Jump to content

Photo

Ice-T XE 2.75 released

ice-t terminal

47 replies to this topic

#26 Stephen OFFLINE  

Stephen

    Quadrunner

  • 6,447 posts
  • A8 Gear Head
  • Location:No longer in Crakron, Ohio

Posted Tue Oct 8, 2013 3:04 PM

You're on a roll! I'll give this a good testing this evening. Thanks for the continued updates.

#27 Lord Cygnus OFFLINE  

Lord Cygnus

    Chopper Commander

  • 117 posts
  • -=[Lord Cygnus]=-
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Wed Oct 9, 2013 10:18 PM

PRCONN.HND is similar (or perhaps identical?) to ATARI850.HND. It's a very small executable that contacts the PRC, downloads a handler that is stored on the PRC's internal ROM and installs that as an R: handler.
 
After the PRC was released it was discovered to be incompatible with some misbehaving terminal program popular at the time (HomeTerm) and so a purely disk based handler, with some workaround built in, was released. It is named PRC.SYS on the disk that came with the PRC and named PRCONN2.HND here. You will notice that it's a much larger file than the PRCONN.HND.
 
Since this file is a workaround for some problematic terminal program that does not interest us today, I am considering dropping this file from future Ice-T releases. Please try 2.75 with PRCONN.HND and let me know if it works so I can get rid of PRCONN2.



Yes, Itay ("it tie"), you are right. PRCONN.HND works fine with ICE-T 2.75 in both SpartaDOS and RealDOS. You can get rid of PRCONN2.HND.

I'm able to call Atari, TI99, Commodore, and PC boards in 40/80 columns ASCII/ANSI really well. I'm impressed. So, you suggest I move on to your latest release 2.76 now?

-=[Lord Cygnus]=-

#28 Lord Cygnus OFFLINE  

Lord Cygnus

    Chopper Commander

  • 117 posts
  • -=[Lord Cygnus]=-
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Wed Oct 9, 2013 10:34 PM

Itay, do you call up any BBS'es through telnet? If so, which boards are you on and what is your username?

-=[Lord Cygnus]=-

#29 itaych OFFLINE  

itaych

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Jerusalem, Israel

Posted Wed Oct 9, 2013 11:25 PM

Of course I want you to move on to 2.76. I post these new versions because they are (hopefully) better than the older versions and because I want to hear feedback from users before making an official release. Please do get the latest beta and let me know if it works for you and whether you notice any difference, for better or worse.

 

And sorry, no, I've never been much of a BBS user myself. I started with a Unix shell account and later moved on to dial-up Internet.



#30 David Baldwin OFFLINE  

David Baldwin

    Chopper Commander

  • 210 posts
  • Location:Patea, New Zealalnd

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:07 AM

I have used ICE-T 2.76 beta 3 with Altirra 2.30 ICE-T worked  good did not fail I was dialing into the big synchronet bourds

reading through the message's ICE-T handled it good I will keep testing.

 

David Baldwin



#31 Lord Cygnus OFFLINE  

Lord Cygnus

    Chopper Commander

  • 117 posts
  • -=[Lord Cygnus]=-
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:03 AM

Itay, I made a revised demo video of ICE-T 2.75 on my Atari 130XE system.  I made my corrections :)  Hopefully, I pronounced your name better this time!

 

 

 

-=[Lord Cygnus]=-

 

 

I will download and install version 2.76 and post results soon...



#32 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,637 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:17 AM

Itay, I made a revised demo video of ICE-T 2.75 on my Atari 130XE system.  I made my corrections :)  Hopefully, I pronounced your name better this time!

 

 

Do you have a wiring plan for that Lantronix to DB9 serial cable in your video? I had about three goes at making one for my P:R: Connection and it never worked.



#33 itaych OFFLINE  

itaych

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Jerusalem, Israel

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:09 PM

Hopefully, I pronounced your name better this time!


Haha, wrong again :) When I say "It-tie" think of the word "It" followed by the word "tie" (as in, tie a knot). "It, tie". Although the preferred version would be like saying the name of the letter E followed by the word "tie".

I remember early versions of Linux tested the sound card by playing a clip saying "Hello, this is Linus Torvalds, and I pronounce Linux Linux". Maybe I should do that too ;)

#34 itaych OFFLINE  

itaych

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Jerusalem, Israel

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:55 PM

Since I haven't received any complaints about the new beta, and as I am quite happy with it so far, it is now out as an official version here.


Edited by itaych, Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:56 PM.


#35 Lord Cygnus OFFLINE  

Lord Cygnus

    Chopper Commander

  • 117 posts
  • -=[Lord Cygnus]=-
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Sat Oct 12, 2013 9:34 PM

Do you have a wiring plan for that Lantronix to DB9 serial cable in your video? I had about three goes at making one for my P:R: Connection and it never worked.


