Jump to content

Photo

bB with native 64k cart support - 1.1d.reveng


381 replies to this topic

#351 Sprybug OFFLINE  

Sprybug

    Dragonstomper

  • 563 posts

Posted Wed Nov 8, 2017 5:23 PM

Hey guys, back to bring this topic back from the dead.  I do have one question.  I'm experimenting with all Batari options available to me to be able to do everything I want with my game.  Will the 64K kernel work with the SuperChip?  Also does Melody emulate the Superchip, so when the game goes into production, we'll be able to use Melody boards for it?  My main reason for doing DPC+ was to achieve a higher playfield resolution and multiple enemies on the screen at one time.  I know I can achieve the playfield resolution I want with the Superchip.  As for multiple enemies, that's something I'd have to look into outside of DPC+.  Just exploring all my options here.  In order to do everything I want, I NEED 64K, and so far I'm not seeing any progress with DPC+ to achieve it.  I've been on hold on my game waiting to see if anyone is even bothering to look into it, and I see no signs of it.  So, if anyone could answer my questions that I had in the beginning of this reply, it'd be greatly appreciated!

 

EDIT

 

Okay, after looking at previous posts, even the original, I basically answered my questions.

YES, it does support Superchip at 64K and

YES, Melody emulates it.

 

For anyone with the same questions, there are your answers.

This is good news.


Edited by Sprybug, Wed Nov 8, 2017 6:48 PM.


#352 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 9,283 posts

Posted Thu Nov 9, 2017 1:27 PM

I've been talking with Albert and CPUWIZ off and on over the years about making 256k SC carts available for developers.  It's sort of a chicken -> egg scenario.  Perhaps if both of us expressed interest in huge carts for our games there's be more traction.  Put RevEngs multi kernel framework to good use ~_^

 

http://atariage.com/...nel-frameworks/



#353 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,546 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Thu Nov 9, 2017 2:38 PM

In order to do everything I want, I NEED 64K, and so far I'm not seeing any progress with DPC+ to achieve it.


We are working on a larger Melody board (at least 64K).  
 
 ..Al


We need more info on the larger board, but once we have it we're going to look into updating CDF to support it. I'm sure we could do the same for DPC+.

#354 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 9,283 posts

Posted Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:05 AM

We need more info on the larger board, but once we have it we're going to look into updating CDF to support it. I'm sure we could do the same for DPC+.

 

I'd like to think C development on large ROM DPC+ boards is the future.  Hopefully there's enough momentum to get there :)



#355 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,546 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:52 AM

I'd like to think C development on large ROM DPC+ boards is the future.  Hopefully there's enough momentum to get there :)


Actually, I'm in the planning stages for the Spice C * framework which will use CDF instead of DPC+.  CDF was designed for C development, and has better features than DPC+.  DPC+ was designed for 6507 development, C support was just an afterthought so isn't implemented as well as in CDF.
 
When you create a new project in Spice C you'll specify which kernel to use, at which point it'll create files for you to edit:
  • game logic (in C)
  • graphic data
  • sound effect data
  • etc.
It'll also have prebuilt routines for handling as many sprites as you need, defined like this as in Draconian:
 
#define MAX_SPRITES 159
#define MAX_MISSILES 50
#define MAX_STARS 128
 
Of course more sprites = more overhead, so there is a limit to how many can be handled.
 
For kernel options I plan to start out with 3:
  • multiplexed sprites & missiles, with the playfield (like Frantic & Timmy)
  • multiplexed sprites, missiles & ball, without playfield (like Draconian)
  • 128 pixel bitmap.
 
Each kernel option will have prewritten functions, such as software based collision detection for sprites/missiles/ball kernels, line drawing support for the bitmap kernel, etc.

Besides those I'll have a couple score display options.  Like batari BASIC, new kernels can be added.

* pronounced Spicey of course! I think the logo will be stylized something like this :D
Screen Shot 2017-11-16 at 11.40.55 AM.png

#356 flickertail OFFLINE  

flickertail

    Space Invader

  • 18 posts

Posted Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:48 PM

This sounds super awesome and I want to use it!!!



#357 Yosikuma OFFLINE  

Yosikuma

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts
  • Location:Independent Republic of Peoria

Posted Thu Jan 11, 2018 11:01 AM

I just became aware of Spice C -- I am definitely excited to see where this goes, and can't wait to use it!



#358 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 21,783 posts

Posted Fri Feb 16, 2018 4:39 AM

Just might make me get off my fat ass and learn some up-to-date programming!



