IGNORED

Sample cartridge

Louis

Hi all,

When I was going through my stuff, I found an Alphasys Sample Cartridge.

I used to record some TV series themes and it was fun doing it.

I don't know if the quality has become worse, but now when I record, I find it horific.

Maybe I'm using the wrong software. Maybe some has some good suggestions for better software?

Also, I am curious if the sample cartridge can be updated?

Since I'm no expert in the matter and second all the IC's markings are gone, I have no clue were to begin.

I made some pictures.

post-29177-0-51019500-1354313076_thumb.jpg

post-29177-0-55280100-1354313084_thumb.jpg

Well,

I once had the Mirage 4Bit A/D sample cartridge (only mono with one chinch), but I guess it was defective since it recorded / sampled all sounds with a lot of noise. Allthough the sound that came from the A8 thru the tv-speaker was almost noise-free (or did have low noise), the saved 4Bit sample on disk had noise that was much louder than the sound/music... and since no-one could repair the sample-cart for me, I simply gave it away... :-(

But as always, I have a lot of sample-software in my A8 collection. Afaik, some disks do still contain a few samples I made with my 4Bit Mirage sampler just for fun (e.g. REO Speedwagon - Keep on loving you). Besides the 4Bit Mirage sample cart. I also had a 2Bit sampler, named Sound N`Sampler by Ralf David which I used to sample a few sounds (e.g. the narrated beginning of War of the Worlds), which can also be found on one of these disks I guess...

Attached you will find a lot of sample-software for various sample-hardware (e.g. for the 4Bit Mirage sampler, the 2Bit Parrot sampler, the 2Bit Sound N`Sampler, the 2 Bit Analog Computing sampler, the 2Bit Atari magazin sampler, etc. etc.). Maybe one of these sample-programs will work with your sample-hardware, just try it out...