Jump to content

Photo

Atari Jaguar Repair


13 replies to this topic

#1 n5x OFFLINE  

n5x

    Chopper Commander

  • 101 posts
  • Location:New Orleans

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:14 AM

I picked up a dead jaguar that looks like it was the victim of the wrong power supply. I changed reg 1, a bad cap, and the chip next to the cap. I did manage to get the power light back on but there is no video or audio from the AV jacks. The RF out shows a black screen when connected. I was thinking of buying a replacement motherboard unless someone has an idea of what isnt working. I would like to get this board fixed.

#2 Tyrant OFFLINE  

Tyrant

    Stargunner

  • 1,611 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:35 AM

Jaguar's don't display anything but a black screen when there's no cartridge inserted.

#3 Hyper_Eye OFFLINE  

Hyper_Eye

    River Patroller

  • 2,760 posts
  • IDSPISPOPD
  • Location:Huntsville, AL.

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:37 AM

Yeah but the LED doesn't come on without a cart either.

#4 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 7,524 posts
  • Location:Canyon Lake TEXAS

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:26 PM

There is another chip that needs to be replaced 90% of the time, this chip is for audio. This link leads to another thread here on AA that lists the chips and pictures: http://www.atariage....ht/#entry693544

If you are still not getting video though, then you have a bad solder point on the chip you already replaced.

Edited by Gunstar, Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:29 PM.


#5 n5x OFFLINE  

n5x

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 101 posts
  • Location:New Orleans

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:31 PM

There is another chip that needs to be replaced 90% of the time, this chip is for audio. This link leads to another thread here on AA that lists the chips and pictures: http://www.atariage....ht/#entry693544

If you are still not getting video though, then you have a bad solder point on the chip you already replaced.


I replaced everything on this list and the cart is installed. The red light comes on now but no luck. I tested the cart and power supply on my other Jaguar. I'd like to fix this but I'm leaning towards a new motherboard.

#6 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Tear down this temple

  • 12,424 posts
  • I'll rebuild it in 3 days

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:31 PM

I've got a thread somewhere offering to fix these as a service. No one has taken me up on it for a year. Always astounded why since I charge only $20 plus postage and you can't buy the parts for that, but hey, somethings I'll never understand.

#7 n5x OFFLINE  

n5x

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 101 posts
  • Location:New Orleans

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2012 12:32 PM

I'll check the solder points again that shouldnt be to hard

#8 Gunstar OFFLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 7,524 posts
  • Location:Canyon Lake TEXAS

Posted Mon Aug 20, 2012 4:15 PM

I've done this repair 3-4 times over the years. I've done it successfully each time, though the last time, a few months ago, I did have to recheck my solder points on the regulator chip, as I had the same exact problem, power on, but a black screen. Once I went over all solder points again, it worked fine.

#9 n5x OFFLINE  

n5x

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 101 posts
  • Location:New Orleans

Posted Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:42 PM

I checked and couldnt figure out what was wrong. Ax said he would check it out so I mailed it off today hopefully he can get it going.

#10 n5x OFFLINE  

n5x

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 101 posts
  • Location:New Orleans

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 12:17 PM

I forgot to update this post. The Jaguar was fixed by changing the parts listed in the above thread. I did buy a hot air soldering station (that I should have gotten a long time ago) so yes the jaguar lives on :)



#11 Rockerwess OFFLINE  

Rockerwess

    Combat Commando

  • 1 posts

Posted Mon Jan 5, 2015 2:00 PM

Does anyone here do repairs for the jaguar? I have the same issue but no skills in soldering.

#12 Stephen Moss OFFLINE  

Stephen Moss

    Dragonstomper

  • 765 posts
  • Location:Cambridge, United Kingdom

Posted Tue Jan 6, 2015 2:27 AM

Does anyone here do repairs for the jaguar? I have the same issue but no skills in soldering.

 

For a start that may depend on where you are as overseas shipping can be expensive, if you are in the USA then try contacting the.golden.ax (see his post above dated 20 Aug 2012)



#13 travistouchdown OFFLINE  

travistouchdown

    Stargunner

  • 1,518 posts
  • Do the math!
  • Location:Burlington, Vermont

Posted Tue Jan 6, 2015 8:50 AM

 

For a start that may depend on where you are as overseas shipping can be expensive, if you are in the USA then try contacting the.golden.ax (see his post above dated 20 Aug 2012)

 

I think he's been MIA for a while due to health issues.  I was able to get in touch with him recently through his wife to get a three from one power supply for my Sega setup (they are no longer doing Jag-duo's because apparently they fry Skunk Boards)  Check this thread:

 

http://atariage.com/...jag duo power

 

"Wolfpackmommy" is his wife or partner and she is the one to get in touch with right now regarding his services

 

Good luck, save that jag from the scrap heap!



#14 Stephen Moss OFFLINE  

Stephen Moss

    Dragonstomper

  • 765 posts
  • Location:Cambridge, United Kingdom

Posted Wed Jan 7, 2015 2:40 AM

Should have thought of this yesterday but if the.golden.ax is not an option you could try any local electronics repair outfit (i.e. Laptop or TV repairs) or ATY Computer (ST's/TT's/Falcons).

Although the Jaguar is not their speciality if they have experience at de-soldering/soldering surface mount components they should be able to replace the parts especially if you make it easy for them by telling them which parts and providing the replacements, no harm in asking.


Edited by Stephen Moss, Wed Jan 7, 2015 2:41 AM.





0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users