCS or BBS Express available for download?


BBCS and I think Express BBS Pro is Here

BBCS is also Here


i didnt see BBS Express (reg or Pro) at the first link...

sloopy.


Look for "BBS (19xx)(-)[h APE].zip"

#10 sloopy OFFLINE  

sloopy

    River Patroller

  • 2,424 posts
  • lookin for bits, i like bits...
  • Location:in my cave of despair, surrounded by toys...

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 9:24 PM

Is BBCS or BBS Express available for download?


BBCS and I think Express BBS Pro is Here

BBCS is also Here


i didnt see BBS Express (reg or Pro) at the first link...

sloopy.


Look for "BBS (19xx)(-)[h APE].zip"


found it :') thats regular BBS Express!

wish i could find my original disks for Pro! :'/

sloopy.

#11 sloopy OFFLINE  

sloopy

    River Patroller

  • 2,424 posts
  • lookin for bits, i like bits...
  • Location:in my cave of despair, surrounded by toys...

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 10:26 PM

holding out on us i see ;'D

thanks,
sloopy.

#12 AtariGeezer ONLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,887 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 11:00 PM

holding out on us i see ;'D

thanks,
sloopy.


Welcome :) It's version 1.0 that I got years ago...

Jay

#13 fibrewire OFFLINE  

fibrewire

    Stargunner

  • 1,625 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted Sun Aug 28, 2011 11:08 PM

nice!

#14 MEtalGuy66 OFFLINE  

MEtalGuy66

    River Patroller

  • 2,774 posts
  • If it aint broke, fix it anyway!
  • Location:Houston, TX, USA

Posted Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:01 AM

Uhh.. That's under copyright to Video61, I believe..

#15 AtariGeezer ONLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,887 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:18 AM

If it is, then a mod should delete it...

Edit: I reported it, so when a mod gets the message, it will be gone...

Apologies,
Jay

Edited by AtariGeezer, Mon Aug 29, 2011 5:59 AM.


#16 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,773 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:10 PM

BBS Express 850 is a Public Domain program.

PRO is copyrighted and still sold today.

#17 tjb OFFLINE  

tjb

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,030 posts
  • Let's play soccer
  • Location:San Antonio, Texas

Posted Wed Aug 31, 2011 7:10 PM

I know the original version was written in Action! but wasn't PRO 100% assembly? For that matter isn't PRO still being actively maintained?

tjb

#18 fibrewire OFFLINE  

fibrewire

    Stargunner

  • 1,625 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:02 PM

Where can I buy pro?

#19 MEtalGuy66 OFFLINE  

MEtalGuy66

    River Patroller

  • 2,774 posts
  • If it aint broke, fix it anyway!
  • Location:Houston, TX, USA

Posted Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:31 PM

From video61

#20 fibrewire OFFLINE  

fibrewire

    Stargunner

  • 1,625 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted Thu Sep 1, 2011 12:00 AM

I looked on that site and couldn't find it. A google search of that site and 'BBS' only gets me here:

http://www.mixinc.ne...d_a8/probbs.htm

I sent a request to Video61 for the software...

I can't wait to make the Corvus Disk System available to AtariAge!

#21 fibrewire OFFLINE  

fibrewire

    Stargunner

  • 1,625 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted Thu Sep 1, 2011 12:20 AM

Just as I thought would happen. Does anyone have a valid email address for Video61?

This is an automatically generated Delivery Status Notification.
Delivery to the following recipients failed.
video61@webtv.net

EDIT: Found it: video61@tcq.net & video61atarisales@gmail.com

#22 erazmus OFFLINE  

erazmus

    Star Raider

  • 91 posts

Posted Thu Sep 1, 2011 1:17 AM

I made an inquiry about Pro about 6 months ago and was told that it was being ported to a cartridge and no licenses were available until the cartridge version came out.

#23 fibrewire OFFLINE  

fibrewire

    Stargunner

  • 1,625 posts
  • Location:Southern California

Posted Thu Sep 1, 2011 1:34 AM

Cartridge only? I guess it's a safe bet that it won't work on the Atari 800.

#24 Triads OFFLINE  

Triads

    Moonsweeper

  • 281 posts
  • Location:Orlando, FL.

Posted Thu Sep 1, 2011 5:05 AM

Cartridge only? I guess it's a safe bet that it won't work on the Atari 800.



I wouldnt hold your breath on this, i've asked him years ago about a copy of Pro, and got the
same answer "its being ported to cart form" but I was able to talk him into creating a disk of it
for me, but that would have meant taking some authoring or compiling computer out of storage
and didnt know how long that would take to do.. So as you can tell, I dont have a Disk from him nor
a cart. You may have a better chance of asking Steve Carden for a copy of TCP/IP Express.

#25 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,773 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Sat Sep 3, 2011 7:39 AM

Cartridge only? I guess it's a safe bet that it won't work on the Atari 800.


IIRC, PRO requires SpartaDOS 3 which won't run on the 800.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users