Jump to content

Photo

The Bookkeeper


28 replies to this topic

#1 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,540 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:59 AM

Hi!

Who can and wants to 'ATR' the Atari Bookkeeper disks for me?

I'm really interested in them, but I can not find it? Perhaps I'm looking wrong?

I have a small company, and I would LOVE to do my administration on Little Atari. Ofcourse I can do this in visicalc or syncalc, but that is just a spreadsheet. Wouldn't it be cool to do it with a real small business administration program?

Greetz
M.

#2 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Wed Aug 29, 2012 3:17 AM

Not sure if this is complete?
Attached File  AtariBookKeeper01A.ATR   90.02KB   119 downloads

But I do have all 4 floppies I can image in 12 hours, that is if they still work ;)

Jay

#3 Bryan OFFLINE  

Bryan

    Quadrunner

  • 10,749 posts
  • Cruise Elroy = 4DB7
  • Location:Chesaning, MI

Posted Wed Aug 29, 2012 6:59 AM

I'm not sure it would be all that cool unless you do very little business. I think there were better business packages later on, though.

Anyway, I still see new Bookkeeper packages for sale from time to time so you can be "legit" when the software police stop by. :D

#4 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,540 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Wed Aug 29, 2012 1:51 PM

@atarigeezer Oh... I would be VERY interested indeed in all the floppie disks on atr. Thanks man! You are the BEST!

@Bryan. Well I'm a music teacher, and I have around 180 students (in groups). They pay me, and I have some equipment. So I have to keep a balance in my administration, and a loss-and-profit-state, and a few more things. I can hardly imagine that this would NOT be possible with this software... but we'll see. I'll let you know. If it is not possible, I would really be interested in new software. But I really would love to do this on my atari 8bit.

#5 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:59 PM

Here ya go :)

Attached File  Atari Book Keeper - Data Base.ATR   90.02KB   132 downloads
Attached File  Atari Book Keeper - Data Entry.pro.atr   98.45KB   113 downloads
Attached File  Atari Book Keeper - Data Entry.ATR   90.02KB   120 downloads
Attached File  Atari Book Keeper - Reporting.pro.atr   98.45KB   116 downloads
Attached File  Atari Book Keeper - Reporting.ATR   90.02KB   118 downloads
Attached File  Atari Book Keeper - Sample Data Base (Benson).ATR   90.02KB   113 downloads


The two "pro.atr" files should be renamed to just "pro".
These two have protection at sector #365 in the form of a Bad - Missing Sector...

Not sure if AtariMania wants these or not, or not until having the bad sector check removed...

Jay

#6 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 711 posts

Posted Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:49 PM

Good evening "AtariGeezer",

How did you obtained .pro disk images from the real diskette on real Atari 1050 with Happy Chip ? I have my own Happy chip on my Atari 1050 but it never able to copy any well-protected real diskette such famous like Broadbund as for example.Please instructing me further ? I have ProSystem application on my Window 7.

Edited by Caterpiggle, Wed Aug 29, 2012 11:50 PM.


#7 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2012 12:03 AM

I just used a 1050 with a US Doubler mod to copy those. Don't have a 1050 Happy, yet...

Jay

#8 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 711 posts

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:01 PM

So are you telling me that "US Doubler" mod is better capability to copy ANY well-protected real software than "Happy" mod ? What is the different Happy and US Doubler ?

#9 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,540 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2012 2:40 PM

So are you telling me that "US Doubler" mod is better capability to copy ANY well-protected real software than "Happy" mod ? What is the different Happy and US Doubler ?


Don't confuse things. He (I guess) created these images with the 1050-to-PC interface. This works with the APE PRO-System... and this works (IIRC) only in Stock 1050 mode.
These disks are not copied from real floppy to real floppy! They are images from real floppies to .PRO image!

#10 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 711 posts

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:04 PM

Hello "Marius1976"

Yes, I know to copy from real disk to .pro disk images. I just want to know what is the different US Doubler and Happy chip on the real stock Atari 1050 ? I am using USB2SIO adapter via ProSystem as you said above.What is "IIRC" ?

#11 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,564 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:07 PM

The US Doubler gives the drive true double density, and changes the sector skew during a format which makes transferring 3 times faster. The Happy gives the drive the ability to copy protected discs.

IIRC is an abbreviation for "if I recall correctly" :)

#12 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:16 PM

Yep, I just use the 1050 also because it's quieter over my 810 when bad sectors are found ;)

#13 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 711 posts

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2012 8:38 PM

Hello Stephen,

I want to be sure that you are positive that Happy chip are ability to copy any well-protected diskette on ProSystem via my USB2SIO adapter ?? If it is so, then why my Happy Atari 1050 drive failed to copy protected software ??? I can only transfer non-protected software from my Happy drive to .atr only. Not .pro always failed ...
Are you selling AtariMax hardware , that is you ?

