Jump to content

Photo

Draconian (2600)


130 replies to this topic

#1 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • 10,709 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Sat May 3, 2014 3:22 PM

EDIT: link to the current version (in my blog)
 
I started on a new project with Nathan back in March.  It's now far enough along to share with the Homebrew forum.
 
draconian_25.png
 
 
Your goal is to destroy the space stations on each level.  Use the radar, located at the bottom of the screen between the score and lives remaining, to find the stations (green dots) in relation to yourself (white dot).  Destroy the stations by taking out all 6 pods
Destroy 6 pods.png
 
Or by hitting the occasionally exposed Energy Field.
Energy Pods.png
 
Be careful of asteroids and mines.  Also beware of the enemy ships.  They currently just fly around in formation and cannot yet be destroyed, but running into them is still deadly.
draconian_20140503_podtest_2.png
 
For this project I came up with a slick new kernel that gives me the ability to reposition an object (player[also known as sprite], missile or ball) on every single scanline.  In Space Rocks I was limited to only repositioning the players, and only every-other scanline at that.  Check out my Draconian Blog Entries if you're interested in learning more about this.
 
Menu Options:

  • Level = select from 1 of 6 test levels.
  • TV Type = Select NTSC, PAL or SECAM for proper colors based on your model 2600.

Controls:

  • Left Difficulty - A= Diagnostic Display (time remaining in Vertical Blank and OverScan)
  • Left Difficulty - B = Score Display
  • Right Difficulty - A = stationary ship (used for diagnostic purposes)
  • Right Difficulty - B = moving ship
  • SELECT = return to menu
  • START = start game
  • Joystick = move around in sector
  • Fire = shoot

If you're checking this out with Stella, be sure to turn on phosphor mode!

  • open Draconian in Stella
  • hit TAB for the in-game-menu
  • select Game Properties
  • Select the Display tab
  • change Use Phosphor to Yes
  • click OK
  • select Exit Menu
  • Reload the ROM (Control-R)

NOTE: this is an early version of Draconian. Use the link at top of this post to get to the reply with the latest version.
ROM
Attached File  draconian_20140503.bin   32KB   482 downloads


Edited by SpiceWare, Mon Jan 23, 2017 5:05 PM.


#2 PFL OFFLINE  

PFL

    Dragonstomper

  • 802 posts
  • Location:Advanced Tech and Research Institute

Posted Sat May 3, 2014 4:15 PM

I haven't tried the game out yet but I'm loving the title screen. :)



#3 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 27,801 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Sat May 3, 2014 4:59 PM

32K?!! Sorry, but I only play 4K games to be true to the original Atari. I cannot be corrupted! :D

 

The first time I played the arcade game that had another name was at a pizza place with a group from high school. It was the cocktail version, so I had to sit down and play. It was weird sitting and looking down to play an arcade game.

 

I bet this game will be one of the biggest sellers once it gets in the AtariAge store.



#4 Charlie_ OFFLINE  

Charlie_

    River Patroller

  • 2,868 posts
  • Location:NJ, USA

Posted Sat May 3, 2014 5:51 PM

Hey this looks great! I know it is a Bosconian (sp?) clone, but did you get the idea for Draconian from the TRS-80 game?

http://www.lcurtisbo.../draconian.html



#5 TrekMD OFFLINE  

TrekMD

    River Patroller

  • 3,150 posts
  • Location:Coral Gables, FL

Posted Sat May 3, 2014 6:46 PM

That looks great!  



#6 Mr SQL OFFLINE  

Mr SQL

    Stargunner

  • 1,543 posts

Posted Sat May 3, 2014 7:24 PM

This game is incredible! :) I loved playing Draconian on the CoCo and Dragon back in the day and this port is even better. Awesome! :)



#7 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,709 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Sun May 4, 2014 8:45 AM

Hey this looks great! I know it is a Bosconian (sp?) clone, but did you get the idea for Draconian from the TRS-80 game?
http://www.lcurtisbo.../draconian.html

 
 

Thanks! 

While I'd planned to get a CoCo as my first computer, a Radio Shack clerk lied to me so I ended up getting a Vic 20 instead. As such, I wasn't familiar with the CoCo game.  

 

The idea came from Nathan's blog entry containing ideas on how to port the original arcade game to the 2600.   The arcade game's from 1981 while the CoCo game is from 1984. We start working on it via PM then posted the initial build announcing the project 8 years after Nathan's blog entry was posted.
 
