Jump to content

Photo

8bit Pac-man "Arcade" - Final Version - Accepting Orders


245 replies to this topic

#51 Scarpad OFFLINE  

Scarpad

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts

Posted Wed May 2, 2012 4:16 PM

I'm interested in a Cart, can you please Send me the details

scarpad@comcast.net

also any interest in doing anything with Defender? Or my Personal Favorite Galaxian !

#52 Philsan OFFLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,407 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Fri May 4, 2012 11:50 AM

Pac-Man #2 safely arrived in Switzerland, thank you.

I never enjoyed original Pac-Man on A8.
Perry's version is awesome.
Moreover, the score saving feature adds longevity to the game.

I hope in the future I'll have the chance to buy an enhanced Ms. Pac-Man too.

#53 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • 4,635 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Fri May 4, 2012 12:03 PM

Very Cool, man - it looks like you did an excellent job (as usual) on this. :)

#54 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,114 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Fri May 4, 2012 12:26 PM

Hi
Did not know,that you are active on the 8bit sector.I want one,if still possible.Please contsct me,if i can get one.
greetings Walter

Edited by gambler172, Fri May 4, 2012 12:29 PM.


#55 Cafeman OFFLINE  

Cafeman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,451 posts
  • Location:Allegheny Mountains east of the Monongahela River

Posted Fri May 4, 2012 12:39 PM

Crap, I didn't know this was so far along already. I'll gladly take a cart version - put me on your list and PM me whatever payment details!

#56 Pac-Man OFFLINE  

Pac-Man

    Space Invader

  • 14 posts

Posted Mon May 7, 2012 1:47 PM

Hi, Please put me on your order list and PM me the payment details. I need this !

#57 Jacques OFFLINE  

Jacques

    Moonsweeper

  • 270 posts
  • Location:Wrocław, Poland

Posted Tue May 8, 2012 4:25 AM

Is there a way to play in "1 player" mode? Because everytime I start the game it's 2 players and no function key seems to change it.

EDIT:
SIDE & SDX were the guilty one. Running it using MSDOS loader helped ;)

Edited by Jacques, Tue May 8, 2012 4:29 AM.


#58 tep392 ONLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,800 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Tue May 8, 2012 11:00 AM

The next batch of 25 carts are ready. If anyone hasn't PM'd me their shipping address yet, please do so. I'll need your address to calculate shipping. If your in the US, I'm going to ship USPS Priority, which is a flat $5.

Also, I don't know if I gave MrFish proper thanks. He deserves a lot of credit for helping get this game finished. He did all the graphics design and a ton of play testing to help get the bugs worked out. THANKS MrFish!

TEP392

#59 Firedawg OFFLINE  

Firedawg

    Moonsweeper

  • 398 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted Tue May 8, 2012 12:52 PM

Awesome. Looking forward to gobbling up some ghoulish ghosts. Thanks for your time and effort as it is much appreciated.

Mike

#60 McKong OFFLINE  

McKong

    Stargunner

  • 1,742 posts

Posted Tue May 8, 2012 2:32 PM

#10 Arrived safely in the UK, thanks Tep. Just had my first go, very cool.

Is it time to start a High Score table? Strictly limited to the people with Carts obviously :grin:

#61 Fletch OFFLINE  

Fletch

    Stargunner

  • 1,016 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Tue May 8, 2012 7:12 PM

So far I've only managed to reach the second intermission once. I have attached my high score shot. I have cartridge #7.

Friggin awesome by the way!

And to think that I used to actually enjoy the Atari version :)

Fletch

Attached Thumbnails

  • pacman.jpg


#62 McKong OFFLINE  

McKong

    Stargunner

  • 1,742 posts

Posted Wed May 9, 2012 3:45 AM

Think I got 100k+ when we played it in HSC earlier this year but that ofcourse doesn't count!

52k to beat then think I only managed about 30-40k last night.

I definitely enjoyed the Atari version, it was the first video game me and my brother had and for a while the only game we had! This updated version is obviously better but much harder

#63 JamesD OFFLINE  

JamesD

    Quadrunner

  • 7,752 posts
  • Location:Flyover State

Posted Wed May 9, 2012 1:37 PM

This definitely plays more like the arcade version than the original Atari one.

#64 spookt OFFLINE  

spookt

    Stargunner

  • 1,784 posts
  • This is SPARTA(DOS)
  • Location:Sunderland, UK

Posted Wed May 9, 2012 2:30 PM

Received my cart and played it today. What a great version, certainly the best version of PacMan I've played on my A8. Thanks guys!

#65 Tin_Lunchbox OFFLINE  

Tin_Lunchbox

    Chopper Commander

  • 234 posts

Posted Thu May 10, 2012 12:23 PM

So far I've only managed to reach the second intermission once. I have attached my high score shot. I have cartridge #7.


