Jump to content

Photo

7800basic beta, the release thread


750 replies to this topic

#51 CPUWIZ OFFLINE  

CPUWIZ

    Commander

  • 32,938 posts
  • Cartridge Recycler
  • Location:SoCal

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 1:11 PM

Weird, go to c:\Windows\System32 and click on cmd.exe, see what happens.



#52 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 1:19 PM

So my question is...how do i start a new Project????With the text Editor????not with 7800basic?????


Yup, that's correct. This is the way modern languages do it. You pick a text editor and write the code in your editor, instead of using one provided with the language.

Even when when you're provided an editor with the language, like with Microsoft Visual languages, you can still pick your favourite text editor and use it to enter code, instead of using the provided one.

 

the error,i get is too fast,but it is in the window with White text...
Hope you can help


[edit - Do what CPUWIZ suggests first, then...]

unzip the attached file into one of the sample directories. Then double-click the "7800compile.bat" and let us know if it works, or if it provides some other error.

Attached File  7800compile.bat.zip   208bytes   154 downloads

#53 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 1:33 PM

Weird, go to c:\Windows\System32 and click on cmd.exe, see what happens.

Hi WIZ

when i start cmd.exe,this appears

 

c:\Windows\System32

 

what does this mean?

greetings Walter



#54 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 1:42 PM

Hi

when i put it in the SIMPLE Folder,it first seemed to work and builds some files,but the bin and a78 are 0byte.........

see the attached zip

Attached File  simple.zip   2.15KB   191 downloads


Edited by gambler172, Mon Mar 3, 2014 1:45 PM.


#55 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 1:53 PM

Progress, but not a solution.

The window with c:\Windows\System32 is a CMD window. The one that we tried to open with "start>run cmd". Strange that it opens with double-clicking, but not from the RUN box.

From the CMD window, can you please type the following and tell me what the output of each line is?

echo %bas7800dir%
echo %PATH%

#56 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 1:53 PM

And for sure,there seemed to be an error,but ...too fast to read it :(



#57 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 2:19 PM

Hi Walter,

Can you please give this modified version of the 7800compile.bat a try, as before?

This modified version will capture all of the output in a file called "output.txt". After running it, please attach output.txt to a post here.

Thanks.

Attached File  7800compile.bat.zip   268bytes   183 downloads

#58 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 2:28 PM

Hi

This is what i got

 

Attached File  cmd.txt   964bytes   184 downloads

greetings Walter



#59 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 2:36 PM

So here is the Output file

Attached File  output.txt   62bytes   200 downloads

 

Translation in english means program asks if stopping the Batch process or not  

greetings walter

 



#60 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 2:56 PM

The CMD.txt looks fine, but wow, that output.txt wasn't what I expected, and very different from the run on my own system. To me it looks like something is actively trying to kill the batch process as soon as its run. I suspect this is why your "START->RUN CMD" attempts closed themselves too.

If you haven't virus scanned in a while, you may want to give that a shot. If its not a virus causing this, I'm stumped.

If a virus scan comes up clean, and if double-clicking CMD.exe (per CPUWIZ) works without closing things, try steps 2 and 3 with that CMD window...

2. type: cd \my\project\directory (substitute the directory that contains your BASIC source)
3. type: 7800bas.bat myprogram.bas (substitute the filename containing your BASIC source code)

#61 SeaGtGruff OFFLINE  

SeaGtGruff

    Quadrunner

  • 5,558 posts
  • Location:Georgia, USA

Posted Mon Mar 3, 2014 11:48 PM

I like the audio command suggestion. It will waste a small bit of rom bytes and cycles changing registers that may not change, but that choice would be up to the basic coder.

 

What about making the parameters optional, so the programmer could do something like

 

TSOUND channel, freq, waveform, volume ; to set all parameters at once

TSOUND channel, freq ; to set just the frequency

TSOUND channel, , waveform ; to set just the waveform

TSOUND channel, , , volume ; to set just the volume

; or some combination of the above:

TSOUND channel, freq, waveform

TSOUND channel, freq, , volume

TSOUND channel, , waveform, volume



#62 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Mar 4, 2014 7:52 AM

Excellent idea! If I can bend the preparser to do that, I'll tackle it that way.

#63 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Tue Mar 4, 2014 11:28 AM

Hi RevEng,Hi Guys

 

have a look at the text,i added

I started the whole from beginning(see text)

It nearly worked....this means,the windowcsreen did not disappear :)

But when trying to compile...........The a 78 and bin files are there but with 0 Bytes :(

greetings Walter

 

This is,what appeared in the window

 

 

C:\7800\7800basic.0.1beta20140228\samples\simple>7800compile.bat

C:\7800\7800basic.0.1beta20140228\samples\simple>7800bas.bat *.bas
^CBatchvorgang abbrechen (J/N)? n
Cannot open includes.7800 for reading

Complete.
Cartridge data file must be at least 4K!

7800header 0.1 Feb 28 2014 22:36:53
  opened parameter file a78info.cfg

C:\7800\7800basic.0.1beta20140228\samples\simple>



#64 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Tue Mar 4, 2014 2:15 PM

The core of the problem is that when you run the batch file, even from the CMD prompt, something is trying to kill it. I know you typed "N", but it likely didn't work, or it interfered with passing the output of one program to the input of another.

