Jump to content

Photo

Faster server coming soon!


78 replies to this topic

#1 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2013 1:43 PM

Over the weekend I pulled the trigger and ordered a new server for AtariAge. Order in this case means I am leasing a dedicated server from a hosting company (of which there are quite a few!) The current server is a bit long in the tooth, doesn't have a great amount of disk space, uses a six year old processor design, and only has 4GB of RAM. The new server has considerably more disk space (and four drives, so I'll be running a RAID 10 setup, for speed and redundancy), much faster processors, and 24GB of RAM. We'll also have more bandwidth capacity.

The increased disk space and bandwidth will allow me to allow larger attachments, which are currently limited to 2MB in size. I'll also be able to finally use the "Downloads" module I purchased a while back for the forum, without fear of running into a disk space wall. The biggest improvement, though, is the amount of RAM. This will allow the database and forum to use RAM to cache considerably more data than they can now. The new server is also managed, which means I have to spend less time doing day-to-day tasks maintaining the server.

With any luck I'll have the new server online this week for testing, and can flip the switch and transfer the site over next week.

..Al


#2 Chuck D. Head OFFLINE  

Chuck D. Head

    River Patroller

  • 3,204 posts
  • Mod Mod Mod
  • Location:Woodland, WA

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2013 1:49 PM

Cool beans!! Sounds like a substantial upgrade, but I bet we can still manage to bog it down and overwhelm it with our sheer volume of nonsense before too long.

#3 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2013 4:20 PM

I'm not very good at being patient with these things!

Screen Shot 2013-02-04 at 4.18.57 PM.png

..Al

#4 almightytodd OFFLINE  

almightytodd

    Dragonstomper

  • 642 posts
  • Infrequent Poster
  • Location:Orlando, Florida

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2013 4:38 PM

This is great news. This site already performs much better than Facebook on a variety of devices that I use; including Blackberry, Nook Color, and an old Pentium 4 machine with a quarter gig of RAM.

#5 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Mon Feb 4, 2013 6:59 PM

I now have control of the new server! :D

Screen Shot 2013-02-04 at 6.31.51 PM.png

Time to get to work!

..Al

#6 carmel_andrews OFFLINE  

carmel_andrews

    Quadrunner

  • 13,297 posts
  • Location:from somewhere, anywhere and no where

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2013 6:23 AM

Does it go at the speed of light?....Or warp factor 10 to using star trek logic

#7 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 25,120 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2013 6:39 AM

It's been almost 24 hours. Are you done yet? :D

#8 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2013 6:55 AM

It's been almost 24 hours. Are you done yet? :D


LOL, I wish it was that easy!

..Al

#9 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,957 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2013 9:16 AM

Will the regular 11am (my timezone) ~10 minutes downtime be gone then too?

#10 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2013 9:27 AM

Will the regular 11am (my timezone) ~10 minutes downtime be gone then too?


My plan is to come up with some other backup mechanism that doesn't cause the server to grind to a halt.

..Al

#11 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2013 12:48 PM

I just received this image from the General Manager at the hosting company I leased the new server from. Totally unexpected, and made me laugh out loud!

Posted Image

I think I'm going to like this company. :)

..Al

#12 Trinity OFFLINE  

Trinity

    Stargunner

  • 1,025 posts

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2013 8:00 PM

Wow! All of Atari Age in that little box! :cool:

#13 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Tue Feb 5, 2013 10:40 PM

Wow! All of Atari Age in that little box! :cool:


That's an amusing way of thinking about it. Yeah, those 1U servers are pretty thin! And that sucker has four hard drives in it.

..Al

#14 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 25,120 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2013 5:00 AM

Wow! All of AtariAge in that little box! :cool:


That's what she said. :D

#15 Trinity OFFLINE  

Trinity

    Stargunner

  • 1,025 posts

Posted Wed Feb 6, 2013 7:10 AM

That's what she said. :D





#16 Jaymiester OFFLINE  

Jaymiester

    Moonsweeper

  • 316 posts
  • Location:New Orleans

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 2:49 PM

I know this thread is about the server upgrade and your busy with that, but are there any plans for an Atari Age app for Android / Apple in the near future?

