Jump to content

Photo

Peritel boards


58 replies to this topic

#1 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Fri Dec 9, 2011 8:54 PM

I got some NOS atari dealer parts (A box full!) and it has some atari computer peritel boards with the video output socket on one side and a header on the other. I assume these are for a 1200.

The markings say:


Peritel Adaptor
Assy CA061034
ICTV
3-83


I figure in the US these are pretty rare and any info would be great.

#2 venom4728a OFFLINE  

venom4728a

    Dragonstomper

  • 579 posts

Posted Fri Dec 9, 2011 9:05 PM

Any pics you can share?

#3 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Fri Dec 9, 2011 10:35 PM

http://www.flickr.co...N04/6485040749/

Kinda blurry but here's another one of the whole board

http://flic.kr/p/aT4wHz

#4 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Sat Dec 10, 2011 3:13 PM

*BUMP*

#5 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Fri Jun 1, 2012 11:54 PM

bump

#6 sup8pdct OFFLINE  

sup8pdct

    Dragonstomper

  • 819 posts
  • Location:australia

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 1:53 AM

some better pics would be nice. How many pins on the black connector?

James

#7 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 14,640 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 1:59 AM

Peritel is an aka for SCART.

I'd say most likely this thing is for a TT or Mega ST/e.

#8 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,300 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 8:47 AM

Not enough info (what does that connector looks like? How many pins?) and very low quality pics. Don't think anyone can say something useful about it this way.

#9 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 10:22 AM

the output connector is a 8 pin din full size, I will get some other pics up when I can get a chance

#10 31336haxx0r OFFLINE  

31336haxx0r

    Dragonstomper

  • 516 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 10:35 AM

What's written on those metal cans? They could be transistors.

#11 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 10:42 AM

2n2222A , They are three legs so yeah transistors. I'm pretty sure it is RGB amp with a output but no one I have talked to knows what it goes in.

#12 31336haxx0r OFFLINE  

31336haxx0r

    Dragonstomper

  • 516 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 11:16 AM

Those are indeed transistors. They probably buffer some signals. STs don't have a 8 pin DIN connector for monitor/TV output. They use a 13 pin DIN connector. According to the photos this thing gets +5V and +12V. Hmmm....

#13 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 11:25 AM

It really seems like a rgb video amp, and there is a cutout for a leg inside the case.

#14 Fox-1 / mnx OFFLINE  

Fox-1 / mnx

    Stargunner

  • 1,300 posts
  • What is your Alternate Reality?
  • Location:NL, Earth 2.0

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 6:59 PM

8 pin DIN sounds like a TTL RGB connector as used on Commodore 1084 monitors.

#15 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Sun Jun 3, 2012 12:54 PM

8 pin DIN sounds like a TTL RGB connector as used on Commodore 1084 monitors.


Copyrighted in 1982 by atari?

#16 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,306 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Sun Jun 3, 2012 4:45 PM

Hello bombidragon

Set your camera to "Macro".

Mathy

#17 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Mon Jun 4, 2012 10:15 PM

Film photography enthusiast ^ Crappy cellphone= no macro

Hello bombidragon

Set your camera to "Macro".

Mathy



#18 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Sun Nov 4, 2012 2:14 PM

BUMP

#19 mimo OFFLINE  

mimo

    Preppie!

  • 6,798 posts
  • It's easy living in a bubble

Posted Mon Nov 5, 2012 11:38 AM

Send me one and ill try and figure out where it fits ;)

#20 puppetmark OFFLINE  

puppetmark

    Dragonstomper

  • 710 posts

Posted Mon Nov 5, 2012 2:18 PM

I think it might be for a 400 or 800. What it probably does is amplify each luma output comming from the CTIA or GTIA and then connects each one to R G B plus the SYNC signal to an RGB monitor instead of combining them for use in composite or Y-C video. It's kind of a poor-man's RGB for the Atari. So, your lumanence values now create some color on an RGB monitor.

Somewhere, I have a couple of fuzzy zerox pages describing how to do this and has a schematic too. That information looks very very much like this.

Edited by puppetmark, Mon Nov 5, 2012 2:20 PM.


#21 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Thu Nov 8, 2012 8:48 AM

It doesn't fit in a 400 or 800, been there done that.

#22 bombidragon OFFLINE  

bombidragon

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 132 posts
  • Location:PDX

Posted Thu Nov 8, 2012 8:51 AM

some better pics would be nice. How many pins on the black connector?

James


8 pin Din. New pics soon hopefully

#23 31336haxx0r OFFLINE  

31336haxx0r

    Dragonstomper

  • 516 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Nov 8, 2012 2:54 PM

Well let's think of this. For RGB you need red, green, blue, ground and if the monitor doesn't sync-on-green, you'd also need sync. That makes 5 pins. I wonder what the other 3 pins are for. Are all pins of the connector connected to something on the PCB?

#24 Mitch OFFLINE  

Mitch

    Quadrunner

  • 6,412 posts
  • 7800 Guy
  • Location:Southern California, USA

Posted Thu Nov 8, 2012 3:00 PM

Well let's think of this. For RGB you need red, green, blue, ground and if the monitor doesn't sync-on-green, you'd also need sync. That makes 5 pins. I wonder what the other 3 pins are for. Are all pins of the connector connected to something on the PCB?


Audio and composite video most likely.

Mitch

#25 31336haxx0r OFFLINE  

31336haxx0r

    Dragonstomper

  • 516 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Nov 8, 2012 3:26 PM

Still, this thing doesn't decode chroma and luma to RGB. Hmm..




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users