Jump to content

Photo

Collecting for the VIC 20

commodore vic 20 collecting

73 replies to this topic

#51 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,809 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Thu Mar 21, 2013 12:36 PM

How many carts released on Vic? They do look terrible wide.


You need to remember that chips where quite large back then, and the cartridge port was how you expanded the VIC 20. This is the insides of a Super Expander, it only contains a 4K ROM that extends BASIC and 3K of RAM:
VIC 20 Super Expander.jpg

This is a 24K RAM cartridge that I used to have back in the day, you can see it's quite a bit deeper than the normal VIC cartridge. I no longer have it so can't open it to show the insides.
MSD 24K.JPG

#52 akator OFFLINE  

akator

    River Patroller

  • 2,647 posts
  • Location:Virginia, US

Posted Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:02 PM

This is the insides of a Super Expander, it only contains a 4K ROM that extends BASIC and 3K of RAM


Every Super Expander I've found on FeeBay is surprisingly expensive. I've seen one over the last few months, and it's $35+ shipped. How did these become rare? Is $35+ normal for a Super Expander?

#53 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,809 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Thu Mar 21, 2013 1:12 PM

I don't know, don't keep up with the VIC market.

#54 carlsson OFFLINE  

carlsson

    Metagalactic Mule

  • 9,006 posts
  • Location:Västerås, Sweden

Posted Thu Mar 21, 2013 3:05 PM

I find Super Expander terribly common, so you might just be in a dry spell at the moment and see those high prices.

When it comes to the width of the fingers, I'm not sure if more narrow fingers were more expensive or if Commodore made the cartridges rather wide to look impressive. I know that Atari 400/800 cartridges have more narrow fingers. I never looked at 2600, TI-99 etc to name a few. I figure wide cartridges don't have to protrude as far out from the computer although you see the 24K expansion above that has both width and depth.

As for additional hardware, there were B&W 40/80 column cartridges for the VIC-20 but those have their own video output so the logic screen is redirected to use that hardware. I'm not sure how e.g. sprite hardware could interface with the VIC-I chip inside the computer, probably not at all. Certainly you might be able to interface some different chip, but then you might need to plug in a video cable into the cartridge to play that game.

#55 simbalion OFFLINE  

simbalion

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 890 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Tue Mar 26, 2013 2:26 PM

I was doing a little cleaning and stumbled upon my forgotten Vicmodem still in its box with everything but the packing material! I actually forgot I had this thing and its been sitting on a shelf in the closet for who knows how long. It is the model 1600 with the tape.

#56 onthinice OFFLINE  

onthinice

    Chopper Commander

  • 186 posts
  • Location:NW Ohio

Posted Wed Mar 27, 2013 7:15 AM

I got my Vic-20 new. I did not know about all the multi-carts. They sound impressive.

One thing has always made me question. Was the Cardaptor ever released for the Vic-20?
Always thought it would be cool to play 2600 games on the Vic!

#57 Bill Loguidice OFFLINE  

Bill Loguidice

    Quadrunner

  • 7,279 posts
  • Armchair Arcade Managing Director
  • Location:Burlington, New Jersey, USA

Posted Wed Mar 27, 2013 9:01 AM

I got my Vic-20 new. I did not know about all the multi-carts. They sound impressive.

One thing has always made me question. Was the Cardaptor ever released for the Vic-20?
Always thought it would be cool to play 2600 games on the Vic!


It was released in what must have been limited quantities, so it will be exceptionally difficult to get one. I think I've seen just one on eBay over many years, and it sold for quite a bit, obviously...

#58 Shinju OFFLINE  

Shinju

    Moonsweeper

  • 338 posts
  • Location:USA, Washington State, Seattle

Posted Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:35 PM

Got to get me one of those Vic-20 Mega Carts soon.

#59 desiv OFFLINE  

desiv

    Stargunner

  • 1,746 posts
  • Location:Salem, Oregon

Posted Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:50 PM

Got to get me one of those Vic-20 Mega Carts soon.

Unless you are already on the list, "soon" isn't happening. ;-)

desiv

#60 Shinju OFFLINE  

Shinju

    Moonsweeper

  • 338 posts
  • Location:USA, Washington State, Seattle

Posted Fri Mar 29, 2013 3:54 PM

Unless you are already on the list, "soon" isn't happening. ;-)

desiv


Yeah, I hear its almost a year to get one after paying. I fellow collector and friend just got his a month ago. Pretty nice piece and well made and packaged.

#61 wood_jl OFFLINE  

wood_jl

    Quadrunner

  • 6,910 posts
  • Location:West TN, USA

Posted Fri Mar 29, 2013 4:48 PM

Yeah, I hear its almost a year to get one after paying. I fellow collector and friend just got his a month ago. Pretty nice piece and well made and packaged.


You don't have to pay to get on the list. You have to get on the list and wait the year. Then, shortly before yours is ready, you'll get an email to pay.

