IGNORED

Money Man - A New Platform Game!

Byte Knight

Hey guys,

I thought I'd give a shot at making a platform game instead of another Adventure game! I started playing around with iesposta's Donkey Kong example and came up with Money Man! The game is loosely based on Cashman, which I used to play with a friend on his Radio Shack Color Computer back in the day. You play a Sailor that runs around and collects money, avoiding Hellkats and Terry Dactyl. Bombs drop out of the ceiling that turn into eggs that eventually hatch into enemies. If you can grab the eggs before they hatch, you can chuck them at your enemies. Makes perfect sense right?

post-16548-0-34415600-1382751370_thumb.png post-16548-0-27318500-1382751353_thumb.png

post-16548-0-15146700-1382751338_thumb.png post-16548-0-27993700-1382751323_thumb.png

Currently the game only has three levels, and I'd like to have MANY more - I think Cashman had like 64 of them. If you're interested in designing some levels, let me know.

To do:

• Add titlescreen

• Learn how to change playfields to data tables so I have more graphics memory

• Add more levels

• Better ending

• Better death screen

• Add launchers / jumpers

Downloads:

moneyman16.bas

moneyman16.bin

• Like 10

Thanks guys - I'm afraid the jumping is the best that I can make it. You can walk about halfway off the ledge before you fall. If you really need to make a jump, stop at the edge and jump instead of doing a running jump.

Here's the part of the code that makes you fall. z{0} is when the player is on the ladder, z{1} is when the player is jumping, and z{2} is when the player is falling. If anyone has a better idea of how to do this, let me know...

rem check to see if player is on a platform, and not on a ladder or jumping, then fall!
 temp1=player0y+17:temp2=player0x/4-3:temp3=player0y+20
 if z{0} || z{1} then goto drawscreen
 if !pfread(temp2,temp1) then player0y=player0y+1:z{2}=1:goto drawscreen