Jump to content

Photo

Atari Flashback 3

Worth getting?

68 replies to this topic

#26 TwinChargers OFFLINE  

TwinChargers

    Dragonstomper

  • 989 posts
  • Location:Minnesota

Posted Wed Nov 23, 2011 8:27 PM

Are the joysticks that much better than the FB2's? Are they attached to the console, or unpluggable like the FB2?


I would imagine that they are the exact same as the FB2, and therefore are detatchable.

#27 bomberpunk OFFLINE  

bomberpunk

    River Patroller

  • 2,068 posts
  • i hoard video games.
  • Location:new orleans

Posted Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:15 AM

they are not attached. joystick ports are at the front of the console facing the player, which actually makes more sense IMO. the fact that this was done under LE's nose however makes me not want one.

#28 FireStar OFFLINE  

FireStar

    Star Raider

  • 87 posts
  • Location:Georgia, USA

Posted Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:18 PM

Well, the joysticks being detachable and compatible with other DB-9 plugs makes this AtGames best product yet. :D
Which isn't saying much, all that AtGames has done otherwise is make Genesis clones that have worse sound than the competition, and yet have the official license from SEGA. Much like this thing.

Edited by FireStar, Fri Nov 25, 2011 8:18 PM.


#29 WildBillTX OFFLINE  

WildBillTX

    Chopper Commander

  • 202 posts
  • Location:Somewhere in East Texas

Posted Sat Nov 26, 2011 6:42 AM

Friday I got up (too) early and visited the two stores in my area that were selling the FB3 cheap (Walgreens & Dollar General). I almost bought the one at Dollar General, they had about 4 boxes and thankfully they had one opened and hooked up to a small TV for a demo. But I noticed the console didn't have the SD slot or mentioned it on the box, so I didn't buy it. The FB3's at Walgreens also didn't mention a SD slot on the box, so no buy. So I'm disappointed with this "bait & switch" by Atari. Did anyone buy one this weekend that did have the SD slot?

Edited by WildBillTX, Sat Nov 26, 2011 6:44 AM.


#30 jaymz887 OFFLINE  

jaymz887

    Star Raider

  • 63 posts
  • Location:calexico , ca

Posted Sun Nov 27, 2011 1:20 PM

i am thinking of buying a flashback 3 if i can find one with a card slot. if it comes with the sd card slot. can i d/l the games from here to play on the fb3 or do i need a special program for it?

#31 OldSchoolRetroGamer OFFLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    River Patroller

  • 3,917 posts
  • Do you FEEL in charge?
  • Location:CANADA

Posted Sun Nov 27, 2011 2:11 PM

I WOULD buy it even without SD slot, it is different enough from FB2 just for collectors sake BUT I wont pay over $30 and I cannot get it here in Canada (Kelowna, BC) only option is to have it shipped but that puts it over what I am willing to spend.

#32 S1500 OFFLINE  

S1500

    River Patroller

  • 3,280 posts
  • http://ccg.podomatic.com
  • Location:Twin Cities

Posted Mon Nov 28, 2011 8:10 AM

Because if I keep believing The FB3 has an SD card slot, it will magically grow one!

#33 bomberpunk OFFLINE  

bomberpunk

    River Patroller

  • 2,068 posts
  • i hoard video games.
  • Location:new orleans

Posted Mon Nov 28, 2011 9:02 AM

atari didn't release two different versions of this thing. they went with the cheap foreign company to...be cheap. none of them are going to have SD functionality but you can keep looking everywhere if you really want to.

#34 GrizzLee OFFLINE  

GrizzLee

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Pacific NorthWet, WA (where it is wet and beautiful)

Posted Mon Nov 28, 2011 11:55 AM

I picked one up on Black Friday. Just got around to playing it last night. I am sad to report, that I have no sound... Not sure if I take i back if I can get another as I bought the last one at Toys R Us :-(

It doesn't mention anything about an SD card.