The name was a coincidence.  Since I've always renamed my versions of arcade games I wanted to do the same for this.  We came up with a dozen names, including AtarianSpace Fortress AttackStellar Assault and Space Infiltrator.  A couple days after we decided on Draconian Nathan discovered AtariLeaf's video about the CoCo game.  We debated changing the name, but decided not to.

 

If you're interested there's a lot of other info about the development of Draconian, including discussion about the CoCo game, in my Draconian blog entries.  As with my other projects the blog will see more frequent updates, and contain a lot more technical detail, than updates in this topic.



#8 Cybearg OFFLINE  

Cybearg

    Dragonstomper

  • 950 posts

Posted Sun May 4, 2014 9:01 PM

Looks amazing!

 

... Dammit. I'm just about to release my compilation on cart and now you have to come and steal all the thunder. Grr...



#9 MrFish OFFLINE  

MrFish

    River Patroller

  • 3,546 posts
  • Location:1010-1010

Posted Sun May 4, 2014 10:28 PM

This looks really nice. The little parallax thing you have going on with the stars really does something for the feel/gameplay. It looks more like something you'd see on the XL/XE/5200's, like Zone Ranger.



#10 Cynicaster OFFLINE  

Cynicaster

    River Patroller

  • 2,210 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada

Posted Mon May 5, 2014 6:31 AM

Love the original, was just playing it a few weeks ago at The Arcade in Brighton, MI. This port looks fantastic, great job!

#11 Raygunn OFFLINE  

Raygunn

    Space Invader

  • 34 posts
  • Location:Apopka, FL

Posted Mon May 5, 2014 1:09 PM

... I couldn't help myself.

 

This is one game that I wish had been done in the early days of the VCS. Loved Bosconian back in 81' and this is a perfect version for the Atari! GREATJOB!!!!

Attached Thumbnails

  • Draconian logo.png


#12 nanochess OFFLINE  

nanochess

    River Patroller

  • 4,492 posts
  • Coding something good
  • Location:Mexico, Mexico

Posted Mon May 5, 2014 2:27 PM

Very well done! :)



#13 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,108 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 5:07 AM

This is one game that I wish had been done in the early days of the VCS. 

At that time we didn't have the (affordable) technology we have now.



#14 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 8,768 posts

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 6:04 AM

At that time we didn't have the (affordable) technology we have now.

 

Oh, I don't know about that.  Around that age I bet Darrell could have been convinced to work on Draconian for free pizza and beer :)



#15 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,709 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 8:11 AM

Wouldn't have worked, in part because I was under age so you'd have been arrested for corruption of a minor ;)

High school freshman year was 80/81. That's when I was introduced to computers and started to learn BASIC by reading the manual after school (the computer classes were only for upperclassmen).
 
I got my VIC 20 for Xmas of 81 and probably started to learn machine language in 82. I did so by reading the chapter in the VIC 20 Programmers Reference Guide. I used machine language to speed up games that were too slow with 100% BASIC.  An example of that would be a Super Cobra type game that was written in BASIC, but used a machine language subroutine to scroll the screen to the left.
 
I didn't have an assembler, so I hand-compiled my code on paper and stored the results in data statements.  The values had to be POKEd into memory before I could call them.  I wasn't able to figure out negative numbers, I'd never heard of Two's Compliment, so backward branches never went were I expected. As a result, I'd code my routines using only forward branches like this:
Loop:
    ; shift the screen data
    iny
    cpy #22
    beq ExitLoop
    jmp Loop
ExitLoop:
I finally wrapped my head around negative numbers after I got an assembler and could see what it generated for backward branches.

Edited by SpiceWare, Tue May 6, 2014 8:52 AM.


#16 Thomas Jentzsch OFFLINE  

Thomas Jentzsch

    Thrust, Jammed, SWOOPS!, Boulder Dash, THREE·S, Star Castle

  • 22,108 posts
  • Always left from right here!
  • Location:Düsseldorf, Germany

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 11:22 AM

Oh, I don't know about that.

Darrell's games are (not only) technically quite different beasts compared to other 2600 games. Almost all code besides the display kernel is directly executed on Harmony's/Melody's modern ARM CPU. Which is way more powerful than the Atari 2600 CPU. And the display kernel is turbo charged too by the ARM CPU. It is providing all data much faster than the Atari CPU can do.

So effectively you have an ARM game which uses the Atari 2600 for displaying graphics, playing sounds etc.

#17 DT Kofoed OFFLINE  

DT Kofoed

    Dragonstomper

  • 558 posts
  • Location:Lansing, MI

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 11:53 AM

Love the original, was just playing it a few weeks ago at The Arcade in Brighton, MI. This port looks fantastic, great job!

