Jump to content

Photo

Altirra 2.30 released


232 replies to this topic

#26 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,253 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Sun May 19, 2013 8:01 PM

Question: What are the relevant memory locations and addresses for accessing the SID chip when using SlightSID?


Standard SID register file, mapped at $D500-D51F. Write only, no access to readable registers.

#27 atx4us OFFLINE  

atx4us

    Moonsweeper

  • 433 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Mon May 20, 2013 5:49 AM

Altirra 2.30 is now my Win 7 default Atari emulator replacing the long time incumbent Atari800Win PLus. A big "thank you" to phaeron for his excellent work!
  • w1k likes this

#28 avanze OFFLINE  

avanze

    Space Invader

  • 48 posts
  • Atari User
  • Location:State College, PA

Posted Mon May 20, 2013 11:58 AM

Sweet.

On the latest beta, "Set File Associations..." doesn't bring up a dialog box in Windows 8.

#29 CiroConsentino OFFLINE  

CiroConsentino

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts

Posted Mon May 20, 2013 12:42 PM

hi,
this is a great emulator, but there is no way to auto-select a cartridge type from the command line. Is there a way to implement parameters so we can set the cart type without the cart type dialog pops up at startup ?
something like:

altirra64.exe /hardware:800 "D:\emulators\Atari 800\games\cartridge\Space Invaders.rom" -carttype 1

