Jump to content

Photo

Custom Atari 2600 PC by Hard Drives Northwest

2600 pc windows

17 replies to this topic

#1 Guitarman OFFLINE  

Guitarman

    Stargunner

  • 1,429 posts
  • Atari Is Golden
  • Location:Carson City, NV

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 12:15 PM

Not sure if anyone posted about this or not but, just in case.......

Custom Atari 2600 PC by Hard Drives Northwest

7382.Atari-2600-3-4-view-600_7703F70F1.jpg
1055.Atari-2600-fans-macro-600_7C7267B31.jpg
6114.Atari-2600-back-3-4-600_218FB2201.jpg
8358.Atari-2600-PC-Signature-600_05FA8A501.jpg
2625.Atari-2600-PC-with-TV-1-600_0C8E09E01.jpg

#2 OldSchoolRetroGamer OFFLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    Quadrunner

  • 5,565 posts
  • aka MaximumRD !
  • Location:Kelowna, B.C. CANADA

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:21 PM

Of course I would not gut a working 2600 but if I had a spare shell or completely un-fixable 2600 THIS is pretty damn cool lol! Modern tech in that classic case Mmmmmm.

#3 PacManPlus OFFLINE  

PacManPlus

    River Patroller

  • 4,959 posts
  • Atari 7800 & NES Developer
  • Location:Florida

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:29 PM

Been there... done that... :D

http://www.atariage....pc#entry1495431

... and a 5200

http://www.atariage....__hl__ 2600 pc

(sorry)

#4 Blacklight OFFLINE  

Blacklight

    Star Raider

  • 70 posts

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:44 PM

I don't see a CD ROM. How's Windows supposed to get installed on that thing?

#5 OldSchoolRetroGamer OFFLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    Quadrunner

  • 5,565 posts
  • aka MaximumRD !
  • Location:Kelowna, B.C. CANADA

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 2:17 PM

I don't see a CD ROM. How's Windows supposed to get installed on that thing?


If you cannot figure that out you certainly wont be building one of these. There are several ways around it.

#6 Guitarman OFFLINE  

Guitarman

    Stargunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 1,429 posts
  • Atari Is Golden
  • Location:Carson City, NV

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 2:30 PM

Been there... done that... :D

http://www.atariage....pc#entry1495431

... and a 5200

http://www.atariage....__hl__ 2600 pc

(sorry)


Yes, but yours is a Flashback, not a 2600. Although probably much more impressive to fit a PC in a Flashback!!! ;) :thumbsup:

#7 onlysublime OFFLINE  

onlysublime

    Stargunner

  • 1,309 posts

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:12 PM

I'd love to have this PC!!!!! much better than the C64 one...

I can't believe they fit an i7 in a 2600! with a video card!

my HSF alone is taller than a 2600.

#8 onlysublime OFFLINE  

onlysublime

    Stargunner

  • 1,309 posts

Posted Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:33 PM

did they just gut an old 2600? the case even has dings in it.

Posted Image

I guess it doesn't matter they didn't pick a better condition 2600 since it was gutted but weird to see warped plastic...

the USB port is super slick (seen on left of pic). is that reset switch function as the reset button on the PC???

#9 SlowCoder OFFLINE  

SlowCoder

    River Patroller

  • 3,686 posts
  • Location:Florida, US

Posted Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:55 PM

did they just gut an old 2600? the case even has dings in it.

Posted Image

I guess it doesn't matter they didn't pick a better condition 2600 since it was gutted but weird to see warped plastic...

the USB port is super slick (seen on left of pic). is that reset switch function as the reset button on the PC???

If I was going to try something like this, I certainly wouldn't have used a perfect case for it. As much chopping as they had to do to make it.
The Game Reset switch operates to reset the PC. The Power switch was swapped with a momentary (Select?).

#10 onlysublime OFFLINE  

onlysublime

    Stargunner

  • 1,309 posts

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2012 4:09 PM

they say there's a contest to win 3 of these... any ideas how to enter? I went to freddiew's page and didn't see any mention of the contest.

#11 OldSchoolRetroGamer OFFLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    Quadrunner

  • 5,565 posts
  • aka MaximumRD !
  • Location:Kelowna, B.C. CANADA

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2012 4:18 PM

they say there's a contest to win 3 of these... any ideas how to enter? I went to freddiew's page and didn't see any mention of the contest.


I noted that in another thread, seems like fishing for youtube subs, not saying it is not legit but I would think some video mentioning the contest or at least a video acknowledging the possibility BEFORE requesting people to follow the channel would be better? Hell, I could say "Follow my channel for a chance to win - INSERT DESIRABLE PRIZE - " doesn't make it so......

Edited by OldSchoolRetroGamer, Sat Sep 15, 2012 4:18 PM.


#12 onlysublime OFFLINE  

onlysublime

    Stargunner

  • 1,309 posts

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:14 PM

it was posted on an official microsoft blog...

As for Freddie Wong, he's famous and definitely not in need of any additional subscribers. He hasn't asked anyone to subscribe for anything.

#13 OldSchoolRetroGamer OFFLINE  

OldSchoolRetroGamer

    Quadrunner

  • 5,565 posts
  • aka MaximumRD !
  • Location:Kelowna, B.C. CANADA

Posted Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:25 PM

it was posted on an official microsoft blog...

As for Freddie Wong, he's famous and definitely not in need of any additional subscribers. He hasn't asked anyone to subscribe for anything.


Good for Freddie Wong, never claimed he was asking, still the link to the article posted at the start by Gavin Gear suggests to follow Freddie Wongs Youtube channel for a chance to win, my point still stands regardless where it was posted. If Freddie is involved in some manner there should be info in his channel about it now.

Edited by OldSchoolRetroGamer, Sat Sep 15, 2012 8:28 PM.


#14 Rubio80 OFFLINE  

Rubio80

    Star Raider

  • 60 posts

Posted Tue Sep 18, 2012 5:29 AM

Wow, this looks really cool! Is the best looking PC I have ever seen. :thumbsup:

#15 ianoid OFFLINE  

ianoid

    River Patroller

  • 2,981 posts
  • Location:TEXAS!!!

Posted Mon Sep 24, 2012 5:21 AM

Needs C64 hacked to be a usb keyboard, painted like the 7800 keyboard- was that the graduate computer? or how about a hacked Compumate for the keyboard? Not practical.

LOVE!

#16 onlysublime OFFLINE  

onlysublime

    Stargunner

  • 1,309 posts

Posted Tue Oct 16, 2012 10:24 AM

Engadget is having a giveaway of the system!

http://www.engadget....2600/#continued

#17 barnieg OFFLINE  

barnieg

    Moonsweeper

  • 408 posts
  • Location:Rugby, England

Posted Wed Oct 17, 2012 7:37 PM

I've just left my comment ... Microsoft SDK mumble mumble :grin:

#18 Kosmic Stardust OFFLINE  

Kosmic Stardust

    Princess Rescuer

  • 18,428 posts
  • It's a secret to everyone...
  • Location:Milky Way Galaxy

Posted Thu Oct 18, 2012 5:05 AM

I'd bet that thing overheats if you try to game or do serious multithreaded computations on it. :P





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 2600, pc, windows

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users