Jump to content

Photo

7800basic beta, the release thread


676 replies to this topic

#26 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,562 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Mar 1, 2014 6:08 PM

Yes, it created subdirectories.

Allan


Ok, that's good.

Can you please let me know what "ls -l /Users/allan/7800*" displays?

#27 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,562 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Mar 1, 2014 6:20 PM

More recent versions of MESS, in the last year or so, should have a 'good' palette (~Versions 0.148-0.152). 
Anything earlier, may likely have some issues.


Ah, that's great. I recently upgraded to the latest version (which I hacked to support CPUWIZ >128k formats, so I could test 7800basic support for them in software) and did notice the palettes were different.

#28 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,982 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Sat Mar 1, 2014 6:20 PM

-rw-r--r--@ 1 allan  staff  4173674 Mar  1 19:11 /Users/allan/7800basic.0.1beta20140228.zip

/Users/allan/7800basic.0.1beta20140228:
total 4880
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff     614 Feb 28 22:37 7800bas.bat
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    4500 Feb 28 22:37 7800bas.c
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  229944 Feb 28 22:37 7800basic.Darwin.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  269405 Feb 28 22:37 7800basic.Linux.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  360673 Feb 28 22:37 7800basic.exe
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff    1405 Feb 28 22:37 7800basic.sh
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   13416 Feb 28 22:37 7800filter.Darwin.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff    7612 Feb 28 22:37 7800filter.Linux.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   96623 Feb 28 22:37 7800filter.exe
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   17748 Feb 28 22:37 7800header.Darwin.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   12144 Feb 28 22:37 7800header.Linux.x86
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    9712 Feb 28 22:37 7800header.c
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  115833 Feb 28 22:37 7800header.exe
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   23428 Feb 28 22:37 7800optimize.Darwin.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   22146 Feb 28 22:37 7800optimize.Linux.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  109050 Feb 28 22:37 7800optimize.exe
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   13616 Feb 28 22:37 7800postprocess.Darwin.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff    7961 Feb 28 22:37 7800postprocess.Linux.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  110498 Feb 28 22:37 7800postprocess.exe
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   27380 Feb 28 22:37 7800preprocess.Darwin.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   26041 Feb 28 22:37 7800preprocess.Linux.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  111938 Feb 28 22:37 7800preprocess.exe
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   23336 Feb 28 22:37 7800sign.Darwin.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff   18824 Feb 28 22:37 7800sign.Linux.x86
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff   18658 Feb 28 22:37 7800sign.c
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  118559 Feb 28 22:37 7800sign.exe
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    7074 Feb 28 22:37 README.txt
drwxr-xr-x@  6 allan  staff     204 Feb 28 22:37 contrib
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  121992 Feb 28 22:37 dasm.Darwin.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  124716 Feb 28 22:37 dasm.Linux.x86
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff  210370 Feb 28 22:37 dasm.exe
drwxr-xr-x@  3 allan  staff     102 Feb 28 22:37 docs
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff     959 Feb 28 22:37 filter.c
drwxr-xr-x@ 14 allan  staff     476 Feb 28 22:37 includes
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff    2247 Feb 28 22:37 install_ux.sh
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff    1360 Feb 28 22:37 install_win.bat
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff   12114 Feb 28 22:37 keywords.c
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    2274 Feb 28 22:37 keywords.h
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    1006 Feb 28 22:37 license.7800basic.txt
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    1625 Feb 28 22:37 license.bB.txt
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff    1323 Feb 28 22:37 makefile
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff    1409 Feb 28 22:37 makefile.linux32
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff    1477 Feb 28 22:37 makefile.xcmp.osx
-rwxr-xr-x@  1 allan  staff    1325 Feb 28 22:37 makefile.xcmp.win32
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    1573 Feb 28 22:37 optimize.lex
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    2751 Feb 28 22:37 postprocess.c
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    4134 Feb 28 22:37 preprocess.lex
drwxr-xr-x@  9 allan  staff     306 Feb 28 22:37 samples
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff  129589 Feb 28 22:37 statements.c
-rw-r--r--@  1 allan  staff    2126 Feb 28 22:37 statements.h
 



#29 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,562 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Mar 1, 2014 6:26 PM

Ok, I think I get it. You dragged the script into a term window to run it, the script executed from your home directory rather than the 7800basic directory. Because of this, the script thought 7800basic was directly in your home directory.