I've got this carttype from Atari800 Emulator (they use numbers not short cart type names).
+----+-----------+------+---------------------------------------------------+
| Id | Machine | Size | Name |
|----+-----------+------+---------------------------------------------------+
| 1 | 800/XL/XE | 8 | Standard 8 KB cartridge |
| 2 | 800/XL/XE | 16 | Standard 16 KB cartridge |
| 3 | 800/XL/XE | 16 | OSS two chip 16 KB cartridge (034M) |
| 4 | 5200 | 32 | Standard 32 KB 5200 cartridge |
| 5 | 800/XL/XE | 32 | DB 32 KB cartridge |
| 6 | 5200 | 16 | Two chip 16 KB 5200 cartridge |
| 7 | 5200 | 40 | Bounty Bob Strikes Back 40 KB 5200 cartridge |
| 8 | 800/XL/XE | 64 | 64 KB Williams cartridge |
| 9 | 800/XL/XE | 64 | Express 64 KB cartridge |
| 10 | 800/XL/XE | 64 | Diamond 64 KB cartridge |
| 11 | 800/XL/XE | 64 | SpartaDOS X 64 KB cartridge |
| 12 | 800/XL/XE | 32 | XEGS 32 KB cartridge |
| 13 | 800/XL/XE | 64 | XEGS 64 KB cartridge |
| 14 | 800/XL/XE | 128 | XEGS 128 KB cartridge |
| 15 | 800/XL/XE | 16 | OSS one chip 16 KB cartridge |
| 16 | 5200 | 16 | One chip 16 KB 5200 cartridge |
| 17 | 800/XL/XE | 128 | Atrax 128 KB cartridge |
| 18 | 800/XL/XE | 40 | Bounty Bob Strikes Back 40 KB cartridge |
| 19 | 5200 | 8 | Standard 8 KB 5200 cartridge |
| 20 | 5200 | 4 | Standard 4 KB 5200 cartridge |
| 21 | 800 | 8 | Right slot 8 KB cartridge |
| 22 | 800/XL/XE | 32 | 32 KB Williams cartridge |
| 23 | 800/XL/XE | 256 | XEGS 256 KB cartridge |
| 24 | 800/XL/XE | 512 | XEGS 512 KB cartridge |
| 25 | 800/XL/XE | 1024 | XEGS 1 MB cartridge |
| 26 | 800/XL/XE | 16 | MegaCart 16 KB cartridge |
| 27 | 800/XL/XE | 32 | MegaCart 32 KB cartridge |
| 28 | 800/XL/XE | 64 | MegaCart 64 KB cartridge |
| 29 | 800/XL/XE | 128 | MegaCart 128 KB cartridge |
| 30 | 800/XL/XE | 256 | MegaCart 256 KB cartridge |
| 31 | 800/XL/XE | 512 | MegaCart 512 KB cartridge |
| 32 | 800/XL/XE | 1024 | MegaCart 1 MB cartridge |
| 33 | 800/XL/XE | 32 | Switchable XEGS 32 KB cartridge |
| 34 | 800/XL/XE | 64 | Switchable XEGS 64 KB cartridge |
| 35 | 800/XL/XE | 128 | Switchable XEGS 128 KB cartridge |
| 36 | 800/XL/XE | 256 | Switchable XEGS 256 KB cartridge |
| 37 | 800/XL/XE | 512 | Switchable XEGS 512 KB cartridge |
| 38 | 800/XL/XE | 1024 | Switchable XEGS 1 MB cartridge |
| 39 | 800/XL/XE | 8 | Phoenix 8 KB cartridge |
| 40 | 800/XL/XE | 16 | Blizzard 16 KB cartridge |
| 41 | 800/XL/XE | 128 | Atarimax 128 KB Flash cartridge |
| 42 | 800/XL/XE | 1024 | Atarimax 1 MB Flash cartridge |
| 43 | 800/XL/XE | 128 | SpartaDOS X 128 KB cartridge |
| 44 | 800/XL/XE | 8 | OSS 8 KB cartridge |
| 45 | 800/XL/XE | 16 | OSS two chip 16 KB cartridge (043M) |
| 46 | 800/XL/XE | 4 | Blizzard 4 KB cartridge |
| 47 | 800/XL/XE | 32 | AST 32 KB cartridge |
| 48 | 800/XL/XE | 64 | Atrax SDX 64 KB cartridge |
| 49 | 800/XL/XE | 128 | Atrax SDX 128 KB cartridge |
| 50 | 800/XL/XE | 64 | Turbosoft 64 KB cartridge |
| 51 | 800/XL/XE | 128 | Turbosoft 128 KB cartridge |
| 52 | 800/XL/XE | 32 | Ultracart 32 KB cartridge |
| 53 | 800/XL/XE | 8 | Low bank 8 KB cartridge |
| 54 | 800/XL/XE | 128 | SIC! 128 KB cartridge |
| 55 | 800/XL/XE | 256 | SIC! 256 KB cartridge |
| 56 | 800/XL/XE | 512 | SIC! 512 KB cartridge |
| 57 | 800/XL/XE | 2 | Standard 2 KB cartridge |
| 58 | 800/XL/XE | 4 | Standard 4 KB cartridge |
| 59 | 800 | 4 | Right slot 4 KB cartridge |
+----+-----------+------+---------------------------------------------------+


best regards.

#30 ascrnet OFFLINE  

ascrnet

    Chopper Commander

  • 142 posts
  • Location:Santiago, Chile

Posted Mon May 20, 2013 2:33 PM

Hi,

as the light gun is configured in the emulator? :?

this is my settings but does not work the look. :(

regards

Attached Thumbnails

  • light.png


#31 ACML OFFLINE  

ACML

    Dragonstomper

  • 684 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon May 20, 2013 8:55 PM

Avery,

I have a request for your next revision of Altirra. Can you please add the 2600-Daptor II to the input selection for paddle controllers? This is for use of the original Atari CX-30 Paddle controls. Awesome emulator!

#32 ACML OFFLINE  

ACML

    Dragonstomper

  • 684 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Mon May 20, 2013 10:49 PM

Avery,

I have a request for your next revision of Altirra. Can you please add the 2600-Daptor II to the input selection for paddle controllers? This is for use of the original Atari CX-30 Paddle controls. Awesome emulator!

