Jump to content

Photo

F18A - 80 Column & Enhanced Graphics Supported Programs

F18A TI-99/4A

234 replies to this topic

#1 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Thu Sep 19, 2013 12:56 PM

Hi All,

  I need your help in compiling a list of programs that support 80 column mode on the F18A.

 

So far I have the following: 

 

CF2K

4A DOS

BOOT

Turbo Forth

 

... and I've heard rumors of a hacked Multiplan.

 

Does anyone have any experience or first hand knowledge of other programs?



#2 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,638 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Thu Sep 19, 2013 4:43 PM

80 column Multiplan comes up - don't know how well it works in depth. http://ftp.whtech.co...lan80column.dsk



#3 Ksarul OFFLINE  

Ksarul

    Quadrunner

  • 5,274 posts

Posted Sat Sep 21, 2013 10:12 AM

Guillaume Tello's MLC (My Little Compiler) program also supports the F18A--and even supports the 9900 coprocessor Matthew put in there. . .

 

http://gtello.pagesp...ge.fr/mlc_e.htm



#4 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Dragonstomper

  • 517 posts

Posted Sat Sep 21, 2013 5:23 PM

Anyone tried Infocom adventures in 80 column mode?



#5 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Sun Sep 22, 2013 10:36 AM

Guillaume Tello's MLC (My Little Compiler) program also supports the F18A--and even supports the 9900 coprocessor Matthew put in there. . .

 

http://gtello.pagesp...ge.fr/mlc_e.htm

 

Wow.... it almost sounds like this compiler was made just for it! :)  

This is looking to be a good start.  I was hoping to see a hacked version of BA-Writer, but no such luck.  It was real interesting to see Multiplan listed.  I'll download the disk after I get my F18 installed and see if it works without the Cartridge. 

 

When I get a few more entries (hopefully) and compile the list, I'll probably even add links.  I'm also going to change up the title to "F18A - 80 columns & Graphics Supported Programs"

 

I'm going to include Titanium as well, while it's not specifically 80 columns, it uses the F18A partially for sprites.  So I think it 'qualifies'.   



#6 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Fri Oct 18, 2013 8:27 PM

80 column Multiplan comes up - don't know how well it works in depth. http://ftp.whtech.co...lan80column.dsk

 

 Okay Tursi, thanks for the heads up... I got my hands on a Multiplan Cart and can now confirm that the 80 column Multiplan DOES WORK on the F18A!  

 

gallery_35324_1027_14613.jpg


#7 OLD CS1 OFFLINE  

OLD CS1

    >OLD CS1█

  • 6,098 posts
  • Technology Samurai
  • Location:Tallahassee, FL

Posted Fri Oct 18, 2013 9:37 PM

You know, I wonder if MultiPlan could be modified to take advantage of the GPU for large calculations.



#8 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Dragonstomper

  • 517 posts

Posted Sun Oct 20, 2013 4:56 AM

Anyone know how to get MESS 150 working in 80 column mode?  Tried starting it up with ti99_4ev but fails to start



#9 Asmusr OFFLINE  

Asmusr

    River Patroller

  • 3,113 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Sun Oct 20, 2013 6:41 AM

Anyone know how to get MESS 150 working in 80 column mode?  Tried starting it up with ti99_4ev but fails to start


You need the 994agr38.bin ROM. What is it that fails to start, the whole machine or specific software?

#10 OX. OFFLINE  

OX.

    Dragonstomper

  • 517 posts

Posted Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:33 AM

You need the 994agr38.bin ROM. What is it that fails to start, the whole machine or specific software?

 

Yeah I got the rom, I was trying to start with -peb:slot2 32kmem (which I believe is redundant anyway) which it did'nt like in EV mode.



#11 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,616 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:44 PM

The 32k option is not redundant; however, you have the console mod (32K 16 bit 0 WS) active by default. You should not use both expansions at the same time. Yuo can turn off the console expansion in the TAB menu.

