Jump to content

Photo

Lynx to VGA


564 replies to this topic

#1 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:39 AM

Hi,
This is my little contribution to Your world,
It took me 4 days to get it there, and its still not perfect - as you can see, there are sone glitches (complete lack of sync) during the game boot i haven't investigated yet, but it all come in its own sweet time

I would like to thanks following members for their contribution to this project:
Shawn Jefferson, who talked me into this and gave Lynx I and few games (on their way from Canada)
uicr0Bee for lending me his Lynx II and Batman game so i could work while waiting on Shawn's parcell

Tools used:
Rigol DS1052E oscilloscope for initial gueswork on LCD interface (there is no documentation for it, apart from schematics, so i had to do it the hard way)
Altera/TerasIC DE1 board with custom 3.3V<>5V level shifter board i've also used during SoundBoard development

enough said, enjoy!



#2 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,821 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:England

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:43 AM

:cool: Fantastic work!

#3 obschan OFFLINE  

obschan

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts
  • Location:Hong-Kong

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:18 AM

I think I'm gonna faint ....
Great work.

#4 jmetal88 OFFLINE  

jmetal88

    Dragonstomper

  • 723 posts
  • Location:Derby, KS

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:56 AM

Looks awesome! I can't wait to see what comes out of this in the way of discrete components or programmable logic that will fit inside the Lynx.

#5 GadgetUK OFFLINE  

GadgetUK

    Stargunner

  • 1,937 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:10 AM

You my sir are a genius! All the years ive seen no one able to get this working. Whats even more impressive is that you did it with no documentation for the LCD. You should look at the size of the custom TV out boxes that Atari had custom made for the Lynx, they are huge. I hope this could translate into something people could buy or make themselves.

Great work!

#6 MrBland OFFLINE  

MrBland

    Dragonstomper

  • 762 posts
  • 474|2!
  • Location:Richmond, Va

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:46 AM

I am beyond excited, thanks for your hard word :D

#7 OBO OFFLINE  

OBO

    Moonsweeper

  • 462 posts
  • Location:Land of Wine&Cheese (aka France...)

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:09 AM

Very Nice :)

#8 sage OFFLINE  

sage

    Dragonstomper

  • 921 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:31 AM

as you can see, there are sone glitches (complete lack of sync) during the game boot i haven't investigated yet, but it all come in its own sweet time


Most likely the frequency is switched during boot up between 50 to 60 or even 70/75Hz

#9 TailChao OFFLINE  

TailChao

    Moonsweeper

  • 406 posts
  • Bup?
  • Location:United States

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:02 AM

Most likely the frequency is switched during boot up between 50 to 60 or even 70/75Hz

It is.
Atari's own adapter does not even bother to compensate for this. So this is already as functional as the huge box of TTL and PAL developers would buy back in the day.

But in any case, very nice work :)

Edited by TailChao, Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:05 AM.


#10 Tempest OFFLINE  

Tempest

    Fallen Moderator

  • 27,124 posts
  • Location:Dark Places

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:32 AM

Posted Image

#11 remowilliams OFFLINE  

remowilliams

    Quadrunner

  • 10,565 posts
  • Location:Detonation Boulevard

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:36 AM

Holy crap! Do Want! :D

#12 Isgoed OFFLINE  

Isgoed

    Stargunner

  • 1,418 posts
  • Location:Holland

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:45 AM

Amazing...... :thumbsup:

#13 karri OFFLINE  

karri

    River Patroller

  • 2,422 posts
  • Location:Espoo, Finland

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:22 AM

Right... We have been dreaming about this for 20 years and then a wiz kid does it in less than 4 days.

How are you going to spend the rest of the week?

#14 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:28 AM

working my asre off so i could meet the deadlines ;)

Edited by candle, Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:28 AM.


#15 FujiSkunk OFFLINE  

FujiSkunk

    Quadrunner

  • 7,540 posts
  • Behold the Fuji!
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 2:55 PM

Nice work! I'll happily be one of the first in line if this turns into a kit we can buy.

#16 im_reg OFFLINE  

im_reg

    Dragonstomper

  • 510 posts
  • Location:Leicestershire (UK)

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 3:05 PM

Oooh, nice. Keeping my eyes on this project.

#17 nonner242 OFFLINE  

nonner242

    River Patroller

  • 3,664 posts
  • ALL your base ALL belong to us!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Location:OHIO

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 3:12 PM

God, for years I dreamed of this day...
Awesome work!!
Hope this turns into something I can have in my home!

#18 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 5:20 PM

game boot issue (lack of sync) fixed - mikey chip is not initialized properly and does not generate vsync at all, instead, lcd will roll over after 105 lines (vsync takes 3 lines)

#19 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ***Moon Patrol 5200*** *Moon Master2015* *Blue Max:Class 4*

  • 7,626 posts
  • *Star Raiders 2* **Captain -CL 2**
  • Location:*Star Raiders * *Star Commander -CL 1*

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:08 PM

Looks good. Nice to know it can be done with VGA.

#20 Shawn Jefferson OFFLINE  

Shawn Jefferson

    Stargunner

  • 1,987 posts
  • Location:Victoria, Canada

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 6:28 PM

It will be interesting to see what the final product looks like, and how difficult it will be to install. I know Candle tries to make these things as easy as possible, but sometimes there isn't much you can do. Some folks handy with an iron may have to setup some installation services.

#21 Junosix OFFLINE  

Junosix

    Chopper Commander

  • 124 posts
  • Location:UK

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 7:00 PM

Blimey, man - that is an ASTOUNDING piece of work for 4 days. Incredible. Shocked. Stunned.

#22 evilevoix OFFLINE  

evilevoix

    Moonsweeper

  • 330 posts
  • Location:Jerzy Shore

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 8:58 PM

Amazing!!

#23 onlysublime OFFLINE  

onlysublime

    Stargunner

  • 1,309 posts

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:00 PM

beautiful work! *tear*

It makes the game look so nice. Much better than the emulator on the crappy Lynx LCD.

Just curious if the aspect ratio was correct since to me, the original Lynx screen is longer.

#24 Stephen ONLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 7,184 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:11 PM

Wow - you just keep surprising all of us! This will make me get my Lynx out again :)

#25 candle OFFLINE  

candle

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,793 posts
  • Location:Lublin, Poland

Posted Fri Sep 14, 2012 2:14 AM

installation?

two wires to solder to suzy/mikey or any other suitable spot, and one FFC cable to connect to the LCD connector (Lynx I has LCD connector?)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users