Jump to content

Photo

TI Related -- Ebay / Heads Up Notice

Ebay TI-99/4A

3562 replies to this topic

#3501 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 9,789 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Sat Jun 23, 2018 3:23 PM

Yep... it wasn't going to sit long. Glad you got it, rather than some asshat.

:)

#3502 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • 5,332 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sat Jun 30, 2018 2:06 PM

This eBay Auction -- Item Number: 332704407238 is a rather pretty-looking collection of CIB cartridges.



#3503 FarmerPotato OFFLINE  

FarmerPotato

    Star Raider

  • 85 posts
  • Location:Austin, TX

Posted Fri Jul 6, 2018 5:34 PM

910mp is a great monitor.

 

I also have one and a 510mp (15" version).  I need to open it up though the colors are off and I suspect it needs a cap job.

 

I got the Samsung Syncmaster 910MP from the May  eBay auction. This is the one with SCART, VGA, AV inputs.
It's DOA.
 
The menu functions all work.
It detects my F18A VGA input as 640x480 32.3 kHz NN (matching what another Samsung VGA monitor detects.)
However, in PC mode it is all black. Same result for other VGA sources so it's not the F18A.
In AV mode it has a static filled black and white image (from composite.)
 
I have ordered a re-cap kit for it. When that's in hand I'll open up the 910MP for inspection. Any other advice on what to look for?


#3504 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • 2,122 posts

Posted Fri Jul 6, 2018 6:12 PM

I opened my MP910 to tie the select power; you won't need to do this with Shift838's board.  However, I had a real tough time opening it and getting it back together.  I don't remember if there was a hidden screw or some part that had to go back in at an angle? All I know is that it tested my patience ;)   I told myself to check YouTube for any videos next time I cracked the case.



#3505 HOME AUTOMATION OFFLINE  

HOME AUTOMATION

    Star Raider

  • 50 posts

Posted Fri Jul 6, 2018 6:27 PM

 

 

I got the Samsung Syncmaster 910MP from the May  eBay auction. This is the one with SCART, VGA, AV inputs.
It's DOA.
 
The menu functions all work.
It detects my F18A VGA input as 640x480 32.3 kHz NN (matching what another Samsung VGA monitor detects.)
However, in PC mode it is all black. Same result for other VGA sources so it's not the F18A.
In AV mode it has a static filled black and white image (from composite.)
 
I have ordered a re-cap kit for it. When that's in hand I'll open up the 910MP for inspection. Any other advice on what to look for?

 

 

My Samsung Syncmaster 170MP (not 71" version)...maybe 17" performed well until the screen got smashed, I kept using it for audio for some time. Now it's just stuck on the shelf. Needs to go. Available for parts or refs.

 

 P.S.  mine came from a yard sale.



#3506 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,409 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Fri Jul 6, 2018 6:59 PM

We could use the board here or the whole thing

 
My Samsung Syncmaster 170MP (not 71" version)...maybe 17" performed well until the screen got smashed, I kept using it for audio for some time. Now it's just stuck on the shelf. Needs to go. Available for parts or refs.
 
 P.S.  mine came from a yard sale.


Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#3507 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • 5,332 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Mon Jul 9, 2018 4:33 PM

Okay, who is the cunning summagun who puts a single odd-ball cart in with a bunch of normie ones?

 

eBay Auction -- Item Number: 173402882220

eBay Auction -- Item Number: 183317101726



#3508 Opry99er OFFLINE  

Opry99er

    Quadrunner

  • 9,789 posts
  • Location:Hustisford, WI

Posted Mon Jul 9, 2018 5:01 PM

Mmmmm...... That second one has one of my most desired games. .

#3509 peterfleeman OFFLINE  

peterfleeman

    Space Invader

  • 10 posts

Posted Mon Jul 9, 2018 5:16 PM

These are pretty exciting, at least to me.  The seller claims they are from Bud Mill's estate.

