Jump to content

Photo

JAGUAR Duo~Power 2-in-1 A/C Adapter


71 replies to this topic

#1 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Quadrunner

  • 12,538 posts

Posted Fri May 3, 2013 4:51 PM

Posted Image

............................Posted Image

For use with the Atari Jaguar alone, or together with the CD-ROM drive.

Also works on the original Sega Genesis, or with Sega CD model 1 OR 2.

Run both units from one grounded power supply. No more "wall warts!"

Works with AC100v - 240v ensuring worldwide compatibility.
(*When used with the correct PC style wall cord.)

Units contain TWO fuses for extra protection.

Runs a beefy 2.20amps, clean medical grade energy source.

USA / CANADA orders will include the standard North American (PC style) cord.

Other international orders will need to procure the correct cord for their region*.

20 units are ready to go NOW!

Maximum of 35 intended. (Unless I can source more of the parts.)


Posted Image

First come, first served. When they are gone, that's it, at least for this model.


$24.95 EACH + Shipping

Postage is $10.05 domestic or $20.05 international.

TO PURCHASE: Please email me at my username at Gmail and I'll send you a paypal invoice.

*For 220-240V connection: Use and international harmonized, 300v rated, pvc insulated jacket, three conductors of 0.75mm² minimum diameter, with a molded-on plug cap marked with the proper agency marking for the country it will be used in:
Posted Image

#2 evg2000 OFFLINE  

evg2000

    Stargunner

  • 1,286 posts
  • Location:N. Cal

Posted Fri May 3, 2013 8:38 PM

email sent, let me know if you don't get the email

thanks,
charles

#3 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 6:20 PM

Awesome. Put me down for one.

#4 McKie1 ONLINE  

McKie1

    Combat Commando

  • 8 posts

Posted Mon May 6, 2013 1:09 AM

Just sent e-mail. Looks great :)

#5 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,538 posts

Posted Fri May 10, 2013 8:21 PM

The first 9 are on their way. I did procure the parts for the additional 15 units. So right now I have 26 left. Buyers be sure to post comments and let everyone know how great these work.

Thanks!

#6 Guitari OFFLINE  

Guitari

    Stargunner

  • 1,594 posts
  • Location:Kent

Posted Sat May 11, 2013 1:21 AM

So this unit has a voltage regulator inside? I think what you're saying is that we need to buy, what we call in the UK, a kettle lead? Is there a cheaper / slower postage option to the UK at all? $45 all up is a little high for me.

#7 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,538 posts

Posted Sat May 11, 2013 9:21 AM

So this unit has a voltage regulator inside? I think what you're saying is that we need to buy, what we call in the UK, a kettle lead? Is there a cheaper / slower postage option to the UK at all? $45 all up is a little high for me.



Maybe a group buy or something like that could work for UK Jag fans. I know there are allot of dedicated enthusiasts on that side of the pond. The US just raised the international rates on parcels. That is the best I can do for a single.

(Yes, searching "kettle lead" on ePay in the UK, that is the correct item you would need to use this.)

Edited by the.golden.ax, Sat May 11, 2013 9:23 AM.


#8 RGB_Gamer OFFLINE  

RGB_Gamer

    Moonsweeper

  • 384 posts

Posted Sat May 11, 2013 4:31 PM

Does this work with a Genesis 1 + SegaCD 1 system combo?

#9 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,538 posts

Posted Sat May 11, 2013 6:34 PM

Does this work with a Genesis 1 + SegaCD 1 system combo?


Yes, absolutely.

#10 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    River Patroller

  • 4,889 posts
  • RAPTOR in LOCAL
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sat May 11, 2013 8:09 PM

Posted Image


OH NOES!!! NO Australia!!!!

#11 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,538 posts

Posted Sat May 11, 2013 8:14 PM

OH NOES!!! NO Australia!!!!


It will work in AU, just no little pic for my chart. :thumbsup:

#12 enito OFFLINE  

enito

    Chopper Commander

  • 208 posts

Posted Mon May 13, 2013 6:12 AM

Hi, im interesed too, i send you a email..For send to Chile ;)

Greets

#13 Clay OFFLINE  

Clay

    Moonsweeper

  • 281 posts

Posted Mon May 13, 2013 7:24 PM

Can this Duo-Power adapter work to run 2 different Jag units without the CD unit attached?

I ask because I take my Jags to a couple of different video game conventions every year and we are sometimes very limited on the number of outlets.

#14 the.golden.ax OFFLINE  

the.golden.ax

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,538 posts

Posted Mon May 13, 2013 8:16 PM

Can this Duo-Power adapter work to run 2 different Jag units without the CD unit attached?

I ask because I take my Jags to a couple of different video game conventions every year and we are sometimes very limited on the number of outlets.


