Jump to content

Photo

Potential new hardware

FPGA DE1 Hardware

798 replies to this topic

#751 vanfanel OFFLINE  

vanfanel

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Thu Sep 1, 2016 3:30 AM

@foft: can I insist for settings save? Like, for example, save the scanlines setting so the core boots with scanlines on.. :P

Sorry if I am annoying, but that would be the last detail I would like polished on my new Atari800 machine.



#752 jugac64 OFFLINE  

jugac64

    Star Raider

  • 60 posts

Posted Thu Sep 1, 2016 12:11 PM

Hi Vanfanel, +1 for settings save. I hope Mark can do this! best regards, Juan



#753 foft ONLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Wed Sep 14, 2016 1:18 PM

Its on the list. Unfortunately the list doesn't progress much these days! Maybe in Autumn/Winter I'll have more time.

My kids are getting older and our house renovations are nearly finished which should give more time, but we'll see...

#754 NML32 OFFLINE  

NML32

    Dragonstomper

  • 658 posts
  • Location:Tampabay FL

Posted Wed Sep 14, 2016 4:18 PM

That list seems to be getting longer. ;)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#755 foft ONLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Sat Oct 22, 2016 6:43 AM

Of course there are still a few small bugs...  :mad: This is the biggest one I'm aware of.

 

 

Any hints? :-D I've found that turbo freezer saves it so I can run it without running the whole demo, but still need to add some code to pause (repeat the same frame) it in the broken bits so I can debug....Looks to be dynamic hscroll related judging by the logo at the top.

 

Ha, I thought this was a bug for over a year. Yesterday I tried to debug it and after several hours realised that its down to a bad image (as linked here standalone and in demos1.zip - http://atariage.com/...#entry2394132).Still it was fun to learn more about using Altirra's debugger and the Turbo Freezer. Both of which were invaluable in tracking it down - though in this case I could have solved it by loading the same image on my 600XL. I had 3 copies floating around and was using different ones.

 

I'm happy though, its not a bug with the core  :)



#756 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • 795 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:24 AM

Hi Mark.  :)  :)

Someone ask in a previous message about "Bounty Bob Strike Back" support from your "excellent" hardware!  :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:

Just to note cause the original logic's of this game, have already reconstructed from the scratch from Bernd Herale. It's "Big Ben" member here, and I have the honor to be my friend. ;-)

I have the explanation of equations on two "GED" files.

If you have the time to deal with it, just let me know as to send these to you.

 

One more time "Thank you" -public this time- for your pcb's plus the extra parts! ;)   :thumbsup:  :thumbsup:


Edited by santosp, Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:26 AM.


#757 vanfanel OFFLINE  

vanfanel

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:07 PM

@foft: I was trying the latest version with the MCC-216 (I usually use the DE1 port) and it works great, but does it support scanlines on the MCC-216? I seem to understand from the docs that only some platforms support scanlines. Am I right?



#758 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • 795 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:50 PM

Hello to all.  :)

I would like to inform cause I have available two populated expansion boards for DE1 system. These are a Cartridge / PBI and a Joystick / SIO / XEGS Keyboard boards.

This is one time offer, as I don't have plans to make again from these.

If someone need it, please lets communicate with me via p.m.   ;)

 

 

 

 

sm_cart_inserted.jpg


Edited by santosp, Sun Nov 13, 2016 10:51 PM.


#759 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • 795 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:19 AM

Hello to all.  :)

I would like to inform cause I have available two populated expansion boards for DE1 system. These are a Cartridge / PBI and a Joystick / SIO / XEGS Keyboard boards.

This is one time offer, as I don't have plans to make again from these.

If someone need it, please lets communicate with me via p.m.   ;)

 

 

 

 

attachicon.gifsm_cart_inserted.jpg

It has gone now. Thank you.



#760 vanfanel OFFLINE  

vanfanel

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Thu Nov 24, 2016 5:31 PM

Now that I have this core running happily on my ZXUNO board (RCA is enough for me), I am selling my three Altera DE1 boards, which can run thos core very well. One is used, the other two are brand new. Anybody interested?



#761 electrotrains OFFLINE  

electrotrains

    Moonsweeper

  • 304 posts
  • Location:Scotland

Posted Sat Nov 26, 2016 6:17 AM

Now that I have this core running happily on my ZXUNO board (RCA is enough for me), I am selling my three Altera DE1 boards, which can run thos core very well. One is used, the other two are brand new. Anybody interested?