BTW, it proved already helpful to have both kinds of expansions, because some programs like TurboPasc99 have problems with the 16 bit expansion.

#12 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,616 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Sun Oct 20, 2013 3:40 PM

Just tried it ... now I see: You tried to plug in the 32K memory expansion in slot 2 which I hardcoded to contain the EVPC card. Try the option "-listslots" to get a list of valid slot options. You can plug it into slot3, but as I said, as long as you have the console 32K RAM mod, this is not necessary.

#13 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 AM

Does anyone know where I might locate the program below?

I'd like to see if it works with the F18A.  -- THANKS!

 

80 column Sector Editor: JOHN BIRDWELL



#14 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Sun Oct 27, 2013 2:56 PM

Programs that exploit the extended features of the F18A Video Upgrade

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

As of (10/27/2013)

 

80 Column Programs/Utilities

 

4A DOS / Command DOS

80 Column

Author: Monty Schmidt

 

BOOT (Menu Loader)

80 Column

Author: John A. Johnson

 

CF2K

80 Column (in ‘View’)

Author: Fred Kaal

 

MLC “My Little Compiler”

80 Column, Graphics and extended operations

(Most extensive use of the F18A to date)

Author: Guillaume Tello

 

TI-Microsoft Multiplan

80 Column (Third Party Hack)

Hacker: Unknown

 

 

Enhanced Graphics/Games

 

Titanium

Extra Sprites

Author: Rasmus Moustgaard

 

Scramble

Enhanced Graphics

Author: Rasmus Moustgaard

 

 

                                   Please: If you know of any others, please let us know.



#15 marc.hull OFFLINE  

marc.hull

    Stargunner

  • 1,297 posts
  • Location:Oklahoma CIty.

Posted Sun Oct 27, 2013 7:56 PM

The 32k option is not redundant; however, you have the console mod (32K 16 bit 0 WS) active by default. You should not use both expansions at the same time. Yuo can turn off the console expansion in the TAB menu.

BTW, it proved already helpful to have both kinds of expansions, because some programs like TurboPasc99 have problems with the 16 bit expansion.




Why would Turbo pascall have problems with the 32k16 mod when assembly does not? Has this been verified on a console?

#16 mizapf OFFLINE  

mizapf

    River Patroller

  • 3,616 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Oct 28, 2013 1:00 AM

What I found out is that TurboPasc'99 tries to figure out whether it loaded its utility routines into RAM before. It compares a memory location to some other value, and weirdly (or silly!), the memory location must contain FF00 to qualify as original (in which case the routines have not been loaded during uptime of the console). It showed that only the TI 32K expansion has FF00 words on powerup, which may be due to its construction, but this needs some more investigation to be fully certain.

Other expansions, in particular 16 bit expansions, have 0000 as original values.

I remembered that in those days long ago, TurboPasc'99 stopped working on my console, but I never found out why. It was right after I installed my 32K expansion in the console.

#17 InsaneMultitasker OFFLINE  

InsaneMultitasker

    River Patroller

  • 2,428 posts

Posted Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:17 PM

Kevan,

There is an 80 column Infocom Interpreter lurking out there (no pun intended) that may work, I don't recall it using extra V9938 features. There is also a 80-column disk editor written by John Birdwell that might work.  Folks with the 80 column cards probably know of other programs that could be tested for compatibility.



#18 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Tue Oct 29, 2013 8:31 PM

Kevan,

There is an 80 column Infocom Interpreter lurking out there (no pun intended) that may work, I don't recall it using extra V9938 features. There is also a 80-column disk editor written by John Birdwell that might work.  Folks with the 80 column cards probably know of other programs that could be tested for compatibility.

 

 I'd love it if someone could provide a link, or transfer them to https://www.wetransfer.com/ so we could download them and check them out.

 

Thanks for the heads up!



#19 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Sat Nov 2, 2013 11:14 AM

While searching for 80 old column utilities to dig up and bring out into the open for F18A users, I came across the attached 80 COLUMN VERSION of Mass Transfer.

