IGNORED

Telco -- Terminal Emulator (Questions/Answers/Downloads)

Omega-TI

I have a question for you software gods concerning Telco....

I know Telco has a 40/80 column toggle feature. The toggles coding checks for a 9938 or 9958, if none is present, it stays in 40 column mode, correct? Now if I understand correctly, the F18A does not functionally display things differently in text mode than the other 80 column cards, but just has less memory? Am I right here? I also believe I read somewhere that the F18A's memory *IS* adequate for 80 columns TEXT display. I know Tursi was able to tweak BA-Writer with no issues.

If such is the case, would it not just be possible to just force the toggle to on, or to functionally bypass or erase the code that checks for the 9938 or 9958?

It would be interesting to see what the result would be. I'm not an Uber Coder like you guys, but I have a 'gut feeling' that a couple of bytes in the right spot with a sector editor would make Telco 80 column 'full time only'.

Comments? Solutions? Fixes? Results?

You are right, that this checking-code can be skipped, to run Telco within the 80 col mode. I do not know anything about Telco, so have in mind, that the V9938 has a second color register and a table to put blinking chars on screen. If this program uses such features, than this would become a harder job to change for F18 use, I do believe. If it is a program like PrEditor, than a Diskassembler is your friend to find the code section to be jumped over.

• Like 1

@--- Ω ---: