Jump to content

Photo

Fallen Angels


170 replies to this topic

#26 sh3-rg OFFLINE  

sh3-rg

    River Patroller

  • 3,397 posts
  • doge + tie = dothemath
  • Location:BOLTON, England

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 3:01 AM

Isgoed, what model is your Jaguar?

#27 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 6:33 AM

Thanks to sh3-rg testing, I managed to isolate the issue.
Here is the fixed binary.
Now, how can I edit the OP to avoid confusion?

Attached Files

  • Attached File  fa01.zip   543.11KB   569 downloads


#28 Isgoed OFFLINE  

Isgoed

    Stargunner

  • 1,432 posts
  • Location:Holland

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 6:37 AM

@ sh3-rg:

I normally use an M-model but to make sure, a couple of minutes ago I also tried a K-model, and it works just the same, flawless.

#29 TrekMD OFFLINE  

TrekMD

    River Patroller

  • 3,897 posts
  • Location:Coral Gables, FL

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 6:46 AM

Looking forward to trying this out! Thanks DrTypo!

You should be able to edit your post by hitting "edit" right next to the MultiQuote button at the bottom of the post.

#30 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 6:54 AM

I think I missed the edit window on the OP. I sent a message to Albert so that he can give me the rights.

#31 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Stargunner

  • 1,283 posts
  • Resident Curmudgeon
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 11:17 AM

I picked up an alien. Is there a way to recognize/avoid them while attempting to rescue a downed pilot?

#32 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 12:15 PM

Green helmet = alien. But sometimes an alien manages to take a white helmet.
The only way to be sure is to wait for the pilot to knock on your door. An alien will try to destroy the cockpit.

#33 wozencl OFFLINE  

wozencl

    Chopper Commander

  • 175 posts

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 12:56 PM

Nice work. Thanks to sh3 and others for helping get the issue fixed.

:thumbsup:

#34 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Stargunner

  • 1,283 posts
  • Resident Curmudgeon
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 2:25 PM

Someone on JSII asked for screenshots...

These are from my extremely sophisticated capture device.

Into sequence:

Posted Image

Posted Image

Launching from mother ship:

Posted Image

Descent from orbit:

Posted Image

Crash site:

Posted Image

Rescuing pilot:

Posted Image

Edited by racerx, Sun May 5, 2013 2:25 PM.


#35 walter_J64bit OFFLINE  

walter_J64bit

    Quadrunner

  • 5,200 posts
  • Location:Goldsboro NC

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 2:32 PM

Im at work right now I can't wait to get home and boot this up anyone make a jagcd yet?

Edited by walter_J64bit, Sun May 5, 2013 2:34 PM.


#36 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Stargunner

  • 1,283 posts
  • Resident Curmudgeon
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 2:35 PM

Im at work right now I can't wait to get home and boot this up anyone make a jagcd yet?


Yep...converted the file originally posted to .cdi with Jiffi and it works great.

#37 Darrin9999 OFFLINE  

Darrin9999

    River Patroller

  • 3,152 posts
  • Location:Michigan

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 3:07 PM

just made a jagcd works great!!

#38 Gunstar ONLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,043 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 3:12 PM

Yep...converted the file originally posted to .cdi with Jiffi and it works great.


I just tried this and it did NOT work (though I used the second posted file). I'm pretty sure my discjuggler settings are right, as suggested by jiffe, but I'll try again, both ways.

I tried the latest file as-is on my skunk 3, and it ran fine after loading, but I just got a green screen again after a power-cycle. I tried the original posted file as .cof to skunk 3 and as a jiffi treated .rom, neither worked. I have tried with both skunkgui and jiffe to load to skunkboard. I will now attempt a jiffi converted .rom with the new image, and a jiffi cdr with the original, see if I have any luck that way. :_(

Edited by Gunstar, Sun May 5, 2013 3:18 PM.