#359 SpiceWare ONLINE  

SpiceWare

    Draconian

  • 12,546 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Tue Feb 20, 2018 8:31 PM

This sounds super awesome and I want to use it!!!

 

I just became aware of Spice C -- I am definitely excited to see where this goes, and can't wait to use it!


Just might make me get off my fat ass and learn some up-to-date programming!

 
The Beginnings of Spice C

#360 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,876 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Sun Jun 3, 2018 11:31 AM

Bug: ghost pixels?
 
I never reported this as a bug as only a small percent of my many systems do this -- and I think it is the TIA version along with approaching the maximum cycles per frame. 

It is always the 9th playfield pixel column from the left (not counting PF0's 4 pixels). 
 
What concerns me is that my DPC+ Kernel game was just played on Twitch and YouTube and that system showed "ghost playfield pixels", and then this game on a different system also shows "ghost pixels"

It should skip to 1min 17sec:  

https://youtu.be/pTQ9sG_4V2I?t=1m17s

Having programmed using "batari Basic" DPC+ Kernel, my game also has what I call "ghost playfield pixels", also in the same place (top left about 1/4 screen over to about halfway down). Some Atari TIA display/sound chips do this, while others do not. I have around 20 ways to play real carts from '77 Atari's to the Jr. model, to system changers, and clones, and I saw these on 3.
The Exp. Module 1 for Colecovision to play 2600 games does this, and an old, original gray TIA chip did this. Conversely newer TIA chips like in the 7800 system (that plays 2600 games also) I saw this:
 
What concerns me is that my DPC+ Kernel game was just played on Twitch and YouTube and that system showed "ghost playfield pixels", and then this game on a different system also shows "ghost pixels".
It should skip to the glitch. Choosing higher resolutions shows the glitch better: 


Edited by iesposta, Sun Jun 3, 2018 11:51 AM.


#361 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    Bit Player

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,071 posts
  • Location:bottom of the stack

Posted Sat Jun 16, 2018 7:42 PM

There's a new bB release at 8bitdev.orgEnjoy!

#362 goofyblocks OFFLINE  

goofyblocks

    Space Invader

  • 34 posts

Posted Mon Jul 16, 2018 10:40 AM

sed does not run on my computer can i get help!!!!!!!!!!


Edited by goofyblocks, Mon Jul 16, 2018 10:55 AM.


#363 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    Bit Player

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,071 posts
  • Location:bottom of the stack

Posted Mon Jul 16, 2018 11:54 AM

My newer releases of bB don't have a real sed.exe (assuming you're running Windows) nor do they need one - it's been replaced by bbfilter.

#364 Jron OFFLINE  

Jron

    Space Invader

  • 14 posts
  • Location:Syracuse, NY

Posted Sun Aug 12, 2018 11:18 AM

It's a false positive. My bB binaries are built on a Linux system and they never see a Windows system until the end-user receives them. There's no virus capable of crossing over from Linux to Windows, or visa versa.

There's more detail about this false-positive here.

Unfortunately the AV companies don't seem to care about collateral damage to open source projects, and websites.

[edit - try again now. I've just recompiled the binaries with a different level of compiler optimization, basically shuffling the bytes around, and VirusTotal shows Avast and all but 1 AV program accepting it now. Stupid AV companies are wasting everybody's time, and ruining reputations.]

 

Hello RevEng,
 
Is this the same false positive you are talking about?
 
Avira virus notification for bbfilter.exe

 



#365 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 9,283 posts

Posted Sun Aug 12, 2018 11:33 AM

By all the creatures great and small!  I always suspected 2600bas.exe and Stella were eating up my creativity and free time.  Thank gawd Avira finally confirmed this!

 

NOTE:  Not picking on you Jron.  Just annoyed at Avira and other security products misdiagnosing indie dev tools.  Even more when they misdiagnose technicians repair tools intentionally.



#366 Jron OFFLINE  

Jron

    Space Invader

  • 14 posts
  • Location:Syracuse, NY

Posted Sun Aug 12, 2018 3:04 PM

By all the creatures great and small!  I always suspected 2600bas.exe and Stella were eating up my creativity and free time.  Thank gawd Avira finally confirmed this!

 

NOTE:  Not picking on you Jron.  Just annoyed at Avira and other security products misdiagnosing indie dev tools.  Even more when they misdiagnose technicians repair tools intentionally.

 

I didn't even get to go past a hello world type game before being afflicted  :rolling:

 

I'm guessing no need to worry?  I downloaded everything from links in this forum.