 

I got a ZXUNO board last month from the crowdfunding, but haven't played with it much yet. Where did you get foft's Atari core for it?

 

Robin



#762 vanfanel OFFLINE  

vanfanel

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:22 AM

 

I got a ZXUNO board last month from the crowdfunding, but haven't played with it much yet. Where did you get foft's Atari core for it?

 

Robin

 

From here:

 

http://zxuno.speccy.org/descarga.shtml

 

Works great! I've had A LOT of Manic Miner on it.



#763 vanfanel OFFLINE  

vanfanel

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Tue Dec 6, 2016 9:06 AM

@foft: I have found a demo that is failing with the latest version of the core: UNMEC by AGENDA (2016):

http://www.pouet.net...php?which=68486

 

It hangs with vertical bars after the checkered-flag tunnel sequence.


Edited by vanfanel, Tue Dec 6, 2016 9:06 AM.


#764 foft ONLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Wed Dec 7, 2016 4:20 PM

Thanks for the report, will take a look and see if I can reproduce.

If anyone has a DE1 (or wants to buy vanfanel's) and wants to build the breakout boards I have a couple of (bare) pcbs hanging around. They are fiddly to build though, small SMT resistors.

#765 foft ONLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Fri Dec 9, 2016 3:00 PM

I saw the bug. I tried again though and it worked. Perhaps its a demo bug? Well, could be a core bug... Has anyone seen this crash here on a real Atari?


Edited by foft, Fri Dec 9, 2016 3:02 PM.


#766 vanfanel OFFLINE  

vanfanel

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Sat Dec 10, 2016 6:23 AM

@foft: I have seen the demo running on real Atari and seems to be working fine:

 



#767 foft ONLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:37 PM

@foft: I have seen the demo running on real Atari and seems to be working fine:


Well yes, but it also works fine on the core a lot of the time. I expect its a memory initialization bug, or timing bug, in the demo or something like that. At least I changed to rambo, rebooted and it worked fine. I tried it with success a couple of other times, but not sure if I changed any settings.

I've changed my domain, so anyone looking for the cores on http://www.scrameta.net, please using instead http://www.64KiB.com. The old one will remain active for a couple of months.

Edited by foft, Sun Dec 11, 2016 3:38 PM.


#768 foft ONLINE  

foft

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 793 posts
  • Location:Nyon, Switzerland

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2016 4:15 PM

+ I should note it crashes in the same place in Altirra in compy shop mode. So run it with rambo.



#769 vanfanel OFFLINE  

vanfanel

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2016 5:33 PM

@foft: Yeah! Working great with RAMBO expansion on the ZXUNO! Thanks! :)

And sorry about the false bug...



#770 Blues76 OFFLINE  

Blues76

    Moonsweeper

  • 432 posts
  • Location:Miami, FL USA

Posted Mon Dec 12, 2016 8:46 PM

Is this the same called MIST?



#771 Blues76 OFFLINE  

Blues76

    Moonsweeper

  • 432 posts
  • Location:Miami, FL USA

Posted Thu Dec 15, 2016 8:39 PM

I meant, this seems similar to MIST, 

http://lotharek.pl/product.php?pid=96



#772 lemiel OFFLINE  

lemiel

    Moonsweeper

  • 279 posts
  • Location:Tychy, Poland

Posted Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:58 PM

Yes. There are many boards like that. But ZX-UNO has core for Sam Coupe too.

#773 Philsan OFFLINE  

Philsan

    River Patroller

  • 3,838 posts
  • New Orleans Saints Super Bowl XLIV Champions
  • Location:Switzerland

Posted Fri Dec 16, 2016 12:05 AM

Yes. There are many boards like that. But ZX-UNO has core for Sam Coupe too.

But only one joystick port.  :(



#774 vanfanel OFFLINE  

vanfanel

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts

Posted Mon Dec 26, 2016 8:03 AM

Have you guys got PacMan Arcade working? I have tried different configurations (memory expansions, etc) with no luck:

 

http://atariage.com/...cepting-orders/



#775 santosp OFFLINE  

santosp

    Dragonstomper

  • 795 posts
  • Location:Athens - Greece

Posted Mon Dec 26, 2016 8:32 AM

After your post just try the .xex version. Both with XL OS or OS_B work perfect, but for some reason you must to wait little before the initial white screen.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: FPGA, DE1, Hardware

1 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users