Jump to content

Photo

5200 Brotherhood


113 replies to this topic

#26 82atari5200 OFFLINE  

82atari5200

    Moonsweeper

  • 475 posts
  • Destroyer of Eproms
  • Location:Orlando, Fl

Posted Thu Dec 22, 2011 11:51 PM

guess I should join in... I'm the ONLY person I know of in the universe who thinks the 5200 is Atari's best console and one of the greatest consoles ever!

I'd have to second that emotion...

#27 zylon OFFLINE  

zylon

    River Patroller

  • 4,824 posts
  • 5200 HSC Mod
  • Location:somewhere out in space, usa

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 1:11 AM

The 5200 is the only Atari I play regularly anymore. It's also the only one that doesn't hurt my hands while playing. ;)

#28 jetset OFFLINE  

jetset

    Quadrunner

  • 11,271 posts
  • Location:5200 Island

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:39 AM


Hopefully we will get some new Homebrew games soon. Any programmers out there interested in making new games for the 5200.


Well, you know, (March) 2012 is the 30th anniversary of the 5200. sounds like a good reason to release another homebrew,eh?


I wish that guy who wrote Adventure II was still around. I bet HE could do another classic!

Seriously, not sure where this brotherhood is going but I'm very happy to see so many on the 5200 bandwagon. Seems like every time there's a discussion with the words "Atari 5200" in it there's nothing but "waaaaaaaauuughhhh!!! the controllers SUCK" and "why have a 5200 when you can have a 400/800" or my favorite "But...but...it's not backwards compatible with the 2600".

Very encouraging. I think I'll fire up some Robotron when I get home tonight!

We probably need a charter or something. :idea:

#29 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    I'm going to try to come back and post here.

  • 23,666 posts
  • Awkwardness personified
  • Location:Cloud Cuckoo Land

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:45 AM

I'd join but my 5200 doesn't work.

#30 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 8,530 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Costa Rica

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:47 AM

I'd join but my 5200 doesn't work.

That's okay. The brotherhood will take you if you bring virgins to sacrifice.

#31 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,613 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 9:01 AM

I'd join for 5200 love, but the Envious Snakes hold no allegiances.

#32 Curious Sofa OFFLINE  

Curious Sofa

    Dragonstomper

  • 608 posts
  • Location:Iowa City, Iowa, USA

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 12:00 PM

hopefully we get what was supposed to be on the 5200 initially… Tempest!

a pleasent bonus would be to finally play Cloak & Dagger :P


I'm in!
And I don't know what happened to it or what it was, but I got to play Tempest on a 5200 at Classic Gaming Expo 2010 in Las Vegas. It was part of the AtariAge kiosk setup (right after I'd played Halo 2600). I only got a few minutes with it, but it seemed fairly complete and delicious. Maybe Al knows what it was / what came of it?

#33 cybercylon OFFLINE  

cybercylon

    Dragonstomper

  • 916 posts
  • Location:SW PA

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 7:55 PM


Hopefully we will get some new Homebrew games soon. Any programmers out there interested in making new games for the 5200.


Well, you know, (March) 2012 is the 30th anniversary of the 5200. sounds like a good reason to release another homebrew,eh?


So that means you are quietly working on Adventure 3 for a March 2012 release, correct?

#34 simbalion OFFLINE  

simbalion

    Moonsweeper

  • 414 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:33 PM

Count me in as well! I have always thought the 5200 got the short end of the stick and should have lived on longer than it did. I like the controllers, but I think there were improved ones on the way that might have been able to carry the system into the NES era. Time to dust off my four port 5200 for some holiday play! If only I could find my spare switchbox I bought a few years ago. Still AWOL.

#35 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 9,250 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:52 PM

"But...but...it's not backwards compatible with the 2600"


Heck, mine is even forwards compatible! :D

5200 Super System.jpg

#36 Ataritard OFFLINE  

Ataritard

    Moonsweeper

  • 280 posts

Posted Fri Dec 23, 2011 10:15 PM

Ataritard

(signed in blood)

#37 cybercylon OFFLINE  

cybercylon

    Dragonstomper

  • 916 posts
  • Location:SW PA

Posted Sat Dec 24, 2011 9:46 AM

"But...but...it's not backwards compatible with the 2600"


Heck, mine is even forwards compatible! :D


I wonder if you could plug in the 7800 XM on top of that...

#38 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    I'm going to try to come back and post here.