Somehow I haven't been there yet... thanks for the random name drop! Looks like a quick hop from Lansing.



#18 Mr SQL OFFLINE  

Mr SQL

    Stargunner

  • 1,543 posts

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 12:22 PM

Darrell's games are (not only) technically quite different beasts compared to other 2600 games. Almost all code besides the display kernel is directly executed on Harmony's/Melody's modern ARM CPU. Which is way more powerful than the Atari 2600 CPU. And the display kernel is turbo charged too by the ARM CPU. It is providing all data much faster than the Atari CPU can do.

So effectively you have an ARM game which uses the Atari 2600 for displaying graphics, playing sounds etc.

 

This is true, but Draconian is awesome! :)

 

Agree gamers should be aware of the difference and not to expect classic hardware games to match what is possible with the ARM.

 

It doesn't seem too different though comparing the DPC+ version of bB with its enhanced graphics to the standard version of bB that utilises only the classic hardware; if Spice should add some of his ARM routines to the DPC+ bB kernel we would see even greater bB games  :)



#19 Random Terrain OFFLINE  

Random Terrain

    Visual batari Basic User

  • 27,801 posts
  • Controlled Randomness
    Replay Value
    Nonlinear
  • Location:North Carolina (USA)

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 1:08 PM

. . . if Spice should add some of his ARM routines to the DPC+ bB kernel we would see even greater bB games  :)


That would be nice. I also keep hoping that someone will figure out how to give us 39 more variables to use with the DPC+ bB kernel. RevEng recently found a way to give us 9 more variables. All we need are 39 more variables to match what we get with Superchip RAM (26 + 48 = 74). The DPC+ bB kernel with 74 variables would allow me to create just about any game I've ever wanted to make.



#20 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 8,768 posts

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 3:16 PM

I still think there should be a reverse Bosconian where YOU are the boss ;)

 

ConianBoss.png

Attached File  ConianBoss.bin   8KB   159 downloads



#21 Gregory DG OFFLINE  

Gregory DG

    TAT IS BACK!

  • 11,199 posts
  • Go Cardinals!
  • Location:Winter Haven, FL

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 4:15 PM

Amazing work! Can't wait for this to be done! (I think I will fire up Bosconian in MAME right now!)

 

One thing: And this is probably a screen issue: Is it possible to move at the same speed for all directions?



#22 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,709 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Tue May 6, 2014 6:29 PM

One thing: And this is probably a screen issue: Is it possible to move at the same speed for all directions?

 

It's possible.  Code was in place at one point that compensated for the 2600's non-square pixels.  I promptly removed it due to how crappy it turned out.  All the stationary objects(asteroids, mines, stations) get a bad case of judder due to how object flicker and fractional movement clash with each other.

 

You can see it for yourself, along with more detail about the problem, in this blog entry.  Start with the text just below the monochrome menu screenshot and download the "judder" version of the ROM.


Edited by SpiceWare, Tue May 6, 2014 6:34 PM.


#23 SpiceWare OFFLINE  

SpiceWare

    Quadrunner

  • Topic Starter
  • 10,709 posts
  • Medieval Mayhem
  • Location:Planet Houston

Posted Wed May 7, 2014 9:52 AM

if Spice should add some of his ARM routines to the DPC+ bB kernel we would see even greater bB games  :)

 
I've covered this before  :)
  

While I won't be doing it, I have no problem with somebody else taking my routines and incorporating them into bB.


Main reason is I'm not familiar with the innards of bB, and I don't wish to learn it as I already have too many other projects going on.

Edited by SpiceWare, Wed May 7, 2014 9:58 AM.


#24 Gemintronic OFFLINE  

Gemintronic

    Jason S. - Lead Developer & CEO

  • 8,768 posts

Posted Wed May 7, 2014 9:58 AM

Heck, I'd rather someone figure out how to write the kernel %99 in ARM and just use the 2600 to draw the framebuffer and get input.   :)



#25 Mr SQL OFFLINE  

Mr SQL

    Stargunner

  • 1,543 posts

Posted Wed May 7, 2014 12:39 PM

 
I've covered this before  :)
  

Main reason is I'm not familiar with the innards of bB, and I don't wish to learn it as I already have too many other projects going on.

It would be pretty cool though! :)  You added a nice sound effects engine for bB; maybe you could provide some hooks that don't have to integrate directly with the kernel. 






0 user(s) are browsing this forum

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users