Jump to content

Photo

iMAME


34 replies to this topic

#1 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • 8,126 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Wed Dec 21, 2011 5:24 PM

Who knows how long this will be available
http://itunes.apple....d485639079?mt=8

Using iExplorer you can add other games to it.
http://www.macroplant.com/iexplorer/

more info here
http://www.macrumors...-store-for-now/

iMAME Berzerk.jpg

Edited by SpiceWare, Wed Dec 21, 2011 5:29 PM.


#2 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,126 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Wed Dec 21, 2011 5:55 PM

Berzerk works with the iCADE :thumbsup:

Edited by SpiceWare, Wed Dec 21, 2011 5:57 PM.


#3 goldenegg OFFLINE  

goldenegg

    Stargunner

  • 1,633 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:35 PM

You don't have to use iExplorer. The app supports iTunes file sharing, so you simply upload files through the Apps tab for your iPhone/iPad.

EDIT:

Interesting ... the app has changed since I first got it this morning. It doesn't show up for file sharing any more. I still have the original version on my iPad, which shows up for file sharing. I downloaded it from my iPhone right now and it doesn't allow me to add files. Very interesting.

#4 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • 4,109 posts
  • Atari 7800 Dev
  • Location:SouthWest Florida

Posted Wed Dec 21, 2011 6:59 PM

My version seems to have a file called 'roms.zip' (no folder like mentioned earlier). I added roms to the rom.zip (using iExplorer), did a 'refresh' of the rom folder (in 'Options'), and... nothing.
It doesn't want to seem to add the new roms. :(

I'll keep trying to figure it out.

#5 goldenegg OFFLINE  

goldenegg

    Stargunner

  • 1,633 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Wed Dec 21, 2011 7:41 PM

First, you have to run iMame on your device to create the proper directory structure. Then copy your ROMS to the Documents directory for iMame.

#6 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • 4,109 posts
  • Atari 7800 Dev
  • Location:SouthWest Florida

Posted Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:11 PM

Nevermind - I see that they go in the 'Documents' folder now. It's strange that it completely ignores the 'roms.zip' file. With as many times I've installed MAME, It was automatic to go for something called 'roms'.

:dunce:

Thanks

Edited by PacManPlus, Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:19 PM.


#7 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • 4,109 posts
  • Atari 7800 Dev
  • Location:SouthWest Florida

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:11 AM

Just as a side note - all of the filenames have to be in lower case or it won't find them.

Also, you have to have a *VERY* old zip of donkey kong for it to work.

#8 goldenegg OFFLINE  

goldenegg

    Stargunner

  • 1,633 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:23 AM

Also, you have to have a *VERY* old zip of donkey kong for it to work.


What you need is a Mame 0.34b7 romset, which is now commonly referred to as a Mame4All romset.

#9 ClassicGMR OFFLINE  

ClassicGMR

    Dragonstomper

  • 751 posts
  • Location:Northeastern U.S.

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:41 AM

Any reason I should install this if I already have it installed via Cydia?

#10 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 13,340 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:16 AM

Any reason I should install this if I already have it installed via Cydia?


Variation? or how about "Why not"? :P

#11 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • 4,109 posts
  • Atari 7800 Dev
  • Location:SouthWest Florida

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:27 AM

Thank you for the specifics - I have backup CDs/DVDs all the way back to early 2001. The donkey kong zip I found that worked was on the very last disc.
I wasn't aware that it was all from 34b7.

Thanks again,
Bob

#12 goldenegg OFFLINE  

goldenegg

    Stargunner

  • 1,633 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:07 AM

Any reason I should install this if I already have it installed via Cydia?


Wiimote support isn't in this release, so that's one reason to stay with the Cydia version. I haven't heard about iCade support, so I'm not sure if that's out too.

A while back, someone took the iMame code tree and converted it to an Xcode project. Since I'm an iOS dev, I've just been compiling it myself, so I don't need the release. Still downloaded it though, just to have :)

#13 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 8,126 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:17 AM

Yes, it works with iCADE. That's what my "Berzerk" followup was about (it's the only game I've put on it so far).

#14 goldenegg OFFLINE  

goldenegg

    Stargunner

  • 1,633 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:39 AM

Yes, it works with iCADE. That's what my "Berzerk" followup was about (it's the only game I've put on it so far).


Great to hear!

#15 Metal Jesus OFFLINE  

Metal Jesus

    Dragonstomper

  • 579 posts
  • Location:Seattle

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:04 AM

Here is a quote from the TouchArcade forum:


Yes it is based on my iMame4All Xcode project for non-jailbroken iOS devices. You can tell by the version number, the 'b' was added by me to distinguish from the jailbroken app. Apparently someone downloaded my project and built and submitted to Apple but I have no idea how they got it by the approval process.

And yes, I added all of the sound samples for the iMame4All ROM set as part of the iMame4All Xcode project and so they are also included in the AppStore app too.

Also, since this is based on my Xcode project source code there is support for iCade and the iControlPad built-in. Here's how the controller support works: If you connect your iCade or iControlPad to your iOS device then iMame should detect it and ask you if you want to use iControlPad or iCade mode. The difference between the two is that in iControlPad mode you should enable special packet mode, then you'll be able to use the nubs for games like Robotron, however, it takes a toll on the performance because for each slight nub movement a series of 4 bytes is sent to the iOS device. This translates to a lot of data and the iOS device will have a hard time keeping up. I recommend putting your iControlPad in iCade mode and choosing iCade mode instead of iControlPad unless you really need the nubs.