 

http://r.ebay.com/gFHrr4

http://r.ebay.com/1zUuym



#3510 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,679 posts

Posted Mon Jul 9, 2018 7:15 PM

I suspect that's where he got the four empty PEBs that he has as well. Note that though the PEBs say "tested good," none of them has a flex card (so the most he could do was a power-on test), and the two of them with old style fuse caps are missing the caps and the fuses, so he couldn't even have tested them that far. Of course, he may have the missing parts available to perform the tests--but he should note that they are missing in the auctions.

 

Note also that one of the HRD 3000 cards is missing a lot of memory chips, while the other is missing the batteries. YMMV with both cards, as when I was talking to Bud in the year or so prior to his passing, he noted that the only fully functional HRD he had left was the HRD 4000 that belonged to the Insanemultitasker. He was going to give me the others to play with/resurrect, but we never got a chance to meet up for the exchange, as his health (and mine) was somewhat questionable at the time. 3000 boards are still pretty solid cards though, so they would be good choices for reconstruction if the price was right (about half what is being asked for them right now).



#3511 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • 2,122 posts

Posted Mon Jul 9, 2018 7:41 PM


Note also that one of the HRD 3000 cards is missing a lot of memory chips, while the other is missing the batteries. YMMV with both cards, as when I was talking to Bud in the year or so prior to his passing, he noted that the only fully functional HRD he had left was the HRD 4000 that belonged to the Insanemultitasker. He was going to give me the others to play with/resurrect, but we never got a chance to meet up for the exchange, as his health (and mine) was somewhat questionable at the time. 3000 boards are still pretty solid cards though, so they would be good choices for reconstruction if the price was right (about half what is being asked for them right now).

His widow and I exchanged a few messages but never connected, mostly due to my health issues. The last package I received directly from Bud was a handful of cards that he wanted to get back to their owners; I repaired those cards on his behalf.  I did not get the impression he had any more cards that belonged to people and that all he had left was parts or his own equipment.  I do know that he was sending his personal cards to people near the end, to make up for repairs or 'lost' cards. He always tried to do right by people no matter what...



#3512 marc.hull OFFLINE  

marc.hull

    Stargunner

  • 1,276 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma CIty.

Posted Mon Jul 9, 2018 7:58 PM

A known good 3000 is worth every bit of $300.00 if it is working and is popped out to 4 MB. It is a solid card that needs mods on occasion to take care of blind corners that the designer never anticipated. It can be taken up to 11MB but ROS won't sniff more than 4. IM has a MDOS mod that sees at least 8 so if you have a Genie then ?

The 3000b is a fucking bitch that if working is a golden egg but if broken will make you want to bite a chunk out of your tounge. At 4MB it is worth the the same as the 3000.

The 4000 is the wild card. At 8 meg native and working I would suspect it to be around $450.00. If broken then it depends on the revision of which I know there are at least two. One is easy peasy the other requires cuts and jumpers.

Horizon products are a mixed bag with revisions not being documented and quality being a secondary consideration. When they work they are golden. When they don't it could make your hair fall out in your hands.

But then that's why we are here.

#3513 helocast OFFLINE  

helocast

    Chopper Commander

  • 165 posts
  • Location:Amarillo, TX

Posted Mon Jul 9, 2018 9:43 PM

If broken then it depends on the revision of which I know there are at least two. One is easy peasy the other requires cuts and jumpers.

Horizon products are a mixed bag with revisions not being documented and quality being a secondary consideration. When they work they are golden. When they don't it could make your hair fall out in your hands.

But then that's why we are here.

I absolutely don't know what I'm looking at and there aren't any board annotations other than 1986 and 1988.

One seems fully populated (3-high stacks) while the other seems basic - both look almost new.

Any help identifying them would be appreciate since the topic came up.

I haven't had an opportunity to test them - currently four PEBs in pieces for drive, FDC 80/80/80, power supply, and fan upgrades.

 

Thanks in advance, Gurus. ;-) 

Attached Files



#3514 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,335 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Tue Jul 10, 2018 12:30 AM

Looks like a Horizon RAM DISK to me.



