Jump to content

Photo

Lets make a journey to the cave of monsters. Good luck

Now it is the beginning of a

108 replies to this topic

#26 Goochman ONLINE  

Goochman

    Quadrunner

  • 6,945 posts
  • Moongates to the Past

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:13 AM

Funny we were always dieing for a 2600 emulator on the Jag and here we sorta have an ST converter for the Jag - much better result IMHO :)

#27 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 9,176 posts

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2012 10:17 AM

Funny we were always dieing for a 2600 emulator on the Jag and here we sorta have an ST converter for the Jag - much better result IMHO :)


Trouble is, CyranoJ is a one off product. Otherwise I'd buy a copy and start porting EmuTOS.

#28 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,453 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2012 4:39 PM

Trouble is, CyranoJ is a one off product. Otherwise I'd buy a copy and start porting EmuTOS.


You can't afford me ;)

I wouldn't call what is being done here 'emulation' or 'conversion'... more like 'redirection'

#29 skaredmask OFFLINE  

skaredmask

    Chopper Commander

  • 197 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin,USA

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:44 PM

Difference is, paying $60-$100 for a single old shonky 8-bit or 16-bit port (or comparable looking) for a Jag homebrew is not cool.

Potential copyright infringement aside, be nice if dozens/hundreds of old ST games could be ported and then slapped on to a HUGE compilation disk with a nice front end for use with the JagCD. Similar to what's been done on the Amiga CD32. Yes, I understand the difference in porting in this example (sell it at a price that makes sense for both consumer and the hackers), but do that and now you've got something of value and worth getting all excited about. Especially by those of us that have had extremely bad luck with original AtariST hardware or would like to play ST games with something other than a 2600 controller and on something larger than a 12" or 13" screen. ;)


Hay saves check it out... From http://www.mdgames.de/tosonjag.htm

Attached Thumbnails

  • ls120_2.jpg
  • ls120.jpg
  • proto2.jpg
  • desktop.jpg

Edited by skaredmask, Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:48 PM.


#30 save2600 OFFLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,176 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:51 PM

ROTFLMAO!

I can run a version of TOS natively on my Amiga 1000, but... holy smokes is *that* Jaguar project beyond hilarious! :lol:

#31 rdemming OFFLINE  

rdemming

    Stargunner

  • 1,224 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands, Amstelveen

Posted Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:49 AM




I somehow get the feeling you used a crack of LSD for the conversion :P

Robert

Posted Image

#32 sh3-rg OFFLINE  

sh3-rg

    River Patroller

  • 3,395 posts
  • doge + tie = dothemath
  • Location:BOLTON, England

Posted Thu Oct 25, 2012 1:00 AM

I somehow get the feeling you used a crack of LSD for the conversion :P

Robert

Posted Image


It's all in one file and has a trainer - makes sense ;-)

#33 sh3-rg OFFLINE  

sh3-rg

    River Patroller

  • 3,395 posts
  • doge + tie = dothemath
  • Location:BOLTON, England

Posted Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:34 AM

CJ's doc V0.1 is on the reboot site.

#34 GroovyBee OFFLINE  

GroovyBee

    Games Developer

  • 9,821 posts
  • Busy bee!
  • Location:England

Posted Thu Oct 25, 2012 6:39 AM

CJ's doc V0.1 is on the reboot site.


The images aren't displaying for me.

#35 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 9,176 posts

Posted Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:09 AM

ROTFLMAO!

I can run a version of TOS natively on my Amiga 1000, but... holy smokes is *that* Jaguar project beyond hilarious! :lol:


Sorry to go off topic, but, I dunno how ludicrous it really is. I mean, weren't there ways to connect your Jag to an ST? Why not just run a modified TOS on the Jag directly?