52,590? Oh you are good.

#66 McKong OFFLINE  

McKong

    Stargunner

  • 1,742 posts

Posted Fri May 11, 2012 1:10 AM

Up to 59k on mine now, will give it another go at the weekend

#67 JamesD OFFLINE  

JamesD

    Quadrunner

  • 7,752 posts
  • Location:Flyover State

Posted Fri May 11, 2012 10:24 AM

Up to 59k on mine now, will give it another go at the weekend

I hate you guys. :)

#68 Tin_Lunchbox OFFLINE  

Tin_Lunchbox

    Chopper Commander

  • 234 posts

Posted Fri May 11, 2012 12:53 PM

I have a complaint about Arcade Pac-Man. Your little pac-man eats a power pill and gobbles a ghost, the ghost correctly goes to the penalty pen in the middle, or ghost box, or whatever the heck you call it. But the ghost is supposed to hang out in there for a few seconds. Instead these little jerks are just running out of the box almost instantly, and stopping me from getting McKong and Fletch scores. ;)

#69 tep392 ONLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,800 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Sat May 12, 2012 6:37 AM

I have a complaint about Arcade Pac-Man. Your little pac-man eats a power pill and gobbles a ghost, the ghost correctly goes to the penalty pen in the middle, or ghost box, or whatever the heck you call it. But the ghost is supposed to hang out in there for a few seconds. Instead these little jerks are just running out of the box almost instantly, and stopping me from getting McKong and Fletch scores. ;)


Sorry, but I have to disagree. There are dot counters and a timer that are used to control when the ghosts leave the pen. When the counter/timer hits it's limit, the ghosts will leave immediately. The counter limits decrease over the first couple levels so they will leave the pen as soon as the level starts. I guess you'll just have to practice a little more. ;)

#70 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • 1,660 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Sat May 12, 2012 7:44 AM

here is my VBXE pacman, 256 colours, needs 320kb :)

Attached Files



#71 tep392 ONLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,800 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Sat May 12, 2012 8:16 PM

here is my VBXE pacman, 256 colours, needs 320kb :)


My carts only been out a few weeks and I've already been out done. ;)

#72 w1k OFFLINE  

w1k

    Stargunner

  • 1,660 posts
  • Location:martin, slovakia

Posted Sun May 13, 2012 1:41 AM

that pacman.xex is written in Action! language - rewrtitten from atari book :)

#73 Tin_Lunchbox OFFLINE  

Tin_Lunchbox

    Chopper Commander

  • 234 posts

Posted Sun May 13, 2012 7:53 AM

here is my VBXE pacman, 256 colours, needs 320kb :)


Amazing ;) what the retro community programmers are doing! This one is up there with Yoomp!

I really did notice though, that the level counter doesn't click up after level one.

#74 Cafeman OFFLINE  

Cafeman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,451 posts
  • Location:Allegheny Mountains east of the Monongahela River

Posted Tue May 15, 2012 7:31 AM

Got mine. Played original A8 Pac-man to re-acquaint myself, then popped in Perry's new version. Wow. What a difference. Played a while, died, restarted. Got 40k so far, did not see a 2nd intermission yet. Then I put in original A8 Pac-man again ... UGH! I will never play that version again. So slow, so stretched, so dull! I never realized!

When I put in Pac-man "Arcade", and saw the beautiful Pac-man picture followed by the coin-op intro screen, a collective "Woah!" could be heard from us in the room. This game is really fast - the Sega Genesis pad is probably not the best controller, I need to get a stick. Awesome job!

#75 tep392 ONLINE  

tep392

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,800 posts
  • Location:Peoria, IL

Posted Fri May 18, 2012 8:02 PM

I want to thank everyone for all the compliments. I had a lot of fun working on this and it turned out much better than I had originally thought. :)

I just want to explain something about the memory requirements. The game could run in 16k of ram if I had configured it to run on a standard bank switching cart like the XEGS carts. The main game code will fit in 16k of rom and the startup and intro screens could be done with 8k banks. The XEGS cart maps into the 16k of ROM space from 0x8000-0xBFFF. But a major design requirement was to use a flash cart so I could save the high score. The Maxflash cart I'm using can only map into the 8k rom space from 0xA000 - 0xBFFF, so the remaining 8k of code has to be copied to and run out of RAM. I could have made it run with 24k of RAM, but going 48k simplified the code a lot, so I went that route.

So this game could have been done back in the day and run on a 16k machine using XEGS cart technology. To Atari's credit, they did a great job with Ms. Pac-man. That is what this version was based off of after all. I would imangine that they had to cut some corners in development due to time constraints and pressure to get the game released. I didn't have those constraints.

TEP392

Edited by tep392, Fri May 18, 2012 8:03 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users