IGNORED

Newcomer with some questions

Hey, first post here. Just a little background on me... I have a degree in computer science, graduated in 2002, have done a fair bit of programming in C. So I'm not totally new to programming. I've been doing it for over 10 years. Just... not in assembly.

A month or so ago I decided it would probably be fun to write a game for the VCS and started devouring all the tutorials and 101's I could find, including a lot of documentation here. It has been extremely helpful getting me started and I already understand a lot about the VCS, 6502, the TIA, etc. I'm going to be using assembly because a) I'm not afraid of it and b) I've been wanting to learn it for years and this is definitely facilitating that, and rapidly. I've come a long way in just a month.

My game is a vertical scrolling shooter, by the way.

Nonetheless, I'm finding myself with some questions. I would like to eventually "complete" this game and have it as an ongoing project. So I'd like to make some good design decisions right now. So on to my questions:

1 line kernel vs 2 line kernel

My impression here is that a 2 line kernel keeps the TIA's state the same for two scanlines, thereby giving an additional scanline's worth of cycles for whatever you need (setting an asymmetric playfield or something), and also having the effect of lowering the vertical resolution (which seems to me could also reduce graphic sizes since it effectively turns an 8 byte graphic into 16 visual).

So is my impression correct? Also, I'd love to see a good example of a 2 line kernel in case that's what I should be considering.

Asymmetric Playfield

I understand exactly how this works and I've implemented it myself in practice projects. I also realize it's very expensive to do. Is it something I could realistically do in a vertical scrolling shooter? Since asymmetric playfields have to be done in the display kernel, would having a 2 line kernel be the best way to go about this?