Jump to content

Photo

1050 Belt Lengths (Tandon mechanism)

1050 drive belt 1050 drive belt tandon

15 replies to this topic

#1 Ely OFFLINE  

Ely

    Chopper Commander

  • 129 posts
  • Location:Bedford, UK

Posted Thu Feb 6, 2014 4:39 PM

Hey all, I've just received some new Tandon mech drive belts from Best Electronics in the hope of getting my old 1050 drive up and working. The original belt failed in 1989 and I've used a friends 1050 every since.

 

The problem is the belts I've gotten seem too long (see pictures). Anyone know what length they need to be? Perhaps these are for a different mech :-/

Attached Thumbnails

  • 1050_1.JPG
  • 1050_2.JPG


#2 MrMartian OFFLINE  

MrMartian

    Moonsweeper

  • 303 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted Thu Feb 6, 2014 5:30 PM

Crappy... I'd like to the know the proper belt length too, to see if I can get something anywhere else, as buying one or maybe two from Best would end up costing me far more in shipping than anything...



#3 bob1200xl OFFLINE  

bob1200xl

    River Patroller

  • 2,585 posts

Posted Thu Feb 6, 2014 7:03 PM

About 12.2 in. They fit loosely on a 6-inch steel rule.

 

Bob

 

 

DSC01181.JPG



#4 1050 OFFLINE  

1050

    Stargunner

  • 1,066 posts

Posted Thu Feb 6, 2014 11:39 PM

My best repeated measuring comes out at 3 x 323 millimeters from that same style of mech. Can't find my really old one that has the entirely exposed flywheel which IIRC was a good deal larger, I'll bet those belts are for that model. 20 plus years ago, I forget entirely who made that mech, but it was my first drive and I wore it completely out. Zero stretch on these very specialized belts no matter which size is needed. I don't think it's going to be easy to find a source outside of Best, but best of luck anyway.

#5 Ely OFFLINE  

Ely

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 129 posts
  • Location:Bedford, UK

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 12:10 AM

Thanks for the information. I'll contact Best and see what they say.

#6 Rybags ONLINE  

Rybags

    Gridrunner

  • 15,996 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 12:22 AM

I wonder - if you used an oversized belt could you just drill a hole in the casting and put an idler pulley in?



#7 Ely OFFLINE  

Ely

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 129 posts
  • Location:Bedford, UK

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 1:03 AM

You probably could, but I wasn't really expecting this to be that type of a job :-)

#8 BillC OFFLINE  

BillC

    Stargunner

  • 1,896 posts
  • Location:BC Canada

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 1:30 AM

My best repeated measuring comes out at 3 x 323 millimeters from that same style of mech. Can't find my really old one that has the entirely exposed flywheel which IIRC was a good deal larger, I'll bet those belts are for that model. 20 plus years ago, I forget entirely who made that mech, but it was my first drive and I wore it completely out. Zero stretch on these very specialized belts no matter which size is needed. I don't think it's going to be easy to find a source outside of Best, but best of luck anyway.

To my knowledge the only brands of mechanisms used in the 1050 were Tandon in the ones from Singapore, World Storage Technology in the Hong Kong version.



#9 Dragon375 OFFLINE  

Dragon375

    Chopper Commander

  • 156 posts
  • Playin Atari.. for 30 years now!
  • Location:Riverview, MI

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 1:52 AM

Personally, I broke a belt in a 1050 about 4 years ago and replaced it with a 1/4" wide rubber band, the drive has worked since.  While I appreciate the purist need for proper replacement parts, I just know this worked for me.  



#10 Ely OFFLINE  

Ely

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 129 posts
  • Location:Bedford, UK

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 2:33 AM

In 1989 I tried a rubber band, it didn't work and I found the brittle remains in there last night when I tried fitting this replacement.

From memory the band I used was too tight and I could get the RPM to the required speed.

#11 1050 OFFLINE  

1050

    Stargunner

  • 1,066 posts

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 5:42 AM

Nice to know that Dragon375, thanks. Then it wouldn't really hurt so much to get some regular drive belts of the right size and give it a try. At least they would be readily available as opposed to the special no-stretch type which are no doubt pricey as all get out when you can find them. Ely relates the problem with too much stretch, it's a real power hog and that little motor has it's limits.

Thanks, BillC, the name of the other supplier of mechs was far away from the grasp of my too often feeble memory. All the while, the 8-bit FAQ is not that hard to find and would cover that like a blanket, should have gone there before posting, but it didn't occur to me. So now I can just start looking at the label on the bottom instead of adding to my collection of case screws in my quest to re-connect with an old friend and see how long that belt is.

#12 Ely OFFLINE  

Ely

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 129 posts
  • Location:Bedford, UK

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 12:03 PM

Hmm, just measured the 2nd belt I got and it would appear to be about the 12.2inches suggested. So I'll give that a go and see how it goes.

#13 BillC OFFLINE  

BillC

    Stargunner

  • 1,896 posts
  • Location:BC Canada

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 1:24 PM

Hmm, just measured the 2nd belt I got and it would appear to be about the 12.2inches suggested. So I'll give that a go and see how it goes.

There are many sites that sell belts for VCRs in different profiles of varying lengths.

 

The sizes I found that are close are:

Square belt:

SBO-11.7   11.7 X .039"     

SBO-12.2   12.2 X .039"

SBS-12.1   12.1 X .046"

SBM-12.0   11.8 X .062-.07"

SBL-11.7    11.7 X .075-.079

Flat Belt:

FBS-11.7   11.7 X .025 X .125-.15"

FBS-12.1   12.1 X .025 X .125-.15"

FBM-11.7   11.7 X .025 X .18-.235"

FBM-12.1   12.1 X .025 X .18-.235"



#14 Ely OFFLINE  

Ely

    Chopper Commander

  • Topic Starter
  • 129 posts
  • Location:Bedford, UK

Posted Fri Feb 7, 2014 4:05 PM

Well I've successfully fitted the 2nd belt and it fitted fine and once I'd tweaked the VR2 speed pot a bit the drive is in perfect working order. Not bad for having been sat unused for 25 years.

 

So I'm guessing I just hadn't seated the 1st belt correctly, there's no way I'm taking the working one out to test that theory though :-)

 

Thanks for all the helpful posts.



#15 MrMartian OFFLINE  

MrMartian

    Moonsweeper

  • 303 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted Sun Feb 9, 2014 3:50 PM

Thank you for the suggestion of the rubber band, wish I had thought of that months ago when I wanted my Archiver so that I could check the format that my Rana was putting down....

 

Now to find a proper belt



#16 rockdoc2010 OFFLINE  

rockdoc2010

    Chopper Commander

  • 168 posts
  • working graves,
  • Location:Jackson TN

Posted Sun Feb 16, 2014 11:34 PM

I just bought a replacement belt last week from Best and the clerk asked me if I had a tandon mech or the "chinese" one.

 

. Took about thirty minutes to install it and no it does not stretch!

 

Fixed two 1020's and the 1050 for 39$ but the 15$ a pop for the 1020 gears is a killer!! But they worked and at an average of 40$ for the 1020's I get to roll the dice on ebay the fact we still have a source for New Atari parts has me giggling every time I hear that tiny thing squawk away interupting itself to auto load a fresh pen.. oops sorry fresh working pens are hard to find







Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: 1050 drive belt, 1050, drive, belt, tandon

0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users