Jump to content

Photo

Going to look at a Space Invaders Deluxe


21 replies to this topic

#1 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Moonsweeper

  • 474 posts
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:55 PM

So, I've never owned an arcade cabinet before, but after 16 years of nagging, I've got the wife coming with me to check out a Deluxe Space Invaders machine this weekend. The guy's asking $275 and from pictures it would appear to be in decent shape. Any helpful hints or "gotchas" that we should be on the lookout for?

I know it's probably a mistake and I'll likely get bored with it after a couple years, but I figure it's like a boat. Everyone has to do it at least once. :P

Edited by racerx, Fri Feb 17, 2012 4:55 PM.


#2 Dr Galaga OFFLINE  

Dr Galaga

    Dragonstomper

  • 674 posts
  • Location:NW Indiana

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2012 12:05 AM

Just make sure that the game plays okay and all of the sounds are there. I would suggest getting the multi board by Braze Technology. Lots of fun games in it, so you will not get as bored with it. Just a warning: I have spent more on repairs on my SID than I have on my 5 games!

#3 M.A.M.E Offender OFFLINE  

M.A.M.E Offender

    Moonsweeper

  • 449 posts
  • Location:Windsor, Ontario

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2012 8:16 AM

I don't think you will ever get bored with it. I suggest that you swap out the one or two(hopefully two) joysticks out and replace them with a couple HAPP competition joysticks. Add 5 more buttons, get a nice free download of MAME, and voila. You will have infinite enjoyment with your new custom arcade cabinet.

For more hints on building arcade cabs, go see BYOAC.com.

#4 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Quadrunner

  • 12,572 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:42 AM

Check that it's got the actual machine board in it and not just the guts of a $20 PC running Mame.

#5 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 474 posts
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2012 10:54 AM

We actually picked it up about noon yesterday...the guy took $240 for it. It works beautifully; I'd guess the monitor was replaced at some point and the motherboard looks pretty clean, too. Everything works like a champ except the coin mechs. Only the right side one works.

The cabinet looks pretty good for a 30+ year old piece. The right side has a zig zig vandal-esque scratch but the rest is pretty clean.


Not real interested in making it a MAME cabinet, I got it to have a vintage piece. I'll end up getting a purpose-built machine if I ever go the 60-in-1 route.

Posted Image

Posted Image

#6 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 474 posts
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:06 AM

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#7 Dr Galaga OFFLINE  

Dr Galaga

    Dragonstomper

  • 674 posts
  • Location:NW Indiana

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:18 PM

I suggest that you swap out the one or two(hopefully two) joysticks out and replace them with a couple HAPP competition joysticks. Add 5 more buttons, get a nice free download of MAME, and voila. You will have infinite enjoyment with your new custom arcade cabinet.

SID uses buttons, not a joystick. It is also a black & white monitor with a mirror, so this is not a good cabinet to bastardize and ruin.

#8 Dr Galaga OFFLINE  

Dr Galaga

    Dragonstomper

  • 674 posts
  • Location:NW Indiana

Posted Sun Feb 19, 2012 1:20 PM

The monitor looks nice and bright and the cabinet look real clean. Nice score!

#9 scotty OFFLINE  

scotty

    Chopper Commander

  • 166 posts
  • I have, but have **YOU** played Atari today?
  • Location:North Olmsted, Ohio

Posted Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:11 AM


I suggest that you swap out the one or two(hopefully two) joysticks out and replace them with a couple HAPP competition joysticks. Add 5 more buttons, get a nice free download of MAME, and voila. You will have infinite enjoyment with your new custom arcade cabinet.

SID uses buttons, not a joystick. It is also a black & white monitor with a mirror, so this is not a good cabinet to bastardize and ruin.


+1

#10 NE146 OFFLINE  

NE146

    Dumbass Atari Fan

  • 13,302 posts
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Wed Feb 22, 2012 8:21 AM

SID uses buttons, not a joystick. It is also a black & white monitor with a mirror, so this is not a good cabinet to bastardize and ruin.


Very true. However it's probably worth noting the original Taito Space Invaders Part 2 (SID being the Midway licensed version) did indeed use a 2-way Taito joystick.

There are a bunch of other differences as well both in the game, but especially the cabinet. The original had a bright red sky background and different blue moonbase. SID was much darker looking. :)

But whatever.. you have an SID and that did indeed use button controls. And by the way that cab looks awesome man.. looks to be in real nice condition. :)

#11 Melissa Melville OFFLINE  

Melissa Melville

    Star Raider

  • 66 posts
  • Location:Northampton, MA

Posted Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:23 PM

One of my favorite games and cabinet designs. The artwork is fantastic. I like how Bally-Midway used their background in pinballs and utilized mirrors, black lights and displays to create a 3D field of depth. Great, great game. The introduction of SI in Japan actually created Yen shortages. People freaked for it.

I would also suggest getting the Braze multi kit.

This is a photo of my Taito SI. Great Sideart, but falls short in the 'playfield'
Posted Image

#12 VectorGamer OFFLINE  

VectorGamer

    Quadrunner

  • 8,454 posts
  • \m/
  • Location:Harrisburg

Posted Sun Feb 26, 2012 11:59 AM

I don't think you will ever get bored with it. I suggest that you swap out the one or two(hopefully two) joysticks out and replace them with a couple HAPP competition joysticks. Add 5 more buttons, get a nice free download of MAME, and voila. You will have infinite enjoyment with your new custom arcade cabinet.