#36 sh3-rg OFFLINE  

sh3-rg

    River Patroller

  • 3,395 posts
  • doge + tie = dothemath
  • Location:BOLTON, England

Posted Thu Oct 25, 2012 7:36 AM

The images aren't displaying for me.


fixed, but as I didn't know where to put them anyway... :)

#37 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,453 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:37 PM

The game was still dropping frames when the action picked up (running the game's main loop + the GPU screen conversion routine was taking more than one Jaguar VBlank to execute) so I delved a bit deeper into the binary, and now I've re-coded the game's sprite copy routine on the GPU - all good again!

load_source: dc.l 0
load_destin: dc.l 0
GPU_Opt2: movei #load_destin,r1
movei #load_source,r2
load (r1),r1
load (r2),r2
movei #$92,r0

.rept 8

loadw (r2),r10
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r11
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r12
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r13
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r14
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r15
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r16
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r17
addqt #2,r2
;;;;
loadw (r2),r20
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r21
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r22
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r23
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r24
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r25
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r26
addqt #2,r2
loadw (r2),r27
addqt #2,r2
storew r10,(r1) ; 0p1
addqt #2,r1
storew r11,(r1) ; 0p2
addqt #2,r1
storew r12,(r1) ; 1p1
addqt #2,r1
storew r13,(r1) ; 1p2
addqt #2,r1
storew r14,(r1) ; 2p1
addqt #2,r1
storew r15,(r1) ; 2p2
addqt #2,r1
storew r16,(r1) ; 3p1
addqt #2,r1
storew r17,(r1) ; 3p2
add r0,r1
;;
storew r20,(r1) ; 0p1
addqt #2,r1
storew r21,(r1) ; 0p2
addqt #2,r1
storew r22,(r1) ; 1p1
addqt #2,r1
storew r23,(r1) ; 1p2
addqt #2,r1
storew r24,(r1) ; 2p1
addqt #2,r1
storew r25,(r1) ; 2p2
addqt #2,r1
storew r26,(r1) ; 3p1
addqt #2,r1
storew r27,(r1) ; 3p2
add r0,r1

.endr

moveq #0,r0				 ; Stop GPU
movei #G_CTRL,r1
store r0,(r1)
nop
nop

[EDIT: ADDITIONAL]

And here is the replacement GPU code for the sprite renderer :-)

   .phrase
load_a4: dc.l 0
load_a3: dc.l 0
load_a2: dc.l 0
load_a1: dc.l 0
  
GPU_Opt3: movei #load_a1,r4
   load (r4),r1  ; a1
   subqt #4,r4
   load (r4),r2  ; a2
   subqt #4,r4
   load (r4),r3  ; a3
   subqt #4,r4
   load (r4),r4  ; a4
   movei #$90,r5
   moveq #16,r6
   movei #.spriteloop,r7
.spriteloop:
   .rept 2
; move.l (a1),(a2)+ ; 16fd4 ; 16fe8
; move.l (a4),d1
; and.l  (a1),d1
; or.l   (a3)+,d1
; move.l d1,(a1)+
   loadw (r1),r10 ; MOVE.L (A1),(a2)+
   addqt #2,r1
   loadw (r1),r11
   subqt #2,r1
   loadw (r4),r12 ; move.l (a4),d1  (r12+r13=d1)
   addqt #2,r4
   loadw (r4),r13
   subqt #2,r4
   loadw (r3),r14
   addqt #2,r3
   loadw (r3),r15
   addqt #2,r3
   move r10,r20
   move r11,r21
   and  r10,r12
   and  r11,r13
   or  r14,r12
   or  r15,r13
   storew r12,(r1)
   addqt #2,r1
   storew r13,(r1)
   addqt #2,r1
   storew r20,(r2)
   addqt #2,r2
   storew r21,(r2)
   addqt #2,r2
; move.l (a1),(a2)+ ; $16fde ; $16ff2
; move.l (a4)+,d1
; and.l  (a1),d1
; or.l   (a3)+,d1
; move.l d1,(a1)+
   loadw (r1),r10 ; move.l (a1),
   addqt #2,r1
   loadw (r1),r11
   subqt #2,r1
   loadw (r4),r12 ; move.l (a4),d1  (r12+r13=d1)
   addqt #2,r4
   loadw (r4),r13
   addqt #2,r4
   loadw (r3),r14
   addqt #2,r3
   loadw (r3),r15
   addqt #2,r3
   move r10,r20
   move r11,r21
   and  r10,r12
   and  r11,r13
   or  r14,r12
   or  r15,r13
   storew r12,(r1)
   addqt #2,r1
   storew r13,(r1)
   addqt #2,r1
   storew r20,(r2)
   addqt #2,r2
   storew r21,(r2)
   addqt #2,r2
   .endr
   add  r5,r1
   subq #1,r6
   jump NE,(r7)
   nop
   nop
  
   moveq   #0,r0				   ; Stop GPU
   movei   #G_CTRL,r1
   store   r0,(r1)
   nop
   nop

It's faster than the ST original now. Mwhahahahahaha!

