Jump to content

Photo

Any APE's for Mac OS X other than sio2osx?


28 replies to this topic

#1 esplonky OFFLINE  

esplonky

    Moonsweeper

  • 440 posts
  • Kinetic, Not synthetic.
  • Location:Canyon Lake, TX

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:35 PM

I need a good free atari peripheral emulator for my macbook pro. any suggestions?

#2 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:45 PM

aspeqt?

#3 esplonky OFFLINE  

esplonky

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 440 posts
  • Kinetic, Not synthetic.
  • Location:Canyon Lake, TX

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 12:47 PM

I tried getting the Qt Libraries on my computer. didn't work

#4 Sub(Function(:)) OFFLINE  

Sub(Function(:))

    Moonsweeper

  • 429 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 1:58 PM

http://www.atarimac.com/sio2osx.php

#5 esplonky OFFLINE  

esplonky

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 440 posts
  • Kinetic, Not synthetic.
  • Location:Canyon Lake, TX

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:15 PM

http://www.atarimac.com/sio2osx.php


Did you even read the topic name?

#6 Sub(Function(:)) OFFLINE  

Sub(Function(:))

    Moonsweeper

  • 429 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:20 PM

yes, half of it anyway
:dunce:

#7 mellis OFFLINE  

mellis

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:Sarasota, FL

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:25 PM

I've got one you can try. It is designed specifically to work with the FDTI-based adapters.

Documentation is available here.

The linked documentation explains how to build a cable.

Here's a screenshot from the documentation:

Posted Image

#8 esplonky OFFLINE  

esplonky

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 440 posts
  • Kinetic, Not synthetic.
  • Location:Canyon Lake, TX

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 2:35 PM

thanks guys!

#9 mellis OFFLINE  

mellis

    Chopper Commander

  • 248 posts
  • Location:Sarasota, FL

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 3:59 PM

I've got one you can try.


I probably should have included a link to the application, huh?

Sorry about that. Download it here:
http://www.ellissoft... Server.app.zip

#10 ivop ONLINE  

ivop

    Moonsweeper

  • 368 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted Mon Jul 23, 2012 5:05 PM

I tried getting the Qt Libraries on my computer. didn't work


I don't have a Mac running Mac OS X at the moment, but it should be possible to get this to work with MacPorts and the Qt libraries. Perhaps you can get one of the Aspeqt devs to (cross)-compile a (static?) binary or work together to get the problems you experience resolved?

#11 atarixle OFFLINE  

atarixle

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Jul 24, 2012 5:27 AM

I have a (yet untested) build of AspeQt 0.8.1 on my Homepage for Download.

Elsewise, you can run AspeQt 0.8.3 (which I didn't get to build) in Wine (also untested).

Both available for download at http://www.abbuc.de/...nload/index.htm ...

#12 esplonky OFFLINE  

esplonky

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 440 posts
  • Kinetic, Not synthetic.
  • Location:Canyon Lake, TX

Posted Tue Jul 24, 2012 10:24 AM

I got aspeqt to compile... now where is my sio2pc USB mounted on mac? i tried ttyUSB0 but that didn't work. I downloaded and installed the FTDI Drivers too

#13 atarixle OFFLINE  

atarixle

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:00 PM

lucky one, how did you do this?

I don't even get the version 0.8.1 compiled again, which I compiled before.

#14 esplonky OFFLINE  

esplonky

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 440 posts
  • Kinetic, Not synthetic.
  • Location:Canyon Lake, TX

Posted Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:13 PM

go to the directory that the source is in, then go into terminal and do:

qmake -spec macx-g++
make

#15 kogden OFFLINE  

kogden

    Dragonstomper

  • 636 posts

Posted Tue Jul 24, 2012 1:19 PM

I never had luck getting Aspeqt to build and run properly under OSX....

Mr. Ellis's SIOServer he linked above is quite neat and has a great looking interface. I personally like it more than SIO2OSX but the disk image support is not quite as versatile as SIO2OSX. For example I had trouble getting it to work with larger 256BPS or 512BPS ATR images. I can live without the Quad-density.... 256BPS I kinda use though.

I do like SIO2OSX's peripheral emulation features I hardly ever use them.

