Jump to content

Photo

Virtual Jaguar 2.0.0 released!


147 replies to this topic

#26 akator OFFLINE  

akator

    River Patroller

  • 2,336 posts
  • Location:Virginia, US

Posted Sun Oct 23, 2011 6:48 PM

Great work Shamus! Awesome to see another release of VJ after so long. Thanks for continuing to find time to put into the project.


Yes, thank you for all of your hard work :)

#27 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Stargunner

  • 1,948 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2011 3:10 AM

Ver 4.07 seems to have fixed the top border clipping issue! FANTASTIC work Shamus!

#28 Shamus OFFLINE  

Shamus

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 439 posts
  • Moo, er, Roar!
  • Location:Ur-th

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:58 AM

Assuming I didn't break anything else, r407 will be the official 2.0.2 release. :)

#29 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    River Patroller

  • 4,682 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:Akron, Ohio

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:56 AM

Great work on the emulator! I finally got around to trying version 2.0.1. This is not a complaint, just an informational post. My system is an AMD PhenomII X4 955 (64-bit quad core @ 3.21GHz) with 8GB RAM, Win7-64, and an NVidia GeForce GTX275 vid card. It stutters with audio on.

I like the interface, especially the TV static when a cart is not inserted. Thanks for the continued work on the project.

#30 ls650 OFFLINE  

ls650

    Quadrunner

  • 5,246 posts
  • Atari rocks!
  • Location:British Columbia

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:21 PM

Well, I am suitably impressed. I've always wanted to be able to play some of my favorite Jaguar games while travelling with my laptop. I just gave a few ROMs a try, and found that both Cybermorph and Atari Karts actually seem to run fine.

That's the good news. The bad news is that with my 1.9 GHz Dual-core, the games run at maybe 40-50% of full speed... :(

AKarts.JPG

#31 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Stargunner

  • 1,948 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2011 9:28 PM

r407 is significantly quicker. On my 3Ghz Core2Duo I'm getting full speed in most things.

#32 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Tue Dec 13, 2011 4:23 PM

Hello,

r407 is indeed quicker (it is clearly noticeable in Checkered Flag and Cybermorph). Actually I wonder if it isn't a bit too fast. I'll check against a real Jaguar.
However I noticed a regression vs VJ 2.0.1 final release: the HUD is Alien versus Predator is completely messed up.

I grabbed the windows executable from http://reboot.atari....es/emu/emu.html

Thanks for your hard work.

#33 Shamus OFFLINE  

Shamus

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 439 posts
  • Moo, er, Roar!
  • Location:Ur-th

Posted Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:04 AM

@DrTypo: Thanks for the heads up. Could you make a screenshot and post to show the problem? :)

If anyone else has found any regressions, please, speak up! :) Also, if you know which version first shows the regression, that would be really useful information as well. ;)

Edited by Shamus, Wed Dec 14, 2011 8:08 AM.


#34 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Wed Dec 14, 2011 2:08 PM

Hello,

I attached a screenshot of the HUD issue in AVP.

Attached Thumbnails

  • avpbug.jpg


#35 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 2,359 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Sat Dec 17, 2011 2:16 PM

I'm going to try this release. I got the Windows version and its update? from the link above. I'll see how it runs on mine.

Question. On the two .exe's to download from the above mentioned site, how do I overwrite one with the other? Is it an auto install?

#36 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:12 PM

Question. On the two .exe's to download from the above mentioned site, how do I overwrite one with the other? Is it an auto install?

It's not an auto install. The .rar file at vj2_r346.rar contains the executable and a bunch of dll it needs. You just have to extract it to a folder of your choice.
The second rar file vj2.rar contains only the newest executable. You can overwrite the executable from vj_r346.rar with this one.

#37 JagChris OFFLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 2,359 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Sat Dec 17, 2011 4:18 PM

ok thanks!


Question. On the two .exe's to download from the above mentioned site, how do I overwrite one with the other? Is it an auto install?

It's not an auto install. The .rar file at vj2_r346.rar contains the executable and a bunch of dll it needs. You just have to extract it to a folder of your choice.
The second rar file vj2.rar contains only the newest executable. You can overwrite the executable from vj_r346.rar with this one.



#38 atx4us OFFLINE  

atx4us

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:46 AM

Thank you very much for your continual development and support of VJ.

Just tried out VirtualJaguar-r409. On my Win7 x64 system, the screen is flickering really badly.

r407 does not flicker but Rayman game play occasionally freezes for a few seconds and then resume.

Downfall doesn't seem to run at all.

Edited by atx4us, Tue Dec 27, 2011 9:12 AM.


#39 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Tue Dec 27, 2011 1:58 PM

Hello,

I quickly tried r409 on my system (Win7 x64). Like atx4us, I noticed that the screen is flickering.
However Downfall is working.
I didn't noticed any obvious change apart from that.

By the way there is something I forgot to mention previously. On all version of VJ I tried (r2.0.0 final, r2.0.1 final, r407, r409) the sound playback frequency in Cybermorph seems to be about one octave too high compared to the game on an actual Jaguar.

