IGNORED

Late Release 2600 games

DesertJets

I am relatively new in the retrogaming scene and just got my first console(s) this fall. Much of my focus has been on the Atari 8-bit stuff up till now. But in my obsessive research I have discovered that there were quite a few late release games from the 2600 (post 1984) that look REALLY good. I know I absolutely need to get Solaris but I am totally up in the air on some others and am open to suggestions.

I am thinking along the lines of California Games, Gravitar and Secret Quest.

Video Jogger (Exus, with mat, 1987)

Acid Drop (Salu)

Pick n Pile (Ubi Soft)

My Golf (HES)

Ghostbusters 2 (Salu)

Klax (Atari)

Motorodeo (Atari)

Off the Wall (Atari)

Xenophobe (Atari)

Fatal Run (Atari)

Super Football (Atari)

Super Baseball (Atari)

Double Dunk (Atari)

Sprint Master (Atari)

Dark Chambers (Atari)

Desert Falcon (Atari)

Radar Lock (Atari)

Ikari Warriors (Atari)

Sentinel (Atari, and lightgun)

Crossbow (Atari)

32 in 1 (Atari)

Commando (Activision)

River Raid II (Activision)

Rampage (Actvision)

Double Dragon (Activision)

Pete Rose Baseball (Absolute)

• Like 1

I tried to come up with a complete list of games released in the US from 1984 - 1990. I did not include games released overseas (with the exception of Fatal Run). Only prototypes after 1988 are included and only if the game seems to be complete. I just couldn't leave out all prototypes since some of them really deserve attention, (ex: Klax, Save Mary!, Crack'ed). Froggo games probably shouldn't be in this list since they're just re-releases/hacks of earlier games, so they've been separated out from the 1987 list.

In my opinion, almost all of the late releases are excellent games. In fact, the only ones I wouldn't bother with in that list are the Froggo games and Super Baseball. Every single other game is worth spending time with IMO.

Klax (Atari, Unreleased)

MotoRodeo (Atari)

Sentinel (Atari)

Xenophobe (Atari)

BMX Air Master (TNT Games)