Jump to content

Photo

On Facebook? Consider my AMIGA Facebook group!


22 replies to this topic

#1 OldSchoolRetroGamer ONLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    River Patroller

  • 4,022 posts
  • Do you FEEL in charge?
  • Location:CANADA

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2011 5:46 PM

Mods/Admins. If this is anyway inappropriate PLEASE feel free to remove or edit as required! I will totally understand and not trouble anyone again!


-----------------------------------------------------------------------
This is not about whether or not your like Facebook or Social websites etc, please let's keep on track OK? THIS IS ONLY FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE ON FACEBOOK, ARE INTO AMIGA etc. THANK YOU. :P

Hello all. My name is Rob Daviau. I have had a Classic Gaming and Computing group for sometime on Youtube with many interesting members, it worked out so well with great participation and feedback that recently I decided to expand by opening more Facebook groups all with a theme and focus of my favorite things. Of course one of those is Amiga and so I started a group with this statement:

Welcome to MaximumRD's Amiga Appreciation Hub. For fans of one of the greatest computer line of all time! Including the entire Amiga line from the original A1000 to the blockbuster A500 and even then CDTV and CD32 come join in on the fun relating to all things AMIGA! YES the C64 was awesome but the AMIGA was magic! :thumbsup:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/maximumrdamiga/

Nothing more and nothing less. My intent here is only this one time to make as many Amiga fans aware of my group. If your not into Facebook or otherwise have no interest then fair enough I only ask that if you ARE on Facebook and an Amiga fan that you consider dropping by, if you like what you see so far then please consider joining and maybe even participating / contributing as groups like this are only a good as the members. Thank you for your time and consideration. Take care.


If your interested in the above or any of the following then you are welcome to check out all of my Facebook groups!

MaxRD's Classic Gaming and Computing:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maximumrdclassic/
MaxRD's MST3K (Mystery Science Theater 3000)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maximumrdmst3k/
MaxRD's Emulation Appreciation:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maximumrdemulation/
MaxRD's Survival Horror:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maxrdsurvivalhorror/
MaxRD's Video Game Cheats:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maxrdcheats/

All my groups are above all for fun, sharing, discussions and pretty much a central hub of pictures, articles, news, links, videos etc!

#2 VertigoProcess OFFLINE  

VertigoProcess

    Chopper Commander

  • 220 posts
  • Location:Delray Beach, FL

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:01 PM

Oh look you posted here too...

#3 OldSchoolRetroGamer ONLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,022 posts
  • Do you FEEL in charge?
  • Location:CANADA

Posted Sat Nov 19, 2011 6:14 PM

Oh look you posted here too...


Yes and several other sites/forums where I felt it may reach a like minded audience. Thanks for noticing......

#4 OldSchoolRetroGamer ONLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,022 posts
  • Do you FEEL in charge?
  • Location:CANADA

Posted Mon Dec 19, 2011 3:30 PM

Just checking back before the NEW YEAR. FYI we are up to 58 members and it has been GREAT! Pictures, videos, comments, shared memories etc.

My last request if your on FACEBOOK drop by and decide for yourself but I am SURE you will love it, PLEASE JOIN and Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and have a great New Years!

https://www.facebook...maximumrdamiga/

Posted Image

#5 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,624 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Mon Dec 19, 2011 6:33 PM

OK, I just "asked to join group". I'm really getting back into the Amiga big time now, my interest is renewed. Just ordered the SD HxC Floppy Emulator to supplement my 3mb RAM, 16GB CF HD A500 setup. Also have a spare 500 and 2 1000's :) Agree the Amiga was magic. It had a profound effect on my view of computers and what they could do in 1985.

#6 OldSchoolRetroGamer ONLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,022 posts
  • Do you FEEL in charge?
  • Location:CANADA

Posted Mon Dec 19, 2011 8:00 PM

OK, I just "asked to join group". I'm really getting back into the Amiga big time now, my interest is renewed. Just ordered the SD HxC Floppy Emulator to supplement my 3mb RAM, 16GB CF HD A500 setup. Also have a spare 500 and 2 1000's :) Agree the Amiga was magic. It had a profound effect on my view of computers and what they could do in 1985.


