Jump to content

Photo

power led or new power switch


38 replies to this topic

#1 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • 3,594 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2012 4:07 PM

I've been thinking about adding a power led to the CV or a new illuminated power switch. Any recommendations?

#2 cOLeCoHiTMan OFFLINE  

cOLeCoHiTMan

    Moonsweeper

  • 457 posts
  • Let's Go Red Wings!
  • Location:Windsor, ON Canada

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2012 4:25 PM

I'd talk to Yurkie... there must be a reason he really hasn't considered adding an LED as a mod.

#3 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,594 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2012 4:48 PM

5v is there, so a led and resistor should do it. I was just thinking if there was a 1 inch (25mm) x 5/8 (16mm) led illuminated DPDT (or DPST) switch it might look cleaner.

Edited by grips03, Fri Aug 3, 2012 5:08 PM.


#4 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,873 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2012 9:19 PM

DoubleDown offered a replacement/lighted power button and reset botton, but he never shared where he acquired his items or the product #s. Here are the pics...

Attached Thumbnails

  • Power & Reset Switch with Power Off.jpg
  • Power & Reset Switch with Power Off with Splash Boots.jpg
  • Power & Reset Switch with Power On.jpg
  • Power & Reset Switch with Power On with Splash Boots.jpg


#5 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,594 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Fri Aug 3, 2012 9:35 PM

niad, thanks for the pics. I saw that old thread, but as you indicate no part numbers :(.

#6 misspent_youth OFFLINE  

misspent_youth

    Moonsweeper

  • 370 posts

Posted Sat Aug 4, 2012 8:58 PM

I am pretty sure that the parts DoubleDown used were DigiKey parts. I actually took the trouble to look them up, but since then have had the computer that I used back then give up the ghost. There is a backup of that PC somewhere, so I'll try to find it and post the part numbers.

#7 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,594 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 10:33 AM

That would be great.

I see some NKKs at Digikey that are:

Cutout for 1 switch:
.638” x .882” (16.2mm x 22.4mm)

Cutout for 1 switch with barriers:
.638” x 1.059” (16.2mm x 26.9mm)

http://www.digikey.c...2043-ND/1007100

I'm thinking these might have been the ones used.

#8 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,594 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 10:39 AM


LB25RKW01-5D24-JD, these NKKs have the dust covers too :) So I'm thinking they are it


#9 Yurkie OFFLINE  

Yurkie

    Q*bert Champion

  • 4,014 posts
  • Offering mods for ColecoVision and NESRGB
  • Location:Toledo, Ohio

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 10:55 AM

Be very careful concerning the amout of current (amperage) used by LEDs or lighted switches. You will likely excede the amp rating on the power supply, especially with more that one.

I personally think the lighted switches look out of place and won't install them. If someone really feels they need it, I will install a power on LED.

#10 RedRaider OFFLINE  

RedRaider

    Dragonstomper

  • 594 posts
  • RRTech Labs
  • Location:Republic of Texas

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 4:16 PM

Be very careful concerning the amout of current (amperage) used by LEDs or lighted switches. You will likely excede the amp rating on the power supply, especially with more that one.

I personally think the lighted switches look out of place and won't install them. If someone really feels they need it, I will install a power on LED.


Oh man, just might have to pack my YurkieVision up so it can get a little RED LED loving' ???

Thinking centered between the power switch and mod-switch...


Posted Image

#11 SlowCoder OFFLINE  

SlowCoder

    River Patroller

  • 3,686 posts
  • Location:Florida, US

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 4:23 PM

@Yurkie, are the consoles running so close to the capacity of the power supply, that the addition of a single 30mah LED would exceed it? I don't have the specs in front of me.

Be very careful concerning the amout of current (amperage) used by LEDs or lighted switches. You will likely excede the amp rating on the power supply, especially with more that one.

I personally think the lighted switches look out of place and won't install them. If someone really feels they need it, I will install a power on LED.


Oh man, just might have to pack my YurkieVision up so it can get a little RED LED loving' ???

