Jump to content

Photo

Moon Cresta updates

VBXE Moon Cresta

53 replies to this topic

#26 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 16,143 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu Feb 9, 2012 8:54 AM

I should have also noted:

Although the game only uses the base 48K, it uses most of the VBXE RAM.

If you're using the "R" Rambo mode core and a Dos that uses that extra RAM, there's the possibility of conflict - at the least any RAMDisk in use would probably be corrupted.

#27 sloopy OFFLINE  

sloopy

    River Patroller

  • 2,424 posts
  • lookin for bits, i like bits...
  • Location:in my cave of despair, surrounded by toys...

Posted Thu Feb 9, 2012 11:09 AM

Tonight, I will test this... As I am sure people would appreciate it if i tested their VBXE's before shipping :'D


sloopy.

#28 MEtalGuy66 OFFLINE  

MEtalGuy66

    River Patroller

  • 2,776 posts
  • If it aint broke, fix it anyway!
  • Location:Houston, TX, USA

Posted Thu Feb 9, 2012 11:26 AM

I was using a 320k XE with the latest EX core, non-rambo.. I was launching it using the X command from SDX.. V14 worked fine.. V15 would freeze after loading a few sectors with nothing on the screen.

#29 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    Retro Madman

  • 6,684 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Thu Feb 9, 2012 11:49 AM

Works fine here...Altirra 2.10beta12

Edited by Mclaneinc, Thu Feb 9, 2012 11:49 AM.


#30 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 16,143 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 9:41 AM

Attached File  mc29_d6.xex   24.32KB   632 downloads

D6 version only. Not sure anyone's running D7 installs any more.

I was holding off until I got some more done but I've not worked on it much the last month.
But there's a fair amount of change since the last release.

. More variety in enemy colours, incorporated some improved sprite designs thanks to the work of MrFish.
. Star background now looks more like the real thing.

Still a fair bit to do. I'm holding off adding the proper music until the game's more polished.

#31 bfollett OFFLINE  

bfollett

    Dragonstomper

  • 568 posts

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 11:23 AM

Program didn't work for me in Altarri, got the loading message. Screen did some multicolor flickering a couple times and then just back to the loading screen, but nothing more

#32 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 16,143 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 11:27 AM

You need VBXE enabled (standard, not $D7xx option), also make sure no cartridges mounted. Also best to use Altirra's load exe command rather than booting a Dos.

Edited by Rybags, Sat Jun 2, 2012 11:28 AM.


#33 bfollett OFFLINE  

bfollett

    Dragonstomper

  • 568 posts

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 12:24 PM

Ahh, I was lazy and didn't read the beginning of the thread, I didn't realize it was VBXE release.

#34 mimo OFFLINE  

mimo

    Preppie!

  • 6,830 posts
  • It's easy living in a bubble

Posted Thu Nov 29, 2012 12:30 PM

looking good Rybags, almost as good as the 7800 version

#35 Aking OFFLINE  

Aking

    Moonsweeper

  • 379 posts
  • RetroLover
  • Location:Nintendo Switch and Atari Land

Posted Sun Nov 17, 2013 5:38 PM

attachicon.gifmc29_d6.xex

D6 version only. Not sure anyone's running D7 installs any more.

I was holding off until I got some more done but I've not worked on it much the last month.
But there's a fair amount of change since the last release.

. More variety in enemy colours, incorporated some improved sprite designs thanks to the work of MrFish.
. Star background now looks more like the real thing.

Still a fair bit to do. I'm holding off adding the proper music until the game's more polished.

this last build has more colour on sprites,

but the animated starfield is corrupted on ntsc vbxe XEGS

 

same happens with night driver ,

as you drive the road turns into a mess.

 

all other games run fine though



#36 greblus OFFLINE  

greblus

    Moonsweeper

  • 270 posts

Posted Mon Nov 18, 2013 3:48 PM

this last build has more colour on sprites,
but the animated starfield is corrupted on ntsc vbxe XEGS


I've been playing it today (I'm really impressed by the enemy units movement)
and noticed that the starfield is correct if i choose stock config / no additional
memory in U1MB settings.

W.

#37 Aking OFFLINE  

Aking

    Moonsweeper

  • 379 posts
  • RetroLover
  • Location:Nintendo Switch and Atari Land

Posted Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:10 PM

I've been playing it today (I'm really impressed by the enemy units movement)
and noticed that the starfield is correct if i choose stock config / no additional
memory in U1MB settings.

W.

 

 

i know, it works great on emulation ...

but

my "real" modded machine is an ntsc XEGS

with:

lotharek's vbxe2.1 + dual pokey stereo mod +

ultimate 1 mb v2 (candle) + and runs files from side 2

or sio2sd

 

last version of moon cresta worked fine

 

it has something to do with memory,

if i set my u1mb to rambo 1mb it runs with starfield corrupted ,

from side 2

 

if i switch to standard config it does not even boot :?

 

have a similar problem with night driver,

the road gets glitched after a while

 

all the other games run fine though


Edited by Aking, Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:11 PM.