Awesome thanks! Up to around 70 members with today's push! The more the merrier! :thumbsup:

#7 OldSchoolRetroGamer ONLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,022 posts
  • Do you FEEL in charge?
  • Location:CANADA

Posted Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:37 PM

BUMP for those that give a damn and I resurrected one other group too! https://www.facebook...roups/maxrdHGM/

MaximumRD's Horror, Gore and More!


GROUP DESCRIPTION: IF YOUR INTO HORROR/GORE/SCIFI/FANTASY/GRIND HOUSE/B MOVIES/POP CULTURE/CLASSIC HORROR/PULP FICTION/COMICS/MAGAZINES This is the place to be!

Further details:
----------------------------------------------------
Indulging my "other" favorite hobby and interest this will be a place for all to join in to have discussions, share pictures, videos and links to all thin...gs related to the Horror genre! Grew up on the Classic Universal Monsters of filmland, loved the UK productions like HAMMER FILMS and the creepy 70's Horror too. Of course An Amercian Werewolf in London blew me away with it's mix of effects, comedy and Gore. Pretty much anything goes from Dracula to Godzilla, Sci-Fi etc. Classic or Modern but PLEASE if your only into the Tween/Emo "TWILIGHT" crap check it at the door, there is enough to satisfy you elsewhere, this Dungeon is for those who appreciate "REAL" Vampires, Werewolves and Horror!

Edited by OldSchoolRetroGamer, Thu Mar 15, 2012 10:39 PM.


#8 Warriorisabouttodie OFFLINE  

Warriorisabouttodie

    Stargunner

  • 1,055 posts

Posted Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:58 PM

Mods/Admins. If this is anyway inappropriate PLEASE feel free to remove or edit as required! I will totally understand and not trouble anyone again!


-----------------------------------------------------------------------
This is not about whether or not your like Facebook or Social websites etc, please let's keep on track OK? THIS IS ONLY FOR PEOPLE WHO ARE ON FACEBOOK, ARE INTO AMIGA etc. THANK YOU. :P

Hello all. My name is Rob Daviau. I have had a Classic Gaming and Computing group for sometime on Youtube with many interesting members, it worked out so well with great participation and feedback that recently I decided to expand by opening more Facebook groups all with a theme and focus of my favorite things. Of course one of those is Amiga and so I started a group with this statement:

Welcome to MaximumRD's Amiga Appreciation Hub. For fans of one of the greatest computer line of all time! Including the entire Amiga line from the original A1000 to the blockbuster A500 and even then CDTV and CD32 come join in on the fun relating to all things AMIGA! YES the C64 was awesome but the AMIGA was magic! :thumbsup:

https://www.facebook.com/groups/maximumrdamiga/

Nothing more and nothing less. My intent here is only this one time to make as many Amiga fans aware of my group. If your not into Facebook or otherwise have no interest then fair enough I only ask that if you ARE on Facebook and an Amiga fan that you consider dropping by, if you like what you see so far then please consider joining and maybe even participating / contributing as groups like this are only a good as the members. Thank you for your time and consideration. Take care.


If your interested in the above or any of the following then you are welcome to check out all of my Facebook groups!

MaxRD's Classic Gaming and Computing:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maximumrdclassic/
MaxRD's MST3K (Mystery Science Theater 3000)
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maximumrdmst3k/
MaxRD's Emulation Appreciation:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maximumrdemulation/
MaxRD's Survival Horror:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maxrdsurvivalhorror/
MaxRD's Video Game Cheats:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/maxrdcheats/

All my groups are above all for fun, sharing, discussions and pretty much a central hub of pictures, articles, news, links, videos etc!




Nice to see you are posting here. This is a very interesting group folks if you like Facebook. Lots of interesting comments/discussion about Amigas past and also current. Im still waiting to install Morph OS on my Powerbook G4!! My address on Facebook
is Facebook.com/kev242 please consider adding me!!!

#9 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 6:32 PM

OK, I just "asked to join group". I'm really getting back into the Amiga big time now, my interest is renewed. Just ordered the SD HxC Floppy Emulator to supplement my 3mb RAM, 16GB CF HD A500 setup. Also have a spare 500 and 2 1000's :) Agree the Amiga was magic. It had a profound effect on my view of computers and what they could do in 1985.


Hi, is it really possible to do a CF HD for the A500? I thought you could only do it for the 600 and 1200? can you give me details about how to get my Amiga 500 set up with a CF HD? oh, and I requested to join the facebook group as well.