I figured out how to manually set up the 2600-Daptor II for paddle controls (see attached JPG). I love this thing on Altirra. Feels just like 1981. It should, I'm still using real Atari CX-30 paddles.

Attached Thumbnails

  • Paddle setup for Altirra.jpg


#33 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,978 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Tue May 21, 2013 2:27 AM

hi,
this is a great emulator, but there is no way to auto-select a cartridge type from the command line. Is there a way to implement parameters so we can set the cart type without the cart type dialog pops up at startup ?
something like:

altirra64.exe /hardware:800 "D:\emulators\Atari 800\games\cartridge\Space Invaders.rom" -carttype 1

I've got this carttype from Atari800 Emulator (they use numbers not short cart type names).
+----+-----------+------+---------------------------------------------------+
| Id | Machine | Size | Name |
|----+-----------+------+---------------------------------------------------+
| 1 | 800/XL/XE | 8 | Standard 8 KB cartridge |
| 2 | 800/XL/XE | 16 | Standard 16 KB cartridge |
| 3 | 800/XL/XE | 16 | OSS two chip 16 KB cartridge (034M) |



Hi,

There is a built in command line for that

Start Altirra from a command line with

Altirra /?

This shows you all the commands.

So with say Basicxl which is id 3 you type

altirra <romname> /cartmapper 3

in my case it was

Altirra basicxl.rom /cartmapper 3

No pop up box :)

Obviously adjust file location as needed as per your own example.

Edited by Mclaneinc, Tue May 21, 2013 2:32 AM.


#34 atx4us OFFLINE  

atx4us

    Moonsweeper

  • 433 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA

Posted Tue May 21, 2013 5:17 AM

I'm not sure if this has been asked before. Is there any future plan to port Altirra over to Android? It would be awesome to be able to take Altirra along on mobile devices!

#35 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,978 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Tue May 21, 2013 6:40 AM

I'm not sure if this has been asked before. Is there any future plan to port Altirra over to Android? It would be awesome to be able to take Altirra along on mobile devices!


I'm not able to speak for Avery directly but he has quite recently said he personally has no plans for it nor wants to do it.

But as the sources are out its there for any one to do it themselves..

#36 pseudografx OFFLINE  

pseudografx

    Dragonstomper

  • 595 posts
  • Location:Czech Republic

Posted Tue May 21, 2013 7:58 AM

Hi Avery, Thanks for the nice emulator, for which I have a feature request: would it be possible to add a binary value view to the debugger? I would like to see the binary representations of the 8-bit values in the memory e.g. in order to easily see/find font/pmg data.
The output could be like this:
$a000 | $80 | *.......
$a001 | $aa | *.*.*.*.
$a002 | $03 | ......**
...etc.

Edited by pseudografx, Tue May 21, 2013 8:00 AM.


#37 CiroConsentino OFFLINE  

CiroConsentino

    Combat Commando

  • 2 posts

Posted Tue May 21, 2013 8:21 AM

Hi,
There is a built in command line for that
altirra <romname> /cartmapper 3
in my case it was
No pop up box :)

I feel so stupid right now. How could I've missed the 'cartmapper' parameter ? Thank you.
... and we can always update our cartridges to ".car" format, which has the header with cart type.

#38 Vaughan OFFLINE  

Vaughan

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts

Posted Tue May 21, 2013 10:35 AM

Hey guys - I just wanted to check if anyone else is having a new problem with Altirra. I use a 360 controller (hard wired) for the joystick. I find with this new version that it works for 2 minutes or so (sometimes less) but then inexplicably stops working. So I can move around and shoot in Shamus, for example, but after a couple minutes it'll stop responding to joystick input.

Is it just me?

ps: I've been spending several hours in Stella lately, without problems.

Edited by Vaughan, Tue May 21, 2013 10:36 AM.


#39 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,253 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Tue May 21, 2013 11:04 PM

Fix for file types dialog not showing up on Windows 8:

http://www.virtualdu...-2.40-test3.zip
http://www.virtualdu...0-test3-src.zip

Amazingly, this was caused by... not having 'CompanyName' filled out in the version block on the executable.

