IGNORED

MyIDE II and Ultimate 2K14 Lotharek

Stefan Both

Dear all,

well, I'm new in the A8XL business. I collect old systems and I managed to get familar

with the commodores and the Amstrad/Schneider computers as well as some others.

I got the Atari 800XL long ago. Now it's time to get familar with that system.

I ordered a MyIDE II, a couple of weeks ago.

A "formatted" 2GB Card (2 Partitions MyDos and FAT) is doing the job.

Last days, I got a Ultimate from Lotharek, it is allready fitted into

the XL - and it seems to work. (XRAM 021 test without errors)

What do I have to do to get both working together?

Iḿ able to operate MyDos - as well as Sparta Dos (as a user!!).

I don't mind if the suggested solution is based on MyDos or Spartados.

I would be happy, if I could use MyIDE II as a Harddrive, to save and start

programs like Lastword, a paint prg. and so on. Only if possible, use the FAT32 feature

and/or the atr slots.

I bought the Ultimate just to get programs / demos running that need more ram than a

Stock XL can offer. I don't need any additional features, the ultimate can offer - and I dont mind

to use it as 320K..or. ... or... 1088K.

I never flashed a Bios via JTAG - but if neccesary, I've enough confidence to

learn it / do it.

Is there anybody out there, who has the same equipment allready running

on his Atari ? Whatever the suggestion is, I'd like to give it a try.

But please keep in mind, yet, I'm a beginner. ;-)

Greetings

Stefan Both

What other equipment do you have? Sio2PC? Sio2SD? SDRIVE?

You probably want to install MyBIOS R1 or R2 in one of your OS slots (see atarimax forum) of the Ultimate 1MB.

You can do that with a tool called UFLASH programmed by FlashJazzCat (also here on the forum) or you can create something with a tool for windows made by A8warez or AtariGeezer (both tools).

As soon as you have the MyBIOS running in your Ultimate you'll be surprised how much you can do with your MyIDE 2.