Yes! You could even use a Jaguar and Genesis 1. Or a Jaguar and Master System. Or a Master System and a Genesis. Or a Turbo Grafx and Master System. Or a Jaguar and a Turbo Grafix. Even a Genesis 1 and Sega CD 1. Should also work on Turbo Grafx with Turbo CD. I could go on... :)

#15 evg2000 OFFLINE  

evg2000

    Stargunner

  • 1,286 posts
  • Location:N. Cal

Posted Mon May 13, 2013 10:44 PM

Received mine today, looks excellent. Now I just have to unpack my jag and give it a try. We just moved and I know it's in one of the 150 or so boxes I have in my VG room. I also got the coveted #1 of 35, limited edition!

#16 danny_galaga OFFLINE  

danny_galaga

    Moonsweeper

  • 399 posts
  • http://dannygalaga.com/shop.html
  • Location:Brisbane

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 3:05 AM

Top work!

Might be tempted to run my Mega Drive and Jaguar with one so there is less mess on my shelf

#17 Guitari OFFLINE  

Guitari

    Stargunner

  • 1,594 posts
  • Location:Kent

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 3:19 AM

Maybe a group buy or something like that could work for UK Jag fans. I know there are allot of dedicated enthusiasts on that side of the pond. The US just raised the international rates on parcels. That is the best I can do for a single.

(Yes, searching "kettle lead" on ePay in the UK, that is the correct item you would need to use this.)


Anyone wanting to go in on this. Sh3? However once here we still need to distribute to ourselves within the UK so I don't know how much saving is to be had really.

(I've got a spare kettle lead knocking about I'm sure! Kettles seem to have a circular powered base these days...oh how times are changing)

I'd like not to miss out on this - could you put one aside for me please until I get any answers to the above?
All the best

#18 Guitari OFFLINE  

Guitari

    Stargunner

  • 1,594 posts
  • Location:Kent

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 4:04 AM

Hmm I'm actually thinking of using this not on my main setup but where I've got my white Jag set up. I don't suppose it'd work with (white) jag and CDX/multimega (I actually have a CDX and a Multimega). Firstly, AFAIRecall the plug is a smaller size on the CDX like the Genesis2. Then it's a case of whether they are 9 or 10v DC.

#19 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 8:36 AM

Quick question, possible warning, has anyone tried a Skunkboard on a Jaguar powered up by one of these power supplies?

#20 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 8:49 AM

Let me state first, I am glad this product was made. I wanted to have a Jaguar Duo all in one at some point and this seemed to fit the bill.

What I'm stating here is a warning.

I had two Skunkboards. I tried the Belboz flash program (Mac), probably due to a USB 1 connection the flashes did not go through properly. However, that said, after the flashes the cartridge would still power up to the green screen and I could still select the second bank. The idea was to try to flash the first bank later with my laptop with USB 2 connector rebuilt.

today with the laptop back together I went to power up the Skunkboards. First time since the unsuccessful flash runs but again, they did work last time tried another on Jaguar. Figured I would plug up the Duo power supply since it would over time run cooler etc.

Powered up first Skunkboard, came up to a red Jaguar screen. Figured I would come back to that one, tried the second Skunkboard, same result.

Neither skunkboard has come up on a red screen like this. The only new variable is the power supply I hate to say.

Have since tried the Skunks on other Jaguars with regular power supplies, and on those the Skunkboards now have the red screens on startup.

Golden Ax, again I profusely apologize, but if there is anything to this I wanted to spare others any possible loss till this is looked into further.

Edited by doctorclu, Tue May 14, 2013 9:08 AM.


#21 Guitari OFFLINE  

Guitari

    Stargunner

  • 1,594 posts
  • Location:Kent

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 9:18 AM

Your particular duo unit could be faulty?? Try it with a multimeter to see what it's outputting.

#22 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 9:24 AM

I don't work with a multimeter often, so trying to see how that is done.

#23 Zerosquare OFFLINE  

Zerosquare

    River Patroller

  • 2,414 posts
  • Location:France

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 9:28 AM

What's the output voltage written on the power supply's sticker? Has anyone measured it with a multimeter (with no load) to see if it's accurate?

IIRC, some versions of the Skunkboard connect the 9 V supply directly to the Flash memory chip (it doesn't require it, but can use it to shorten the programming times). I've always felt it was a bit dangerous, because a lot of "wall warts" power supplies tend to output higher voltages than specified, though I've not heard of anyone having problems. But maybe this is what caused your problem.

#24 Guitari OFFLINE  

Guitari

    Stargunner

  • 1,594 posts
  • Location:Kent

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 9:31 AM

2 Fried skunkboards - that's awful; aren't these things hard to come by?

#25 doctorclu OFFLINE  

doctorclu

    ******Blue Max****** *****Class 4***** **Moon Master**

  • 7,164 posts
  • Captain - Class 2
  • Location:Dallas, TX - U.S.A.

Posted Tue May 14, 2013 9:38 AM

Yeh. Thus the warning.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users