#367 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    Bit Player

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,071 posts
  • Location:bottom of the stack

Posted Sun Aug 12, 2018 6:12 PM

Hello RevEng,

 
Is this the same false positive you are talking about?

 

Sure. The bB code at 8bitdev.org hasn't ever touched a Windows machine, as it's cross-compiled on my Linux laptop, and 8bitdev.org itself runs Linux. There's no real vector here for any of my stuff to pick up a Windows virus.

 

[Insert my usual rant about anti-virus companies here.]

 

Interestingly, Virustotal says bB at 8bitdev.org is clean according to several vendors, including Avira.  :roll:



#368 Impaler_26 OFFLINE  

Impaler_26

    Cookie Meister

  • 2,673 posts
  • Braindead
  • Location:Hueco Mundo

Posted Wed Aug 15, 2018 2:30 PM

 

 

Hello RevEng,
 
Is this the same false positive you are talking about?
 
 

 

 

 

I have the same problem with Avira. :mad:



#369 freshbrood OFFLINE  

freshbrood

    Star Raider

  • 81 posts

Posted Thu Aug 16, 2018 4:33 PM

Using VBB, I'm getting the same error regarding misplaced "end" commands that aren't actually misplaced. It seems to happen once I get to a certain file size. I don't recall the version of VBB I'm using, will update this to include it when I get home.



#370 Lillapojkenpćön OFFLINE  

Lillapojkenpćön

    Chopper Commander

  • 153 posts

Posted Fri Aug 17, 2018 6:56 PM

warning(5785): missing matching end to "  asm"
warning(): Found 136 commands that use end,  and 135 "end" commands.
 
That one? So it's a bug, I've tried to solve it many times, VisualbB_Build_568_2017y_07m_23d_2157t
 
I encountered something else weird yesterday, my smartbranching broke and I got a label mismatch on ALOTTTT of labels, but all I had to do was remove a bunch of commented out stuff and it worked again? But considering how many labels I have and how much commented out stuff I had, no one else will probably ever encounter this.


#371 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    Bit Player

  • Topic Starter
  • 5,071 posts
  • Location:bottom of the stack

Posted Fri Aug 17, 2018 7:40 PM

Sounds like a bblint issue. vbb calls it, if it's present, to help with the syntax check.

If you're using the bblint program that was provided with vbb, try replacing it with the latest.

If it's still causing an issue, submit an issue in the bblint thread, and include the source code is triggering the problem.

Alternatively, you can rename/remove the bblint executable, which will skip the lint check.

#372 Trip2018 OFFLINE  

Trip2018

    Star Raider

  • 83 posts
  • young nerd
  • Location:nebraska

Posted Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:14 PM

I'm working on a 2600 music tracker for bb and was wondering if I could strip down the compiler to just the standard kernel (and it's required files) and have it built into the software.



#373 Lillapojkenpćön OFFLINE  

Lillapojkenpćön

    Chopper Commander

  • 153 posts

Posted Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:38 PM

I'm working on a 2600 music tracker for bb and was wondering if I could strip down the compiler to just the standard kernel (and it's required files) and have it built into the software.

 

I don't think anybody picked up on this very generous offer, maybe you will be the one



#374 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 9,283 posts

Posted Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:02 AM

I'm working on a 2600 music tracker for bb and was wondering if I could strip down the compiler to just the standard kernel (and it's required files) and have it built into the software.

 

I think people have been known to edit the standard asm include files in bB.  I think a 2k game called Gate Racer removed some features to keep the size down.  Just make sure the modified versions are in the same folder as your project.

 

It may be easier to just include it as inline assembly.

http://www.randomter...ml#includesfile


Edited by Gemintronic, Wed Nov 14, 2018 4:02 AM.


#375 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,876 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:42 AM

I'm working on a 2600 music tracker for bb and was wondering if I could strip down the compiler to just the standard kernel (and it's required files) and have it built into the software.


I am no expert with how bB compiles basic into assembly, but looking in its files there are 11 kernels. I dont know if it chooses one out of the functions used, or if it uses more than one of those 11.

bB is nothing but programs that turn your plain basic text file source code into assembly.

The Visual bB editor is Windows .net only and has stand alone programs that help you create sprites or titlescreens or playfields or music and sound. Those tools put their code into your plain text source code.
The music and sound part of Visual bB write an entire program with your data, one for the standard bB and a different one for bB DPC+.

jEdit is a Java editor that can color bB code like Visual bB does.
It doesnt have any additions like sprite creation.

Not sure what you are asking for.
As far as stripped down, I know if your program doesnt use scrolling and you know what that looks like in assembly, you can free around 200 bytes in the first bank.




0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users