#40 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,978 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Wed May 22, 2013 3:20 AM

Hey guys - I just wanted to check if anyone else is having a new problem with Altirra. I use a 360 controller (hard wired) for the joystick. I find with this new version that it works for 2 minutes or so (sometimes less) but then inexplicably stops working. So I can move around and shoot in Shamus, for example, but after a couple minutes it'll stop responding to joystick input.

Is it just me?

ps: I've been spending several hours in Stella lately, without problems.


This actually started months ago when I posted about it, the way I fixed it was to delete the regkey for Altira but the best way is to startup Altirra with a command line and type altirra /resetall

Which does the same and keeps you away from the deadly registry :)

Happened to me when I was playing Berzerk, and the same with a mate..

Try that, it should fix it but you will have to redo all your settings..

#41 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,978 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Wed May 22, 2013 3:26 AM

Amazingly, this was caused by... not having 'CompanyName' filled out in the version block on the executable.


MS want as much info as possible to sell on :)

#42 Vaughan OFFLINE  

Vaughan

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts

Posted Wed May 22, 2013 6:36 AM

Thanks for the help.

Was this a permanent fix for you? I just did the manual Registry deletes, and it seems to fix it for a little bit, but now I'm back where I started.

Was this the first version with the problem? Maybe an earlier version would help?

ps: I just answered my own question, ran into the same problem with version 2.1. I guess this is a Windows 7 issue?

Edited by Vaughan, Wed May 22, 2013 6:50 AM.


#43 Mclaneinc OFFLINE  

Mclaneinc

    River Patroller

  • 4,978 posts
  • Location:Northolt, UK

Posted Wed May 22, 2013 7:10 AM

Possibly, as said it happened to me and a mate, I think someone else reported it and now you.

With me I found it fixed it since then but I don't have many 2 hour session (well on Altirra).

It sounds like a loss of focus issue but I can't code my way out of a paper bag so its one for phaeron etc.

#44 Vaughan OFFLINE  

Vaughan

    Moonsweeper

  • 372 posts

Posted Wed May 22, 2013 7:26 AM

Thanks again. I'll try your trick a second time and see if it helps. :)

#45 avanze OFFLINE  

avanze

    Space Invader

  • 48 posts
  • Atari User
  • Location:State College, PA

Posted Wed May 22, 2013 11:41 AM

Fix for file types dialog not showing up on Windows 8...


Thanks for the quick fix. I'm actually quite liking Windows 8, and it is nice to be able to use the x64 version of Altirra.

#46 willyvmm OFFLINE  

willyvmm

    Star Raider

  • 57 posts
  • jmp $e477
  • Location:Copenhagen, .dk

Posted Thu May 23, 2013 11:14 AM

Strange behavior of SIDE2 emulation with .vhd image as CF card.
I'am using Altirra to develop new HighSpeed xex loader for SIDE, and i've found a very strange behavior. Sometimes Altirra is just missing one byte. Its not the first byte in sector nor cluster. One time that was fx. byte at offset in file $0ed6. ...
It strongly depends on where in the directory structure the file has been placed and is fully repeatable on 64 and 32 bit version.

#47 Synthpopalooza OFFLINE  

Synthpopalooza

    Stargunner

  • 1,420 posts
  • Location:knoxville, TN

Posted Thu May 23, 2013 9:58 PM

Thanks for adding the SID support. I just tried it out by entering a Commodore 64 BASIC sound demo, making the appropriate changes for Atari BASIC and the memory locations, and it works like a charm!