#10 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,624 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:38 PM


OK, I just "asked to join group". I'm really getting back into the Amiga big time now, my interest is renewed. Just ordered the SD HxC Floppy Emulator to supplement my 3mb RAM, 16GB CF HD A500 setup. Also have a spare 500 and 2 1000's :) Agree the Amiga was magic. It had a profound effect on my view of computers and what they could do in 1985.


Hi, is it really possible to do a CF HD for the A500? I thought you could only do it for the 600 and 1200? can you give me details about how to get my Amiga 500 set up with a CF HD? oh, and I requested to join the facebook group as well.


There's ways you can do it internally, but I don't recall how. Mine is something to the effect of: zorro adapter to A2091 hard card (SCSI) to IDE adapter to CF adapter. I don't have a pic of it handy, but the hard card sticks out the left side. It's not too horribly ungainly. About the size of a 1541 drive. Works very well though. Will take 4GB at a time, and I have (4) 4GB cards for it. The hard card has 2GB on it, for a total of 3.

Edited by Mirage, Mon Mar 19, 2012 7:38 PM.


#11 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 8:19 PM

do you think it would work if I used the amiga hard drive side-car thingy? I have one but the drive does not work. I could put an ide to cf in there... or maybe it is scsi, I dunno... hmmm. I really want an amiga 1200 but they are so damn expensive.

#12 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,624 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 8:42 PM

do you think it would work if I used the amiga hard drive side-car thingy? I have one but the drive does not work. I could put an ide to cf in there... or maybe it is scsi, I dunno... hmmm. I really want an amiga 1200 but they are so damn expensive.


I'm not sure what that is, so I have no idea.

#13 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 8:46 PM

looks like this, attaches to the side expansion port: http://i233.photobuc...obot/amiga1.jpg

#14 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,624 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:12 PM

looks like this, attaches to the side expansion port: http://i233.photobuc...obot/amiga1.jpg


Yeah, I don't know. Maybe there's a way to hack it. Maybe ask around on one of the Amiga forums. I didn't even put mine together, save2600 did. Now that I have it and see how he did it, I could probably do it, but wouldn't have had the knowledge to to begin with. Good luck with whatever you figure out! The C= hard cards like mine don't usually cost all that much, but they need to have the updated ROMs to work best, so have to watch for that. I don't know where I read the articles, but there are articles online about those cards and the different ROMs and such.

#15 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:37 PM

could you share the hard drive contents of your CF card with me? I am unsure what files it needs on there to work properly. how is the CF formatted? FAT32? My amiga 500 has all the updated kickstart roms on it, it even has a switch to go between the latest and earlier versions and a video hack as well as upgraded ram.

#16 Cebus Capucinis OFFLINE  

Cebus Capucinis

    Not-so-secretly Trolling

  • 8,013 posts
  • Wiseass Extraordinaire
  • Location:Ellensburg, WA

Posted Mon Mar 19, 2012 9:40 PM

I didn't know about this, went ahead and asked to join both Amiga and classic gaming group! :)

#17 OldSchoolRetroGamer ONLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,022 posts
  • Do you FEEL in charge?
  • Location:CANADA

Posted Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:48 AM

I didn't know about this, went ahead and asked to join both Amiga and classic gaming group! :)


Thanks much appreciated! :thumbsup:

#18 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,624 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:16 PM

could you share the hard drive contents of your CF card with me? I am unsure what files it needs on there to work properly. how is the CF formatted? FAT32? My amiga 500 has all the updated kickstart roms on it, it even has a switch to go between the latest and earlier versions and a video hack as well as upgraded ram.


The CF needs to be Amiga format. Easiest way to do that is to use WinUAE (I use it via AmigaForever). It's not 100% straightforward to set it up to see/write the CF card, especially if you're not extremely familiar with an Amiga, but it's not impossible either. I *think* I could maybe do it again, but it's been a couple years so probably not without reading all about it again or getting help myself. It's really just about putting a few files in the right place, so maybe it's not that bad. Here's a thread about it:

http://www.amiga.org...ead.php?t=51999

As for the contents, all the interesting stuff is already available out there via WHDLoad. Here's the WHDLoad site:

http://www.whdload.de/

Doing it that way, you still need to install them all yourself. The easier way to do it is to just download the already-installed packs, which killer gorilla (or something like that) did awhile back. That's available here:

http://kg.whdownload.com/kgwhd/

I believe he stopped updating though, so others took over, info about that here:

http://www.lemonamig...61925a3a1a007e8
and here:
http://awesome.commo...thread.php?t=88

I think that's pretty much all I know. You know and have access now to everything I have. The only other stuff on my CF's is some floppy applications I copied over to the CF so I wouldn't need the floppies, but those aren't even very interesting.

