IGNORED

conversions and other stuff

dr. kwack

I lately rediscovered in my collection of classic computer stuff two books: Marvel Book of Computer Fun volumes one and two. It's a bunch of simple BASIC programs written around Marvel Comics Characters.

I'd like to do them on my Atari 8 bit, but it has no listing! What other popular computers of the time are closest to Atari Basic? I'm guessing C64. How hard would a conversion be?

Also, this will be my first summer off for a few years (I'm a teacher). One item on my to do list is to write a text adventure using AdventureWriter. I'm thinking of doing a Questprobe game featuring... Howard the Duck. Seriously. Never used the program before, any suggestions or advice?

• Like 1

I lately rediscovered in my collection of classic computer stuff two books: Marvel Book of Computer Fun volumes one and two. It's a bunch of simple BASIC programs written around Marvel Comics Characters.

I'd like to do them on my Atari 8 bit, but it has no listing! What other popular computers of the time are closest to Atari Basic? I'm guessing C64. How hard would a conversion be?

"hard" is relative.

If the game includes graphics for a different computer, then "hard" could be hard.

If not, then BASIC is BASIC (mostly). Strings are the biggest difference for Atari BASIC. Most other things are easier to adapt. If you can identify the platform used for the BASIC listing, then you should be able to google for a reference guide to explain how the commands work.

Also, this will be my first summer off for a few years (I'm a teacher). One item on my to do list is to write a text adventure using AdventureWriter. I'm thinking of doing a Questprobe game featuring... Howard the Duck. Seriously. Never used the program before, any suggestions or advice?

You shouldn't have too much trouble with the text adventure. No graphics problems like mentioned above.

Have you done any BASIC programming?