IGNORED

Reset Atari - makers of GCW Zero trying to buy Atari brand

Amstari

LOL, they had a kickstarter as well. Wonder how many other sites they did this on.

http://www.kickstart...ld/posts/424132

Of note, take a look at the response. They're upset that places like AA didn't embrace them, and they also just stated they intend to misuse kickstarter and the funds. You can't have people donate expecting one thing and then state after it closes you're going to actually go in a "different direction."

I'm new to this whole Kickstarter thing. So explain it to me. From what I see on the Kickstarter site.....they reached the goal. Since they reached that goal......the people are now out the money they donated right??? So if they decide to take the funds and just pad thier wallet....those people are screwed??

I would rather give money to this project:

Truly this cant be for real. Can it?

Edited by Taskmaster99

Kickstarter specifically says they are NOT to be used to launch startup companies. This is basically an attempt to start up (well, buy out and reactivate) a company.

Kickstarter is best used as the 21st century equivalent of the De Medicis, a patronage system for independent artists, most often videographers.

I donated $45 to someone doing a documentary on Susan Oliver (from Star Trek) and he squeaked by and will be doing his documentary. Lots of special interest programming like this is getting to see the light of day via this funding method. Even if a project like this never gets widely distributed, those who donate will at least get their copy of the DVD or just be happy they kind of preordered for it, and watch it on Vimeo or Youtube.