Jump to content

Photo

Sector copy program for 1.44MB disks?


43 replies to this topic

#1 Mr.Bacardi OFFLINE  

Mr.Bacardi

    Star Raider

  • 95 posts
  • Location:Düsseldorf / Germany

Posted Thu Oct 10, 2013 10:49 PM

Hi,

is there a decent sector copy program available that can handle 1.44MB disks?

Cheers,
-Mr.Bacardi-

#2 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 4,112 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:40 AM

Double Density? One drive or two?

-Larry

#3 GoodByteXL OFFLINE  

GoodByteXL

    Moonsweeper

  • 339 posts
  • Location:XL heaven

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:50 AM

HD Sector Copy from SDX Toolkit.
http://sdx.atari8.in....45/toolkit.atr
Use SD or SDX to run from the command line interface. You may specify the number of sectors to copy, different options, copies virtually any A8 medium in high speed.

#4 Mr.Bacardi OFFLINE  

Mr.Bacardi

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 95 posts
  • Location:Düsseldorf / Germany

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 7:33 AM

Need to look at the toolkit.atr but I'm not a fan of spartaDos, therefore normal mydos format is the preferred choice.
(double density. 1or 2 drives doesn't matter).

#5 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,966 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:07 AM

Hello Mr. Bacardi

MyDOS has a sector copier built in. Here's what "MAIN.DOC" says:
 

J. Duplicate a Diskette

The "J" command copies all the information from one diskette to
another. The information to be copied form the source diskette is
determined by specifying a starting and an ending sector number. If
the range is not stated, the sectors marked as in use in the DOS bit
map (on the VTOC sectors) are copied. The VTOC may be constructed by
Atari DOS 2, any version of MYDOS or any other compatible operating
system.

Specifying a sector range is done by adding two numbers
separated by a dash and enclosed in parentheses to the end of the
drive specification(s). For example, to copy sectors 19 through 54
(tracks 1 through 3) from drive 1 to drive 3 without formatting the
diskette in drive 3, the command line could be "1,3/N(19-54)". To
copy the entire disk from drive 1 to drive 2 after formatting the
diskette in drive 2 the command could be "1,2(1-720)". This is the
proper way to duplicate a non-MYDOS compatible diskette (of course,
copies of "copy protected" disks will not normally be usable after
copying but data disks for some word processors and games can be
backed up this way). Enhanced density disks may be duplicated in the
same manner: "1,2(1-1040)".

If the destination disk is already a properly formatted
diskette, the "/N" modifier may be entered after either drive number
to skip the formatting of the destination drive. Otherwise, the
destination diskette will be formatted before the data from the
source is copied to it. That is, either "1/N,2" or "1,2/N" will copy
from drive 1 to drive 2 without first formatting the diskette in
drive 2.

Note that the "J" command, like that in ATARI DOS 2, will use
all of available memory to duplicate the diskette: this means that if
memory has been saved using the MEM.SAV file, it will no longer be
valid. Any pending program cannot be restarted after a "C" or "J"
command.


Sincerely

Mathy

#6 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,648 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:01 AM

Hi,

is there a decent sector copy program available that can handle 1.44MB disks?

Cheers,
-Mr.Bacardi-

What disk drive are you using that does 1.44 meg? If I remember, that is a 3.5" drive, double or high density.
My RW13.COM will copy any number of sectors from one disk to another. Use 'partial copy', it will sector copy
an entire disk if you specify low and high sector numbers. It will do single or double density. If you
have something that does high density, it won't work. I don't know of any high density A8 drive.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  RW13.zip   14.98KB   73 downloads

Edited by russg, Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:02 AM.


#7 BillC OFFLINE  

BillC

    Stargunner

  • 1,911 posts
  • Location:BC Canada

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 11:47 AM

What disk drive are you using that does 1.44 meg? If I remember, that is a 3.5" drive, double or high density.
My RW13.COM will copy any number of sectors from one disk to another. Use 'partial copy', it will sector copy
an entire disk if you specify low and high sector numbers. It will do single or double density. If you
have something that does high density, it won't work. I don't know of any high density A8 drive.

The Black Box Floppy Board supports 1.2MB 5.25" and 1.44MB 3.5" high density drives



#8 Mr.Bacardi OFFLINE  

Mr.Bacardi

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 95 posts
  • Location:Düsseldorf / Germany

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 12:56 PM

Thanks all for the interesting feedback! Mydos seems to have some powerfull options, but what I'm looking for is something similar to "US Copy" by E.Reuss.

Means: can be run from a gamedos, fast loading time, support of extra RAM and easy to use (just set destination drive and start copy).