For more hints on building arcade cabs, go see BYOAC.com.


Get TF outta here! Don't blaspheme a classic cab!

#13 Trinity OFFLINE  

Trinity

    Dragonstomper

  • 960 posts

Posted Sun Apr 1, 2012 12:46 PM

We actually picked it up about noon yesterday...the guy took $240 for it. It works beautifully; I'd guess the monitor was replaced at some point and the motherboard looks pretty clean, too. Everything works like a champ except the coin mechs. Only the right side one works.

The cabinet looks pretty good for a 30+ year old piece. The right side has a zig zig vandal-esque scratch but the rest is pretty clean.


Not real interested in making it a MAME cabinet, I got it to have a vintage piece. I'll end up getting a purpose-built machine if I ever go the 60-in-1 route.

Posted Image

Posted Image


Great pic!

What are their hi-scores?:)

#14 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 474 posts
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Wed May 16, 2012 5:30 PM

Damn, I should never have bought that. I've started something terrible. :(

Posted Image

#15 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 474 posts
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Wed Jan 9, 2013 9:19 PM

I would suggest getting the multi board by Braze Technology. Lots of fun games in it, so you will not get as bored with it. Just a warning: I have spent more on repairs on my SID than I have on my 5 games!


Finally got around to installing my Braze kit. Works like a champ, and the high score save and free play options are nice touches.

Posted Image

Posted Image

#16 Master Phruby OFFLINE  

Master Phruby

    River Patroller

  • 2,528 posts
  • Location:Manning the Zorlon cannon

Posted Fri Jan 11, 2013 8:22 AM

That machine looks great! Congratulations on the score. Do the kids get to keep it in their bedroom? My cab is out in the family room. People are pretty impressed with seeing an actual working arcade cabinet in the house. It's something you don't see everyday.

#17 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 474 posts
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:29 AM

That machine looks great! Congratulations on the score. Do the kids get to keep it in their bedroom?


It's actually in the basement family room. You can see the evolution of the sickness here:

http://www.atariage....f-a-collection/

Edited by racerx, Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:30 AM.


#18 Serious OFFLINE  

Serious

    Dragonstomper

  • 927 posts
  • WTB: Manuals for 2600 Espial and Stronghold
  • Location:Austin

Posted Sat Feb 8, 2014 1:00 AM

Finally got around to installing my Braze kit. Works like a champ, and the high score save and free play options are nice touches.


Still happy with the Braze kit? I have a Space Invaders Deluxe machine as well, and I am giving it some thought, but I am a little conflicted about it, since it is currently all original parts ( to my knowledge).

Also, I'm wondering if you've ever had any trouble with your monitor? Mine is normally bright and beautiful, but has started going blank or dim occasionaly.

#19 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 474 posts
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Sat Feb 8, 2014 9:02 AM

Still happy with the Braze kit? I have a Space Invaders Deluxe machine as well, and I am giving it some thought, but I am a little conflicted about it, since it is currently all original parts ( to my knowledge).

 

Every SI needs the Braze kit.  It just piggybacks between the 8080 and the pcb, so you keep all the original hardware and it can always be removed.

 

Hard to diagnose your monitor issue, though if everything's original a cap kit is always a good start.  You might want to find Randy Fromm's troubleshooting flowchart for the Motorola or Wells Gardner in your machine.  Have you checked all your voltages?



#20 Atariboy OFFLINE  

Atariboy

    River Patroller

  • 4,993 posts
  • River Raider
  • Location:North Country

Posted Sat Feb 8, 2014 9:50 AM

Anyone suggesting to MAME that should be banned immediately. ;)

#21 Serious OFFLINE  

Serious

    Dragonstomper

  • 927 posts
  • WTB: Manuals for 2600 Espial and Stronghold
  • Location:Austin

Posted Sat Feb 8, 2014 2:52 PM

Every SI needs the Braze kit. It just piggybacks between the 8080 and the pcb, so you keep all the original hardware and it can always be removed.

Hard to diagnose your monitor issue, though if everything's original a cap kit is always a good start. You might want to find Randy Fromm's troubleshooting flowchart for the Motorola or Wells Gardner in your machine. Have you checked all your voltages?


Ok. You ang my wife have talked me into doing it. Plus, the opportunity to have Lunar Rescue running in my beautiful Space Invaders Deluxe cabinet is too much to pass up.

Checking the voltage would probably result in my destroying my cabinet and blowing my arm off. I'm too much of a clutz to trust myself with a job like that.

What I think I am going to do is buy the kit, then get a repair guy out here to look at my monitor issue and install the kit for me. I also have a somewhat unresponsive left button on it, and a few other quirks, so I think it is time for a tune-up.

BTW, I watched a video last night on Youtube of someone demoing this kit in a SID cabinet, with a reflection of Zaxxon on the glass. I figure that has to be you.



#22 82-T/A OFFLINE  

82-T/A

    Stargunner

  • 1,201 posts
  • Location:Florida

Posted Sun Feb 9, 2014 6:54 PM

Very cool!!!






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users