Jump to content

Photo

Nano PEB and CF7


32 replies to this topic

#1 yell0w_lantern OFFLINE  

yell0w_lantern

    Moonsweeper

  • 483 posts
  • We miss Miki.

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:02 PM

I've seen these mentioned and found the web page about them.

It sounds like Nano-PEB is the successor to CF7. Is that right?

I know they were only intermittently sold but does either of these still get made?

#2 Stuart OFFLINE  

Stuart

    Chopper Commander

  • 158 posts
  • Location:Southampton, UK

Posted Sun Nov 11, 2012 7:09 PM

Not so much "successor" - one has a parallel port, the other a serial port. Other than that they're pretty much the same.

The serial port version is the most popular and they're still being made in batches of 5 or so and sold on ebay. The chap who sells them has the ebay account "schmutzig1952" - you can contact him via ebay and enquire when the next batch is available.

Stuart.

#3 Mad Hatter OFFLINE  

Mad Hatter

    Chopper Commander

  • 176 posts

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2012 12:11 AM

Does anyone have experience using the serial port on the NanoPeb? I notice it's DB-9, so I am wondering how it is pinned, and if it is the 100% equivalent to a Texas Instruments RS232/PIO card. Can I simply use a DB-9 to DB-25 adapter connected to an appropriately wired cable connected to a modem, printer or whatever?

#4 moulinaie OFFLINE  

moulinaie

    Moonsweeper

  • 300 posts
  • Location:France, Burgundy

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:53 AM

Not so much "successor" - one has a parallel port, the other a serial port. Other than that they're pretty much the same.

Stuart.


Chaining the Speech Syntesizer before the CF7 was problematic, then no problem with the NanoPEB version.

Guillaume.

#5 Lee Stewart OFFLINE  

Lee Stewart

    Stargunner

  • 1,227 posts
  • Location:Maryland

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:55 AM

Does anyone have experience using the serial port on the NanoPeb? I notice it's DB-9, so I am wondering how it is pinned, and if it is the 100% equivalent to a Texas Instruments RS232/PIO card. Can I simply use a DB-9 to DB-25 adapter connected to an appropriately wired cable connected to a modem, printer or whatever?


You can check the manual here for many of your questions. Here is some of what the manual states:

"The DB9 pins are in standard DTE (data terminal equipment) configuration. "


"The RS-232 port is standard EIA. It is nearly identical to TI’s original RS-2323 port."


'Its DSR name is “SIO”. “RS232” and “RS232/1” are also supported for backward compatibility.'


There is no PIO on the NanoPEB, so that functionality certainly is not there.

...lee

#6 Mad Hatter OFFLINE  

Mad Hatter

    Chopper Commander

  • 176 posts

Posted Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:23 AM

You can check the manual here for many of your questions. Here is some of what the manual states:

"The DB9 pins are in standard DTE (data terminal equipment) configuration. "


"The RS-232 port is standard EIA. It is nearly identical to TI’s original RS-2323 port."

'Its DSR name is “SIO”. “RS232” and “RS232/1” are also supported for backward compatibility.'


There is no PIO on the NanoPEB, so that functionality certainly is not there.

...lee



Thanks for the manual Lee, it did answer my questions.

#7 yell0w_lantern OFFLINE  

yell0w_lantern

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 483 posts
  • We miss Miki.

Posted Wed Nov 14, 2012 9:31 PM

Thanks! I contacted him and things look promising at this point.

#8 idflyfish OFFLINE  

idflyfish

    Chopper Commander

  • 113 posts

Posted Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:00 AM

You know what we need for these? A case!

Not it!

Edited by idflyfish, Thu Nov 15, 2012 11:01 AM.


#9 yell0w_lantern OFFLINE  

yell0w_lantern

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 483 posts
  • We miss Miki.

Posted Mon Nov 19, 2012 9:28 PM

Okay. I have it. Looks like an inconvenient little beastie for transferring files. Any tips for using that DOS program?

#10 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    Stargunner

  • 1,081 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:49 AM

Okay. I have it. Looks like an inconvenient little beastie for transferring files. Any tips for using that DOS program?

No need to use DOS. Just download Fred Kaal's TI99Dir program which incorporates full support for the CF7/nanoPEB. Here's the link to Fred's site: http://members.ziggo...kaal/index.html

Edited by Vorticon, Tue Nov 20, 2012 10:50 AM.


#11 yell0w_lantern OFFLINE  

yell0w_lantern

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 483 posts
  • We miss Miki.

Posted Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:39 PM

No need to use DOS. Just download Fred Kaal's TI99Dir program which incorporates full support for the CF7/nanoPEB. Here's the link to Fred's site: http://members.ziggo...kaal/index.html


Thanks!
Is CF2K any good? Looks like there is no load file in there so do I need EA? I heard I can use YLOAD but I don't know how to make it work.