In my case it should work with my HDI connected to a 3,5" HD floppy drive... :D



#9 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,648 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:33 PM

The Black Box Floppy Board supports 1.2MB 5.25" and 1.44MB 3.5" high density drives

Mr. Bacardi mentions an 'HDI' device. You mention BB floppy board. Are these high density drives 256 bytes/sector? If so, then I think
RW13 will work. If 512 bytes/sector, RW is out.
What's an 'HDI' device? A Hard Drive Interface?
RW will work up to 65535 sectors.

Edited by russg, Fri Oct 11, 2013 2:34 PM.


#10 Mr.Bacardi OFFLINE  

Mr.Bacardi

    Star Raider

  • Topic Starter
  • 95 posts
  • Location:Düsseldorf / Germany

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 3:05 PM

Mr. Bacardi mentions an 'HDI' device. You mention BB floppy board. Are these high density drives 256 bytes/sector? If so, then I think
RW13 will work. If 512 bytes/sector, RW is out.
What's an 'HDI' device? A Hard Drive Interface?
RW will work up to 65535 sectors.

Hi Russg,

HDI is a german HD disk interface for HD 3,5" & 5,25" floppies. density is 256bytes/sector.

I will try your RW13, but need to set up my real hw first...



#11 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,648 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 4:18 PM

Hi Russg,
HDI is a german HD disk interface for HD 3,5" & 5,25" floppies. density is 256bytes/sector.
I will try your RW13, but need to set up my real hw first...

RW should work. It is slow. You can tell it to sector copy ENTIRE disk. Which just asks for total # sectors
instead of start & end sectors of 'Partial copy'. You could, if you had a hard drive, copy the disk sectors to a file,
then copy the file to a disk. Actually, I think a better, much quicker way would be to use Bob Puff's
Disk communicator 3.2 and make a .DCM of the disk you want to copy and unDCM it to where you want it.
I don't know if DCM will do large size disks. SpartaDOS SCOPY is another way, but SCOPY doesn't work
reliably in my experience.
I just checked. Disk Communicator does any size disk drive. Must specify max sector. It even says it
will format the destination. You just need a separate drive large enough to hold the resulting DCM file.
DCM32 won't take up space with an empty sector, it just notes it as empty and moves on. The result
is a much smaller DCM file. It is fast and reliable.

Edited by russg, Fri Oct 11, 2013 5:13 PM.


#12 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,966 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 4:26 PM

Hello Mr.Bacardi

Patching US Copy isn't an option?

Sincerely

Mathy

#13 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,648 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Fri Oct 11, 2013 5:30 PM

RW should work. It is slow. You can tell it to sector copy ENTIRE disk. Which just asks for total # sectors
instead of start & end sectors of 'Partial copy'. You could, if you had a hard drive, copy the disk sectors to a file,
then copy the file to a disk. Actually, I think a better, much quicker way would be to use Bob Puff's
Disk communicator 3.2 and make a .DCM of the disk you want to copy and unDCM it to where you want it.
I don't know if DCM will do large size disks. SpartaDOS SCOPY is another way, but SCOPY doesn't work
reliably in my experience.
I just checked. Disk Communicator does any size disk drive. Must specify max sector. It even says it
will format the destination. You just need a separate drive large enough to hold the resulting DCM file.
DCM32 won't take up space with an empty sector, it just notes it as empty and moves on. The result
is a much smaller DCM file. It is fast and reliable.

Disk Communicator also compresses the file, makes it smaller.

Attached Files


Edited by russg, Fri Oct 11, 2013 5:31 PM.


#14 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 4,112 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Sat Oct 12, 2013 4:55 AM

If you are interested, I have an Action! 130XE sector copier (with the source) that is of course for single density. If you (or someone else) that is reasonably fluent in Action! wants to modify it for the HDI, it would not be too difficult. Much easier than converting an asm language program for most folks, IMO. It is pretty "bare bones" but I used it for years, and I think it will run with a mini-dos. It's called "UNICOPY."  It is pretty fast -- runs on a Happy at WARP speed using an UltraSpeed driver.

 

BTW, with MyDos, I always had to tell dos that the PBI drive was a "high capacity drive."  The ordinary floppy settings would only do a 720K disk.  I always used MyDos or the built-in sector copier with my Floppy Board HD drives. 

 

Larry



#15 bf2k+ OFFLINE  

bf2k+

    Stargunner

  • 1,773 posts
  • Location:Boot Factory BBS 2k+

Posted Sat Oct 12, 2013 5:54 AM

If you are interested, I have an Action! 130XE sector copier (with the source) that is of course for single density. If you (or someone else) that is reasonably fluent in Action! wants to modify it for the HDI, it would not be too difficult. Much easier than converting an asm language program for most folks, IMO. It is pretty "bare bones" but I used it for years, and I think it will run with a mini-dos. It's called "UNICOPY."  It is pretty fast -- runs on a Happy at WARP speed using an UltraSpeed driver.