Can you try START->RUN and type "regedit", or START->RUN and type "msconfig"?

Don't change anything with these programs, but if these close immediately, its likely a virus that's interfering here.

#65 Synthpopalooza OFFLINE  

Synthpopalooza

    Stargunner

  • 1,441 posts
  • Location:knoxville, TN

Posted Tue Mar 4, 2014 11:27 PM

Also, when it comes to the POKEY, you could do commands similar to TSOUND ...

 

SOUND chan,freq,waveform,volume (just like on Atari BASIC)

 

And also DSOUND chan,freq,waveform,volume (like in Turbo BASIC) for when you use POKEY in 16-bit mode ... this works by setting AUDCTL to where you can combine two channels to make one 16-bit channel, giving you greater note resolution.  Makes it possible to play bass notes in distortion 10 (square) or high-range melodies in distortion 2 (triangle) and 12 (saw).



#66 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Wed Mar 5, 2014 12:47 PM

Hi RevEng
Checked my Windows folder and it says no Virus
What must i exactly type in the CMD Window?
Let me know,what i should do.....which file should i start and what exactly type in?
Will check them at weekend :)
greetings Walter

#67 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Wed Mar 5, 2014 2:10 PM

Hi Walter,

Did you try running "regedit" or "msconfig" from START->RUN? Did they stay open?

You were running the correct commands to compile a basic game from CMD.EXE, when you typed "7800bas.bat *.bas"

We won't be able to make 7800basic work on your computer until we figure out why it's auto-terminating batch jobs. This isn't standard Windows behaviour.

Anybody else have any bright ideas?

#68 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 8,854 posts

Posted Wed Mar 5, 2014 2:48 PM

Start a CMD.EXE session as Administrator and then execute the batch file?

 

Start -> Programs -> Accessories ->  Command Prompt (Right click on this and hit "Run as Administrator")



#69 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Thu Mar 6, 2014 3:24 PM

beta 0.1 20140306 is now in the first post, replacing the old version.

quoth the changelog...
  • added some sanity-checking to install_ux.sh.
  • miscellaneous Guide updates, per forum feedback and new commands.
  • added "converttobcd()" function, courtesy of Omegamatrix.
  • added "boxcollision()" function.
  • added tsound command.
  • fixed a few commands that inadvertently used the wrong stack location.


#70 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Sat Mar 8, 2014 12:55 PM

Hi RevEng

great work.....when will we see the first 7800 BASIC game?????

cannot wait :)

greetings walter


Edited by gambler172, Sat Mar 8, 2014 12:56 PM.


#71 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sat Mar 8, 2014 1:09 PM

Judging by the number of people that have downloaded the update, I'm guessing we probably have a few projects in the works.

I have a game idea I'm working on, but it's not ready to share yet. It may be a while yet, since I'm spending a lot of time working on 7800basic itself. :)

I'd also like to turn Adventurer into a real game at some point. I'm thinking of something thats a cross between Adventure and The Legend of Zelda. But that will be a long while at the current pace.

#72 gambler172 OFFLINE  

gambler172

    River Patroller

  • 3,124 posts
  • none
  • Location:germany

Posted Sat Mar 8, 2014 1:28 PM

Hi RevEng

good News....I cleaned up my PC and checked your newest 7800 Basic Version and now.......

IT WORKS :)

Do not know,what was the reason,why it crashed.....

greetings Walter



#73 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Sun Mar 9, 2014 9:56 AM

Just a heads up to all that I'm working on some additional functionality.

I started working on an example with sprites interacting with map characters, when I decided that the existing rom/memory character access methods - i.e. using arrays - is a bit weak. It's currently a bit difficult to access, say, the character in the 7th row down and 7th column over.

The peekchar and pokechar commands I'm working on should make lookups a lot easier. I also implemented a "memcpy" command, which is handy for copying ROM to RAM, for loading levels that need to be modified as play happens. (like Sky Scraper, pacman, etc.)

Edited by RevEng, Sun Mar 9, 2014 9:57 AM.


#74 MAC-42 OFFLINE  

MAC-42

    Moonsweeper

  • 251 posts
  • Location:The west coast of the east coast of North America

Posted Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:30 PM

I finally had some time to sit with this and slug it out with the thing.  I ran into the same color issue as Allan did, but switched to Gimp and got it all sorted out.  After that, things just sort of fell into place.

 

I got a sprite on the screen!

 

And then I realized that I forgot to loop the thing.  Fixed it up, and then made the sprite move!

 

And now I have an idea for that little sprite!

 

Thanks RevEng and the gang!  :)

 

(Hey, it's gotta start somewhere, eh?)


Edited by MAC-42, Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:51 PM.


#75 RevEng OFFLINE  

RevEng

    River Patroller

  • Topic Starter
  • 4,724 posts
  • Bitnik
  • Location:Canada

Posted Mon Mar 10, 2014 10:45 PM

Excellent! Glad to hear the wheels are turning. :D




1 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users