#38 Aking OFFLINE  

Aking

    Moonsweeper

  • 379 posts
  • RetroLover
  • Location:Nintendo Switch and Atari Land

Posted Mon Nov 18, 2013 6:19 PM

i have 2 pal (german) 130xes,

but they were more difficult to mod...

 

not enough space.



#39 Koji77 OFFLINE  

Koji77

    Star Raider

  • 74 posts

Posted Sun Dec 1, 2013 11:11 AM

is their a version for those of us who do not have the VBXE upgrade?

 

I am waiting on Steve (Atarimax) to send me my modded 1200xl.....  could the VBXE be installed along with his mods or is it 1 or the other...... really would love to get a copy of Moon Cresta!!!  looks great!



#40 Android8675 OFFLINE  

Android8675

    Moonsweeper

  • 440 posts
  • Incognito'N
  • Location:Prunedale, CA, USA

Posted Sun Dec 1, 2013 11:16 AM

There isn't, it's a VBXE designed game. If you want to check it out, download Altirra and run it there.



#41 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 16,143 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sun Dec 1, 2013 4:30 PM

It's actually based on the 7800 code with bits chopped out and much reworking to work with VBXE rather than 7800 hardware.

A version for normal machines is a possibility but some way off.

#42 miker OFFLINE  

miker

    Stargunner

  • 1,903 posts
  • Stay Atari!
  • Location:Warsaw, Poland

Posted Sun Dec 1, 2013 11:52 PM

+1 for non-VBXE version (may be on pure hi-res mode) :)



#43 Android8675 OFFLINE  

Android8675

    Moonsweeper

  • 440 posts
  • Incognito'N
  • Location:Prunedale, CA, USA

Posted Mon Dec 2, 2013 5:19 PM

It's actually based on the 7800 code with bits chopped out and much reworking to work with VBXE rather than 7800 hardware.

A version for normal machines is a possibility but some way off.

Still don't have a 7800... might have to get one one of these days.



#44 Aking OFFLINE  

Aking

    Moonsweeper

  • 379 posts
  • RetroLover
  • Location:Nintendo Switch and Atari Land

Posted Tue Dec 3, 2013 11:48 AM

found the problem, even on altirra , does not work on XEGS



#45 Yellowman OFFLINE  

Yellowman

    Combat Commando

  • 8 posts
  • Location:Northern Germany

Posted Wed Mar 12, 2014 2:52 PM

Hi, I have little problems with mc29_d6.xex after installing Ultimate 1MB.

Earlier in December 2011 was a VBXE V.2 installed in my Pal XEGS incl. Stereo Board, no Extra Ram.

XEGS Os was removed and XL OS with QmegOS switchable was installed.

With Core 1.24R works Moon Cresta fine. See my test in ABBUC Issue 109.

 

In January 2013 was a Ultimate 1MB installed and Monn Cresta does not run correct.

With plain boot from sio2sd, with XL OS (not XEGS), no extra Ram or 256 Kb extra ram, after loading, it does not start and  screnn is black.

With 512 Kb or 1024 Kb  it runs but the stars are confused. With Core 1.24A or 1.26A.

The switchable XL OS and QmegOS was removed.

 

Is there a uptade from mc29, or a unpacked Version? Any ideas?



#46 rdefabri OFFLINE  

rdefabri

    Star Raider

  • 93 posts

Posted Thu Sep 22, 2016 8:49 AM

Does Altirra support VBXE natively (e.g., is there a mode)?  I'm an Atari800WIN user, more out of laziness and it mostly works.  Unfortunately, this won't work on it as it doesn't support VBXE (at least on my version).

 

Sorry to resurrect an old thread.  Catching up from many years in the fog...



#47 jvas ONLINE  

jvas

    Moonsweeper

  • 426 posts
  • Location:Budapest, Hungary (Europe)

Posted Thu Sep 22, 2016 9:15 AM

Yes, Altirra supports VBXE.



#48 rdefabri OFFLINE  

rdefabri

    Star Raider

  • 93 posts

Posted Thu Sep 22, 2016 2:54 PM

Yes, Altirra supports VBXE.

Thanks - and now I'm having an issue with Atari800WinPLUS with the ATARIXL rom...so I may just cut bait and go with Altirra.



#49 rdefabri OFFLINE  

rdefabri

    Star Raider

  • 93 posts

Posted Thu Sep 22, 2016 3:24 PM

Finally got this working (I'm not Altirra savvy yet), really well done.  Great work, thanks for the effort into this - awesome!



#50 kiwilove OFFLINE  

kiwilove

    Dragonstomper

  • 958 posts
  • Location:Dunedin, New Zealand

Posted Thu Sep 22, 2016 5:16 PM

Never tried this before - via Altirra.

Took me a short while to find the right settings:

800XL

LLE Kernal

64K

NTSC
VBXE
VBXE memory
No Artifacting
Standard Video

Amazing conversion - seems 100% authentic. I did play the coin-op a lot, so it appears the same, even though I've only played one game and didn't get that far.
I guess this is the only way we'll ever see Galaga running. Must have been a lot of work to get this Moon Cresta up and running?




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users