Jump to content

Photo

Star Castle Arcade - Beta Release

Star Castle Arcade Atari 2600

384 replies to this topic

#151 Albert OFFLINE  

Albert

    Quadrunner

  • 35,361 posts

Posted Fri Aug 30, 2013 8:20 PM

Can someone do me a favor and take some blended screenshots of Star Castle Arcade? I'd like the title screen as well as a few different gameplay shots. When I say "blended", I mean shots that blend several frames together to compensate for any flickering. :)

Thanks!!

..Al

#152 Kiwi OFFLINE  

Kiwi

    Stargunner

  • 1,693 posts

Posted Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:50 PM

Here are some screenshots with phosher mode on. I think what's my sleepy head brain translated when you mentioned blended frames.

sctitle.png

 

scgp2.png

 

scgp1.png



#153 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 24,081 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 6:40 AM

Thanks!

 

Here is a slightly better title screen, which shows the copyright date (so people will know it the game new :))

Attached Thumbnails

  • star.png


#154 mmervine OFFLINE  

mmervine

    Moonsweeper

  • 458 posts
  • Location:Keene, NH

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 7:42 AM

I have to say that I am not very good at this game, so I will have to keep playing to get better. Very impressive work...seems to work great on my 7800!

#155 PFL OFFLINE  

PFL

    Dragonstomper

  • 831 posts
  • Location:Advanced Tech and Research Institute

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 7:54 AM

^
Same here. I'm lucky if I can last 60 seconds! I really want to like it though. Practice, practice, practice, I suppose... :)

#156 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 24,081 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 9:51 AM

60 seconds? What kills you that fast?



#157 CrazyChris OFFLINE  

CrazyChris

    Dragonstomper

  • 965 posts
  • Location:OH

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 1:51 PM

Thomas,

 

Play 2600 Asteroids and get a feel for the control. That is what

I was thinking.

 

Chris

 

 

I could combine that with left difficulty = A. How much lower should it become?

 

Note: The arcade has a bug there which I did not replicate. The friction is different between flying left and right. Same for up and down. I tried to find a compromise.



#158 Zoyx OFFLINE  

Zoyx

    Stargunner

  • 1,583 posts
  • Prominent Internet User
  • Location:Honolulu, HI

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 1:54 PM

I seem to recall on an earlier build that the b difficulty was one hit to destroy a segment, and a difficulty was two hits to destroy a segment. What happened to that?



#159 mmervine OFFLINE  

mmervine

    Moonsweeper

  • 458 posts
  • Location:Keene, NH

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 1:56 PM

Really enjoying this and getting a little better with some practice...ok, maybe I found a bug...I re-read the entire thread, so I hope I didn't miss anything...I am playing the latest build (140) with my Harmony cart and my 7800. When I try to pause the game, it flashes 'paused', but keeps going.

#160 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 24,081 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 1:57 PM

Oh, THAT much lower. I thought you just meant adjusting it to better match the arcade.

 

Asteroid behaves very different. The ship accelerates much slower and slows down much slower too. And different to Asteroid, in Star Castle you have to move around the screen a lot, almost always. If I only add the lower friction, the ship's control will become much more difficult. And if I also add Asteroid's low acceleration, the game will become impossible as soon as the mines hunt you. 



#161 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 24,081 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:01 PM

Really enjoying this and getting a little better with some practice...ok, maybe I found a bug...I re-read the entire thread, so I hope I didn't miss anything...I am playing the latest build (140) with my Harmony cart and my 7800. When I try to pause the game, it flashes 'paused', but keeps going.

Does it continue when you release the pause button? 

 

Probably the problem is that the 7800 is cannot be auto detected when you play the game via Harmony (on the TODO list for the next Harmony BIOS version). The final cart will of course not have this problem.



#162 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 24,081 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:04 PM

I seem to recall on an earlier build that the b difficulty was one hit to destroy a segment, and a difficulty was two hits to destroy a segment. What happened to that?

I removed that option, because the game was way too easy with that, especially after adding the 3rd bullet. With fast thumbs you could break through the rings in one blast.

 

I replaced that with the option to start the game at higher difficulty.



#163 mmervine OFFLINE  

mmervine

    Moonsweeper

  • 458 posts
  • Location:Keene, NH

Posted Sat Aug 31, 2013 2:07 PM

Does it continue when you release the pause button? 
 
Probably the problem is that the 7800 is cannot be auto detected when you play the game via Harmony (on the TODO list for the next Harmony BIOS version). The final cart will of course not have this problem.

Thomas-yes, it will only pause for as long as I hold the button...glad you know about it...I haven't found any other issues...great game!!!

#164 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 24,081 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Sun Sep 1, 2013 3:22 PM

The beta test is done. Thanks to all testers for your valuable feedback. :thumbsup:

 

While there will be no further changes, please continue reporting any bugs you find. If any... :)



#165 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,914 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Sun Sep 1, 2013 3:41 PM

The beta test is done. Thanks to all testers for your valuable feedback. :thumbsup:
 
While there will be no further changes, please continue reporting any bugs you find. If any... :)

Yes! Thanks for you time and hard work on bringing this loved game to 2600!