Run the install script again by typing the following into your term window.

1. cd /Users/allan/7800basic.0.1beta20140228
2. ./install_ux.sh

After that, open a new term window and try to compile simple.bas again.

#30 DracIsBack OFFLINE  

DracIsBack

    Quadrunner

  • 5,283 posts
  • Location:Toronto, Canada

Posted Sat Mar 1, 2014 6:40 PM

So cool! Thanks for sharing!



#31 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,982 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Sat Mar 1, 2014 7:47 PM

That was it, RevEng.

 

It compiled and outputed the correct files in the Simple folder and I checked the program in MESS which gave me a very appropriate smiley face. :)

 

So if anyone is using OS X Terminal for the first time, don't drag and drop the file install_ux.sh onto the Terminal window. Use the method below replacing the word 'PERSON' with your OS X User folder name.

 

Type the following into your term window:

 

1. cd /Users/PERSON/7800basic.0.1beta20140228
2. ./install_ux.sh

 

Thank you a lot, RevEng. And thanks for making this program.

 

Allan



#32 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,562 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Mar 1, 2014 8:44 PM

Nice, Allan!

I'll look into adding some sanity checks into install_ux.sh to prevent the same issue, and warn if the 7800basic directory doesn't look right.

@all: thanks for all of the positive comments, thanks, and interest!

#33 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,982 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Sun Mar 2, 2014 8:01 AM

I have been playing around with the .png image in the 'simple.bas' program. I am having trouble compiling with an an edited .png image. 7800bas keeps saying I have too many colors. Is there way in any popular painting program, Photoshop, Window's Paint, Gimp, etc., to limit the number of colors to three? It looks like I have only three colors when I save it as .png but 7800bas spits it out as having too many colors.

 

Allan



#34 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,562 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Mar 2, 2014 8:09 AM

I've been using Gimp, but this should work in many apps: Switch to "indexed" mode, and enter the number of colors. Otherwise the paint app will use rgb and contain tons of unseen colors.

I'll add a comment to the guide to that effect.

#35 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,982 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Sun Mar 2, 2014 10:35 AM

I spent a good portion of the morning trying to get Photoshop (gave up after a while) and Gimp to just make a simple change to the smiley face and get 7800basic to compile it. I'm not sure what's going on with Photoshop. It keeps telling me I have to many colors. I was trying to use the 'save for Web' option and tried to limit it to three colors. It wants to count the background/transparancy as a color. When I make it three colors it erases one of the colors giving me two colors and the background/transparancy.

 

In Gimp I spent a lot of time trying to draw with the Pencil. It refuses to let me draw with it. I tried a couple of other pictures with no luck. I finally tried the brush option with the smallest brush size and that worked. Strange. I'll have to see if there is an update for Gimp. Maybe it's some kind of bug. So I finally got it to compile with an altered .png file.

 

This might be a stumbling block for others so hopefully they'll read this and not make the same mistakes.

 

One of these days I will actually get to some programming. :)

 

Allan



#36 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,562 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Mar 2, 2014 11:07 AM

:) Its all progress.

indexing with 4 colors should actually work fine, so long as one is transparency.

#37 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,982 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Sun Mar 2, 2014 4:13 PM

I upgraded to Gimp 2.8.10. It's better but it still has bugs. I opened a .png, added a couple of pixels, and saved it as a .png. It kept refusing to save and gave me errors. I tried opening the files with another program and they were empty. I quit Gimp, restarted, and modified and saved a .png file and it worked. Hopefully they can fix the bugs in Gimp eventually.