No, I'm sure you could do it yourself.

#12 RedRaider OFFLINE  

RedRaider

    Dragonstomper

  • 594 posts
  • RRTech Labs
  • Location:Republic of Texas

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 4:30 PM

I don't care to self-perform electrical mods to my consoles. I'd much rather pay a much more experienced person I trust to do it for me.

The 3mm Red LED's I'm looking at are 50mA.

#13 SlowCoder OFFLINE  

SlowCoder

    River Patroller

  • 3,686 posts
  • Location:Florida, US

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 4:31 PM

I don't care to self-perform electrical mods to my consoles. I'd much rather pay a much more experienced person I trust to do it for me.

The 3mm Red LED's I'm looking at are 50mA.

I believe that would be a max draw for them. Putting a 1K resistor behind it would bring it down quite a bit.

#14 RedRaider OFFLINE  

RedRaider

    Dragonstomper

  • 594 posts
  • RRTech Labs
  • Location:Republic of Texas

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 4:33 PM

I don't care to self-perform electrical mods to my consoles. I'd much rather pay a much more experienced person I trust to do it for me.

The 3mm Red LED's I'm looking at are 50mA.

I believe that would be a max draw for them. Putting a 1K resistor behind it would bring it down quite a bit.


Well this idea was squashed quickly then...

#15 SlowCoder OFFLINE  

SlowCoder

    River Patroller

  • 3,686 posts
  • Location:Florida, US

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 5:06 PM

I don't care to self-perform electrical mods to my consoles. I'd much rather pay a much more experienced person I trust to do it for me.

The 3mm Red LED's I'm looking at are 50mA.

I believe that would be a max draw for them. Putting a 1K resistor behind it would bring it down quite a bit.


Well this idea was squashed quickly then...

??? I think you misunderstood. The 1K resistor would decrease the amount of draw through the LED, but not necessarily the amount of light emitted.

#16 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,873 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Sun Aug 5, 2012 5:14 PM

There always the Power Light that will be included on Opcode's SGM if you can wait for it's release.

#17 hardhat OFFLINE  

hardhat

    Moonsweeper

  • 316 posts
  • ColecoVision programmer/advocate
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Mon Aug 6, 2012 11:21 AM

An LED with a 1k resistor on the 5V line shouldn't be an issue. I'm not sure what the specs are for the illuminated power switches you showed above but the ones I've been buying for work projects require 110V to self-illuminate (and so don't light with the 12V supply), so read the digikey datasheet carefully, to make sure you are getting the right one.

#18 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,594 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Aug 19, 2012 2:55 PM

a 160hm resistor in series off the the +5V line should be fine. Power draw would be that of the total load as its in series, so led + resistor. The switches I looked at are led based and some have the resistor built in. The switches Double Down appears to have ordered are all not in stock at Digikey, but they are orderable, so just have to wait longer.

#19 NIAD OFFLINE  

NIAD

    Quadrunner

  • 5,873 posts
  • Location:Chicago Suburb

Posted Sun Aug 19, 2012 6:38 PM

I recall DoubleDown mentioning that the replacement switches (lighted and unlighted) that he finally tracked down were the exact perfect size for the factory cut out openings. So, hopefully you will get lucky with your first selection and not have to order again or mod the case in any way. Good Luck.

#20 retroillucid OFFLINE  

retroillucid

    Facebook.com/Collectorvision

  • 7,545 posts
  • CollectorVision Games - Publishing Homebrew
  • Location:Montreal, Canada

Posted Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:23 PM

There always the Power Light that will be included on Opcode's SGM if you can wait for it's release.


I was going to get my system modded with Power Light until I saw that the SGM feature a light

As when I will get my hands on the SGM, it will be always plug in so there's no real need now to get my system modded with power light anymore..

Edited by retroillucid, Sun Aug 19, 2012 8:25 PM.