#12 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    Stargunner

  • 1,081 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:37 AM

CF2K needs the EA module. It's a very useful file manager. It's loaded by choosing option 5 from the EA menu and typing DSKx.CF2K when asked for a file name where x stands for the disk number the CF2K files are in.
I usually have it in DSK3 on my CF7.

#13 yell0w_lantern OFFLINE  

yell0w_lantern

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 483 posts
  • We miss Miki.

Posted Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:54 PM

Unfortunately I have not been able to acquire EA.

#14 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 2,340 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Fri Nov 23, 2012 2:38 PM

Is E/A becoming rare?? Could throw together some hacky AVR repros. :)


#15 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    Moonsweeper

  • 405 posts

Posted Fri Nov 23, 2012 7:07 PM

Ooohhh! Oooohhh! Please say you'll be able to get some time to work on that code again soon, Tursi! :) :) :)

If not, I do still have a few of the boards left that were designed for the original code--so we'd just have to put the EA into one of the standard GROM spaces.

#16 yell0w_lantern OFFLINE  

yell0w_lantern

    Moonsweeper

  • Topic Starter
  • 483 posts
  • We miss Miki.

Posted Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:02 PM

There are 3 NIP EAs on ebay right now for about 50 dollars each. That's the first I've seen of EA on ebay in the last few months.

Edited by yell0w_lantern, Fri Nov 23, 2012 10:02 PM.


#17 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 2,340 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2012 3:40 AM

Ooohhh! Oooohhh! Please say you'll be able to get some time to work on that code again soon, Tursi! :) :) :)

If not, I do still have a few of the boards left that were designed for the original code--so we'd just have to put the EA into one of the standard GROM spaces.


I /will/ get the mega AVR code I promised up... my current excuse is that I just moved to Burbank to start work for Disney, so I need to see what my new free time looks like after I finish unpacking, but the devkit is stored where I know where it is. ;)

But for making an E/A cart, the code on my webpage today will do that, and in fact I demonstrated such a cart in Chicago (my "E/A Complete" some three years ago :) ). Just have to program the chip and wire it onto a PCB.

Sounds like they aren't rare, and $50 is probably fair for complete E/A packages, though I'd guess most people just want the cart. :)


#18 acadiel OFFLINE  

acadiel

    Moonsweeper

  • 413 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sat Nov 24, 2012 1:32 PM

I /will/ get the mega AVR code I promised up... my current excuse is that I just moved to Burbank to start work for Disney, so I need to see what my new free time looks like after I finish unpacking, but the devkit is stored where I know where it is. ;)


Keep up the peer pressure, folks :-) :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

#19 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    Moonsweeper

  • 292 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Tue Dec 18, 2012 3:18 PM

Unfortunately I have not been able to acquire EA.


use my xb loader for ea5 images you got from the atari games.. just protect the first file

#20 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    Stargunner

  • 1,080 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Tue Dec 18, 2012 5:10 PM

LOL Or make RXB carts as it has it all. Wish list I guess.

#21 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    Stargunner

  • 1,081 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Tue Dec 18, 2012 9:45 PM

LOL Or make RXB carts as it has it all. Wish list I guess.

Now that's a project :) What will it actually take to create an RXB cart?

#22 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    Stargunner

  • 1,080 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Wed Dec 19, 2012 12:29 AM

GROMS 3 - 7 (>6000 - >FFFE) + 2 ROM BANKS AT CART SPACE (>6000 - >7FFF * 2=16k)
BASICALY SAME AS A XB CART BUT ALSO INCLUDES EA IN GROM 7

#23 Vorticon OFFLINE  

Vorticon

    Stargunner

  • 1,081 posts
  • Location:Eagan, MN, USA

Posted Wed Dec 19, 2012 7:58 AM

GROMS 3 - 7 (>6000 - >FFFE) + 2 ROM BANKS AT CART SPACE (>6000 - >7FFF * 2=16k)
BASICALY SAME AS A XB CART BUT ALSO INCLUDES EA IN GROM 7

So how would one go about creating that cart from a manufacture standpoint? It would be a valuable group purchase project given the capabilities of RXB.

#24 Willsy OFFLINE  

Willsy

    Stargunner

  • 1,699 posts
  • Location:Uzbekistan (no, really!)

Posted Wed Dec 19, 2012 8:55 AM

Agreed. I'd buy a couple :thumbsup:

#25 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    River Patroller

  • 2,340 posts
  • Location:BUR

Posted Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:33 PM

Jon's cartridge will be able to run RXB when I get my part done. Alternately one of the existing 16k carts with an AVR grom slapped down on top will also fit the bill. :) Agreed that an RXB run would be nice! If someone wants to layout and manufacture the custom cart, I don't mind providing a dedicated AVR/GROM for it, since that much code already works (it's really only the ability to program the chip in the console that I haven't got to.)




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users