#3515 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,679 posts

Posted Tue Jul 10, 2018 5:32 AM

If there is a serial number under the heat sink for the first one, it should show 01XXX, which would make it the HRD 1000. Based on the serial number and the board layout, the other one is an HRD 2000.

 

And I agree with Marc that a fully functional 4M 3000 board is worth a lot more than my suggested price above--but my price was based on the fact that both boards would likely need a lot of work to bring them back to life, not fully functional boards.



#3516 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • 5,332 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Tue Jul 10, 2018 8:16 PM

Biff has a bunch of MBX carts with manuals for $10, CIB for $15.  Quite reasonable.

 

(ebayseller BBcode tags not working)

 

http://www.ebay.com/...f_howard_tannen



#3517 Flottmann1 OFFLINE  

Flottmann1

    Chopper Commander

  • 114 posts

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:26 PM

here a Z80 Card

 

https://www.ebay.com...H_TitleDesc=0|0

 

or a Corcomp Disc Controller

 

https://www.ebay.com...H_TitleDesc=0|0


Edited by Flottmann1, Sat Jul 14, 2018 12:27 PM.


#3518 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,679 posts

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 1:43 PM

Z-80 is already gone. I really hope someone here got it, as it has the disks. . .several of us really need copies of those.



#3519 ti99iuc ONLINE  

ti99iuc

    Stargunner

  • 1,475 posts
  • Location:Italy

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:04 PM

I have the disks but i can read only the Terminal Emulator one, maybe the MRS disks needed for a particular controller or formatted different compared to the floppy disks of the Standard TI.
Maybe readable only with the Z80 card inserted ?

I also could try to save them with the Kryoflux card.


Edited by ti99iuc, Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:06 PM.


#3520 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • 5,332 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:16 PM

As much as I like my BwG, if that CorComp works and there is an 80 track mod for the DSR, I would like to grab it.

 

Well, shit on me... I figured it would not last too long.



#3521 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,274 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 2:46 PM

As much as I like my BwG, if that CorComp works and there is an 80 track mod for the DSR, I would like to grab it.

 

Well, shit on me... I figured it would not last too long.

 

Why don't we have a FPGA implementation of a WD1793 yet? :-)

 

I know, one should not just put up a request here and expect others to do the job; I'd just like to mention that the floppy controllers like the WD series are really well documented, up to the state machine - we implemented them and the HDC9234 in MAME. I guess they definitely score lower on the skill scale than a graphics chip.

 

Maybe a possible future project?



#3522 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    River Patroller

  • 4,679 posts

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 3:17 PM

The disks are NOT readable with a TI. IIRC, they use a Kaypro CP/M disk format. You can only copy them on a TI with the Z-80 card, or on a PC with a Cryoflux or a SuperCardPro. I suspect that the old Uniform program would also copy them without issue. . .



#3523 arcadeshopper OFFLINE  

arcadeshopper

    River Patroller

  • 3,409 posts
  • Location:Portland, Oregon USA

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 3:41 PM

Or my kaypro

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

#3524 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    --- Ω ---

  • Topic Starter
  • 12,335 posts
  • Location:워싱턴 주

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 5:10 PM

The disks are NOT readable with a TI. IIRC, they use a Kaypro CP/M disk format. You can only copy them on a TI with the Z-80 card, or on a PC with a Cryoflux or a SuperCardPro. I suspect that the old Uniform program would also copy them without issue. . .

 

Some of the guys here have TRS-80 Model III's, that and copy of good old "Super-U" and it'll copy damn near anything.



#3525 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    Quadrunner

  • 5,332 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Sat Jul 14, 2018 5:30 PM

Or my kaypro

Sent from my LG-H872 using Tapatalk

 

If they are double-density we can also read them on a Commodore 1571 (stupid thing is hard-wired in MFM mode.)

 

Also, somewhere in my trove of stuff is a copy of 22disk.







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: Ebay, TI-99/4A

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users