IGNORED

Ntsc games on pal 2600

gooner73

if you want to play NTSC games with correct colors you'll need a NTSC Atari 2600.

I think most european TVs do not accept NTSC signals correctly. I have no personal experience but I think either the colors or the sound will be missing. Only if you can find a TV that has a NTSC tuner built in or butcher the system for A/V mod.

I think most european TVs do not accept NTSC signals correctly. I have no personal experience but I think either the colors or the sound will be missing. Only if you can find a TV that has a NTSC tuner built in or butcher the system for A/V mod.

You're right, I forgot to mention that the TV must accept the NTSC signal too. Unless you have a multistandard model, a PAL TV won't tune the NTSC signal correctly from RF. Anyway a lot of PAL TVs can decode composite or s-video NTSC through A/V inputs. In that case you just need to mod the console for A/V output.

Edited by alex_79

Most more modern TVs accept NTSC and PAL. But not all. However, they all should be fine with "PAL-60".

Please, do not mislead people by statements like this. Most European modern TVs do not accept NTSC RF signal that is coming out of Atari 2600 correctly! You need a multistandard model that has a NTSC tuner! Or you need to modify the console to output composite video.

I think there is a bit of confusion here between:

1) Using NTSC Carts on a PAL machine on a PAL TV.

and

2) Using an NTSC Machine on a PAL TV

From what I understand (1) will work as long as you can use PAL 60, but you'll get some incorrect colours and (2) won't work unless you can receive an NTSC signal.

I think there is a bit of confusion here between:

1) Using NTSC Carts on a PAL machine on a PAL TV.

and

2) Using an NTSC Machine on a PAL TV

From what I understand (1) will work as long as you can use PAL 60, but you'll get some incorrect colours and (2) won't work unless you can receive an NTSC signal.

Yes, I agree with that 100%.