 

BTW, with MyDos, I always had to tell dos that the PBI drive was a "high capacity drive."  The ordinary floppy settings would only do a 720K disk.  I always used MyDos or the built-in sector copier with my Floppy Board HD drives. 

 

Larry

I'd be interested in playing with that action source...



#16 russg OFFLINE  

russg

    Stargunner

  • 1,648 posts
  • Location:Cleveland, Ohio

Posted Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:11 AM

Disk Communicator also compresses the file, makes it smaller.

I played with Disk Communicator some. I think it doesn't do large drives properly, at least don't try to get it to format a large disk.

#17 Mathy OFFLINE  

Mathy

    River Patroller

  • 2,966 posts
  • Location:Heerlen, NL

Posted Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:34 AM

Hello guys

Maximum sector number in Diskcomm IIRC is 9999.

Sincerely

Mathy

#18 Larry OFFLINE  

Larry

    River Patroller

  • 4,112 posts
  • Location:U.S. -- Midwest

Posted Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:45 AM

Hi BF2K+

 

Here's an ATR of the Unicopy files (use at your own risk).

 

-Larry

Attached Files



#19 OmaOhneBH OFFLINE  

OmaOhneBH

    Star Raider

  • 53 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Apr 22, 2019 1:55 PM

Maximum sector number in Diskcomm IIRC is 9999.
 

 

Is there a (patched?) version by now, which can do up to 65535 sectors?



#20 CharlieChaplin OFFLINE  

CharlieChaplin

    River Patroller

  • 3,134 posts

Posted Mon Apr 22, 2019 4:49 PM

 

Is there a (patched?) version by now, which can do up to 65535 sectors?

 

Not really (or I never heard of it). And Diskcomm. or DCM is not used that often anymore, ATR has more or less become the standard. Nowadays we can upload/download a full 90k/130k/180k diskette without any problems and do not need to worry about space or download times... if we need a copy/backup image of a 16MB or 32MB partition, one can simply use ZIP, 7z, RAR, etc. to compress it and save some space.



#21 OmaOhneBH OFFLINE  

OmaOhneBH

    Star Raider

  • 53 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Mon Apr 22, 2019 6:53 PM

I'm asking because I recently copied an ATR image of 8000 sectors size to my IDE+ 2.0 with Disk Comm. 3.2, which worked fine:

 

ATR image (AspeQt) --> DCM file (IDE+, partition 1) --> unDCMed ATR image (IDE+, partition 2)

 

 

How do I do that with ATR images of more than 9999 sectors size?

 



#22 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,976 posts
  • Location:Saskatchewan Canada

Posted Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:38 AM

Try HDSC.EXE "HD Sector Copier" from the SpartaDOS X Toolkit. Should support copying up to a full 65535 sector disk.
 
http://sdx.atari8.in...ownload_special

Edit: D'oh I see this was already suggested back in 2013!

#23 pirx OFFLINE  

pirx

    Moonsweeper

  • 457 posts
  • Location:Poland

Posted Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:35 AM

here's our max 720 kb copier (omc65/mac65 compatible listing), should be easy to get it work in higher densities. As far as I remember it supports max 256KiB RAM, also easy to add more. Very dirty code, but copied thousands of floppies ;]

I could tidy it up a bit, convert to mads and translate polish labels if anyone's interested.

Attached Files


Edited by pirx, Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:36 AM.


#24 OmaOhneBH OFFLINE  

OmaOhneBH

    Star Raider

  • 53 posts
  • Location:Germany

Posted Tue Apr 23, 2019 5:51 AM

Try HDSC.EXE "HD Sector Copier" from the SpartaDOS X Toolkit. Should support copying up to a full 65535 sector disk.

 

http://sdx.atari8.in...ownload_special

 

Ah sorry, I use MyDos only, should have mentioned it before. Thanks anyway!



#25 Nezgar OFFLINE  

Nezgar

    Stargunner

  • 1,976 posts
  • Location:Saskatchewan Canada

Posted Tue Apr 23, 2019 8:07 AM

Ah sorry, I use MyDos only, should have mentioned it before. Thanks anyway!

Back in 2013 in this very thread, Mathy indicates MyDOS has a sector copy function built in:

http://atariage.com/...isks/?p=2845561

I don't use MyDOS, but it looks like a 1.44MB disk would be copied with this syntax for 5760 sectors?
1,2(1-5760)






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users