#166 Keatah OFFLINE  

Keatah

    Missile Commander

  • 22,184 posts

Posted Sun Sep 1, 2013 11:59 PM

I disliked Star Castle then and I dislike it now. And that won't ever change. I can't break 25k without extreme effort, nor do I care to. But man.. what a technical achievement! And the attention to detail is remarkable even more so. I remember looking at the starcas.bin "demo" rom, with the shields and lines in the center. That was at the end of 2011. And here we are today with a completed game that plays true to form. Simply Wow!

 

Seeing material like this makes one wonder what will happen in the years ahead. In the meantime the VCS (with the right software) is a shining example of what it means to be more than the sum of your parts.



#167 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,914 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Mon Sep 2, 2013 12:43 AM

I disliked Star Castle then and I dislike it now. And that won't ever change. I can't break 25k without extreme effort, nor do I care to. But man.. what a technical achievement! And the attention to detail is remarkable even more so. I remember looking at the starcas.bin "demo" rom, with the shields and lines in the center. That was at the end of 2011. And here we are today with a completed game that plays true to form. Simply Wow!
 
Seeing material like this makes one wonder what will happen in the years ahead. In the meantime the VCS (with the right software) is a shining example of what it means to be more than the sum of your parts.

I just came across that "demo" rom!
Here is a screenshot, and another demo that quickly followed.
IMG_3397.JPG IMG_3396.JPG

#168 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 24,081 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Mon Sep 2, 2013 1:22 AM

I can't break 25k without extreme effort, nor do I care to.

25k? I think I never even reached 20k. :)



#169 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 24,081 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Fri Sep 6, 2013 1:09 AM

Good news for everyone who wants to be creative.

 

There will be a label contest for Star Castle Arcade. It may take a while (next month) before it is started, but you can already begin to make up your mind or discuss ideas.


Edited by Thomas Jentzsch, Fri Sep 6, 2013 2:16 AM.


#170 YANDMAN OFFLINE  

YANDMAN

    Dragonstomper

  • 520 posts
  • Location:London, England

Posted Fri Sep 6, 2013 3:25 AM

This is what ill be going with, i knocked this up as soon as i heard of this project, If you wish to enter it im happy with that :)

 

 

STARCASTLECARTLABELTOPRESIZE.jpg STARCASTLECARTLABELRESIZE.jpg starcastleboxRESIZE.jpg



#171 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • Topic Starter
  • 24,081 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany, Europe, Earth

Posted Fri Sep 6, 2013 5:20 AM

It looks great and you can enter it of course (assuming there are no valid copyrights violated).

 

But since there already exists a Star Castle for the 2600 which uses a large parts of the original artwork, we have to make sure that the new label etc. becomes different enough.



#172 PFL OFFLINE  

PFL

    Dragonstomper

  • 831 posts
  • Location:Advanced Tech and Research Institute

Posted Fri Sep 6, 2013 5:30 AM

60 seconds? What kills you that fast?


Just my ineptitude. I am terrible at games in general and I tend to play this game like Asteroids (camping in the one spot for most of the time) which, of course, doesn't work. I just need to get used to flying around a bit more. :)

#173 YANDMAN OFFLINE  

YANDMAN

    Dragonstomper

  • 520 posts
  • Location:London, England

Posted Fri Sep 6, 2013 6:31 AM

It looks great and you can enter it of course (assuming there are no valid copyrights violated).

 

But since there already exists a Star Castle for the 2600 which uses a large parts of the original artwork, we have to make sure that the new label etc. becomes different enough.

Yeah all of these things you mentioned already went through my thoughts, Ill just make this my own version and when it goes on sale ill buy it but use this label system for myself, I have no idea how long copyrights last for i would be very surprised if any of this artwork is still copy-written, if the super nintendo's was up many years ago this probably is too, And yes it does echo the other versions design but thats a natural step to take, Had atari actually released this game they would of also done the same but i totally understand your notion of creating something different, you would really require a good artist of which i am not, This will remain Yan's custom i think :)...............Any idea how long until its made available  



#174 iesposta OFFLINE  

iesposta

    River Patroller

  • 3,914 posts
  • Retro-gaming w/my VCS
  • Location:Pennsylvania

Posted Fri Sep 6, 2013 6:47 AM

This is what ill be going with, i knocked this up as soon as i heard of this project, If you wish to enter it im happy with that :)
 


Exactly what I want! Contest over.
Maybe add: Selectable NTSC, PAL, or Black & White. (Yes I WANTED a B&W option!)
Fix: Star Castle (caps) brings (missing s) great graphics, great sounds, and great fun to your ATARI. (one sentence)

AtariAge can not use "ATARI" or the Fuji symbol, but that is what it should look like.

#175 Albert OFFLINE  

Albert

    Quadrunner

  • 35,361 posts

Posted Fri Sep 6, 2013 6:50 AM

We need to differentiate this release from D. Scott Williamson's earlier release, so the above artwork will NOT be used for this game. Artwork submitted to the contest will need to be original artwork. I may allow the same title from the marquee to be used, but that would be it. I will be working on the contest page and will post it up as soon as I can.

Thanks,

..Al





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Star Castle, Arcade, Atari 2600

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users