Lantronix Device (DB25 connector) <> P:R:Connection (DB9 Connector)

DB25 Pin #2 is Transmit connected to DB9 Pin #3 Transmit
DB25 Pin #3 is Receive connected to DB9 Pin #4 Receive
DB25 Pin #7 is Ground connected to DB9 Pin #5 Ground

I went to Radio Shack and bought the DB25 connector (male) and the DB9 connector (male). I used a CAT5 network cable for the wire. Works great!

-=[Lord Cygnus]=-

#36 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,637 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sun Oct 13, 2013 5:22 AM

Lantronix Device (DB25 connector) <> P:R:Connection (DB9 Connector)

DB25 Pin #2 is Transmit connected to DB9 Pin #3 Transmit
DB25 Pin #3 is Receive connected to DB9 Pin #4 Receive
DB25 Pin #7 is Ground connected to DB9 Pin #5 Ground

I went to Radio Shack and bought the DB25 connector (male) and the DB9 connector (male). I used a CAT5 network cable for the wire. Works great!

-=[Lord Cygnus]=-

 

Excellent - thanks! :)



#37 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,637 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:30 PM

Although the printer works fine with my P:R: Connection, I still can't get ICE-T to work with it via the Lantronix MSS-100. Starting to think the PRC itself has an issue, then I discovered this review:

 

http://www.page6.org..._30/page_74.htm

 

My PRC has a 4.000 MHz crystal. Could that perhaps be causing problems with RS232 (on PAL machines)?



#38 Lord Cygnus OFFLINE  

Lord Cygnus

    Chopper Commander

  • 117 posts
  • -=[Lord Cygnus]=-
  • Location:Houston, TX

Posted Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:31 PM

Although the printer works fine with my P:R: Connection, I still can't get ICE-T to work with it via the Lantronix MSS-100. Starting to think the PRC itself has an issue, then I discovered this review:

 

http://www.page6.org..._30/page_74.htm

 

My PRC has a 4.000 MHz crystal. Could that perhaps be causing problems with RS232 (on PAL machines)?

 

The pinouts for the ICD P:R:Connection (R1:) on the DB9 connector are:

Pin # 3 - Transmit (XMT)
Pin # 4 - Receive (RCV)
Pin # 1 - Data Terminal Ready (DTR)
Pin # 2 - Signal (Carrier) Detect (CRX)
Pin # 6 - Data Set Ready (DSR)
Pin # 7 - Request to Send (RTS)
Pin # 8 - Clear to Send (CTS)
Pin # 5 - Signal Ground (GND)

The usual RS232 pinouts on the DB25 side are:

Pin # 8 - Data Carrier Detect (DCD)
Pin # 3 - Receive Data (Rx)
Pin # 2 - Transmit Data (Tx)
Pin # 20 - Data Terminal Ready (DTR)
Pin # 7 - Signal Ground (GND)
Pin # 6 - Data Set Ready (DSR)
Pin # 4 - Request to Send (RTS)
Pin # 5 - Clear to Send (CTS)
Pin # 22 - Ring Indicator (RI)

 

 

-=[LC]=-


Edited by Lord Cygnus, Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:36 PM.


#39 flashjazzcat ONLINE  

flashjazzcat

    Quadrunner

  • 12,637 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom

Posted Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:56 PM

Thanks! I'm still a bit spooked about that 4MHz crystal / PAL issue mentioned in the review, but there's very little information on the PRC to be found.



#40 freetz OFFLINE  

freetz

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts

Posted Sun Jun 1, 2014 1:54 AM

Hi Itay,

 

first of all thanks for this great program! I have a little bit of a problem of getting it to work though:

My setup:

ATARI 800XL (PAL) with 512kB RAM -> P:R:-Connection Cable -> CX87 modem cable -> Lantronix UDS-10 -> Internet

When I use Bobterm, this setup works and I can connect to a Telnet-based BBS using the ATDT commands of the Lantronix using the pre-defined 9600 Baud. However, I need to set translation to ASCII, ATASCII or VT52 won't work. In Ice-T, I only have the option of VT100 and ANSI-BBS (the latter one I'd really like to use), but then nothing is being echoed and no reaction can be seen. Once I managed to get at a stream of random characters to be dumped on the screen, but nothing else but garbage.

The same result happens when I use my SIO2PC cable and connect it to the ATARI and then use SIO2OSX's 850 emulation: Again it works fine with Bobterm in ASCII mode, but not in any other mode and therefore not at all in Ice-T.

 

Do you (or anyone else) have an idea how to address this issue? I'd love to be able to use the 80 column feature of your great little gem :)!