#14 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,564 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2012 9:37 PM

I am not the maker or seller (that is Steve Tucker). I cannot say for sure that a Happy drive will transfer from floppy to .PRO image. I have been a registered APE user for years, but never used the .PRO stuff.

#15 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 711 posts

Posted Thu Aug 30, 2012 11:25 PM

Hello AtariGeezer,

You stated, "I just used a 1050 with a US Doubler mod to copy those". I just want to know if your Atari 1050 US Doubler will copy ANY well-protected software on the real floppy into .PRO disk images via SIO2USB adapter on ProSystem ??

#16 AtariGeezer OFFLINE  

AtariGeezer

    River Patroller

  • 2,538 posts
  • Location:Santee, CA

Posted Fri Aug 31, 2012 12:04 AM

The 1050 with a US Doubler can not be used to duplicate a disk with copy protection. I just use it because it is more quiet than a 810 when reading bad sectors :)

Jay

#17 BillC OFFLINE  

BillC

    Stargunner

  • 1,718 posts
  • Location:BC Canada

Posted Fri Aug 31, 2012 3:41 PM

Hello Stephen,

I want to be sure that you are positive that Happy chip are ability to copy any well-protected diskette on ProSystem via my USB2SIO adapter ?? If it is so, then why my Happy Atari 1050 drive failed to copy protected software ??? I can only transfer non-protected software from my Happy drive to .atr only. Not .pro always failed ...
Are you selling AtariMax hardware , that is you ?

It should be possible to use your Happy 1050 with the ProSystem software by using the Happy software to put the drive into UNHAPPY mode first.

#18 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 711 posts

Posted Fri Aug 31, 2012 4:19 PM

Hello BillC,

I have no interesting to have "Unhappy Mode" first. I want full "Happy Mode" when I am trying to transfer from protected real disk into .PRO disk images thur SIO2USB adapter with ProSystem. That all I want.

#19 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,540 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Sat Sep 1, 2012 1:48 PM

It should be possible to use your Happy 1050 with the ProSystem software by using the Happy software to put the drive into UNHAPPY mode first.


IIRC ... the ProSystem itself switches the happy mode off, well... I thought it tries at least to do that!

#20 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,630 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Sat Sep 1, 2012 3:29 PM

Hello Stephen,

I want to be sure that you are positive that Happy chip are ability to copy any well-protected diskette on ProSystem via my USB2SIO adapter ?? If it is so, then why my Happy Atari 1050 drive failed to copy protected software ??? I can only transfer non-protected software from my Happy drive to .atr only. Not .pro always failed ...
Are you selling AtariMax hardware , that is you ?

It should be possible to use your Happy 1050 with the ProSystem software by using the Happy software to put the drive into UNHAPPY mode first.

I can't get prosystem to recognize my COM3 PCI serial port. My serial APE/PRO interface works fine for APE or aspeqt. I don't believe the prosystem works, at least not with my COM3 port. The idea of the prosystem,
I think, is to be able to make a .PRO image of copy a protected disk. I have a PRO interface from atarimax, it is supposed to be PRO. I can click 'launch prosystem' from the APE 'Image toolbox' menu, but it won't
recognize my COM3 port or any drive attached.

Edited by russg, Sat Sep 1, 2012 3:33 PM.


#21 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 711 posts

Posted Sat Sep 1, 2012 6:11 PM

Set to COM1 instead of COM3. My default always to COM1. It does works only unprotected software or data as .ATR disk images bit .PRO disk image. My Altirra emulator does not show up on the screen when try to loading any .PRO disk images due "Protected" issues.

#22 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 6,103 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Sat Nov 16, 2013 7:13 PM

If anybody could take the copy protection of the Bookkeeper disks it would be greatly appreciated. I scanned the manuals but the disks are only here but with the copy-protection they won't work.

 

Allan



#23 Mechanicjay OFFLINE  

Mechanicjay

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Thu Oct 12, 2017 2:48 PM

Did anyone ever crack the protection on these?  Not coming up with much on searches....



#24 Madi OFFLINE  

Madi

    Moonsweeper

  • 374 posts

Posted Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:18 PM

Did anyone ever crack the protection on these?  Not coming up with much on searches....

The protection is based on Sector 365 ($016D). The Basic file "BOOT" in disk image "Atari Book Keeper - Data Entry.ATR" has the protection code (sector #140 on the disk).( line 32760 in the BOOT file).

Attached is unprotected "Atari Book Keeper - Data Entry.ATR" PRO disk image that was provided by AtariGeezer

 

Please note that the Software was not tested further

madi

Attached Files


Edited by Madi, Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:25 PM.


#25 Nukey Shay ONLINE  

Nukey Shay

    Sheik Yerbouti

  • 21,705 posts
  • Location:The land of Gorch

Posted Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:21 PM

El cheapo protection from Atari's early years:

 

http://atariage.com/...f-for-salefree/

 

"sector 365 is missing from two of the disks-and is checked for during boot"

 

So if you can write bad sectors, there ya go.  I recall using a bit of tape to pull on the disks to create 'em BITD before I got some decent software.






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users