For more details see my web page here:
http://www.lesbird.c...4All_Xcode.html

#16 boxpressed OFFLINE  

boxpressed

    River Patroller

  • 2,330 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Wed Jan 4, 2012 9:58 PM

I was lucky enough to snag iMame before it was pulled, then grabbed the $50 iCade from Bed, Bath, and Beyond. This could turn out to be the quick and dirty MAME cab I've been looking for!

#17 Gandor OFFLINE  

Gandor

    Chopper Commander

  • 231 posts
  • Location:41005

Posted Wed Jan 4, 2012 10:32 PM

I was lucky enough to snag iMame before it was pulled, then grabbed the $50 iCade from Bed, Bath, and Beyond. This could turn out to be the quick and dirty MAME cab I've been looking for!

I was able to grab it too before it got pulled. I love playing Green Beret and Space Harrier with the iCade.
Since I only have a 1st gen iPad (hand me down from the wife while she got the new iPad), some games don't run too well or have sound issues (like outrun).
Overall a very nice addition to my gaming addiction.

#18 boxpressed OFFLINE  

boxpressed

    River Patroller

  • 2,330 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Mon Jan 9, 2012 9:05 AM

I finally got around to installing iExplorer and trying out the iCade with some ROMs. Played some 1943 and Time Pilot. I have to say that it worked great with both, but I was especially impressed with Time Pilot, where any controller lag would make the game unplayable (since you're blasting stuff that's basically a pixel away from your ship). Really nice for portrait-native games in full-screen mode. Some ROMs don't work, so I'll need to find a MAME4ALL rom set. If you don't have a MAME machine, and you've got an iPad (especially iPad 2) and iMAME, you really need to think about getting an iCade. I just hope the controls hold up...

#19 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Mon Jan 9, 2012 10:46 PM

is there any way to update the iMame app using iExplorer? I was lucky enough to get the itunes store version while it was up. I had been using Disk Aid to upload roms but iExplorer is so much better and seems to be able to allow access to the app's core files. can I replace existing files with newer ones to update the app to impliment things like wiimote control usage and other important updates? if so, where would I find the files to update it? all I seem to be able to find is the latest .deb file for imame which I assume is for jailbreak users


edit: nevermind about the wiimote question, read the link above from metal jesus, what about other updates? any way to get updates for those of us who do not have a jailbroken ipad who have the itunes store version?

@metal jesus, how do I install your idospad app on my non-jailbroken ipad? I only see the source code download on your site?

Edited by Mark Wolfe, Mon Jan 9, 2012 10:57 PM.


#20 goldenegg OFFLINE  

goldenegg

    Stargunner

  • 1,633 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Tue Jan 10, 2012 10:28 AM

@metal jesus, how do I install your idospad app on my non-jailbroken ipad? I only see the source code download on your site?


You need to be part of the iOS Developer Program ($99/year). Once part of the program, you can compile iDosPad on your own device.

#21 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:13 PM


@metal jesus, how do I install your idospad app on my non-jailbroken ipad? I only see the source code download on your site?


You need to be part of the iOS Developer Program ($99/year). Once part of the program, you can compile iDosPad on your own device.


why no one-time cost for getting it pre-compiled and installed on my device?

#22 goldenegg OFFLINE  

goldenegg

    Stargunner

  • 1,633 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:18 PM

why no one-time cost for getting it pre-compiled and installed on my device?


Because a developer wouldn't need to only compile once on a device and regular users shouldn't be touching Xcode if they don't know what they're doing. There are also technical issues, such as all apps needing to be signed, which can't be controlled with a one-time fee.

#23 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:35 PM

so what is the point? wait for the app to reach a stable enough status that it can be distributed? but then how will it get around itunes strict no-emulator policy or will it be distributed some other way?

#24 goldenegg OFFLINE  

goldenegg

    Stargunner

  • 1,633 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Posted Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:06 PM

so what is the point? wait for the app to reach a stable enough status that it can be distributed? but then how will it get around itunes strict no-emulator policy or will it be distributed some other way?


What Metal Jesus did was take source code for an app which was normally only available through Cydia (for Jailbroken devices) and created an Xcode project out of it. The point is so those of us who are part of the developer program can compile it ourselves and use the app without jailbreaking. You're not going to see many apps distributed this way. iMame and iDOS are pretty special cases here.

EDIT:

Just to add ... iTunes doesn't have a no emulator policy. There are plenty of emulators on the App Store (C64, ZX Spectrum, CPS, etc). What they don't allow are emulators which allow users to copy on their own ROMs.

#25 Mark Wolfe OFFLINE  

Mark Wolfe

    River Patroller

  • 2,310 posts
  • The Central Scrutinizer
  • Location:Philly Area

Posted Tue Jan 10, 2012 6:50 PM

I've only found the spectrum emu, none of the others, but anyway, I get what you're saying I just wish there was something for people who don't jailbreak and are not coders/developers. I think I am just going to have to bite the bullet and jailbreak the damn thing so I don't have all these stupid constraints over this device I paid $$$ for and now own, apple tries to claim they still own MY device. has anyone had their ipad/iphone bricked, blocked or reset by apple while have been jailbroken




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users