-GrizzLee

#35 toiletunes OFFLINE  

toiletunes

    Stargunner

  • 1,392 posts
  • Custom Status
  • Location:Salem, Mo 65560 USA

Posted Mon Nov 28, 2011 5:09 PM

I was tempted to buy one Black Friday, but fortunately Toys R Us was sold out.

#36 GrizzLee OFFLINE  

GrizzLee

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Pacific NorthWet, WA (where it is wet and beautiful)

Posted Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:44 AM

I picked one up on Black Friday. Just got around to playing it last night. I am sad to report, that I have no sound... Not sure if I take i back if I can get another as I bought the last one at Toys R Us :-(

It doesn't mention anything about an SD card.

-GrizzLee


UPDATE: I debated about taking the unit back.. knowing that I would probably not be able to get another for awhile. My solution.... I cut the audio connector off the A/V cable and attached a left/right RCA splitter on it. Works wonderful. I'm good to go now. Too bad they didn't emulate the stereo functionality of the VCS... not sure if any of the games included took advantage of this. For now though, I have sound coming out of both speakers. I played it briefly using my Wico stick. I haven't tried the packaged OEM controllers yet. A few games need paddles (Breakout, etc..) Not sure if paddle support is in there. I will try it tonight... hopefully I will have more time to play.


-GrizzLee

#37 mimo OFFLINE  

mimo

    Preppie!

  • 6,777 posts
  • It's easy living in a bubble

Posted Wed Nov 30, 2011 1:15 PM

PAL versions are available in the UK, still no SD card slot and not worth the £40 that they are being sold for.

#38 Pete5125 OFFLINE  

Pete5125

    Moonsweeper

  • 304 posts

Posted Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:14 PM

Their is not an SD slot, Walgreens got bad info since it was suppose to have an SD slot and it was took off at the last minute, has a cool box and the best Atari 2600 joystick that i have sceen in a long time, I have a friend w/ a Comadore 64 that is going to buy it when it goes back on sale just to get the joysticks, it uses the standard 9-pin, the game lineup is very bazar, their are paddle games, yet you would have to find old padlle since they don't come w/ the box, also checkers, chess and several Atari sports titles plus education games, I can't believe that they couldn't re-release the old version of Flicker-Man(Pac-Man), and why their are not more arcade classics, got the flashback 1 so I won't be getting it unless I see it at less than $20...Also if this is part 3 why couldn't we get a 5200/XE at least most of those games haven't seen a release in some time, Flashback1(7800), Flashback 2(2600), Flashback3 (a re-release of Flashback2)doesn't make since.

Edited by Pete5125, Sat Dec 10, 2011 11:14 PM.


#39 pimpmaul69 OFFLINE  

pimpmaul69

    Stargunner

  • 1,862 posts
  • INTV Brotherhood Technician
  • Location:Colorado

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2011 11:10 AM

Are the joysticks that much better than the FB2's? Are they attached to the console, or unpluggable like the FB2?

joysticks are like the fb2 sorta. they have more throw.easier to move. 1000 times better than any other joystick atari has EVER made imo.

#40 nathanallan OFFLINE  

nathanallan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,581 posts
  • Location:El Paso, TX

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2011 6:33 PM


Are the joysticks that much better than the FB2's? Are they attached to the console, or unpluggable like the FB2?

joysticks are like the fb2 sorta. they have more throw.easier to move. 1000 times better than any other joystick atari has EVER made imo.

1K better? Check again in a few months, it might feel better *now* but how will it hold out? Interested in the long-haul report of it.

I checked the walgreens site and it says it is in stock but every store I check is out; the one closest to me had three but they sold in a day or two. Apparently there is a bigger demand for them than three per store.

#41 Abu Jibin OFFLINE  

Abu Jibin

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts

Posted Wed Dec 14, 2011 5:20 PM

I too was interested with the SD card slot. It seems like that would cause some controversy reguarding liscensing.

