IGNORED

Original paintings for 2600 cartridge/box art

driph

Do any of the paintings/drawings used for Atari 2600 box & cartridge art still exist?

Is there a secret stash of original art somewhere, or did most of the pieces get lost/destroyed over the years and acquisitions?

Man, wouldn't it be amazing to see these pieces in real life? I'd roadtrip to go to that art museum.

I would tend to think the artists may keep the originals over time. I work in the art industry and we would take the ads we do and other art and store them in files for a long time. But after time it came up to cleaning out those files and the work was either tossed or the artist took it. I did the Black Beauty blue print art for the Round 2 release of the model kit of the Black Beauty, and I have all the original art on my computer and framed in my home. Round 2 has a copy too...but I have the originals.

post-33914-0-85961400-1350811253_thumb.jpg

post-33914-0-34155600-1350811298_thumb.jpg

Well, I have NO idea as to how my apology post posted twice. There hangs a mystery.

Between the hours of 3 AM and 5 AM EST, I have had that same problem as well...it must be some sort of AtariAge witching hour type of thing. :D

Well, the artwork used for Warlords and Backgammon made an appearance at Classic Gaming Expo 2003. But I've got no idea who it belongs to or if it's been back since.

post-1110-0-07559000-1350854948_thumb.jpg

post-1110-0-60764500-1350854970_thumb.jpg

Ooh, was wondering how large they'd be, glad there's an Atari Video Music next to the Warlords painting for reference. ;-)

Well, the artwork used for Warlords and Backgammon made an appearance at Classic Gaming Expo 2003. But I've got no idea who it belongs to or if it's been back since.

post-1110-0-07559000-1350854948_thumb.jpg

post-1110-0-60764500-1350854970_thumb.jpg

Thanks for sharing. I have the corresponding artwork for Asteroids and Space Invaders. Those aren't paintings though.