#16 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,724 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Wed Jul 25, 2012 5:30 PM

I have a (yet untested) build of AspeQt 0.8.1 on my Homepage for Download.

Elsewise, you can run AspeQt 0.8.3 (which I didn't get to build) in Wine (also untested).

Both available for download at http://www.abbuc.de/...nload/index.htm ...


Hey Atariaxle, I have linked my support page to your website for AspeQt Linux/Mac OS binaries. Great work by the way....

#17 atarixle OFFLINE  

atarixle

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:29 AM

I have a (yet untested) build of AspeQt 0.8.1 on my Homepage for Download.

Elsewise, you can run AspeQt 0.8.3 (which I didn't get to build) in Wine (also untested).

Both available for download at http://www.abbuc.de/...nload/index.htm ...


Hey Atariaxle, I have linked my support page to your website for AspeQt Linux/Mac OS binaries. Great work by the way....


Thank you! Keep up with that great work.

I will try to build the 0.8.3 for Mac OS X.

Btw, I tested AspeQt 0.8.1 on Mac OS X, but it didn't work for me. But no worry, this may just mean, that my USB-2-RS323 doesn't work with Mac OS X.
Can someone else test this? Is Mac OS X supporting serial connections anyway?

#18 atarixle OFFLINE  

atarixle

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Jul 26, 2012 11:55 AM

go to the directory that the source is in, then go into terminal and do:

qmake -spec macx-g++
make


Doesn't work for me (g++: Error: unknown option >>-h<<)

#19 esplonky OFFLINE  

esplonky

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 440 posts
  • Kinetic, Not synthetic.
  • Location:Canyon Lake, TX

Posted Thu Jul 26, 2012 1:24 PM

do you have the qt libraries installed?

#20 atarixle OFFLINE  

atarixle

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Jul 29, 2012 4:25 AM

yes.

it compiles for Linux on the very same system.

#21 esplonky OFFLINE  

esplonky

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 440 posts
  • Kinetic, Not synthetic.
  • Location:Canyon Lake, TX

Posted Sun Jul 29, 2012 8:48 AM

Hm. Do you have Xcode on your Mac? Because you need it to use the 'make' command in terminal

#22 atarixle OFFLINE  

atarixle

    Moonsweeper

  • 291 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:50 AM

you mean, you built AspeQt on your Mac? I was thinking, you cross-build it on Linux for Mac OS X ... my fault.

on the mac, I always get the same error, either I build it in QT Creator or Terminal:

$ /Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/qmake -spec macx-g++
$ make
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic mainwindow.ui -o ui_mainwindow.h
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic optionsdialog.ui -o ui_optionsdialog.h
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic aboutdialog.ui -o ui_aboutdialog.h
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic createimagedialog.ui -o ui_createimagedialog.h
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic diskeditdialog.ui -o ui_diskeditdialog.h
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic autobootdialog.ui -o ui_autobootdialog.h
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic textprinterwindow.ui -o ui_textprinterwindow.h
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic cassettedialog.ui -o ui_cassettedialog.h
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic helpcontentwindow.ui -o ui_helpcontentwindow.h
/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/bin/uic docdisplaywindow.ui -o ui_docdisplaywindow.h
g++ -c -pipe -g -gdwarf-2 -arch x86_64 -Xarch_x86_64 -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -Wall -W -DVERSION=\"0.8.3\" -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/mkspecs/macx-g++ -I. -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtCore.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtCore -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtGui.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtGui -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include -I. -I. -F/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib -o main.o main.cpp
g++ -c -pipe -g -gdwarf-2 -arch x86_64 -Xarch_x86_64 -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -Wall -W -DVERSION=\"0.8.3\" -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/mkspecs/macx-g++ -I. -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtCore.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtCore -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtGui.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtGui -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include -I. -I. -F/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib -o mainwindow.o mainwindow.cpp
g++ -c -pipe -g -gdwarf-2 -arch x86_64 -Xarch_x86_64 -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -Wall -W -DVERSION=\"0.8.3\" -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/mkspecs/macx-g++ -I. -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtCore.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtCore -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtGui.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtGui -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include -I. -I. -F/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib -o sioworker.o sioworker.cpp
g++ -c -pipe -g -gdwarf-2 -arch x86_64 -Xarch_x86_64 -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -Wall -W -DVERSION=\"0.8.3\" -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/mkspecs/macx-g++ -I. -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtCore.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtCore -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtGui.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtGui -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include -I. -I. -F/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib -o optionsdialog.o optionsdialog.cpp
g++ -c -pipe -g -gdwarf-2 -arch x86_64 -Xarch_x86_64 -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -Wall -W -DVERSION=\"0.8.3\" -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/mkspecs/macx-g++ -I. -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtCore.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtCore -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtGui.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtGui -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include -I. -I. -F/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib -o aboutdialog.o aboutdialog.cpp
g++ -c -pipe -g -gdwarf-2 -arch x86_64 -Xarch_x86_64 -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -Wall -W -DVERSION=\"0.8.3\" -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/mkspecs/macx-g++ -I. -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtCore.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtCore -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtGui.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtGui -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include -I. -I. -F/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib -o diskimage.o diskimage.cpp
g++ -c -pipe -g -gdwarf-2 -arch x86_64 -Xarch_x86_64 -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -Wall -W -DVERSION=\"0.8.3\" -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/mkspecs/macx-g++ -I. -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtCore.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtCore -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtGui.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtGui -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include -I. -I. -F/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib -o diskimagepro.o diskimagepro.cpp
g++ -c -pipe -g -gdwarf-2 -arch x86_64 -Xarch_x86_64 -mmacosx-version-min=10.5 -Wall -W -DVERSION=\"0.8.3\" -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/mkspecs/macx-g++ -I. -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtCore.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtCore -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib/QtGui.framework/Versions/4/Headers -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtGui -I../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include -I. -I. -F/Users/helge/QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/lib -o diskimageatx.o diskimageatx.cpp
diskimageatx.cpp: In member function ‘virtual bool DiskImageAtx::readSector(quint16, QByteArray&)’:
diskimageatx.cpp:240: error: ISO C++ says that these are ambiguous, even though the worst conversion for the first is better than the worst conversion for the second:
../../../QtSDK/Desktop/Qt/4.8.0/gcc/include/QtCore/qbytearray.h:475: note: candidate 1: bool QByteRef::operator==(char) const
diskimageatx.cpp:240: note: candidate 2: operator==(int, int) <built-in>
make: *** [diskimageatx.o] Error 1

Edited by atarixle, Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:54 AM.


#23 JAC! OFFLINE  

JAC!

    Stargunner

  • 1,490 posts
  • Always looking for GFX and MSX for my demos
  • Location:Lebach, Germany

Posted Sat Jul 6, 2013 5:48 AM

>ISO C++ says that these are ambiguous, even though the worst conversion for the first is better than the worst conversion for the second:
Now that's what I call I cool error message :-)

#24 freetz OFFLINE  

freetz

    Chopper Commander

  • 188 posts

Posted Mon May 26, 2014 8:59 AM

I had troubles compiling AspeQt on my Mac, too, lots of libraries missing or no longer supported with Mac OS Mavericks (stropts.h, termio.h, linux/serial.h, among probably others). Then I found this site: http://optixx.org/20... my workaround:

 

1. Download said app from here: http://cl.ly/0c420q0g2Z1m

2. Install Qt 5.2.1 (not any other version) from http://download.qt-p...installers/1.6/ (only the clang packet is necessary to select)

3. Switch to user root on the shell and create the necessary directory:

mkdir -p /Users/david/Devel/tech

4. Then make a symbolical link to your Qt-installation (adjust the first part to your individual setup accordingly):

ln -s /Users/frederik/Qt/ /Users/david/Devel/tech/qt

 

Afterwards launch the downloaded app, it should now work without the startup error. I'm away from home at the moment, so I cannot test whether the actual hardware connection works, but at least it gives me an error that it cannot open the serial port (which is not present on my Mac at work).

 

Hope this helps to get this program running on other Macs as well - and hope even more that the changes that guy made make it to the mainstream AspeQt code :)...



#25 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,724 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon May 26, 2014 4:04 PM

 

and hope even more that the changes that guy made make it to the mainstream AspeQt code :)...

 

They did indeed, I have implemented his changes into the mainstream code and the source will be available tonight through Sourceforge






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users