Jump to content

Photo

New hardware: SIO_FIFO

POKEY SIO Transmission floppy disk aspeqt turbo

37 replies to this topic

#1 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • 542 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Wed Oct 9, 2013 8:51 AM

There is a new hardware for A8:  SIO_FIFO. This device allows data transmission with up to 127kbps speed. Here is the movie with copying disk using this hardware,  "US SECTOR COPIER 4" by E.Reuss and AspeQT emulator. SDX, IDE+ loader etc. also working at this baud rate. Form of device is small PCB between POKEY and mainboard. No cables, no solder (if there is a socket for POKEY on the MB). The device is yet in testing phase but will be available soon.


Edited by Simius, Wed Oct 9, 2013 8:52 AM.


#2 Firedawg OFFLINE  

Firedawg

    Dragonstomper

  • 525 posts
  • Location:Atlanta, GA

Posted Wed Oct 9, 2013 10:25 AM

Very nice Simius!  Can always use more speed.  Count me in for 1 or 2 when they become available.

 

Mike



#3 venom4728a OFFLINE  

venom4728a

    Dragonstomper

  • 615 posts

Posted Wed Oct 9, 2013 5:33 PM

Also Interested.



#4 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 15,990 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Wed Oct 9, 2013 11:00 PM

Interesting idea - I guess this device does read/write of it's own accord to SERIN / SEROUT via a local bus?

In theory this could be expanded to all manner of other applications, e.g. automated digital sound playack via local buffer.

#5 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 542 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:40 AM

SERIN only. Doesn't affect on SEROUT. FIFO is inactive also when baudrate is smaller than 38kbps, then only copies directly the input to the output.



#6 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 15,990 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:12 AM

So it works as read-only insofar as Pokey accesses?

How about contention? Does it operate at some multiple of the master clock and do it's reads when it knows that Pokey isn't being accessed?

Edited by Rybags, Thu Oct 10, 2013 1:12 AM.


#7 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 542 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:23 AM

FIFO is connected between SIO connector (pin no.3) and POKEY SIO input. Master clock is 18.432MHz. Divisor is choosen (using schedule) depending on the content of AUDF3, so baudrate is the same as POKEY has. Or, when AUDF4 > 0 or AUDF3 > 16 or clock source is other than AUDF3+AUDF4, the state of input is copied to the output (with about 700ns delay).



#8 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 15,990 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 2:51 AM

OK, way different to what I imagined. So is this just essentially something that allows us to avoid input overrun by buffering more than 1 received and 1 partially received byte at a time?

#9 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 542 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 3:07 AM

Exactly.



#10 TXG/MNX OFFLINE  

TXG/MNX

    River Patroller

  • 3,633 posts

Posted Sun Nov 3, 2013 9:32 AM

so basicly this fifo can be used for any sio device you connect ?



#11 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,807 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Sun Nov 3, 2013 3:17 PM

It appears to be very fast in the movie.  May we see a picture of the device?



#12 Defender II OFFLINE  

Defender II

    Stargunner

  • 1,170 posts
  • Location:Traveling through space & time

Posted Sun Nov 3, 2013 11:39 PM

Sounds like I need more cash again soon.



#13 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 542 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 9:25 AM

so basicly this fifo can be used for any sio device you connect ?

Yes.



#14 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,859 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 10:33 AM

Hello Simius

Is this placed underneath POKEY? What if you have a dual POKEY upgrade? Will that fit?

Sincerely

Mathy

#15 TXG/MNX OFFLINE  

TXG/MNX

    River Patroller

  • 3,633 posts

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 12:59 PM

Hello Simius

Is this placed underneath POKEY? What if you have a dual POKEY upgrade? Will that fit?

Sincerely

Mathy

 

Cool then you can install maybe 2 FIFO's :grin:



#16 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 542 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 2:46 PM

Hello Simius

Is this placed underneath POKEY? What if you have a dual POKEY upgrade? Will that fit?

Sincerely

Mathy

 

Of course. FIFO have to be placed under this one, which handles SIO. The only problem could be the height of set.



#17 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,859 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Mon Nov 4, 2013 6:36 PM

Hello Simius

How many millimeters would the FiFo add?

Sincerely

Mathy

#18 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 542 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Tue Nov 5, 2013 12:10 AM

Hello Simius

How many millimeters would the FiFo add?

Sincerely

Mathy

max. 10,3mm (4.5 mm IC socket +1.5mm PCB +4.3mm header)



#19 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 542 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:01 PM

Better late than never. :)

Device is working in two modes: FIFO (baudrate greater than border value) and transparent mode (equal or less than border value) and is configurable through $D20C register (write only).

0xxxxxxx - initialization (FIFO cache cleaning)

10aaaaaa - set temporary border value (as AUDF3 content, $00...$3F)

11aaaaaa - set default border value 

About 12 pcs. available at the begining of next year. Price: 25USD+5USD shipping.

 

 

 

Attached Thumbnails

  • top.JPG
  • bottom.JPG


#20 Kyle22 OFFLINE  

Kyle22

    River Patroller

  • 3,807 posts
  • Call my BBS! telnet://broadway1.lorexddns.net
  • Location:McKees Rocks (Pittsburgh), PA

Posted Fri Dec 20, 2013 6:41 PM

I would like one.

 

Thanks

 

-K



#21 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,724 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:53 PM

simius, what type of apps will benefit from this device, your demo movie by the way is not accessible (says can't find the server at starzaki.eu.org)


Edited by atari8warez, Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:55 PM.


#22 Simius OFFLINE  

Simius

    Dragonstomper

  • Topic Starter
  • 542 posts
  • Location:Warszawa, Poland

Posted Sat Dec 21, 2013 12:46 AM

It's hard to determine. Each can, which uses SIO. I'm using it for example with slightly modified OS, under the ordinary MyDOS.



#23 atari8warez OFFLINE  

atari8warez

    River Patroller

  • 2,724 posts
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Dec 21, 2013 1:35 AM

So is it sort of like the hardware version of Hias's high speed patch?



#24 Rybags OFFLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 15,990 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Sat Dec 21, 2013 1:51 AM

It's just a FIFO/buffer to help prevent serial overrun which can be an especial problem at the higher speeds. It doesn't actually play any part in determining what SIO speed is in use though.

OK, selling it short - "it's just" is understating - this is giving us something that Pokey could well have done with in the first place.

#25 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,772 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Sat Dec 21, 2013 6:27 AM

I'll take one...







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: POKEY, SIO, Transmission, floppy disk, aspeqt, turbo

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users