#48 phaeron OFFLINE  

phaeron

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 2,253 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted Fri May 24, 2013 12:36 AM

Strange behavior of SIDE2 emulation with .vhd image as CF card.
I'am using Altirra to develop new HighSpeed xex loader for SIDE, and i've found a very strange behavior. Sometimes Altirra is just missing one byte. Its not the first byte in sector nor cluster. One time that was fx. byte at offset in file $0ed6. ...
It strongly depends on where in the directory structure the file has been placed and is fully repeatable on 64 and 32 bit version.


This most often occurs when Atari code violates timing requirements. IDE driver code must wait for BSY to drop after issuing a command, then check for ERR or DRQ and start reading bytes. People think the Atari is too slow to outrun the IDE device, but it is actually fast enough to do so, and some early drivers did not follow the protocol correctly. In Altirra, the fast (CompactFlash) setting has a 100 cycle delay from command to DRQ, so it's possible that you are brushing up against this threshold depending on playfield DMA. Another possibility is if you are using indexed loads or stores to access the IDE register file -- an indexed load can do a false read, and an indexed store always does a false read. These can wreak havoc. In particular, reading during a write or writing during a read causes undefined behavior, and in Altirra it will cause bytes to be skipped.

On real hardware, the driver has to accommodate the possibility of much longer delays due to seeks or simply temporary errors. Also, there is also a small delay between sectors when reading multiple sectors with the READ SECTOR command; Altirra doesn't currently emulate this and lets you get away with zero inter-sector delay even though you need to use READ MULTIPLE to guarantee that.

Finally, it's rare, but there have been instances of programs that have stray reads or writes into the $D5xx region for no particular reason. These unfortunately will screw up the IDE interface in a loader and we have seen this happen with the existing SIDE loader. Not much that can be done about this, really.

There are a couple of diagnostics I would recommend. First, the .ide_dumpsec, .ide_rdsec, and .ide_wrsec commands in the debugger can help determine whether Altirra is seeing correct sectors from the disk image or whether the issue is between the driver and the emulated IDE interface. Second, there are a pair of logging channels for the IDE interface. "lfe ide" will activate the main IDE activity log channel, and "lfe ideerror" enables the IDE command error channel. These will help determine whether errant commands are being issued or if Altirra is raising errors in the emulated IDE interface. Finally, the .ide command will print out the status of the IDE device, particularly whether a command is active.

If you're still seeing issues, let me know more details and I'll do what I can to help.

#49 willyvmm OFFLINE  

willyvmm

    Star Raider

  • 57 posts
  • jmp $e477
  • Location:Copenhagen, .dk

Posted Fri May 24, 2013 1:27 AM

Thanks for the tips about ide troubleshouting. I'll try to track the issue :).

About reading procedure:
I'am waiting for correct ERR and DRQ value after EVERY phisical sector. It's because not all CF cards are compatible with "READ MULTIPLE" and some of them support only limited amount of sectors (some sandisk support fx. only 4 sectors). And thats the read procedure (I never cross the phisical sector inside this proc):


loop lda SIDE_Data ;$d5f0
     sta $55aa, x
     inx
     bne loop



Anyway, i think You misunderstood the problem.

The virtual interface is MISSING one byte. In case of timeout, or skipping DRQ check it should read an extra byte, corrupted data or so, but it just read next byte. There is real example:

File content:
9F 8D 04 95 BD 43 9F 8D 05 95 98 20 03 95 B0 55 B9 00 AF

I got:
9F 8D 04 95 BD 43 9F    05 95 98 20 03 95 B0 55 B9 00 AF D0
.....................^^ missing byte !!


#50 willyvmm OFFLINE  

willyvmm

    Star Raider

  • 57 posts
  • jmp $e477
  • Location:Copenhagen, .dk

Posted Fri May 24, 2013 5:27 AM

So, I investigated the problem a bit, and what happened:

Please look into attached log. It seems that sometimes the internal data pointer is incremented twice, or is incremented without a read.
I've counted all readed bytes before the virtual drive clear DRQ bit, and there is only 511 bytes. Therefore I think that the internal pointer is incremented twice.

Attached Files






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users