#21 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,594 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:55 PM

I tried all different options but ending up liking the clear / white NKK switches the best. I used a slightly different filler, as the switch is a little too short front to back. Filler plate goes in the rear of the switch to fill the CV power / reset opening. The flat filler in the pics above is kind of rubbery vs. hard plastic and just doesn't look right, hence I didn't use them. Both switches look the same, but only the power switch lights up when on.

I used AMP UP connectors instead of the quick connect below and soldered / heat shrinked directly to the switch as these connectors are not as secure. If you don't have AMP UP connectors you might want to use the NKK switch connector below as they allow for a quick disconnect from the bottom of the switch, which is good in order to seperate the CV's top from the bottom.

qty 2 - AT497 (filler plate)

qty 2- AT712 (switch quick connect for bottom of switch)

qty 1 LB15RKW01-JB (reset button clear with white)

qty 1 LB26RKW01-5C-JB (power switch, button is clear with white, but turns red when on) - push on/off

qty 1 100ohm 1/4 watt resistor to connect to +5v source to drop voltage for red LED for power switch

pics:

http://www.flickr.co...@N08/8005163824

http://www.flickr.co...@N08/8005161677

total cost is around $50


**if you like blue better, but Ithink the SGM will have red led, so different colors might be strange.
qty 1 LB26RKW01-6G-JB (power button like above but with blue led)

Edited by grips03, Wed Sep 19, 2012 10:19 PM.


#22 SiLic0ne t0aD OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD

    River Patroller

  • 2,239 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Sat Dec 28, 2013 6:24 AM

Sorry to dig up another old thread but I just wanted to say thanks for clearing up this riddle behind this.. I've been searching for these for a while but couldn't find the perfect one. I can't wait to install these in mine! Now if I could just find the multicolor led mod I'll be set. ;-)

#23 grips03 OFFLINE  

grips03

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 3,594 posts
  • Location:New England

Posted Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:08 PM

added to assist wiring in power switch - use at your own risk

 

pin numbers used are for:

NKK    LB26RKW01-5C-JB

 

Please note this is a picture of bottom on the board, not the top!!!!!!

Attached Thumbnails

  • pcb-bottom-with-edits.jpg

Edited by grips03, Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:20 PM.


#24 SiLic0ne t0aD OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD

    River Patroller

  • 2,239 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:33 PM

Thanks for the pic grips03, it's a little hard to read but think I can make it out. I noticed the bottom 2 holes out of the 6 total are not used. So 4 out the 6 are used to wire up this switch. There's no specific pin on the bottom of the switch for the led that I know of, it's part of the switch, built inside. I'm not sure if the resistor that needs to be added polarity wise, one end or the other. My 1/4 watt 100 ohm resistor reads gold, brown, black, brown. Not sure which end to put in the +5 volt hole.

Parts in this picture : (NKK brand switch parts/accessories)

1: LB26RKW01-6G-JB Pushbutton Dpdt blue led switch
1: AT712 Switch accessories Adapter (quick connect)
1: AT497 Switch accessories End Barrier (filler plate, will up grade to rubber filler piece and dust boots)
1: 100 ohm resistor, 1/4 watt, 5 tolerance - Radio Shack page. Of 5 (part# 271-1311)
4: pre-tinned wires White, Red, Blue and Black (colors don't matter, I stuck with the stock CV colors) cut to. 8" (this can trimmed down later)

I have not installed this yet! I am working on it as we speak and have some uncertainties on a couple things. Once straightened out I will do this and definitely post pics of the final product. I wish there was pictures of this installed, gut shots. Pictures speak a thousand words folks! Cheers, more to come..

#25 SiLic0ne t0aD OFFLINE  

SiLic0ne t0aD

    River Patroller

  • 2,239 posts
  • Rock 'N Roller, Space Patroller
  • Location:Ohio Valley

Posted Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:39 PM

Here's a pic, but the damn thing is sideways.. Grr:-*

Attached Thumbnails

  • 20140119_200412.jpg

Edited by SiLic0ne t0aD85, Sun Jan 19, 2014 7:52 PM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users