I still highly recommend the HxC Floppy Emulator. Since I have both the CF setup and the HxC, I would recommend skipping the CF altogether and get a Floppy Emulator. I enjoy having both, and each has advantages, but honestly, if I could only have one or the other, it would be the Floppy Emulator. Aside from a short and easy conversion step, then it's just as simple as just copying any ADF's over to the CF, plugging it in, "inserting" the floppy via an interface, and loading as you would normally load a floppy. You can use multiple floppies, too, for multi-disk games/apps too. It may be different for a 600/1200, but I've found that for a 500, overall compatibility is higher and overall hassle is lower with the Floppy Emulator. You're probably going to spend less overall that way as well.

EDIT: Rob, sorry this is off-topic to your actual post, but it's Amiga-help related, and free bumps to promote your great FB group more!

Edited by Mirage, Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:18 PM.


#19 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:24 PM

wow, thanks for the info, that helps a lot. I do have two HxC floppy emus I have not installed them in anything yet. I bought them knowing I would use them eventually, probably in the Atari ST and the Amiga. I was hoping the folks behind it would add support for apple computers but last time I checked, some time last year, they had not done it yet. I also have a Catweasel IV I have yet to use. one of these days I will get around to it. I am going to experiment getting the CF on the A500 using the hd attachment I have and see what happens. thanks for the links!!

#20 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,624 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:39 PM

wow, thanks for the info, that helps a lot. I do have two HxC floppy emus I have not installed them in anything yet. I bought them knowing I would use them eventually, probably in the Atari ST and the Amiga. I was hoping the folks behind it would add support for apple computers but last time I checked, some time last year, they had not done it yet. I also have a Catweasel IV I have yet to use. one of these days I will get around to it. I am going to experiment getting the CF on the A500 using the hd attachment I have and see what happens. thanks for the links!!


Good luck, have fun. If you have the newer Rev (RevB I think it is) of the HxC, then you'll have write support to Amiga ADF's. If it's the older version, you won't, but that won't matter for most games. Take the time to set it up on the Amiga... you won't regret it. It's simple. Use the interface available for it instead of just using the built-in LCD screen. Makes it much better. If you don't already have cards for the HxC, I recommend 2 16GB cards instead of trying a 32GB card. I had 1 16GB card and it worked fine, then got greedy thinking I could just fit the Amiga Complete collection on the 32GB card, but I had some issues and it doesn't seem to work right. Granted, it might just be the particular card or who knows what, but in hindsight, I'd just get 2 16GB SanDisks or maybe Kingstons and call it a day.

#21 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,624 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:40 PM

By the way, you can find the "Amiga History Complete" collection I mentioned by searching for that with "torrent". It's out there still, and well worth getting for the convenience.

Edited by Mirage, Wed Mar 21, 2012 6:41 PM.


#22 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:14 PM

oh I have the entire amgia library. I have a premium usenet account so I have complete sets for every console & computer and then some :)

hey, what do you think if this toy: Amiga 500 1000 2000 3000 Floppy Simulator w/MPDOS Pro

#23 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,624 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:40 PM

oh I have the entire amgia library. I have a premium usenet account so I have complete sets for every console & computer and then some :)

hey, what do you think if this toy: Amiga 500 1000 2000 3000 Floppy Simulator w/MPDOS Pro


Cool, yeah me too, due to many years of collecting and MAMEburners (who burn other stuff as well).

I didn't read too much about that, but the first thing I notice is it looks like it tethers to a modern computer. In the early 2000's when that was the only option, I used that for the C64 and more recently for the A8, but I'm 100% free of tethering now, and avoid it for flash solutions. Despite using flash, I like to keep my retro experiences as close to all real hardware, and as close to the original experience as possible. Tethering ruins that for me.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users