#62 oracle_jedi OFFLINE  

oracle_jedi

    Dragonstomper

  • 513 posts
  • Nothing to Declare
  • Location:Seattle, WA

Posted Fri Mar 29, 2013 10:42 PM

I got my Vic-20 new. I did not know about all the multi-carts. They sound impressive.

One thing has always made me question. Was the Cardaptor ever released for the Vic-20?
Always thought it would be cool to play 2600 games on the Vic!


I believe that device was 100% vaporware.

Adverts were run but I believe not a single device was ever sold. Never even seen any prototypes.

#63 Bodyshots OFFLINE  

Bodyshots

    Dragonstomper

  • 623 posts

Posted Wed Jul 16, 2014 8:45 PM

Just received my SD2IEC.  So I don't have to download a single file each and every time, is anyone aware of a link that has the most up to date files of the games/programs for the Vic 20 as 1 download?  (Also looking for the same for Commodore 64 too.) :)



#64 Mayhem OFFLINE  

Mayhem

    Commodore Chaos Knight

  • 5,241 posts
  • Cartridge master
  • Location:London, England

Posted Thu Jul 17, 2014 1:50 PM

The Gamebase collections... GB64 and GB20.



#65 Bodyshots OFFLINE  

Bodyshots

    Dragonstomper

  • 623 posts

Posted Thu Jul 17, 2014 9:33 PM

gb64 files seem scattered, can't seem to find a proper link :/



#66 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 770 posts

Posted Fri Jul 18, 2014 2:17 AM

Hello Bodyshots,

You said that you brought SD2IEC from eBay in Hungary ? Is that right ? Have you been testing Sd2IEC ? Can you be kind to post YouTube link to loading any games on your Commodore VIC-20 ?

#67 Bodyshots OFFLINE  

Bodyshots

    Dragonstomper

  • 623 posts

Posted Fri Jul 18, 2014 7:04 AM

I didn't get mine from Hungary.  Did you get one?  Did you get the sheet that came with yours? The loading is mentioned on the sheet.  I haven't even put the programs on SD yet and unfortunately I don't have a VHS to make the recordings.

 

If you don't have the sheet, I would have to check with the person who supplied it to make sure this wasn't a 'perk' of the purchase and to see if he does not mind me sharing it.



#68 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 770 posts

Posted Fri Jul 18, 2014 8:13 PM

Hello Bodyshots,

Is possible for you to take a photo of your SD2IEC device ? Since you stated that you did not purchase from Hungary .... so I would like to confirm it is really SD2IEC. Please post photo here. And did you testing it via your Commodore VIC-20 ?

#69 Bodyshots OFFLINE  

Bodyshots

    Dragonstomper

  • 623 posts

Posted Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:35 PM

I said I've yet to try loading programs on to an SD yet.  And yes, if you take my word for it, it really is a SD2IEC :D Why are you so adamant about knowing?  Just curious.  You haven't answered any of my previous questions.

 

I'm sensing your are doing some investigating, but I'm curious as to why.



#70 Caterpiggle OFFLINE  

Caterpiggle

    Dragonstomper

  • 770 posts

Posted Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:46 PM

your previous question. Really i don't know what you talking about "sheet" ? You said, be sure it was not "perk" ? I still don't know what you talk about ? Yes, I am "investigating" as you said. Because I am thinking about to buy SD2IEC device from Hungary BUT where did you brought it from where and who ? On eBay ?

#71 Bodyshots OFFLINE  

Bodyshots

    Dragonstomper

  • 623 posts

Posted Fri Jul 18, 2014 9:55 PM

If you are interested in purchasing one, I would recommend this guy here. 

 

http://www.ebay.com/...=item4d0c36ccc7

 

Click seller's other items for different options.

 

As for me supplying a video on youtube, if you search the item  " SD2IEC " on youtube :D there are hundreds others who have already supplied a video. (C-64 & Vic-20 ) 

 

Good luck with your decision.



#72 Bodyshots OFFLINE  

Bodyshots

    Dragonstomper

  • 623 posts

Posted Sun Jul 20, 2014 10:30 AM

:/  ya…  yer welcome :/

 

google is your friend… use it



#73 7800 OFFLINE  

7800

    Dragonstomper

  • 663 posts
  • Miserable SOB
  • Location:Westchester County, New York

Posted Mon Jul 21, 2014 7:30 PM

I just got a VIC 20 from a garage sale the other day. You aren't kidding about the RF box, that thing makes A LOT of static. Curious what kind of adjustments you made to make the picture clearer. However, I will probably just get an AV cable and save myself the headache.



#74 simbalion OFFLINE  

simbalion

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 890 posts
  • Location:Ohio

Posted Wed Jul 23, 2014 7:22 PM

I took the top off my RF box and there is one coil in there with a blue adjuster that can take either a small phillips type end or small flat blade. If I can get to it tomorrow, I'll try and get a picture. That is the one I adjust to get mine back in line. I am wondering if the little power capacitors in these boxes are just going bad from age.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: commodore, vic 20, collecting

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users