#39 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Stargunner

  • 1,283 posts
  • Resident Curmudgeon
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 3:22 PM

I used Jiffi fto convert the first posted .cof to a headerless ROM, then skunkgui to my v3. Both that and the JagCD version I burned have worked fine on my M-model Jag. The Skunk ROM has worked both with and without the JagCD. Haven't tried it on a K-model yet.

Weird.

#40 Gunstar ONLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,043 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 3:28 PM

I have a K model Jag right now, my only one ATM.

#41 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 3:32 PM

You should not bother with the file in the OP.
However if the file at post #27 doesn't work, that's weird...

#42 racerx OFFLINE  

racerx

    Stargunner

  • 1,283 posts
  • Resident Curmudgeon
  • Location:Zion, IL

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 3:38 PM

You should not bother with the file in the OP.
However if the file at post #27 doesn't work, that's weird...


Still using the file from the OP, now on my K-model:

Headerless ROM on v3 skunk works every time. Goes to green screen if I plug the Skunk into the JagCD.
CD burned from OP works every time.

So between my M- and K-models, the only scenario that didn't work with the file from the original post was the v3 Skunk ROM in the JagCD on a K-model Jag.

[edit] Given that, there's no real reason for me to download the file in post #27, correct?

Edited by racerx, Sun May 5, 2013 3:40 PM.


#43 Otto1980 OFFLINE  

Otto1980

    Chopper Commander

  • 243 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 4:40 PM

awesome job.. great intro.. smooth gameplay..
keep on this way !

just an idea: nice sky/clouds background??
you tested this idea?

greetings to all

#44 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 4:51 PM

Given that, there's no real reason for me to download the file in post #27, correct?


Yes, if it works for you, you don't have to get the file from post #27.

#45 DrTypo OFFLINE  

DrTypo

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 96 posts
  • Location:Paris, France

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 4:58 PM

awesome job.. great intro.. smooth gameplay..
keep on this way !

just an idea: nice sky/clouds background??
you tested this idea?

greetings to all


Thanks.
I don't plan to add any new feature in this game. I may reuse the engine and improve it in some future game...

#46 Gunstar ONLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,043 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 5:29 PM

So between my M- and K-models, the only scenario that didn't work with the file from the original post was the v3 Skunk ROM in the JagCD on a K-model Jag.



Well, that's my exact scenario there, so I guess I'll have to unplug my CD to get it to work with my skunk 3, or hopefully get it working on Jiffi CD to avoid that hassle. Though with the Jag CD still in the equation, that may not work...I'll give both download versions the thrice over or until I get something working...

Edited by Gunstar, Sun May 5, 2013 5:40 PM.


#47 Gunstar ONLINE  

Gunstar

    Gunstar

  • 10,043 posts
  • Location:Kellyville, Oklahoma

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 5:33 PM

Thanks.
I don't plan to add any new feature in this game. I may reuse the engine and improve it in some future game...


I have to get it working yet, but if the final version has about everything as the original A800 version, then that's awesome, given the new 3D graphic engine and improved FPS. More would be better, but maybe in the next game using this engine...thanks a million DrTypo! A game i always wished would have been updated on the Jaguar, and now it is!

#48 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,453 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 5:51 PM

Can MacOSX users make JagCD's yet? If so, how and with what program? I read something somewhere about a dummy .wav file that someone created that the JagCD looks for, but it's been a while since I last tried.

#49 CyranoJ OFFLINE  

CyranoJ

    RAPTOR Wrangler

  • 5,694 posts
  • reBOOTed
  • Location:Adelaide, SA

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 6:25 PM

Can MacOSX users make JagCD's yet?


If they install Bootcamp and DiscJuggler ;)

#50 save2600 ONLINE  

save2600

    Quadrunner

  • 15,453 posts
  • Location:Wisconsin

Posted Sun May 5, 2013 6:57 PM

If they install Bootcamp and DiscJuggler ;)


Where's that dislike button? :rolling:




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users