Jump to content

Photo

How to run the homebrew under emulator ?


8 replies to this topic

#1 VladR OFFLINE  

VladR

    Moonsweeper

  • 298 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 5:39 PM

So, I set out to convert some of my PC stuff (I`ve been working on in last decade) to Jag.

I have the latest Virtual Jaguar that I downloaded yesterday. It has some problems since it doesn`t recognize the *.jag files every time (I still haven`t figured out why), so sometimes it finds the games and most of the time it doesn`t. Perhaps that is even related to my issue with (non)running the homebrew.

Regarding my Dev Environment, I`ve got a WinXP.
I installed the compiler+linker from Michael Hill`s website. It compiles the Hello World program just fine.

When tryig to run the resulting *.BIN I found out that VJ doesn`t support it. After some digging, I found out that the *.BIN file doesn`t have any header, so it makes sense.

So, I read that it should run the *.ROM files. Thus, I had to adjust the linker and use a separate script, but I got the *.ROM from the Hello World.

But Virtual Jaguar still doesn`t recognize it (when I copy it to /software dir, which matches the directory in settings). It`s same for .rom.4420 and .rom.802000 too.
If I make VJ display all files, both .BIN and .ROM are flagged as "**** UNKNOWN ****".

So, I`m still missing something. I think I`ve done a fair share of RTFM and got it to link to two different formats.

Or should I just use a different emulator ?

Perhaps the header in ROM is still corrupted and needs to be just configured properly ? Maybe my .ROM linker script (that I just copied from the readme) is to blame.

In the end, I want to use the Removers lib, but I gotta figure out the toolchain first.

#2 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    Stargunner

  • 1,968 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 6:04 PM

Use JiFFI to make a working file from the .BIN, or use the options in the linker to make a .COF/.ABS file.

#3 VladR OFFLINE  

VladR

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 298 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 6:29 PM

Interesting tool. However, the Hello World.cof program crashes when I run it from VJ. Tried several times...

And to think I wanted to run a 3D engine on the emulator :grin: :mad: :skull:

#4 VladR OFFLINE  

VladR

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 298 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 6:34 PM

Out of sheer frustration (COME ON ! A HELLO WORLD WON'T RUN ?!?) I brute-forced through it and both .J64 and BJL formats ran under VJ !

So, thanks a lot for your suggestion ! I now have a dev env set up !

#5 JagChris ONLINE  

JagChris

    River Patroller

  • 2,373 posts
  • Location:Oregon

Posted Sat Jun 2, 2012 7:06 PM

Download and install all the emulators. That way you have an option if one doesn't work with something you can try others. Might as well they are not very big.

Edited by JagChris, Sat Jun 2, 2012 7:06 PM.


#6 rush6432 OFFLINE  

rush6432

    Moonsweeper

  • 313 posts

Posted Sun Jun 3, 2012 11:38 AM

sln with the -n option (no header) will obviously cause VJ to throw a fit and not run the binary file. This however DOES work within project tempest emulator (0.95)

Just a word to the wise.... dont do all development on the emulator when starting... make sure you have a good functioning base program with good obj list refresh method and a "core" to work with. If it works perfectly fine on the real hardware then id say start development on the emulator if you must, however you'll find more often than not that you may have something working on an emulator and on the jaguar it wont run....

VJ is probably the most accurate of the emulators out there for sure, but nothing beats testing/development on the real hardware its intended for....

Just my two cents from my own experiences...

Edited by rush6432, Sun Jun 3, 2012 11:43 AM.


#7 VladR OFFLINE  

VladR

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 298 posts
  • Location:New York

Posted Sun Jun 3, 2012 6:26 PM

Just a word to the wise.... dont do all development on the emulator when starting... make sure you have a good functioning base program with good obj list refresh method and a "core" to work with. If it works perfectly fine on the real hardware then id say start development on the emulator if you must, however you'll find more often than not that you may have something working on an emulator and on the jaguar it wont run....

VJ is probably the most accurate of the emulators out there for sure, but nothing beats testing/development on the real hardware its intended for....

I am totally aware of that. However, I do not own Jag at the moment and am not sure if I can justify spending ~$300-$400 during those few short summer months (we don`t really get more then 2 months of summer in Chicago) on "OMG, you brought another stupid console in the house ?!?"
Besides, it`s also a space problem. We`re quite literally, kicking into XBOX`es and PS3 (each must have endured at least a hundred kicks or so :-D ) lying on the ground, since there`s only so much you can fit into those TV tables in each room...
I don`t think I could that to poor Jag and sleep well...

So, I guess l`ll just have to rely on this community to try out the builds in the meantime ;)

At least, the Removers library will undergo a heavy test under VJ :)

Edited by VladR, Sun Jun 3, 2012 6:27 PM.


#8 Jag_Slave OFFLINE  

Jag_Slave

    Dragonstomper

  • 502 posts

Posted Sun Jun 3, 2012 7:13 PM

300-400?? Just get a regular Jag and a skunk... I would assume thats a good start for around 200-250?

#9 rush6432 OFFLINE  

rush6432

    Moonsweeper

  • 313 posts

Posted Mon Jun 4, 2012 6:13 AM

300-400?? Just get a regular Jag and a skunk... I would assume thats a good start for around 200-250?


Agreed you can probably pick up a jag for like 75-100 bucks and a skunk for atleast a 100 bucks...

not too expensive. could probably sell an xbox to snag one (if you have excess)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users