#42 Chris-in-NJ OFFLINE  

Chris-in-NJ

    Dragonstomper

  • 500 posts
  • Location:Belleville, NJ, USA

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2011 3:04 AM

This has come out of the blue, haven't been reading these boards for the best part of a year. I've got an FB2 but alas the joysticks both broke after only a few months of use, so I'm wondering if these will be better.

The extra games are eother ones I have original cartridges for or are ones that don't interest me in the slightest, so unless the joysticks are built to a higher standard than the ones in the FB2 or if I can find one in a store like Big Lots or Odd Job (are they still around?) in a few months, I think I'll be passing on this one.

#43 Zwackery OFFLINE  

Zwackery

    River Patroller

  • 4,719 posts
  • Dr. Atari
  • Location:Piedmont Triad

Posted Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:21 PM

I checked the walgreens site and it says it is in stock but every store I check is out; the one closest to me had three but they sold in a day or two. Apparently there is a bigger demand for them than three per store.


These appeared to be a popular item leading up to Xmas. Many were sold on eBay for prices above retail (especially Black Friday deals). I would guess nostalgia and a perceived value due to the number of games on the console drove the sales rather hard as many stores completely sold out of their stock.

#44 nathanallan OFFLINE  

nathanallan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,581 posts
  • Location:El Paso, TX

Posted Tue Dec 27, 2011 8:53 PM


I checked the walgreens site and it says it is in stock but every store I check is out; the one closest to me had three but they sold in a day or two. Apparently there is a bigger demand for them than three per store.


These appeared to be a popular item leading up to Xmas. Many were sold on eBay for prices above retail (especially Black Friday deals). I would guess nostalgia and a perceived value due to the number of games on the console drove the sales rather hard as many stores completely sold out of their stock.

Agreed, plus it's a quick and easy way to get a game hooked up. Now I am hearing of peoples' FB3 joysticks breaking, and they haven't even been on sale all that long. For shame, AtGames!

#45 Syntaxerror999 OFFLINE  

Syntaxerror999

    Dragonstomper

  • 538 posts

Posted Sun Jan 1, 2012 2:39 AM

If the fb3 was supposed to havean SD slot then canceled then its possible they just removed the parts but left the traces on the PCB... perhaps a
Mod is possible.


#46 edweird13 OFFLINE  

edweird13

    Dragonstomper

  • 924 posts
  • Location:SW Missouri

Posted Sun Jan 1, 2012 5:52 AM

Why? The Flashnack 3 is a emulator. Can't you get that through all the other emulation machines?

#47 0078265317 OFFLINE  

0078265317

    Stargunner

  • 1,433 posts

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2012 2:56 AM

I have a sears 6 switcher so when I finally heard about this tonight thought it was cool. But no sd card slot so not worth it. And amazon is charging 69 dollars if you want one but not worth it in my opinion.

#48 0078265317 OFFLINE  

0078265317

    Stargunner

  • 1,433 posts

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2012 3:00 AM

And I just checked walgreens mine are all sold out when I click on the the 1 that shows available it says not in stock weird. Even ebay all bids are over 40 or 50. I guess it is a popular toy this year.

#49 Retro Rogue OFFLINE  

Retro Rogue

    River Patroller

  • 3,217 posts
  • Location:Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2012 1:55 PM


Are the joysticks that much better than the FB2's? Are they attached to the console, or unpluggable like the FB2?

joysticks are like the fb2 sorta. they have more throw.easier to move. 1000 times better than any other joystick atari has EVER made imo.



Obviously you've never tried the original spring loaded heavy sixer sticks.

And Atari didn't make these, the entire thing was designed, manufactured, and sold by AtGames.

#50 nathanallan OFFLINE  

nathanallan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,581 posts
  • Location:El Paso, TX

Posted Tue Jan 3, 2012 1:56 PM

Why? The Flashnack 3 is a emulator. Can't you get that through all the other emulation machines?

Why you ask? Why not? Why, because it's a cool project and something cool may come out of it. This is why we do these weird things.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users