 

Thanks again for all your efforts,

 

F.



#41 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,495 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Sun Jun 1, 2014 4:20 AM

Hi F.

 

Please note there is a newer beta of ICET-T somewhere here on the forum. It's in the 2.76 thread, and the beta is 2.80 IIRC.

 

Then: could you investigate WHY it works in Bobterm. Is there a chance that you have exotic start/stop bits configured there? You should set it to 8N1. 

 

So baudrate, start/stopbits, parity etc. should match. 

 

What DOS are you using?

 

Are you using your brand-new MyIDE 2 interface? ICE-T doesn't work under MyBIOS -Flash version (yet). I hacked ICET280 into something that works more-or-less with MyBIOS. The RE and R2 versions of MyBIOS are compatible with ICET though.

Also runs ICET on SDX, and SDX can be run on MyIDE too, but then you have to use the APT feature and configure at least one APT partition with FJC's FDISK. 



#42 freetz OFFLINE  

freetz

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts

Posted Sun Jun 1, 2014 3:04 PM

Hi,

 

thanks for the suggestions, I've used 8N1 in both configurations (as far as it's configurable) and I'm using ICE-T 2.76 XE from an ATR which comes with MyDOS. I do not use it in conjunction with my MyIDE-II cart. I'll give it a try with ICET280 once I'm back on my real ATARI (which will be on Wednesday), maybe that helps. But I still assume it's more of a translation thing, because also Bobterm doesn't work properly when not set to ASCII, and as ICE-T doesn't have ASCII as a translation option, I thought that could be the reason (although I can't explain to my self why this should make a difference).

 

Best,

 

F



#43 itaych OFFLINE  

itaych

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Jerusalem, Israel

Posted Sun Jun 1, 2014 3:10 PM

Scroll up. There are people discussing problems using the PRC with a PAL machine, perhaps that's your problem too? Other than that please try other terminal software (Flickerterm for example) - do they work?

Please try the latest 2.8.0 alpha and take this to the 2.76 thread. I wish it was possible to lock old threads...

#44 freetz OFFLINE  

freetz

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts

Posted Sun Jun 1, 2014 3:14 PM

Ok, sorry for spawning and thread. But as I've written up above, the assumed PAL-problem does not apply as the cable and everything work fine with Bobterm. I'll switch to the 2.76 thread once I've tested 2.8alpha.



#45 itaych OFFLINE  

itaych

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 196 posts
  • Location:Jerusalem, Israel

Posted Sun Jun 1, 2014 3:36 PM

Actually I have a better idea for you. I'm attaching SPLAT.BAS. This was the very first proof of concept I did in 1992 or so before starting Ice-T - a dead simple Atari BASIC program that opened the serial port in 300 baud and let you communicate with whatever's on the serial port (modem in my case). What you can do with it is play freely with the XIO commands, twiddle the settings and figure out what's wrong with your setup.

Open the PRC manual (it's on Atarimania if you don't have it), read about the XIOs to understand the port opening sequence, and try to figure out what's wrong. I believe I enabled ATASCII/ASCII translation here so I wouldn't need to code the translation in BASIC, so try disabling that and see what happens (you'll have to press ctrl-J or ctrl-M instead of Return to send an end of line, but it should still *work*). In Ice-T this is of course disabled. Also if you change the baud rate to 9600 you will lose data but you should at least see parts of valid text. Let me know what you discover.

Attached Files



#46 freetz OFFLINE  

freetz

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts

Posted Sun Jun 1, 2014 3:47 PM

Ok, thanks, will do so on Wednesday when I'm back on my real ATARI :)!



#47 ProWizard OFFLINE  

ProWizard

    River Patroller

  • 4,495 posts
  • Into Stampede
  • Location:In the cattle!

Posted Tue Jun 3, 2014 1:40 AM

I love the name SPLAT very much for a Terminal. 



#48 freetz OFFLINE  

freetz

    Chopper Commander

  • 214 posts

Posted Thu Jun 5, 2014 6:23 AM

Hi again,

 

ok, after adding a XIO 36,#2,14,0,0,"R:" in order to set the baud rate to 9600, Splat runs perfectly fine and I communicate without any problems with the Lantronix Device.

When I set XIO 36's translation Aux1-byte to 16, I do not get line-feeds and with Aux1 set to 32, I need to press Ctrl+J/M, just as you mentioned above. At all times I do get an echo which I don't get with Ice-T. Since Splat uses ASCII/ATASCII translation (same as Bobterm which is working for me as well), I assume it's some problem of translation?

Will try 2.8beta soon, didn't manage to find a floppy disk to copy it to because SIO2PC and PR-cable don't work together unfortunately...

Frederik







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: ice-t, terminal

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users