Jump to content

Photo

CHKDSK and DEFRAG


6 replies to this topic

#1 Official Ninja ONLINE  

Official Ninja

    River Patroller

  • 2,700 posts
  • Location:NJ, USA

Posted Sun Mar 4, 2012 11:38 AM

Are there good utilities like CHKDSK and DEFRAG for the ST?
Where can I get them?

I'd like to run them on my Mega STe hard drives.

#2 moulinaie OFFLINE  

moulinaie

    Moonsweeper

  • 303 posts
  • Location:France, Burgundy

Posted Sun Mar 4, 2012 12:10 PM

I use Diamond Edge : fix disk errors, lost clusters etc...
Don't know where to get it (on my hard disk...!!)

Guillaume.

#3 Official Ninja ONLINE  

Official Ninja

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,700 posts
  • Location:NJ, USA

Posted Sun Mar 4, 2012 3:36 PM

I use Diamond Edge : fix disk errors, lost clusters etc...
Don't know where to get it (on my hard disk...!!)

Guillaume.


Thanks for the tip! Excellent software.

#4 Zogging Hell OFFLINE  

Zogging Hell

    Chopper Commander

  • 222 posts

Posted Sun Mar 4, 2012 3:56 PM


I use Diamond Edge : fix disk errors, lost clusters etc...
Don't know where to get it (on my hard disk...!!)

Guillaume.


Thanks for the tip! Excellent software.


I think Diamond Edge had a few issues with non FAT 8/16 filesystems (I might be wrong and don't want to slander it), possibly with long filenames. I'd be a little careful if you want to use it for anything but standard Atari partitions, where it is very good.

#5 Paolo OFFLINE  

Paolo

    Dragonstomper

  • 900 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Mon Mar 5, 2012 4:50 AM

I remember I used it once to check errors on VAT and ext2 and things were going awry, IIRC it couldn't recognise links and started eating stuff...
I also used it on my MegaSTE and it solved a lot of issues.
(I am not sure I still have it: it was on a friend's diskette)

#6 Official Ninja ONLINE  

Official Ninja

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,700 posts
  • Location:NJ, USA

Posted Mon Mar 5, 2012 5:57 AM

Ran it yesterday on two Mega ste hard drives an it worked great. No errors but it optimized the disks. I felt like I was back in the 80s running Norton speed disk :)


#7 moulinaie OFFLINE  

moulinaie

    Moonsweeper

  • 303 posts
  • Location:France, Burgundy

Posted Mon Mar 5, 2012 10:38 AM

Ran it yesterday on two Mega ste hard drives an it worked great. No errors but it optimized the disks. I felt like I was back in the 80s running Norton speed disk :)


I once totally killed a disk! But the cable was faulty.
DiamondEdge was working on the FAT and directories and everything went wrong. So, that's an important point before using this kind of software: be SURE that your hardware works!
Then I changed the cable, format the disk, and it worked again.

Guillaume.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users