#38 sh3-rg OFFLINE  

sh3-rg

    River Patroller

  • 3,395 posts
  • doge + tie = dothemath
  • Location:BOLTON, England

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:52 AM

This now plays really, really well. Feels like a true arcade game... I don't think you should leave it here... we need even more Jaguar shiny :D

#39 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,453 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:07 AM

I agree. I think we keep the core ST game, but hook a bunch of Jagtastic additions into it, like high colour titles, a proppa 'welcome to the cave of monsters' - maybe even add the arcade sound effects.

And, of course, memory track/jagtopus highscore saving (and webcodes!!) ;)

#40 CD-i OFFLINE  

CD-i

    Moonsweeper

  • 267 posts

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 4:28 AM

can't wait to play this awesome game on the JAG!

#41 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,692 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:04 AM

CJ, is it feasible to release the Jag version as a set of patches for the ST version (possibly with the help of a custom program to convert the ST disk image into a ROM)? That way, there would be no copyright concerns.

#42 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,453 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:09 AM

CJ, is it feasible to release the Jag version as a set of patches for the ST version (possibly with the help of a custom program to convert the ST disk image into a ROM)? That way, there would be no copyright concerns.


It should be possible to do something like that, but we'll decide more towards the end of the project - well, we were at the end of this one until two posts above. Looks like we have to tart it up now!

Hell, I could even check the weak sector on the disk to make sure nobody uses a dodgy pirate copy :P Yaaaaaaarrrrrr!!!!

Can't let Rebooteroids slip behind, either!

#43 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,453 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 8:07 AM

Of course, something else might always crop up....

buggy.jpg

#44 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,453 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 5:35 PM

Quick update: Buggy Boy is working and playable now too! ;)

#45 twoquickcapri OFFLINE  

twoquickcapri

    Stargunner

  • 1,185 posts
  • Location:California

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:29 PM

Any chance of get Crazy Cars 3, Vroom, Lotus Turbo or Eliminator?

#46 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,453 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 7:57 PM

Any chance of get Crazy Cars 3, Vroom, Lotus Turbo or Eliminator?


Possibly in the future - at the moment these are all hand patched. I'd like to finish up the few I've started and get back to working on our own games. We're not at the requests stage yet :)

#47 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,453 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat Oct 27, 2012 11:06 PM

Back to Bubble Bobble.

Highscores and second player now working - You'll just have to make friends now to have someone to play with ;)

Bubble2PL.jpg

#48 Vintagebreed OFFLINE  

Vintagebreed

    Chopper Commander

  • 130 posts
  • Location:Near you

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2012 10:58 PM

Wow this is some very nice headway being made for the Jaguar props to all involved in this and as said in all earlier posts i cant wait to play some of these.

#49 CyranoJ ONLINE  

CyranoJ

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,453 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:15 PM

What was I thinking?

move r10,r20
move r11,r21
and r10,r12
and r11,r13
or r14,r12
or r15,r13
storew r12,(r1)
addqt #2,r1
storew r13,(r1)
addqt #2,r1
storew r20,(r2)
addqt #2,r2
storew r21,(r2)
addqt #2,r2

Clearly that should be:

storew r10,(r2)
addqt #2,r2
storew r11,(r2)
addqt #2,r2
and r10,r12
and r11,r13
or r14,r12
or r15,r13
storew r12,(r1)
addqt #2,r1
storew r13,(r1)
addqt #2,r1

I mean it's so obvious!

#50 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 9,176 posts

Posted Sun Oct 28, 2012 11:21 PM

It's good that you're not taking conversion requests. Otherwise I'd blab on about:

3D Construction Kit
Shoot 'em Up Construction Kit

One wouldn't have to know Jaguar hardware. Just maybe how to use a command line utility to attach the game data to a pre made binary..

..oh happy dreams ^_^




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users