#40 Shamus OFFLINE  

Shamus

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 439 posts
  • Moo, er, Roar!
  • Location:Ur-th

Posted Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:59 PM

Yeah, sometimes experimental code will do strange things... :) r410 should fix the flickering at least. Will have to see what I can do about the rest. ;)

#41 atx4us OFFLINE  

atx4us

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:45 AM

Hello,

I quickly tried r409 on my system (Win7 x64). Like atx4us, I noticed that the screen is flickering.
However Downfall is working.
I didn't noticed any obvious change apart from that.

By the way there is something I forgot to mention previously. On all version of VJ I tried (r2.0.0 final, r2.0.1 final, r407, r409) the sound playback frequency in Cybermorph seems to be about one octave too high compared to the game on an actual Jaguar.


I tried to run Downfall again with VJ 2.0.1 (r396) and it just crashes. Tried the same Downfall.jag file with Jagulator 2.0.2 and it works. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong with VJ?

#42 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Wed Dec 28, 2011 3:00 PM

I tried to run Downfall again with VJ 2.0.1 (r396) and it just crashes. Tried the same Downfall.jag file with Jagulator 2.0.2 and it works. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong with VJ?


That's strange. Downfall works with every version of VJ I have (2.0.0 final, 2.0.1 final, r407, r409).
I use it with PAL settings but it also works in NTSC. It works even with DSP disabled.
It comes in a .j64 file. CRC32 is 544E7A01.

#43 atx4us OFFLINE  

atx4us

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Wed Dec 28, 2011 7:55 PM


I tried to run Downfall again with VJ 2.0.1 (r396) and it just crashes. Tried the same Downfall.jag file with Jagulator 2.0.2 and it works. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong with VJ?


That's strange. Downfall works with every version of VJ I have (2.0.0 final, 2.0.1 final, r407, r409).
I use it with PAL settings but it also works in NTSC. It works even with DSP disabled.
It comes in a .j64 file. CRC32 is 544E7A01.


I definitely don't have the file with the correct CRC32 above. Can you please post or point me to the correct file? Thanks!

#44 atx4us OFFLINE  

atx4us

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Wed Dec 28, 2011 8:02 PM



I tried to run Downfall again with VJ 2.0.1 (r396) and it just crashes. Tried the same Downfall.jag file with Jagulator 2.0.2 and it works. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong with VJ?


That's strange. Downfall works with every version of VJ I have (2.0.0 final, 2.0.1 final, r407, r409).
I use it with PAL settings but it also works in NTSC. It works even with DSP disabled.
It comes in a .j64 file. CRC32 is 544E7A01.


I definitely don't have the file with the correct CRC32 above. Can you please post or point me to the correct file? Thanks!


DrTypo

Never mind - I found it in the "software" folder of the Virtual Jaguar 2.0.1 distribution and it is working! Thanks for helping me to look into this.

#45 atx4us OFFLINE  

atx4us

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:31 PM

r410 seems to have fixed the Win 7 screen flickering issue. Also, Rayman is playing OK now. Thanks!

#46 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • 88 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Thu Dec 29, 2011 1:21 PM

Hello,

I tried r410 and the sound playback is now at the correct frequency in Cybermorph!
"Good Work!"
Screen flickering is indeed gone.
The HUD is still messed up in AvP.

Anyway it's interesting to see the emulator evolving day to day...

#47 Shamus OFFLINE  

Shamus

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 439 posts
  • Moo, er, Roar!
  • Location:Ur-th

Posted Thu Dec 29, 2011 2:30 PM

Thanks for the kind words. :) We know what the issue is in AvP, just not sure how to track down and fix it. :P

#48 atx4us OFFLINE  

atx4us

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:32 PM

I'm still having trouble with running S/W on VJ. I'm sure it's something simple that I'm missing.

I downloaded the "Project One" from Reboot's web site (link below) and the "PROJECT1.ROM" file would not run on VJ. Can someone please give me a hint how to get these files to work with VJ? Thanks.

http://reboot.atari....es/PROJECT1.ROM

Edited by atx4us, Fri Dec 30, 2011 8:34 PM.


#49 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Stargunner

  • 1,948 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Dec 30, 2011 9:11 PM

I'm still having trouble with running S/W on VJ. I'm sure it's something simple that I'm missing.




VirtualJaguar requires all ROMs to be padded to the correct size (1mb, 2mb, 4mb) - the P1 rom is 'truncated' to the size of the binary. We'll have to update all the ROMs on the site with correctly padded images.

In the meantime, fwiw, try this:

Attached Files



#50 atx4us OFFLINE  

atx4us

    Moonsweeper

  • 277 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:52 PM


I'm still having trouble with running S/W on VJ. I'm sure it's something simple that I'm missing.




VirtualJaguar requires all ROMs to be padded to the correct size (1mb, 2mb, 4mb) - the P1 rom is 'truncated' to the size of the binary. We'll have to update all the ROMs on the site with correctly padded images.

In the meantime, fwiw, try this:


Thank you for your explanation. That makes sense. Your file worked very nicely. The game is AWESOME!




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users