 

Now this program comes up just fine in the emulation of the F18A under Classic99, but on the actual F18A itself, it's screwed up.  This should be an easy tweak for one of you TI-Gods out there.

 

So anyone want to pick up the baton and run the final lap for the rest of the team?

Attached Files



#20 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,583 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Sun Nov 3, 2013 4:50 PM

Kevan,

There is an 80 column Infocom Interpreter lurking out there (no pun intended) that may work, I don't recall it using extra V9938 features. There is also a 80-column disk editor written by John Birdwell that might work.  Folks with the 80 column cards probably know of other programs that could be tested for compatibility.

 

 

Y.A.P.P. & XHI & X80 I have on my SCSI drive but only work with a 9938 or 9958.

XHI is like TML but with a 9938/9958 performance and the drawing takes place from the chip not Assembly.

 

So like Y.A.P.P. when you draw a line or a circle it is the hardware that is doing it from a command sent to the Registers. Hardware is always faster then software.

 

Gawd would love to run Y.A.P.P. and XHI again as these were just so cool to use.



#21 sometimes99er OFFLINE  

sometimes99er

    River Patroller

  • 4,225 posts
  • Location:Denmark

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 3:32 AM

Hardware is always faster then software.


 

Makes you wonder why Hardware bothers with Software.  ;)



#22 --- Ω --- OFFLINE  

--- Ω ---

    Hexacorerunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 13,924 posts
  • Location:82.102.25.76

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 1:06 PM

The old versions of BOOT that have floating around in the wild for decades have an 80 column bug that was overlooked by previous 80 column cards.  This bug has been patched by Tursi.

 

If you would like to run BOOT in 80 columns on your real TI-99/4A equipped with an F18A, please download the attached .ZIP file.   :)

Attached Files



#23 RXB OFFLINE  

RXB

    River Patroller

  • 3,583 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Washington, USA

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 6:15 PM

 

Makes you wonder why Hardware bothers with Software.  ;)

 

This is why I prefer the 9938 or 9958 over the F18 as all the 128K VDP memory and crazy fast options to draw from hardware are not there.

(Circles, Ray drawings, Rectangles, Blocks and Lines all drawn by hardware)

 

The F18 is great new stuff, but I miss these killer programs that made all the TI stuff look 4 times slower and smaller. 

 

XHI in XB was almost instantaneous drawing a screen you could barely see the pixel moving as it drew the whole image so quickly from hardware in 1 second.

(XB slowed it down but compared to normal XB and TML was not a contest)

 

Just reminiscing over my dead TIM card.



#24 Tursi OFFLINE  

Tursi

    Quadrunner

  • 5,638 posts
  • HarmlessLion
  • Location:BUR

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 6:27 PM

The lack of a blitter in the F18A is way undershadowed by the high-speed GPU, though. You can implement those circles, rays, rectangles, blocks, and more in the GPU, and they will easily make you believe it's hardware doing it. There's even a dedicated 2k block of RAM for those functions, so you don't need to sacrifice any of the 16k.

We just need some apps to show it off -- most of us are just time constrained. RamusM has been kicking butt and starting to show what it can do, though. :)

#25 Gazoo OFFLINE  

Gazoo

    Stargunner

  • 1,507 posts
  • Location:Downingtown, PA

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 6:29 PM

The old versions of BOOT that have floating around in the wild for decades have an 80 column bug that was overlooked by previous 80 column cards.  This bug has been patched by Tursi.

 

If you would like to run BOOT in 80 columns on your real TI-99/4A equipped with an F18A, please download the attached .ZIP file.   :)

 

Interesting choice of words. Since BOOT was written for the 9938/9958 family, and the supposed 'bug' never materialized, would not a better description be, 'BOOT patched for the 80 column deficiencies in the F18A device' ?

 

Gazoo







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: F18A, TI-99/4A

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users