#17 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash

  • 18,957 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 2:52 PM

...are there any plans for an Atari Age app for Android / Apple in the near future?

What would be the advantage?

#18 Mr SQL OFFLINE  

Mr SQL

    Dragonstomper

  • 792 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 3:06 PM

What would be the advantage?

Good point Tom; I think the majority of apps in the app stores could have been done in the browser though so why not put web pages in there too? :)

#19 Mr SQL OFFLINE  

Mr SQL

    Dragonstomper

  • 792 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 3:13 PM

Hey Al what database are you using? Just curious, feels like you are running MySQL if I had to guess :)

#20 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 3:16 PM

Hey Al what database are you using? Just curious, feels like you are running MySQL if I had to guess :)


Probably 99% of the forums out there are using MySQL, including AtariAge. You really shouldn't be able to discern that, though, when things are running smoothly. Ideally I'd have the database server running separately from the web server, but that's a somewhat expensive proposition. I am going to setup replication to another server, though, and then do daily backups from the slave instead of the master, which will fix the site going offline at 4am every night.

..Al

#21 theloon OFFLINE  

theloon

    Quadrunner

  • 8,058 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 3:20 PM

I've been getting up at odd hours to program my MMSBC 2 Atari 2600 game. Towards 3am to 5am AtariAge goes a little wonky and unresponsive. Hopefully bigger iron will help with that.

#22 Mr SQL OFFLINE  

Mr SQL

    Dragonstomper

  • 792 posts

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 3:53 PM

Probably 99% of the forums out there are using MySQL, including AtariAge. You really shouldn't be able to discern that, though, when things are running smoothly. Ideally I'd have the database server running separately from the web server, but that's a somewhat expensive proposition. I am going to setup replication to another server, though, and then do daily backups from the slave instead of the master, which will fix the site going offline at 4am every night.

..Al

Al,
the backup window gave it away but I think MySQL is OK - you were getting pretty good performance from the database side before the AJAX upgrade to the software; that upgrade was pretty buggy at first, the AJAX created client side bubbles that could crash a workstation if the page was left up over night and probably bogged the server with too many unnecessary database hits.

I would think AtariAge is awesome even if you ran it on an 80's BBS ... wait a minute, what am I saying? I think AtariAge would be even more awesome if you ran it on an 80's BBS :)

#23 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 4:50 PM

First shot of AtariAge running on the new server:

aa_new_server_main_index.jpg

Now to get the forums running!

..Al

#24 Albert ONLINE  

Albert

    Greetings, Avatar!

  • Topic Starter
  • 30,487 posts
  • Location:Sosaria

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 4:53 PM

the backup window gave it away but I think MySQL is OK - you were getting pretty good performance from the database side before the AJAX upgrade to the software; that upgrade was pretty buggy at first, the AJAX created client side bubbles that could crash a workstation if the page was left up over night and probably bogged the server with too many unnecessary database hits.


The backups have gotten progressively worse over time. The database is nearly 6GB in size at the moment. And you can't really backup a database full of (mostly) MyISAM tables without locking them. Needless to say, this is a good opportunity to change the way database backups are done!

As for the AJAX, I don't think it's too bad--certainly some of the AJAX calls are balanced out by not having to do full page reloads. For instance, Quick Replies that add your post to the page without reloading. Which is a pretty common task. And pretty much all AJAX calls require some interaction from the user. Even the "Spy" page has a limited window where it will run before it stops updating the page.

I would think AtariAge is awesome even if you ran it on an 80's BBS ... wait a minute, what am I saying? I think AtariAge would be even more awesome if you ran it on an 80's BBS :)


That would make a great April Fool's joke. :)

..Al

#25 Gregory DG OFFLINE  

Gregory DG

    TAT IS BACK!

  • 10,976 posts
  • Go Cardinals!
  • Location:Winter Haven, FL

Posted Thu Feb 7, 2013 5:09 PM

And you can't really backup a database full of (mostly) MyISAM tables without locking them.

Are you going to convert them to InnoDB ? I've been using it instead of MyISAM for awhile now...




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users