 

Allan



#38 Synthpopalooza OFFLINE  

Synthpopalooza

    Stargunner

  • 1,287 posts
  • Location:knoxville, TN

Posted Sun Mar 2, 2014 8:37 PM

This looks promising!  I am going to try to use this to make a game, a remake of an old Atari XL game I wrote back in 1989 called Sky Scraper:

 

http://atariage.com/...-20-years-late/

 

Some suggestions tho:

 

It would be nice to have commands which could address the POKEY ... for those of us who want to add POKEY sound to the TIA sounds of our games.  I can give you specifics on the POKEY chip if you need them.  Maybe also the ability to address the TIA using this command:

 

TSOUND channel, freq, waveform, volume

 

This would be very analogous to how I am used to using sound in atari xl BASIC.

 

Also, I know the 7800 has no hardware collision registers, but is there a way to rig up a software collision detect?  The idea is, I want a platform type situation where the guy is walking on a platform, and he falls when I step off.  And, the platform blocks change color when he walks over it.  Also, I want to be able to register collisions between him, and game objects, or the enemy missile or robot sprites I will be using.


Edited by Synthpopalooza, Sun Mar 2, 2014 8:38 PM.


#39 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,562 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Mar 2, 2014 9:46 PM

Nice game! I suck terribly at it, but it's fun. :)

I like the audio command suggestion. It will waste a small bit of rom bytes and cycles changing registers that may not change, but that choice would be up to the basic coder.

Pokey support is in the plans, for sure. I wrote about planned features in a blog entry.

I'll likely add a box collision check routine at some point, but if you're going to stick to character modes for all of the game bits (like you did in the A8 version of your game) you could get by with just checking whether the ground character was under your player, if the missile was at the same position as the player, etc.

Even if you just use sprites for the player and characters for platforms and scenery, you can still check the character map to see if ground is underneath the player, and use if...then with coordinates for soft collision detection.

#40 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 27,965 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Sun Mar 2, 2014 10:05 PM

I'll likely add a box collision check routine at some point . . .

 

I hope you'll find the time to add that. Seems like a nice thing to have so it will be easier for those of us who would have a hard time doing it ourselves.



#41 Bakasama OFFLINE  

Bakasama

    Stargunner

  • 1,616 posts
  • Playtesting the Diablo 3 Nercomancer

Posted Sun Mar 2, 2014 10:29 PM

I upgraded to Gimp 2.8.10. It's better but it still has bugs. I opened a .png, added a couple of pixels, and saved it as a .png. It kept refusing to save and gave me errors. I tried opening the files with another program and they were empty. I quit Gimp, restarted, and modified and saved a .png file and it worked. Hopefully they can fix the bugs in Gimp eventually.
 
Allan


I think you might need an image optimizer like ImageOptim. It really does get rid of unused colors. I use for my gif animations.

http://imageoptim.com/

#42 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,023 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 3:21 AM

Hi RevEng
a list of Basic commands would be great
Which command must i use to save my work?
And which command is needed to load a Sample,
like Aventurer.
I have only small knowledge about the old Atari 800 Basic and so some commands,which are understood by 7800 Basic would be great.Or how about a Tutorial for beginners?
greetings Walter

#43 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,982 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 7:09 AM

I think you might need an image optimizer like ImageOptim. It really does get rid of unused colors. I use for my gif animations.

http://imageoptim.com/

Thanks. I'll check that out.

 

Allan



#44 Allan OFFLINE  

Allan

    Quadrunner

  • 5,982 posts
  • Location:Wallingford, CT

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 7:18 AM

Hi RevEng
a list of Basic commands would be great
Which command must i use to save my work?
And which command is needed to load a Sample,
like Aventurer.
I have only small knowledge about the old Atari 800 Basic and so some commands,which are understood by 7800 Basic would be great.Or how about a Tutorial for beginners?
greetings Walter

Hey gambler172,

It's not like Atari Basic. You can't do things like SAVE and LOAD in your program. You write you're program in a text editor, save it, and load the compiler by typing the name of the compiler and the text file that contains your program and it compiles your program. It outputs a .bin file and a .A78 file for emulators. There is more to it but that's basiclly it.