  • 23,666 posts
  • Awkwardness personified
  • Location:Cloud Cuckoo Land

Posted Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:01 AM

I am going to get my 5200 fixed at tax time this year.

#39 jetset OFFLINE  

jetset

    Quadrunner

  • 11,271 posts
  • Location:5200 Island

Posted Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:08 AM

I am going to get my 5200 fixed at tax time this year.


What's wrong with it ?

#40 Inky OFFLINE  

Inky

    I'm going to try to come back and post here.

  • 23,666 posts
  • Awkwardness personified
  • Location:Cloud Cuckoo Land

Posted Sat Dec 24, 2011 11:38 AM

Black screen. THe power supply and switchbox appear to work. 4 port.

#41 Jerseydevil1953 OFFLINE  

Jerseydevil1953

    Moonsweeper

  • 345 posts
  • Location:Toms River, New Jersey

Posted Sat Dec 24, 2011 10:31 PM

:thumbsup:

#42 atari5200dude82 OFFLINE  

atari5200dude82

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 706 posts
  • Location:ATLANTIS

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2011 9:57 AM

Merry Christmas to all 5200 Brotherhoods.

#43 jetset OFFLINE  

jetset

    Quadrunner

  • 11,271 posts
  • Location:5200 Island

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2011 11:17 AM

Black screen. THe power supply and switchbox appear to work. 4 port.


Think it's an easy fix? I wonder if any of the brethren know what that's caused by? Maybe it's just a simple fix?

#44 Cebus Capucinis OFFLINE  

Cebus Capucinis

    Not-so-secretly Trolling

  • 8,013 posts
  • Wiseass Extraordinaire
  • Location:Ellensburg, WA

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2011 1:31 PM

I need to get around to buying another 5200. I miss mine. I did one of those stupid "Well, I have an A8, most of the games are the same, I need to save on space...." thought processes, sold it, then immediately regretted it.....

#45 Ransom OFFLINE  

Ransom

    River Patroller

  • 3,908 posts
  • Cartridge Gaming Enthusiast
  • Location:Just south of the Wisconsin border.

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2011 2:42 PM

I need to get around to buying another 5200. I miss mine. I did one of those stupid "Well, I have an A8, most of the games are the same, I need to save on space...." thought processes, sold it, then immediately regretted it.....


That's the story of my life (and so many others here).

I hope you're able to find one at a good price soon. :)

#46 Dr Manhattan OFFLINE  

Dr Manhattan

    Moonsweeper

  • 351 posts

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2011 8:17 PM

I'll join. I personally think the 5200 is the forgotten jewel of the Atari console family.

But we need to come up with a secret handshake for this to be a true brotherhood.

And might I suggest we also come up with our own gang sign? That way when the Colecovision fans show up in our hood we can do some bangin', yo.

#47 simbalion OFFLINE  

simbalion

    Moonsweeper

  • 414 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Sun Dec 25, 2011 10:29 PM

I'll join. I personally think the 5200 is the forgotten jewel of the Atari console family.

But we need to come up with a secret handshake for this to be a true brotherhood.

And might I suggest we also come up with our own gang sign? That way when the Colecovision fans show up in our hood we can do some bangin', yo.


Hey, there's some of those Coleco boys! *Starts shooting nerf darts at them!* :grin:

#48 zylon OFFLINE  

zylon

    River Patroller

  • 4,824 posts
  • 5200 HSC Mod
  • Location:somewhere out in space, usa

Posted Mon Dec 26, 2011 8:03 PM


Black screen. THe power supply and switchbox appear to work. 4 port.


Think it's an easy fix? I wonder if any of the brethren know what that's caused by? Maybe it's just a simple fix?

Usually an IC chip failure.

#49 Official Ninja ONLINE  

Official Ninja

    River Patroller

  • 2,658 posts
  • Location:NJ, USA

Posted Tue Dec 27, 2011 7:53 AM

I'm in. I only have a 2 port at the moment. Sloopy drove away with my 4 port. It should have a VBXE in it when I get it back though. :)



#50 Mirage OFFLINE  

Mirage

    Quadrunner

  • 6,613 posts
  • Have a problem? Hire the Envious Snakes!
  • Location:Milwaukee, WI

Posted Tue Feb 14, 2012 10:45 AM

I think I need to join this Brotherhood after all. Rather than consider it to be being disloyal to the Envious Snakes, I can consider it to be a partnership. Partnership with The Envious Snakes can help protect us from the INTV and ColecoVision bangers.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users