 

Allan



#45 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,023 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 10:39 AM

Hi

i have really big Problems with my WINDOWS 7 installing :(

It seems not to work...If i start  INSTALLWIN the program installs......but what now?I start 7800BASIC and get a Screen with this

 

7800basic 0.1 Feb 28 2014 22:36:49

game

 

What now???

how can i get to the SAMPLES Folder and load for example  ADVENTURER.BAS   ?

How can i start a new Project????

 

Hope someone might help

greetings Walter



#46 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,562 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 10:53 AM

Hi Walter,

Here's an excerpt from the guide...

Assuming you've completed the 7800basic installations in the previous section, you can compile your
program under Windows with the following steps...

1. click on Start­>Search or Start­>Run and type: CMD, followed by [ENTER]
2. type: cd \my\project\directory (substitute the directory that contains your BASIC source)
3. type: 7800bas.bat myprogram.bas (substitute the filename containing your BASIC source code)

Information about the compiling process will be displayed in your CMD window. With some luck, you
should have some new compiled files.


...try doing this for one of the sample programs.



#47 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,023 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 11:06 AM

Hi Walter,

Here's an excerpt from the guide...

Assuming you've completed the 7800basic installations in the previous section, you can compile your
program under Windows with the following steps...

1. click on Start­>Search or Start­>Run and type: CMD, followed by [ENTER]
2. type: cd \my\project\directory (substitute the directory that contains your BASIC source)
3. type: 7800bas.bat myprogram.bas (substitute the filename containing your BASIC source code)

Information about the compiling process will be displayed in your CMD window. With some luck, you
should have some new compiled files.


...try doing this for one of the sample programs.

Equal what i do,the Screen always Shows a short time and disappears :( When i enter  Start>Run CMD  i get an error and the Screen disappears :(

 

what am i doing wrong?Remember i use WINDOWS 7

How can i start,let us say,i want to Change the adventurer.bas   ??

 

 

 

greetings Walter


Edited by gambler172, Mon Mar 3, 2014 11:17 AM.


#48 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,023 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 12:24 PM

Hi

Maybe a step by step Installation could help???

I unzipped the 7800basic file....i unzipped it in the Folder 7800....

then i started install win

everything seems to be ok......

then i start 7800basic and the window opens...at the top of the Screen is this text

 

7800basic 0.1 Feb 28 2014 22:36:49

game

then i could write something.....but whatever i do the window Closes :(

I also downloaded GNU sed and put it in my Basic Directory.....

what went wrong?

Maybe a Problem with Windows 7 ???

Hope someone can help......

greetings Walter

 

PS:how can i load one of the samples????

how can i Change them?



#49 RevEng ONLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,562 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 12:47 PM

Hi Walter,

 

The Windows platform I test on is Windows 7, so I don't think it's a Windows 7 bug. If you can't open a CMD window it could well be an issue with your Windows 7 install on that particular computer.

 

When you double-click 7800bas.bat and see the window appear and disappear, it's normal. It does that because it's the batch file is meant to be run from a CMD window, instead of being double-clicked. (but I should probably add some kind of detection for this, with a warning message)

 

So the main problem is that you can't seem to open a CMD window. When you go to START->RUN and get the error, do you see the error message, or does is disappear too fast? Is the error on a blue screen with white text, or a black window with white text, or just a regular Windows error message?

 

To load/change a sample basic file, just open the .bas file in the notepad text editor. (start->programs->accessories->notepad) Make the edits you want and save the file. Then rebuild the 7800 rom image again. (once we finally sort out why CMD won't open for you. :) )



#50 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,023 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 1:00 PM

Hi RevEng

I was able to open adventurer.bas with the text Editor.So my question is...how do i start a new Project????With the text Editor????not with 7800basic?????

when i start 7800basic i tried to enter this

 

start>run cmd      and press ENTER

 

the error,i get is too fast,but it is in the window with White text...

Hope you can help

greetings Walter






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users